Saunas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 rob6970

Hey just after reading the thread on saunas and as im new to this could someone actually tell me what goes on in there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

rob6970 wrote: »
    Hey just after reading the thread on saunas and as im new to this could someone actually tell me what goes on in there?

People have sex

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gay_bathhouse

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,005 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

This place is best avoided.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭john_reilly74

rob6970 wrote: »

People have sex

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gay_bathhouse
    An eyeopener to top all! Just out of interest, does anyone know if these joints are safer in France or Germany? The reason being i'd imagine people here to be more risk averse than the Germans say, and less likely to wear a condom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 gaa131

sitstill wrote: »
    If you wanna go to the Boilerhouse, then go. Once you've experienced it, you can decide whether its the kind of thing youre into or not.

Use protection though. My friend is a nurse in the STI clinic in St James's and said that in the past year or so, bigger numbers of gay men are being diagnosed with HIV and many of them are saying that they were visitors to the Boilerhouse. Probably worth bearing that in mind.
    Well, it's also worth bearing in mind that HIV is contracted in the BH in the same way it is contracted everywhere else. If a person is taking risks in a place like the BH then it's very likely they're taking risks, period. Anyone who has unprotected sex with a complete unknown, regardless of where it takes place, is asking for trouble.

As for the BH - been to it twice - horrid, horrid, horrid place. I don't know how any person with even a modicum of self respect could use this place on a repeated basis. It's unhygenic, unclean and it's operated in a manner which leaves a lot to be desired. Apart from sti's there is every chance of contracting a skin infection because of the dirtiness - people are allowed to walk around in bare feet on floors that are wet, damp and semen covered - it's a perfect environment for nasty bacteria and diseases.

I believe that they've started throwing drunk customers out without giving them the chance to put their clothes on and that money and other belongings have been going missing from the lockers of customoers.

In a word this place is a dive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭john_reilly74

gaa131 wrote: »
    sitstill wrote:
    If you wanna go to the Boilerhouse, then go. Once you've experienced it, you can decide whether its the kind of thing youre into or not.

Use protection though. My friend is a nurse in the STI clinic in St James's and said that in the past year or so, bigger numbers of gay men are being diagnosed with HIV and many of them are saying that they were visitors to the Boilerhouse. Probably worth bearing that in mind.
    Well, it's also worth bearing in mind that HIV is contracted in the BH in the same way it is contracted everywhere else. If a person is taking risks in a place like the BH then it's very likely they're taking risks, period. Anyone who has unprotected sex with a complete unknown, regardless of where it takes place, is asking for trouble.

As for the BH - been to it twice - horrid, horrid, horrid place. I don't know how any person with even a modicum of self respect could use this place on a repeated basis. It's unhygenic, unclean and it's operated in a manner which leaves a lot to be desired. Apart from sti's there is every chance of contracting a skin infection because of the dirtiness - people are allowed to walk around in bare feet on floors that are wet, damp and semen covered - it's a perfect environment for nasty bacteria and diseases.

I believe that they've started throwing drunk customers out without giving them the chance to put their clothes on and that money and other belongings have been going missing from the lockers of customoers.

well you were there twice so something attracted you back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭oisindoyle

gaa131 wrote: »

I think if I went to a dive then once would be enough but you went TWICE,,how odd..
    As for some of the other "serious" accusations which you made ,,perhaps you should file an official complaint with the BH and the Gards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭oisindoyle

guestie009 wrote: »
    This place is best avoided.

Oh do tell ,,Why?

just wondering what is worn in these sauna's do you have to wear shorts/speedos or do you go naked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭fluffybiscuits

You walk in, pay your entry fee and put your clothes in a locker. You are given a towel which you wrap around your waist and then you can look in the different areas. The first floor has a dark room with a maze , second floor there is a jacuzzi (which looks like a giant bowl of porridge) and a steam room with a darkened area and on third floor there is cruising areas with private booths and a sling. THe ground floor has a cafe .

On entry first you pay the twenty, they give you condoms, lube and the towels.

-Dont feel pushed into anything you dont want to do
    -Rubber up
    -Use lubricant that wont erode a condom

Above all have fun . It fills a need. Different people have different opinions but I think its fine. Went there when I first came out years ago, rarely had a bad experience but its there to serve a purpose. Best times to visit is Friday afternoon to catch the culchies going home or Sunday when the married lads seem to be floating about. Saturday and Friday nights are crap, drunken ****wits off their head.

Havent been in years but that is my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Conor30

oisindoyle wrote: »
    I think if I went to a dive then once would be enough but you went TWICE,,how odd..
    As for some of the other "serious" accusations which you made ,,perhaps you should file an official complaint with the BH and the Gards

Maybe he went once 8 years ago and another time 3 years ago... Having gone twice still doesn't invalidate his opinion. :rolleyes:

well you were there twice so something attracted you back?

Sex probably.

At the end of the day if your quiet horny and looking to meet someone with similar intentions, this place will cater for your needs. I have gone twice, not a place I would rush back to but the whole place does have advantages. I don't know about ye, but seeing a lot of sexy men parading around horny as hell can be quiet nice when your in the mood. However the place needs a Makeover, a new similar venue would go down a treat!!! Its just not run to a high enough standard , a better more exclusive yet affordable place would do very well in Dublin me thinks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Liberal Irishman

I don't know about ye, but seeing a lot of sexy men parading around horny as hell can be quiet nice when your in the mood.

I'm not gay but I went to a few of them to check them out and found them to be very interesting indeed. And yes it is nice to see sexy men (some anyway) who are horny as hell. I think you'd have to go to one of the hedonism clubs in the Caribbean to find the equivalent in the hetro world.

In a perfect world I would like them but hell it's not a perfect world and when you add some paranoia into the mix you can be sure that nothing much was going to happen with me anyway!

All in all I found the experience to be quite nice, apart from the guy at the door inquiring if I knew what kind of place it was!!! I just found it a bit strange that he would base his opinion on a stereotype that I thought didn't exist!

As for the buildings being unsanitary and dingy (BH was quite new at the time so it wasn't that dingy) I would have to agree.

I'm not gay but I went to a few of them to check them out

Seems strange to me. Why

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Seems strange to me. Why

I just found myself drawn to that environment. Curiosity, excitement I'm not really sure why. But I do know that I never tried (or pretended) to be anything that I'm not.

When I was writing the original post I wondered how long it would be before someone challenged me on the fact that I was saying I wasn't gay.
    I get the impression that there is a reluctant acceptance of differing degrees of bisexuality within the gay community. I could be dead wrong about that, I suppose that it's up to every individual to decide for themselves, but I'd be interested in your opinions.

All that said, and without going into the details of my sexuality I am genuinely interested in other people's opinions, views and lifestyles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭floggg

In fairness, a statement like "I'm not gay" would generally be taken to mean you are straight not bisexuality. I imagine it was on that basis that people found your post strange?

What do you identify as if you don't me asking?

I just assumed that a statement that

I'm not gay = I am heterosexual

Terry Pratchet

floggg wrote: »
    In fairness, a statement like "I'm not gay" would generally be taken to mean you are straight not bisexuality. I imagine it was on that basis that people found your post strange?

What do you identify as if you don't me asking?

Thanks, and I don't mind you asking in the least. The fact is that I'd like to give you an answer (believe me), but after many years of thought and contemplation I still haven't worked it out for myself!

I just found it a bit strange that he would base his opinion on a stereotype that I thought didn't exist!

The Boilerhouse tends to get quite a few regulars (I'm led to believe), so when they see someone new for the first time, they might check that you know it's a gay place! Maybe you also have a nervous expression on your face going in the door (being a straight man and all:D).

It's great you're open-minded and tolerant but I'm surprised a straight man would go there on his own. Even the majority of gay guys wouldn't go near the place! What do your straight mates think of you checking it out. You enjoyed seeing horny men?:D

Conor30 wrote: »
    The Boilerhouse tends to get quite a few regulars (I'm led to believe), so when they see someone new for the first time, they might check that you know it's a gay place! Maybe you also have a nervous expression on your face going in the door (being a straight man and all:D).

It's great you're open-minded and tolerant but I'm surprised a straight man would go there on his own. Even the majority of gay guys wouldn't go near the place! What do your straight mates think of you checking it out. You enjoyed seeing horny men?:D

Hell I'm a man and I quite like how I look when I'm 'horny'. I'm afraid I don't have friends that I would be close enough to to discuss anything so personal.

With regard to the guys at the door, I think it's more that I 'look very straight'. (I can visualize people hoovering over the keyboard at that last phrase!) I know it's not PC but personally I have found there to be stereotyping in both the gay and straight communities.

Hell I'm a man and I quite like how I look when I'm 'horny'. I'm afraid I don't have friends that I would be close enough to to discuss anything so personal.

With regard to the guys at the door, I think it's more that I 'look very straight'. (I can visualize people hoovering over the keyboard at that last phrase!) I know it's not PC but personally I have found there to be stereotyping in both the gay and straight communities.

The people working at the door of those places are usually straight themselves. I'm sure you look straight, since you are straight.
    Did you mind seeing and hearing groaning men having sex and generally getting off with each other?!

The people working at the door of those places are usually straight themselves. I'm sure you look straight, since you are straight.
    Did you mind seeing and hearing groaning men having sex and generally getting off with each other?!

Firstly liberal irishman never said he was straight

Secondly I think those questions are way too personal

Terry Pratchet

Firstly liberal irishman never said he was straight

Secondly I think those questions are way too personal

Really? - It was actually more of a rhetorical question than anything else!

Like you, I presumed he was straight since he said he wasn't gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

He said he wasn't gay. That doesn't mean he's not bisexual or questioning his sexuality. Hell he even said this:
    Thanks, and I don't mind you asking in the least. The fact is that I'd like to give you an answer (believe me), but after many years of thought and contemplation I still haven't worked it out for myself!

Yet you go on to ask him what his friends think of him watching "horny men:D" and does he mind "seeing and hearing groaning men having sex and generally getting off with each other?!"

I'm not picking a fight with you here I just think your comments are pretty forward/personal and rude.

Obviously I'm not a mod and Liberal Irishman can speak for himself but I just like to call things as I see them. No offense intended.

He said he wasn't gay. That doesn't mean he's not bisexual or questioning his sexuality. Hell he even said this:

Yet you go on to ask him what his friends think of him watching "horny men:D" and does he mind "seeing and hearing groaning men having sex and generally getting off with each other?!"

I'm not picking a fight with you here I just think your comments are pretty forward/personal and rude.

Obviously I'm not a mod and Liberal Irishman can speak for himself but I just like to call things as I see them. No offense intended.

Well, it seems to me you are picking a fight but I won't waste any time having one with you. And I am a forward person, but I wasn't intending to be rude. And MangoSalsa himself did also say mention it was "strange" he'd check out a gay sauna.
    Yes, I understand some people are bisexual. I just said that I had jumped to the conclusion, as some others (like Mango Salsa himself, who is actually a Mod) that not gay = straight but of course there is an in-between, if we're going to try to categorize everyone. And I don't know if you've ever been to a gay sauna but grunting men having sex goes on there, something which would be an anathema to straight men.
    Hate backseat modding.

To tell you the truth I did find the question to be a bit strange, and I didn't intend to answer it. But hey, everyone is different. It would be a boring world if we were all the same.

The thread seems to have gotten a bit diverted though. What happened to the 'saunas'???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭corked

ya guys i'd say lets stay on topic..... and quit questioning a guy about his sexual orientation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 ChelseaDub

Yeah so anyways I heard of this place from a mate of mine who said hes been a couple of times. Also have two questions. First of all as i am still 17 would i be able to get in as it is the age for consensual sex and if so what day/time would the younger crowd (if any) go to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 passable

ixoy wrote: »
    I imagine if there was a place where straight men could go, pay a token entry fee, and find lots of women up-for-it, who didn't need introductions or smalltalk or wining or dining, that there'd be a certain number who would be eager and avail of it. But like with gay men, many would have no interest either.

yea there called brottles and many do avail of them:D