Christopher Hitchens has died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,744 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

7Sins wrote: »
    Mount a knobs with their RIP here, eh hello?! the man was atheist! Are ye being funny or something cos it's not funny.

perhaps they meant rot in peace ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

44leto wrote: »
    I read his recent book "God is not great", and IMO it wasn't that good. Dawkins one was better.

But the poor man is now suffering in hell and he will be eternally;. I at least will pray for him so our Great God forgives him and allows him into heaven.

You can't go to "Heaven" after you have already been consigned to an eternity in "Hell".

You need to up your theological game son, even this lost soul knows that much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

perhaps they meant rot in peace ;)

Almost, perhaps just rot? why in peace? he's dead like and that's that :)

I think maybe it highlights why people feel the need to say RIP on an internet forum, it's tacky for someone who's Catholic and just disrespectful of an atheist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

You can't go to "Heaven" after you have already been consigned to an eternity in "Hell".

You need to up your theological game son, even this lost soul knows that much.

You do know god is forgiving and all powerful, all it takes is prayer and faith.

So stop trolling. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,744 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

7Sins wrote: »
    Almost, perhaps just rot? why in peace? he's dead like and that's that :)

I think maybe it highlights why people feel the need to say RIP on an internet forum, it's tacky for someone who's Catholic and just disrespectful of an atheist.

It was meant to be a joke on the concept of a dead person resting in peace - you just rot. The End.
    He would have loathed RIP being uttered in his passing- it obviously flies in the face of everything he believed in.

Although there remains the strong possibility most of those who said RIP thought they were being funny by doing so.
    This forum is not the most serious place afterall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

kraggy wrote: »
    Jaysus, have a go at someone who hasn't heard of him just to show your supposed intellect, much?

What was the point in posting in the thread if he had never heard of him? Oh that's right, thanks whoring..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

44leto wrote: »
    You do know god is forgiving and all powerful, all it takes is prayer and faith.

I'm sure he is, try telling that to the millions of people he's killed for his own amusement in history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

I'm honestly in tears, we've lost one of the great ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I'm honestly in tears, we've lost one of the great ones.
    Over 6 hours later and not a word of comfort for you, shame on you After hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

MrStuffins wrote: »
    :(

RIP to one of the great minds of our and all time

Isnt RIP a bit of an oxymoron to him seeing as there is no such thing as restful existance post death?

edit- seen that got mentiond in the 21 previous pages.

Millitanrt Christians/ Muslims are lunatics. Millitant athiests are actually retarded (the Dawkins types mind. Hitchens was actually quite a smart journo and I always liked his articles)

But there is a great difference between the likes of me, who finds religion so irrelevant that its more of a culture thing to say Im Catholic despite the fact Ive zero opinion on the existance of God, as opposed to millitant athiests who seem to nearly wish they had been indoctrined into the church as a child so they could rebel against it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Millitanrt Christians/ Muslims are lunatics. Millitant athiests are actually retarded (the Dawkins types mind. Hitchens was actually quite a smart journo and I always liked his articles)

But there is a great difference between the likes of me, who finds religion so irrelevant that its more of a culture thing to say Im Catholic despite the fact Ive zero opinion on the existance of God, as opposed to millitant athiests who seem to nearly wish they had been indoctrined into the church as a child so they could rebel against it.

Congratulations, you've set the bar for most retarded post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Zorbas

Anyone know where you can get a copy of God is not great at less than €10 am a bit short of dosh at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

He abused his children.

He complained about how he hated how his father was an alcoholic and his mother a heavy smoker.

So he then and went and did it to his children who had asked him to stop before it damaged him.

An utter failure of man who was all talk and little else, he said he would either have the Pope arrested in the UK or make the visit very uncomfortable for the government to the point they won't pay for it.
    Not only did the UK government pay for it, the visit went far better than anyone could have imagined.

He killed himself in the end, but then he was suppose to be an intellect, which is questionable, talk is cheap and he had plenty of cheap talk.

Min wrote: »
    An utter failure of man who was all talk and little else

lol, that is all.

You should really check out some of his articles from a life time as a journalist. Maybe take a look at some of the countries he traveled to in order to get those reports, and what was happening in those countries at the time.

I have no problem with people not liking him, but it's fairly sad to just sit there and make **** up.

lol, that is all.

You should really check out some of his articles from a life time as a journalist. Maybe take a look at some of the countries he traveled to in order to get those reports, and what was happening in those countries at the time.

I have no problem with people not liking him, but it's fairly sad to just sit there and make **** up.

ok where did his campaign against the state visit of the Pope to the UK get to last year?

Was the Pope arrested?
    Was it an uncomfortable visit for the British government.
    Did the UK government refuse to pay for the state part of the visit?

About 10,000 militant atheists marched in London againt the Pope, to the hundreds of thousands who turned out to welcome the Pope.

You think this campaign by Hitchens was a success?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭drkpower

This is exhibit A in your case that he is an utter failure of a man?:D

drkpower wrote: »
    This is exhibit A in your case that he is an utter failure of a man?:D

Well he abused his children:

From Hitchens himself about his devotion to cigareetes and alcohol and would he worship them again if he could re-live his life:
    "But you would do it again?" Rose asked.

"Yes, I think I would," Hitchens responded. "I've had to reflect on this, of course, a lot recently, and trying to imagine doing my life differently and not ending up mortally sick. But it's impossible for me to imagine having my life without going to those parties, without having those late nights...without that second bottle."

In an interview with Anderson Cooper earlier this month, Hitchens said "to anyone watching, if you can hold it down on the smokes and the cocktails you may be well advised to do so."

Hitchens said that his affinity for liquor and cigarettes had surprised him, because his father was an alcoholic and his mother a heavy smoker -- two things he hated as a child.

"I thought I would never start," he said. "And my children do this to me...they really said they wished that I wouldn't do it."

I expect Richard Dawkins at his funeral to give an oration about Hitchens abusing his children through alcohol and cigarettes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

ok where did his campaign against the state visit of the Pope to the UK get to last year?

Was the Pope arrested?

About 10,000 militant atheists marched in London againt the Pope, to the hundreds of thousands who turned out to welcome the Pope.

Actually they campaigned to have him arrested upon entering the country. Hitchens had this to say on the matter...
    “The institutionalized concealment of child rape is a crime under any law and demands not private ceremonies of repentance or church-funded payoffs, but justice and punishment."

Is this something you disagree with?

And you're claiming he abused his children because he drank and smoke like his own parents? Seriously? :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I didn't realise parents who drink and smoke are abusing their children.

Is that better or worse than the systematic sexual abuse that the church indulged in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Only discovered Hitchens 3/4 years ago. (I lead a sheltered life) While watching clips of Dawkins on youtube, I came across the Four Horsemen debate. Who was this guy with the upper crust British accent, quaffing whiskey and generally giving off an air of superiority.....feckin tool.
    After looking at the whole debate and then after being compelled to watch many many more, I quickly changed my opinion. What an amazingly intelligent and eloquent individual. And what a great character too. He'll be a big loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Zorbas wrote: »
    Anyone know where you can get a copy of God is not great at less than €10 am a bit short of dosh at the moment.
    Try your local library or browse around a few charity shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭drkpower

Well he abused his children:

From Hitchens himself about his devotion to cigareetes and alcohol and would he worship them again if he could re-live his life:
    "But you would do it again?" Rose asked.

"Yes, I think I would," Hitchens responded. "I've had to reflect on this, of course, a lot recently, and trying to imagine doing my life differently and not ending up mortally sick. But it's impossible for me to imagine having my life without going to those parties, without having those late nights...without that second bottle."

You dont do yourself any favours using 'abuse' in this context, as many have pointed out.

I think you might misunderstand his quote above. He is answering the question whether he would do it again rather than whether it would be right to do it again or whether he regrets it. It is a very honest answer which i think most of us would give if we honestly answered that type of question.

He is simply reflecting his own personal weaknesses in that answer, rather than giving the easy answer: 'of course, i wouldnt do it all again'. When i look back at the things i did in the past that i am not proud of, I would like to think I would not repeat the mistakes if i had the chance to live my life over, but the honest answer is that i probably would.

If weakness and honesty makes a man an 'utter failure', then there is a long queue to join (especially for the former).

Was the Pope arrested?

I'm still slightly confused by your logic.

How does this make him an "utter failure".

No offence, but i imagine you have tried to do things, and made public pronouncements of efforts that fell short of the mark.

Do you feel this makes you an utter failure?

Please explain your thinking as i am finding it difficult to grasp where you are coming from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Jeez, disliking him because you believe in god is understandable, but child abuse through smoking and drinking... bit too much of a stretch. Kinda insulting to people who were actually abused too. You don't have to make sh1t up to get across the point that you're not a fan of someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Dimithy

. Millitant athiests are actually retarded

How does one become a militant atheist? I presume this involves some killing, and destruction, right?
    I don't think speaking out against religion, or in favour of atheism, is quite enough to earn you the tag of militant.

Anyway, Hitchens > god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Stephen Fry and Friends: The Life, Loves and Hates of Christopher Hitchens is on right now on Sky channel 183, also known as Current TV.

Well his friend, Richard Dawkins says it is child abuse to have your child brought up with religion being a part of it.
    Surely it is far worse to have an alcoholic father and a mother who puts carcinogens into the air that her child has to breathe.
    Alcohol causes a lot of harm in society as do cigarettes, this man said he hated what his parents did with the drinking and smoking, yet he inflicted it on his own who had asked him to stop.
    Selfish man, who couldn't even stop doing to his own children what he himself couldn't stand.
    The man is such a hypocrite.

He put himself before his children, similar to how some in the church put the church before the victims of abuse.
    No child wants an alcoholic father or have to breathe in the smoke of the cigarretes of their mother.

The Pope campaign by him was his last real high profile event, he achieved nothing, it was an utter failure that simply pandered to his worshippers and not the mainstream.
    It failed to achieve every objective he had set out to achieve. He put across a supposed intellectual argument that was supposedly supported by law, when it was not the case.
    He was a weak man who let anger get the better of him and then filled some void in his life with alcohol and cigarrettes, he was not strong enough to give them up and eventually he killed himself.
    He is an example of how for one to not live their life.

A supposed intellect, yet he gave himself oesophageal cancer by the way he lived, that is sad but it shows he was not as clever as some make out.

Hitchens is not great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I think, lights out game over well played, would be more akin to his thinking rather than RIP,

when you die there is nothing, no feelings no awareness, so it would be stupid to ask him to do something he would say is impossible.

lights out game over well played sir.

Well his friend, Richard Dawkins says it is child abuse to have your child brought up with religion being a part of it.
    Surely it is far worse to have an alcoholic father and a mother who puts carcinogens into the air that her child has to breathe.
    Alcohol causes a lot of harm in society as do cigarettes, this man said he hated what his parents did with the drinking and smoking, yet he inflicted it on his own who had asked him to stop.
    Selfish man, who couldn't even stop doing to his own children what he himself couldn't stand.
    The man is such a hypocrite.

He put himself before his children, similar to how some in the church put the church before the victims of abuse.
    No child wants an alcoholic father or have to breathe in the smoke of the cigarretes of their mother.

The Pope campaign by him was his last real high profile event, he achieved nothing, it was an utter failure that simply pandered to his worshippers and not the mainstream.
    It failed to achieve every objective he had set out to achieve. He put across a supposed intellectual argument that was supposedly supported by law, when it was not the case.
    He was a weak man who let anger get the better of him and then filled some void in his life with alcohol and cigarrettes, he was not strong enough to give them up and eventually he killed himself.
    He is an example of how for one to not live their life.

A supposed intellect, yet he gave himself oesophageal cancer by the way he lived, that is sad but it shows he was not as clever as some make out.

Hitchens is not great.

Is the bolded part your way of back tracking from your previous statement?

As you have yet to deal with that adequately based on the question i put to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

I wouldn't quite agree with what Min said, in that I think Christopher Hitchens was one of the brightest minds amongst us. Ultimately though as far as I see it he dedicated his mind to the wrong cause.