Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girl allegedly raped on Brazilian Big Brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Must be troll night out tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Millicent wrote: »
    This thread is actually depressing. I knew there were still some knuckle-draggers who apportion blame to the victim lurking in society, but it is shocking and really saddening to see how prevalent slut shaming is.

They're fuckwits Millicent, but I don't know it's all that 'prevalent'. Only two of them really posting in the thread and while that's two too many you have to remember that dicks like that are drawn to threads like these like flies to shit. Which can give an impression of over representation. I would hope, at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

people (that includes men also btw) must take RESPONSIBILITY for their own safety.

Liza finished her account with, "I don't think a woman ever deserves to be raped, but at the same time I do believe she has to take personal responsibility for herself".

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-422513/Raped-drunk-does-mean-blame.html#ixzz1jlIOcUEr

Aaaaannnndddd Banned....

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Samich wrote: »
    Is it beyond the realms of possibility the girl went to bed, while later the guy followed in under the covers, they had a little whisper between them and agreed to have sex?

He is a model so chances are she probably would do it sober, probably.

Hardly the most far fetched outcome?

While she just lay there like a corpse and didn't engage at all? Unlikely :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

She was on a television show, for God's sake, drinking while on camera. How in your mind have you conflated that to her inviting an assault?

ETA: You may be shocked to hear, but it's not actually uncommon for a victim of a crime, especially a sexual one, to seek any way to blame themselves.

Don't feeeeeeeeeeeeeeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

right Im here [the thread] I have the fire hose! where is this fire?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Pissmire

Really? All this outrage about something that happened to one individual, half a world away. I couldn't care less, or even pretend to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,929 ✭✭✭Feisar

You might say someone was stupid to leave the window open, but it's still not their fault that someone stole from them!! That's akin to saying "They left their window open, sure what else was the thief going to do?" and completely ignoring the fact that stealing is illegal whether the window is open or not.

How can you possibly blame anyone for being raped?! Just because they're drunk or walking alone doesn't mean that their right not to be attacked doesn't exist anymore!! Yes, it may be "careless" of them, but that doesn't give anyone the right to rape them. The fact at the end of the day is that the rapist commits the crime, not the victim!

I said in my post that the blame/fault is the rapists.

The only thing I'm saying is people need to look out for themselves.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Yahew

Is it beyond the realms of possibility the girl went to bed, while later the guy followed in under the covers, they had a little whisper between them and agreed to have sex?

He is a model so chances are she probably would do it sober, probably.

Hardly the most far fetched outcome?

well, she couldnt remember the next day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

While she just lay there like a corpse and didn't engage at all? Unlikely :confused:

How do you know she didn't engage? She could have been a lazy yoke :pac:

People have had sex on them shows before, fellas do all the work ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Pissmire wrote: »
    Really? All this outrage about something that happened to one individual, half a world away. I couldn't care less, or even pretend to.

The outrage is more about the attitudes that some people have towards this event and attacks/assaults/rapes in general.

Is it any wonder that so many victims don't come forward?! If they thought they'd face that sort of reaction, why would they?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

strobe wrote: »
    They're fuckwits Millicent, but I don't know it's all that 'prevalent'. Only two of them really posting in the thread and while that's two too many you have to remember that dicks like that are drawn to threads like these like flies to shit. Which can give an impression of over representation. I would hope, at least.

That's a fair point, Strobe and I'm mellowing myself now before an aneurysm. :pac:

However, the attitude is still pretty bad in Ireland. An Irish Examiner survey done a few years back showed that a seriously high portion of people still seek to blame the victim in rape cases.

Couple of reports of the here: Amnesty and RTE.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

How do you know she didn't engage? She could have been a lazy yoke :pac:

People have had sex on them shows before, fellas do all the work ;)

That's what the report makes it sound like anyway :pac:. Either way, after an investigation and probably a trial, we will know for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,631 ✭✭✭baldbear

Just saw the video on youtube. The girl is fast asleep and your man is making movements around her.

I wonder were people watching this live at home or what?? Reality tv at its worst.

If she was a sister of mine i'd kill the f*ucker...

Pissmire wrote: »

Well thank you for deigning to comment on something you don't care about. :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 160 ✭✭My_left_leg

strobe wrote: »

i agree strobe, but people need to look after themselves.
    there's little point in crying fowl after the event.

Feisar wrote: »
    I said in my post that the blame/fault is the rapists.

The only thing I'm saying is people need to look out for themselves.

Sorry, I obviously didn't understand what you meant.

Yes, people should look out for themselves and personal safety is something that should never be overlooked - but if it is, it's still not their fault, it's the rapist that makes a concious decision to do it. I don't know how people can fail to understand that!

baldbear wrote: »
    Just saw the video on youtube. The girl is fast asleep and your man is making movements around her.

I wonder were people watching this live at home or what?? Reality tv at its worst.

Are they both on their sides? Weird position? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

baldbear wrote: »

why wud u even watch that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭bfocusd

I see that daily mail article says that the judge can/will accept the drunken victims silence as consent.

I think that's a pathetic thing to say, you can be unconscious and be raped, it's more acceptable because you can't defend yourself or refuse him, so he's allowed to f*ck you while your passed out.

I'm sorry but anyone that can get off in a situation like that needs there head checked to begin with, what's fun/normal about having sex with someone who's like a corpse in bed.

I'm a believer of innocent till proven guilty and I think the rape rule should be the same as that, anyone in under no circumstance can have consent unless she/he is competent to say yes or no.

That does bring its problems too, as not everyone has the same level of competence after alcohol, but it should I think be based around the others approval and not taken for granted that she/he didn't stop it so they must give consent.

People should look after themselves but if they are raped then they should "cry foul".

Shane St. wrote: »
    why wud u even watch that?

To get what actually happened.

Also he's a minute man :pac: Didn't cover himself in glory :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

people need to look after themselves.
    If a chicken raped them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

This is completely shameful.

Heaven forbid a woman can have a few drinks in the house that she's sharing with other people, get drunk and fall into bed, and believe that she is safe, while on television or not.

If a guy goes out every weekend and has sex with a different girl, it's grand for him, if a woman goes out and does it, and at some stage in her life gets raped, then she's asking for it. If she wears tight clothes, she's asking for it. If she walks home alone in a dark area, well, tough... She shouldn't have done that, should have known better, it's partly her own fault.
    BULLSH*T.
    Why does there always have to be a "yes, but.."? It's sickening.

So she's wrong for not expecting the guy to act like an animal who couldn't control himself live on TV?

Couple of reports of the here: Amnesty and RTE.

From the Amnesty one:
    In a 2003 study by Rape Crisis Network Europe, Ireland had the lowest rate of conviction for rape (1%) among 21 European states

ONE PERCENT?! :eek: That has to be a typo, right?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Dudess wrote: »
    If a chicken raped them?

Nobody likes a smart ass, but im sure you know that already;)

Oh thank god people got where I was coming from. I was nearly going to re-reg. I'm out of this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Just saw this on youtube.
    I'd ahve thought rape would've been a lot more violent.
    Is it possible for an extremely inebriated woman to actually sleep through a rape?(like what she seems to have done):confused:

From the Amnesty one:

ONE PERCENT?! :eek: That has to be a typo, right?!

Nope. It's partly due to the small number of cases that actually get to trial, so the figure can seem a bit minute (trial percentage for conviction is larger), but of the overall rapes in the country, the 1 per cent constitutes those that even make it to trial and are returned with a guilty sentence.