Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else bad at COD or is it just me??

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭canister94

I can see where ye are coming from but my best set up has to be silenced scar/acr scavenger pro hardline pro stalker/marksman.
    now what i advise doing is playing regular domination.cap home flag get a point then try cap b.For example in bakaara if you spawn on top of the hill you can cap both your home flag and B with ease i never die.so now you are on a 2 point streak pull out a stinger take out two air support .Now you have a predator hope for a double then you have attack helicopter .
    work very well for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Spike2010

I'm pretty rubbush myself 0.80 K/D :) on my old account but i think i'm 20 kills or so of a 1 K/D on my new one.

Try the M4 with Kick & Red Dot. SOH, Quickdraw & Marksman, seems to be working really well for me at the minute (cheers Happi :)).

Also slow your game down don't run around like a headless chicken (what i use to do) play abit more defensive but don't just sit in a corner.

My tips for loadout would be:

Primary:

AR: T95/ACR/G36C/Scar/FAD
    Attachments: Red dot/Silencer (nothing else! Rest are useless.)
    Proficiency: Kick/Impact

SMG: MP5/UMP/PP/P90/Last one
    Attachments: Red dot/Silencer/Rapid fire/Extended mags (nothing else)
    Proficiency: Range

Secondary: Either of the 2 revolvers
    Perk 1: Sleight of Hand/Extreme Conditioning
    Perk 2: Quickdraw/Assassin
    Perk 3: Dead Silence/Stalker

Killstreaks: 3 uav / 5 pred / 7 chopper
    Deathstreak: The one that makes you kill your 1st person in less bullets.

Is all I use and works pretty well, uavs are very good but don't rely on them as lots of people use jammers. I find that choppers get more kills than strafe runs so are a good choice at 7. Preds are always a solid kill/double kill.

Other general tips:
    If you're going around a corner use ADS just as you walk around, will get you that kill if somebody's waiting there.
    ALWAYS look at your radar.
    Try to pay attention to where people spawn ie. if you're pushing the left side on ctf where are the opposition spawing? How close do you have to go to C domo before they spawn at A? When you start noticing these things you'll be able to have a very good idea of where the entire other team is.
    Use 3 sensitivity.
    If you don't knife much use Tactical button layout.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 538 ✭✭✭little big planet 2

Practise makes perfect do free for all and go at with aggression and have it in your head that your the best in the match and you ll be flyin

• Practise makes perfect do free for all and go at with aggression and have it in your head that your the best in the match and you ll be flyin[/QUOTE]

Lol I must give that a shot tonight

Spawn
    "I'm the best in the game I'm the best in the game"
    Run to B Dom
    Boom
    I'm dead
    Respawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Im not a bad player, just very inconsistant. Must try harder.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,301 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Get on youtube and look at a few videos of how others play. Try and copy what you see. Worked for me. Kinda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

Practise makes perfect do free for all and go at with aggression and have it in your head that your the best in the match and you ll be flyin[/QUOTE]

Lol I must give that a shot tonight

Spawn
    Run to B Dom
    Boom
    I'm dead
    Respawn

lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 538 ✭✭✭little big planet 2

i ment have a positive attitude and it helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,161 ✭✭✭Jofspring

I'm very inconsistent and take ages to get going. My first few games are brutal and after that not too bad. I find I get my most kills when playing against lads I know, maybe cause its a bit more of a laugh and I'm not paying too much attention to whats going on.

19 is the most kills I managed to get in one game and can't get anywhere over that. 9 times out of ten I get killed my someone coming up behind me, even when I see I have my bloody team mates behind me I still manage to be the one that gets killed ha.

Have started playing more Hardcore games now though because I find I could riddle a guy with bullets in normal games and they might turn around and kill me first but at least on hardcore if you get your first few shots right they will go down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Paulor94

I am a very average player at this. I have played COD online since MW2. I have about 1.03 k/d but if i'm honest most of the time k/d doesnt show how good of a player you are. I have found the following helpful in getting me to play better.

- Try to always play with someone even if it's even one person. I always do better with one person or more in my party.

- I find if you want a good game, k'd whatever play more defensivelly, don't stay in one corner just stay in the same area of the map moving somewhere else every few kills.

- Pick a gun that is suited to the map for example if your playing a small map like dome pick a shotgun or a SMG.

- Have fun. Don't worry about if your doing good or not because that will end up making you play worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

IPAM wrote: »
    Fair play, you'll have a machinima contract next ;)

YOUTUUUBE MONAAAAAY!

Also, look at the way Xjawz plays. He's so conservative ! If I played like that I'd hold a 3 KD without too much trouble.......... I should probably do that :o

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

Practise makes perfect do free for all and go at with aggression and have it in your head that your the best in the match and you ll be flyin

I do play like that,in fact I think I'm motherf*****g RAMBO!!!!!

Usually end up with a high amount of kills but with a high amount of deaths also with that style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭spudwiser

Like a lot of people here i'm not a great player. I dont even know my kd but id say tisn't great.

I personally blame my connection and have developed a massive compex as a result
    I have never got above 2 bars in MW3

So to compensate i have to use machine pistols and sub machine guns with steady aim
    Now that i think of it, one thing I do too much is ADS and not enough hip fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭baldymac

i would put my self above average even though my K/D is 7.5 (which i dont care to be honest, as im a team player all the way

i also have to blame the connection (not an excues though)

im also in a clan so my callouts map awearness and telling people what to do is a great help,

i can have great games but also i can get a very bad score but still win and get important things right in the game.

i also play after a few beers and it makes me concentrate more and also have a laugh

i play for a laugh party up and wind up the lobby

also my K/D is bad is casue i dont care, sometimes i just go into a game an mess around try new and different things

but one thing i cant do is camp, i like to run and gun which is sometimes is my down fall.

happy gaming all with a full party and some beers FTW

PSN coys123

baldymac wrote: »
    i would put my self above average even though my K/D is 7.5 (which i dont care to be honest, as im a team player all the way

i also have to blame the connection (not an excues though)

im also in a clan so my callouts map awearness and telling people what to do is a great help,

i can have great games but also i can get a very bad score but still win and get important things right in the game.

i also play after a few beers and it makes me concentrate more and also have a laugh

i play for a laugh party up and wind up the lobby

also my K/D is bad is casue i dont care, sometimes i just go into a game an mess around try new and different things

but one thing i cant do is camp, i like to run and gun which is sometimes is my down fall.

happy gaming all with a full party and some beers FTW

PSN coys123
    That 7.5 kd is a typo so!? Don't tell me you think 7.5 is bad!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭baldymac

LakesKeane wrote: »
    That 7.5 kd is a typo so!? Don't tell me you think 7.5 is bad!?

lol yeah epic fail, should be 0.75 :D

baldymac wrote: »
    lol yeah epic fail, should be 0.75 :D

thanks be to jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

AdamD wrote: »
    Secondary: Either of the 2 revolvers

I would say a machine pistol or a launcher rather than this, revolvers can be quite difficult to use for an inexperienced player and launchers will get you points if you take enemy airsupport out

Perk 1: Sleight of Hand/Extreme Conditioning

Slight of hand without a doubt, inexperienced players would need in a CQB situation...also helps with weapon switch (Another important thing is switch weapon when your clip is empty in a 1 v 1 situation, don't reload as you'll be killed

Perk 2: Quickdraw/Assassin
    Agree with Assassin but I would vote Hardline over Quickdraw any day, especially when pro

Perk 3: Dead Silence/Stalker
    I would say marksman over these two, helps the new player pick out enemies at a distance where they might not see them

Killstreaks: 3 uav / 5 pred / 7 chopper
    Don't use Assault Package if you're new to the game or not the best at it, you'll just get pissed off that you're not getting anything worthwhile. Best to use the support streaks as it gives the benefit of more XP and higher streaks.

Deathstreak: The one that makes you kill your 1st person in less bullets.

Is all I use and works pretty well, uavs are very good but don't rely on them as lots of people use jammers. I find that choppers get more kills than strafe runs so are a good choice at 7. Preds are always a solid kill/double kill.

Other general tips:
    If you're going around a corner use ADS just as you walk around, will get you that kill if somebody's waiting there.
    ALWAYS look at your radar.
    Try to pay attention to where people spawn ie. if you're pushing the left side on ctf where are the opposition spawing? How close do you have to go to C domo before they spawn at A? When you start noticing these things you'll be able to have a very good idea of where the entire other team is.
    Use 3 sensitivity.
    Use 1 or 2 sensitivity. I used somewhere between 6 and 9 for the last couple of games and have found that 2-3 is plenty on this so in that respect, someone who's new or not that good should stick with very low sensitivity.

If you don't knife much use Tactical button layout.

Some thoughts on the above, directed more towards weak or inexperienced players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Woorist

hi,

ive found i am better on MW3 than on blops but am still no where near as good as most of the guys on there. my advice would be to hit the mute button on anyone who is not a friend. Most people who yell abuse on there are just frustrated with themselves and not thet person they are shouting/swearing at but they hope it puts you off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,426 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Woorist wrote: »
    hi,

ive found i am better on MW3 than on blops but am still no where near as good as most of the guys on there. my advice would be to hit the mute button on anyone who is not a friend. Most people who yell abuse on there are just frustrated with themselves and not thet person they are shouting/swearing at but they hope it puts you off.

Ehm, when I'm screaming at the person who killed me I genuinely hate them with a passion. :rolleyes:
    Totally agree with you about muting people

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Woorist wrote: »
    hi,

Just party up with a few people and go into party chat, no point in listening to most of the idiots playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I think I'm about average at the game, have about a 1.2 k/d ratio. I actually think Halo - another game I play a lot of - is an example of a game far tougher on newer players because of the whole shield/health mechanic, so there's no such thing really as lucky shots/kills from behind to the same extent as in COD titles. The amount of times I've been shot from behind and been able to turn and kill the person shooting at me....not something easily done in COD.

One thing I wish they had in COD like they do in Halo and sort of in BF3 is Assassination kills, they'd be awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭rossieboy

After a really bad start to MW3.. K/D Ratio was around 0.75..

I decided to change my game tactics from MW2.

Now I'm about 120 Kills away from 1.00 K/D ratio..

Class Set up is:
    Scar - Silenced - Focus
    Stinger
    Slight of Hand
    Hardline Pro
    Stalker
    Bouncing Betty
    Flash Grenade

I stick to the Edge of the map at all times. I find this really useful & I changed my controller layout to Tactical. I'm getting more kills than deaths in about 85% of all my games since changing to this.

Hope it helps someone out there! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

rossieboy wrote: »
    After a really bad start to MW3.. K/D Ratio was around 0.75..

I decided to change my game tactics from MW2.

Now I'm about 120 Kills away from 1.00 K/D ratio..

Class Set up is:
    Scar - Silenced - Focus
    Stinger
    Slight of Hand
    Hardline Pro
    Stalker
    Bouncing Betty
    Flash Grenade

I stick to the Edge of the map at all times. I find this really useful & I changed my controller layout to Tactical. I'm getting more kills than deaths in about 85% of all my games since changing to this.

Hope it helps someone out there! :D

If I could make one recommendation it would be to use Kick instead of Focus

Other than that, nice class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭rossieboy

Thanks! I find Focust to be good as I used kick Previous to that but I might change it back to see if it helps.

Cheers! :D

If you're using a silencer theres no point using kick tbh, focus is a good choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Spike2010

I'm terrible when i have a few drinks, always mess up the KD:D but i enjoy it more when drinking:pac:

I've gotten abit better overall though can get high scoring and games at times too.

The class i'm using is.

ACR, Silenced & Extented Mags.
    SOH
    Quickdraw or Hardline
    Marksman