Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girl allegedly raped on Brazilian Big Brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    It is if you're a stunnah like that.

This is all wrong, i hope my wife doesnt ask why im laughing, could get awkward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

hondasam wrote: »
    I agree a girl has to accept some responsibility in these situations but if the male is awake and the female is asleep he is more to blame.

Sorry guys, not saying all men are wrong.

your comment about the one in kerry, No comment really,

He is more to blame? MORE to blame? He is all to blame in that situation. Have I woke up in backwards land today, where someone who gives no consent to sex and is not capable of resisting is at fault in a rape?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Do not post in this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

This is exactly the type of behaviour that reality program producers want to see.
    Just look at the type of programs that are on telly now
    Jersy Shore - Tallfornia - Only way is Essex - BB.
    Each year the programs are pushing the boundaries further and further.
    I think the producers wont be happy until we see an actual murder take place on some "reality" show.

I am disturbed that an alleged rape happened - but not surprised.

jaja321 wrote: »
    It's about context, this thread is about a woman being raped.. I think its inappropriate in such a thread to post her picture which undoubtedly will be comment on.. AH or not.. but hey that's just me:rolleyes:

Looks that way

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 88 ✭✭Belly_Dancer

over half of these so-called "victims" who turn up at the DRCC cant even recall having sex, let alone if it was consensual or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I'm off to bed.

i've had a couple of glasses of wine, so here's hoping I don't get raped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

i agree, but how stupid of any girl to get so drunk in the first place.
    i'm sorry but any girl that gets so "out of it" must accept responsibility also.
    she'll get little sympathy from me.

sure wasn't it the same with that one down in Kerry.
    over half of these so-called "victims" who turn up at the DRCC cant even recall having sex, let alone if it was consensual or not.
    Hmmmm...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

It's about context, this thread is about a woman being raped.. I think its inappropriate in such a thread to post her picture which undoubtedly will be comment on.. AH or not.. but hey that's just me:rolleyes:

It's not a thread about a woman being raped. It's not even a thread about a man being charged for rape. You're jumping the gun big time there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

you're all ruining after hours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I doubt there was a crew there. Probably just a camera in the room.

I hope not anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭paudgenator

I agree a girl has to accept some responsibility in these situations but if the male is awake and the female is asleep he is more to blame.

WHAT?are you serious? So a woman is passed out from drink, drugs, whatever....it's ok for a guy to rape her? Where is her blame in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

And what on earth has that got to do with this case? There is video footage, so yeah, she's pretty sure it happened, and yeah, she's pretty sure she didn't give consent.

Anyway, where are you pulling this "over half" figure from? Do you know them all? Do you regularly seek out and survey rape victims to see if they can recall it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jaja321

It's not a thread about a woman being raped. It's not even a thread about a man being charged for rape. You're jumping the gun big time there.

An alleged rape so .. still stand by what i say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

i'm sorry but any girl that gets so "out of it" must accept responsibility also.
    she'll get little sympathy from me.

sure wasn't it the same with that one down in Kerry.

There's nothing wrong with getting drunk, there's everything wrong with raping someone. Victims are not to blame in these situations. People are entitled to drink however much they like, nobody is entitled to violate someone just because of that though.

WHAT?are you serious? So a woman is passed out from drink, drugs, whatever....it's ok for a guy to rape her? Where is her blame in that?

Take no notice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Millicent wrote: »
    He is more to blame? MORE to blame? He is all to blame in that situation. Have I woke up in backwards land today, where someone who gives no consent to sex and is not capable of resisting is at fault in a rape?

He is to blame in that particular situation because we can see what happened.
    I was not just commenting on the situation in the op.
    Rape is rape but every situation is different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Anyone giving out about jokes feck off, stop being such a moany arse mcmoanerson. Your views will never be seen by her or her family, neither will the jokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

stovelid wrote: »
    I doubt there was a crew there. Probably just a camera in the room.

I hope not anyway.

Its live in Rio, I presume there are some sort of 24 hour security guards at the studio. I'd be shocked if it turns out there wasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

An alleged rape so .. still stand by what i say

Stand by what exactly?

Its worse you're getting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,929 ✭✭✭Feisar

This thread is seriously in the gutter.

Because of the sensitive nature of the crime people jump to the victims defense. Whereas if a person leaves there car window open and their Nikon camera gets stolen people would be more inclined to say they were stupid/careless.
    A drunk person wanders out a dark road on their own and gets raped, then it's how dare anyone portion some responsibility of the crime to the victim. While the fault/blame must be totally assigned to the person who committed the crime people should not look out for themselves. The world suffers fools badly.

Before someone says she wasn't wandering the roads drunk I know I've deviated from the circumstances of the situation under discussion.

Surely these cameras are monitored 24/7. How was this allowed to happen???

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Surprised Big Brother didn't have a televised rape before this.

Am more shocked that people are still sick and dumb enough to watch this porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Some f+cking pond life on this thread. Even for this forum.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 88 ✭✭Belly_Dancer

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-422513/Raped-drunk-does-mean-blame.html

Liza Kelsey, 26, is a fashion designer. She was raped three years ago by three men after going back to a flat with one of them after a party. Liza, who lives in West London, says:
    The proudest day of my life - the day I finished my course at Central St Martin's College of Art in London - turned into a nightmare when I was raped by three strangers after I got drunk celebrating the end of my degree.
    I still suffer horrific flashbacks to that night - forever haunted by the stupidity of putting myself in such a vulnerable position.
    I still consider myself a feminist and I believe that women deserve the utmost respect, even when they are drunk. But I should never have allowed myself to get in such a state and put myself in such danger. I was a potential victim from the moment I started drinking champagne and vodka.
    It was the evening of the party to mark the end of my four-year fashion degree. I'd had a typical middle class upbringing - my parents run their own business and I went to grammar school before university.
    It had been a great few years and, to celebrate, we were all hell-bent on getting drunk. I had a bottle of champagne before I went out, then countless vodka shots and glasses of beer.
    The next thing I remember is sitting in the back of a cab with a Spanish guy I'd met at the party. I didn't have a clue who he was or where I was going, and I didn't care as long as there was going to be more drink.
    Soon we were at his flat and heading for the bedroom, but - and I'm sorry to say this now -that wasn't a problem: I found him very attractive. But I didn't expect to find two other guys there.
    They turned out to be his flatmates, and as they poured me more drink I started to feel detached, as though everything was happening at arm's length. I don't remember them undressing me, but they must have done because there was no way I would ever have consented to having sex with three men.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-422513/Raped-drunk-does-mean-blame.html#ixzz1jlGMthKM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,392 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Reminds me of Quagmire on the Bachelorette, where he drugs the girl and drags her off before seeing the cameras, wtf was this guy thinking here, he was on live national/internet tv at the time, what a lunatic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

krudler wrote: »
    thats pretty fcuking low, even for AH

Amazing the high horse riders in this country. I doubt that poster has raped someone or will rape someone. Was a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

No it's not. Rape is bloody rape. I don't care what the situation is--the victim is NEVER to blame. I am horrified you feel that way. Slut shaming is well and truly alive in Ireland today, it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

krudler wrote: »

thats pretty fcuking low, even for AH
    But not surprising. How I predicted this thread would go: focus on her hotness and how one "would" rape her - check, victim-blaming - check.
    There's good jokes poking fun at the situation, but then there's just being a dick.

Im out