Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brownian Motion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭brownian

The work thing has really been eating into running time, and enforcing a certain amount of idleness. Weird niggles have been emerging in the calves, like bubbles of acid that don't go away, but that aren't debilitating, just annoying.

Anyway, the enforced rest seems to be suiting me - my usual 10k run this afternoon was quite a bit faster than last time, with less perceived effort. There was no wind today, which certainly helps (last time out the headwind was mank), and I also had a big bowl of pasta before hitting the road, which may have helped.

On the injury front, the osteitis pubis hasn't bothered me at all over the last while... I do feel it stirring a bit right now, as I cool down from the run - seems to be triggered by a bit more pace. No doubt it'll hurt today, but should pass, all going according to pattern, by tomorrow. (update - not too bad, actually this evening...there, but not crippling).

So, in a pure repetition of last week, I'll try another 10km on Thursday, and a longer run on Saturday...hopefully I'll actually get the longer run Saturday this weekend. I'd like to move up towards ten miles during the week - I need to start hitting the bigger distances if I've to have any real chance of running the Conn Ultra. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

brownian wrote: »
    I need to start hitting the bigger distances if I've to have any real chance of running the Conn Ultra. :eek:

Bienvenue to the crazy club...;)
    Au revoir friends, family and life...:rolleyes:

Not the greatest run ever. Working too hard, not in the best of form physically or mentally. All round bit of a struggle, which is a mystery given Tuesday's fine form. Working till 1130 last night, so that might be a cause.

Anyway, got the miles in, at a respectable if unexciting pace. Everyday can't be great, otherwise great'd be everyday (or something).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Not the greatest run ever. Working too hard, not in the best of form physically or mentally. All round bit of a struggle, which is a mystery given Tuesday's fine form. Working till 1130 last night, so that might be a cause.

Anyway, got the miles in, at a respectable if unexciting pace. Everyday can't be great, otherwise great'd be everyday (or something).

Brownian- I'm beginning to think you don't have a "slow" or "recovery" button. Be careful though- you're coming back from injury so a few weeks of slower runs isn't gonna do you any harm! I'd be willing to bet money that the reason you didn't feel great today is that you weren't properly recovered from Tuesday!

Headed to the park on the rain this morning, to meet up with boardsies for a longer slower run. Got there, lots of rain but no apparent boards heads. Accidentally found myself running with a few nice folks from pulse tri club instead.

Did 13 easy with them, then picked it up to 4:30 or so pace for the last seven. Rain. Rain. Rain.

Happy with the run, though I'd been looking forward to meetings some boards legends. particularly pleased with how easy the first 13 were, really effortless at a pace that I'd not be too ashamed of in a conn ultra attempt. must try to run more like these, and see how longer easy runs feel. Hard to do on my own though.... The pace just creeps up, as does the effort level.

This weeks plan is gym monday, 10miles Tuesday, gym weds, 10 miles thurs, rest fri, LSR sat or sun. If the legs feel tired I may take extra rest days. Might try to make a club session one of those runs, thurs maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Headed to the park on the rain this morning, to meet up with boardsies for a longer slower run. Got there, lots of rain but no apparent boards heads. Accidentally found myself running with a few nice folks from pulse tri club instead.

We were looking out for you, what time did you get there? One group left at 9am and looped back for the rest of us who left at 10.10ish. There were about 7 or 8 of us near the entrance to the car park.

Jeepers. Dunno how that happened. I got there t 0950 and hung about until 1005 or 1010, though down near the middle, where the car park has a sort of divide or waist.

Only other people I saw at the time was some walking folk in head to toe goretex, with kids. That wasnt ye, I don't think. Must have left just as you arrived, most of the tri heads had yellow jackets and black legs.

Ennyway, tri again next week! Thanks of looking out for me.

Jeepers. Dunno how that happened. I got there t 0950 and hung about until 1005 or 1010, though down near the middle, where the car park has a sort of divide or waist.

Only other people I saw at the time was some walking folk in head to toe goretex, with kids. That wasnt ye, I don't think. Must have left just as you arrived, most of the tri heads had yellow jackets and black legs.

Ennyway, tri again next week! Thanks of looking out for me.

Myself ecoli and Eoin Ryan were standing in a 3some from 10am-10.10 waiting for the others to loop back. No idea how we missed you :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

menoscemo wrote: »
    Myself ecoli and Eoin Ryan were standing in a 3some from 10am-10.10 waiting for the others to loop back. No idea how we missed you :confused:

Nice to c u back on the horse Brownian......Altough there was no point waiting for the lads today as they were all there yesterday :eek:

Ahhhh. Penny drops. Wondered about how to tally all this with the raheny reports.

lol, best read the date in future :D

No run yesterday, to give the legs a break after Sunday. Today's plan is ten miles easy, as I want to work up to 15 at the weekend and Thursday/Friday's run will be disrupted, probably, by my being in Copenhagen. So will try to go slow today (5.00/km).

Finally it's the end of January and the no-chocolate no-alcohol desert that I foolishly signed up to. I don't feel detoxed, I don't weigh much less, so I'm not sure why I bothered... but once on the moral high horse, it's as easy to stay on it as to get off.

Right, that's my "motivator" post for today up on Boards - if I don't get those ten miles in this afternoon, I'll be shamed:)

So, shamed myself into running all right. Got a reasonable lunch and cup of tea and headed out. Cold and dank but not raining. Did my pre-marathon routine run of Stradbrook-Monkstown-Glasthule-Coliemore Harbour - Killiney beach - Military Road, Ballybrack, Kilgobbet - Deansgrange Cross - home, which is exactly 16km.

Did my best to run reasonably easy, and put as little effort as I reasonably could into the uphills, while letting the legs do their own thinking on the flats. Good slelection of freakonomics podcasts to pass the time.

By the time I got home I could feel the extra speed, compared to Sunday's run... if I want easier miles, I will HAVE to learn to slow down....trouble with workday running is that I begrudge the time :rolleyes:

Will be stiff later, but don't think I hurt anything. Could have cut a minute or two off this time, but only at the cost of quite a lot harder effort. And 7:06 is reasonable enough over 10 miles, in a "first ten miler of the year" sort of way.

Plan for rest of week - whatever I get in Copenhagen on Thursday evening, then 15 miles LSR at the weekend, hopefully in the PP.

A bit stiff and sore today... the faster miles yesterday take a surprisingly heavy toll on the muscles. As usual, it's the groin and hammers that are giving me gip these days... the OP is still lurking :) Quads and calves also have something to say, though continuously wearing support socks seems to help quite a lot.

Nothing much to report on today - just touching base with my inner boardsie to reassure myself there is something other than work on this computer :)

Well, CPH is a lovely place to run, though the -5 to -10 temperatures meant that I took it fairly handy to avoid cold-stiff-muscle-injury issues. Found a forest with lots of paths where the ice wasn't too thick and got in a pleasant 10k in the half-darkness of a Danish evening. The only downside is the amount of bike ruts in the mud paths,all frozen to metal hardness and so dubious for foot placement and ankle health.

Given the 3:50am start, two flights and meetings, this was never going to be a high performance run. But I felt virtuous getting out at all, and in fact it was very pleasant.

Today (Sat) resting, 15 miles on the plan tomorrow.

Slt in on Sunday morning so sacrificed the rugby and its unhappy ending to the god of running. Headed down to my old stamping ground of the round wood reservoir and ran two and a half laps. A bit sloppy in places but very pretty, no wind, not too cold.

Plan was to take it pretty handy and work on an easy and sustainable pace rather than the fastest possible. Sure enough, first 9.5 took 45; second 9.5 took 45; tried to follow the first law of Krusty and put in a bit of pace at the end. Not sure how that worked out though :)

Happy enough to get the distance in. Nearly half the distance of the goal race:eek:

Hey Brownian you are having a bash at the Ultra in Conn right?
    A few of us are organising a group run from howth to bray (30 miles) on March 3rd. The pace will likely be a bit slow for you (9.30/mile) but time on the feet could benefit you greatly in the ultra. There also promises to be a decent crowd and plenty of Craic.
    Let me know if you are interested, I think you must live near a dart right?

Hi meno
    Yup, connU is the goal at the mo, tho you'd not know from the few miles I'm puttin down. If I'm in any sort of shape for 30 I'll be delighted to join you. Thanks for the invite!

Bit stiff and sore today - the osteitis pubis had fair go at me last night, so had some issues sleeping. A bit of a John Wayne look about me today... I may be a day or two getting back in the saddle.

Bit depressing reading some of the logs on here - there's a lot of people doing a lot of pretty hard-core running, and I'm not one of them. Where are the "wahoo, two miles in 20 minutes" posts that demonstrate there's some slow(er) people out there:)? Even reading my own posts from last year, by March I was knocking out some pretty handy ten-milers. Need to keep telling myself that it's endurance over 40 miles, not speed over 26, that matters in 2012. Hmmmm.

Anyway, stretch this evening, hopefully jog tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Keep the head up Brownian- injuries suck but you'll get through this one. I'd say your fitness will come back quick as well- you were in excellent shape before the injury- definitely remember you hammering my sorry ass on a 20 miler - I was reduced to a shriveling mess!!!

cheers, m'man.

Attack of the whinges now past. Girls love that splay-legged swagger... shame my groin's too sore :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Where are the "wahoo, two miles in 20 minutes" posts that demonstrate there's some slow(er) people out there:)?

Don't worry I'm still here flying the flag for the slow (er) people:D EVERYONE is faster then me!!

It's been a mad mad week at work,and I haven't gotten out running since Sunday's 26km. Monday I was pretty sore with the OP, Tues and Weds were just work-fests. Big deadline yesterday, so things may slack off a bit now.

The younger brownian child was up all night last night vomiting - hopefully it's not something contagious.... but she's got a temperature, so it might not just be something she ate. Time will tell, but in the meantime there's not a lot of energy floating around the house.

None the less, today's plan calls for ten miles - especially as I've ambitions to make the 20 mile Howth run planned for Sunday. Hopefully I'll update later with tales of grinding em out :)

So, another lap of the usual Killiney loop, this time under gray skies and spitting drizzle. The body went with the weather - after about 5 miles the osteitis pubis started to hurt and the right glute started to give problems. I took it v.handy the rest of the way (hence the slow time).

A bit put out at the level of discomfort- I guess I hadn't recovered from Sunday yet, though three full days is a lot of down time. I had expected to get around the ten miles at an easy pace with no issues. Howth next Sunday now looks pretty unlikely. Maybe I'm pushing my luck with the injury, and should lay off the running for another while...Cranking up to a 40-mile distance by the end of March is also looking a bit shifty...but we won't throw in the towel just yet.:confused:

It is nice, though, in absolute terms, to feel fit enough to just knock off a ten mile run without much of a fuss....:)

So, I didn't get running at the weekend. By Sunday morning the groin (and a calf niggle) had settled after Thursday's run, but I reckoned 20 miles around Howth was just a bit ambitious. And TBH, motivation is struggling when every run of note seems to lay me up for days, even when run pretty handy. 40 miles seems pretty unlikely from where I'm sitting, and the prospect of an extended jog over 13 or 26 just isn't the most enticing.

I should in theory head out for 10 miles today, given that I didn't run Sunday. My legs and OP aren't too bad, either... but poor longer-term prospects and the grayness of the day just aren't getting me off my fat behind. In my heart of hearts, I do wonder if an extended break is what's needed to settle this OP thing down - should I just walk away until after the summer, with maybe an autumn 26.2 as an interim target? Maybe pushing the injury to the point of pain twice a week isn't the most ideal of training? It is gratifying, I'll confess, to go out and run 15 miles or more, even if a little slower than last year. But the hangover is a drag.... Let's see what tomorrow brings.

Anyway, the weekend wasn't a total washout. I did get out on the bike (oh oh, another one gone? Nope - tri doesn't hold appeal just yet) with the brudder and a collection of "we want to cycle, but not 100 miles at 30mph" heads from Enniskerry to Roundwood and back, and then around Glencree and back. First time on the road bike in ages, and the neck/shoulders are a bit stiff today. Apart from that, and my wimpiness on the descent, I had a pretty good time - good to be out in the air, and knowingly not injuring myself. Couple of nice climbs too - the one just leaving Enniskerry on the Glencree road is particularly sharp.

Lacking Krusty's romantic instincts (see his log for details), I just did a simple in-and-out this Valentine's day. A bit of gentle warmup, a long slow grind over the bumpy bits, some sweating and groaning... the usual stuff. Tell you what, though, I'm both sore and stiff now!

Happy enough not to have been bothered much by my injury collection, but the pace seemed harder than should-be-handy 7:00s. There was a brisk headwind on the second half, so I'm using that as an excuse.

Off to see cfitz in the morning to see if he can beat any of the pain away.

Hmm - I note from my earlier logs that I'm eating and drinking quite a bit less than before - specifically the pre-run 700mls of Torq and the post-run 500mls of strawberry milk are absent now. I wonder if that has an impact on injury, as opposed to just on DOMS and stiffness? The idea was to try to actually lose some weight as a side effect of running - my last marathon training regime I lost zero weight at all, and I certainly have a stone I could do without :rolleyes:

That said, sitting here an hour or two after a run and feeling the stiffness build in the muscles, I'm wondreing how clever I really am :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Whatever about the recovery drink, do you really need a pre-run drink? I am guilty on occasion of grabbing a bottle of Lucozade Sport in work before a hard session (but only if running from work). The rest of the time, it's water (with a splash of fruit juice). Those Torq drinks may be needless calories, if you're running from home and eating properly in the hours beforehand.

I hear you, KC. (love the elephant, by the way).

I have had similar thoughts myself. I do think that the Torq (or Lucozade Sport, or...) helps to give me extra "get up and go" for longer runs; over 20k+ I do feel a benefit from a drink every 10k or so. But for "routine" runs like today, where I'm clearly not out to make a pace statement or push the boundaries much, a pint of water with a bit of juice to take the boredom out of it may be just the right thing. I'm usually straight after my lunch anyway, so there's some food in there alright.

I used to take recovery drinks (some gacky choco-proto-carbo-go-go stuff) but TBH found it hard to take. I moved on quite happily to Avonmore strawberry milk, but the amount of sugar is, I suspect, excessive. I think I'll try a pint of supermilk (water+protein+not too much fats) and a banana (carbs) on the next run or two.

Bottom line is that I'm sorer than I used to be (say, this time last year)... and I'd like to do more about it than complain.:)

So, had the early morning rub-down down in Ballinteer - there's a lot of stiff and tight muscles in there. That's likely to be about it for the day, though. Might try to get to the gym for an hour or two this evening.

Update: spent the evening crouched over my pc, as usual. None the less, legs feel better this (Thursday) morning than they have for quite some time - another result for the Master of Ballinteer. Hopefully get out for ten either this evening or tomorrow. Not what you'd call much of a training programme, but softly softly catchee monkey.