Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12 - Mod Note 4153

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,402 ✭✭✭emo72

is this torres crap the reason RAWK is down? really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I think Torres is many times the player Carroll is so I'd take him back in a heartbeat. It would totally undermine the signing of Carroll though so cant see it happening unless Carroll is offloaded. The two of them could never play in a team together.
    daithijjj wrote: »
    Torres is finished, washed up. Put it out of your mind.

If there is money (20 mil) there, and the club want to buy a striker, buy a player on the up, not on the way down. Put it towards somebody else.

He was a great player from the age of 17-25/26. He is now 27 and finished? Dont buy that. Hes basically had a couple of bad seasons. Even in his last half-season with Liverpool he scored 9 in 26 when the team was playing some of the worst football in their history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

No we wouldn't. As good as he is certain aspects of his game are way off. Can't tackle & rarely get 90 minutes out of him. Watch how many games he get's taken off after 60 / 70 mins? If Kenny rated him he'd have kept him. I'll trust his judgement

The signing of Carroll would suggest you shouldn't. Meireles is a far more versatile player than Adam. He has far more to his game than Adam, who just looks for the Hollywood pass all the time.

We have been a better outfit with him being put in the side over Lampard.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

If anyone can get Torres back on track, it would be Kenny. When he took over, we saw glimpses of what Torres was and what he can still be. Then he left and scored the same amount of goals for Chelsea as he did in under 3 or so games (?) under Kenny.
    Either-way, where ever he goes I wish him success. I actually feel sorry for the guy now.. Take him back out of pity..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

The signing of Carroll would suggest you shouldn't. Meireles is a far more versatile player than Adam. He has far more to his game than Adam, who just looks for the Hollywood pass all the time.

We have been a better outfit with him being put in the side over Lampard.

2 completely different situations but once it 'supports' your argument fair enough. Kenny had Raul at the club for 6 months & deemed him surplus to requirements, Im cool with that.

As for your point about Lampard, well next time Chelsea lose with Frank on the bench & Raul playing we know what you will be saying. Don't forget, see how many 90 minutes ye get out of Raul between now and the end of the season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

The signing of Carroll would suggest you shouldn't.

The transfer saga over them few days has gone tits up and no ones judgement should be questioned. It's all Torres fault for handing in the transfer request anyway.

Meireles is a far more versatile player than Adam. He has far more to his game than Adam, who just looks for the Hollywood pass all the time.

We have been a better outfit with him being put in the side over Lampard

I would like to see Meireles in the Liverpool side rather than Adam, but Kenny saw something in him he didn't like and Meireles thought he was due a pay rise after last season and wasn't getting any, so he left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

2 completely different situations but once it 'supports' your argument fair enough. Kenny had Raul at the club for 6 months & deemed him surplus to requirements, Im cool with that.

As for your point about Lampard, well next time Chelsea lose with Frank on the bench & Raul playing we know what you will be saying. Don't forget, see how many 90 minutes ye get out of Raul between now and the end of the season

Lets be honest, Lamps is more useful to us a sub than a starter IMO. Lampard slows the game down and just looks slow and ponderous most of the time, but he can pop up and score the odd goal, or put away a penalty.

Their is just more to his overall game than Lampards, his passing is better and he is faster.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I would like to see Meireles in the Liverpool side rather than Adam, but Kenny saw something in him he didn't like and Meireles thought he was due a pay rise after last season and wasn't getting any, so he left.

I'd have both. Still not happy that poor part of business.. Good player who tbf EARNED he's place/he's stay. but na.

We need to good DMF in January to fill Lucas' gap. Have no fate in Gerrard tbh and spearing is not up to the standards we strive for at LFC.
    One good DMF and a cheap poacher. We'll be back on track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

don't know why people bring up Meireles vs Adam discussion. Both would be in our best starting 11 and it was always a Meireles vs Gerrard argument for me and in that situation Meireles should never have been sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

It would be such a major risk to bring Torres back, if he kept up his bad form and never returned to his former self we would be the laughing stock of the entire footballing world. However, if he started banging them in again it would be one of the best pieces of businesses in a long time, not to mention a bit of a "romantic" story. Question is though, which is more likely? For me, it's the first scenario, although anything is possible and part of me would love to see him back, but daithijjj could be right in saying we would be much better off putting it towards a completely different forward, although with no CL football our club might not seem the most attractive to many top class forwards apart from Torres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

I'd love to see Torres back, but i find it funny how people give out about the abuse Suarez gets when our fans give Torres even worse abuse when playing Chelsea. It hurt when he left and he deserved a bit of stick when he returned to anfield but i think we should just bury the hatchet at this stage.

A Torres/Suarez partnership would be unreal but i'd also be curious to see how a Torres/Caroll partnership would work. All hypothetical of course, but if we had the three of those as an option we'd be sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I'd love to see Torres back, but i find it funny how people give out about the abuse Suarez gets when our fans give Torres even worse abuse when playing Chelsea. It hurt when he left and he deserved a bit of stick when he returned to anfield but i think we should just bury the hatchet at this stage.

A Torres/Suarez partnership would be unreal but i'd also be curious to see how a Torres/Caroll partnership would work. All hypothetical of course, but if we had the three of those as an option we'd be sorted.

A Torres Carroll partnership would be a nightmare. It simply wouldnt work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

don't know why people bring up Meireles vs Adam discussion. Both would be in our best starting 11 and it was always a Meireles vs Gerrard argument for me and in that situation Meireles should never have been sold.

Exactly, Meireles is no Adam as a CM. Adam is no AM as Meireles. He should never have been sold as Aquilani was a no, no and we don't really have any AM's, until Shelvey was brought back and he needed the Blackpool spell.

Still, it happened during the last day of the transfer window and unlike Torres, we had no time to bargain with Chelsea.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Odats

Would take Torres back in a heartbeat for 20 million. Him and Suarez up front.
    He was disillusioned at the time all can be forgiven. Fernando Torres Liverpool's 99.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

Tusky wrote: »
    when Crouch was used with Torres in 07/08 it worked perfectly well so there's no reason why he couldn't play with Carroll. In my opinion Carroll has far more to his game than Crouch does and will go on to excel for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭Sappy404

Stranger things have happened, but I doubt there's any truth to that Mail story. Not least because it's the Daily Mail.

And even if he is available, FSG are more likely to try and invest in the next Torres than buy the old one.

We're more likely to sign Goetze, i.e. not very.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Tusky wrote: »
    What? How do you know this. For the record i don't want Torres back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭BrookieD

This talk of Torres if just fluff, Torres is never coming back to LFC, Why would Chelsea take a hit of 30 mill in 12 months?

Seems like a story for the sake of a story to me. IF we had 20mil to spend i would rather spend on the new talent coming up the line and not a talent that has only been a shadow of himself for 2 years now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

Chelsea wont even get 20m for him......his wage demands will be ridiculous as well.
    Malaga or Ath Madrid are his only real options I reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭rossc007

I really can't believe the amount of fans that want Torres back. He completely disrespected the club before, during and after his move to Chelsea. He looked like a spoiled child in the games leading up to his departure and just when it looked like the club was back on track he turned his back on us for a "Big Club".

That photo where everyone is celebrating but him speaks volumes about his character.

He's one of the best players we've ever had at the club, but to quote the banner "We hate you so much, because we loved you so much".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Torres leaving in my opinion was the sting in the tail from our previous custodians.

So many broken promises made to him over a number of years. The sacking of a manager he loved & who brought the best out of him & played a large part in making him the player he became. Replacing a him with ****ing Hodgson. I think in Jan he had a choice between "seeing what happened" under new American owners & a manager who'd been out of the game a long time, or leaving to perceived greener pastures.

I think any comments he made upon leaving were simply him trying to justify the move to himself in his head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Torres leaving in my opinion was the sting in the tail from our previous custodians.

So many broken promises made to him over a number of years. The sacking of a manager he loved & who brought the best out of him & played a large part in making him the player he became.

I think any comments he made upon leaving were simply him trying to justify the move to himself in his head.

Things were looking up though, we had new owners who were bring in Suarez to partner him, could he have not held on for 5 more months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Talk about short memories. His attitude in his last 12 months with us and with Chelsea in the last 12 stinks. I wouldn't have him back, I believe he'd probably have a distributive influence on the team/club.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I would love, fooking love to have Torres back.

In the run of games before his move to Chelsea, he was getting back into his stride and had a few great games and banged in a few goals.

The moved to Chelsea, and if i remember correctly, there were some moans from him about the social life at the club and the players dont interact with each other outside of training. Whereas at LFC it was much more family orientated and the players got together outside of club duties. Spanish people in general our more 'family' orientated.

If he has continued in that way for the past year, unhappy in his social/personal life, that is bound to have an impact on the pitch. That along with the pressure that absolutely everybody has put him under since his move....even to this day, he is a topic of discussion in the media, press, fans, forums, etc.

All that is bound to have an impact on his performance on the pitch.

Put it this way, when there are things going awry in your personal life, does it affect your own performance at work.

I dont think it has helped his circumstances at CFC that he is benched and youngsters are being played ahead of him after not being given much of a chance. Also, we built are style of play around feeding Torres, CFC have tried to slot him into a system that has arguably been the same since Jose Mouriho's second game in charge many years ago.
    Torres would fit much better into how we play than CFC play.

If he did come back, his personal life would improve (in theory) and he would be playing in a team that is much more suited to him as a player.
    He would have a huge mountain to get over in that there would be a section of fans that would not make him welcome. But scoring a hatrick against CFC would soon sort that out ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

He'd be very welcome at united lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,650 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

bring me Torres back in a heartbeat for £20m.

i'm telling you, his heart is still at the club, you'd see a different player than the one you see at Chelsea, and he, despite his recent form, is a predatory finisher when he's in the mood.

he left because of the previous ownership. he was promised investment, he didn't get it. he was then asked by Purslow et al to stay at the club, put up with it, until it was sold, not because he was part of the long term future of the club. no, we didn't try to convince him to stay like that. instead, we asked him to stay until January so that the club could be sold at a higher price. he was treated as an asset. that, on top of the broken promises, meant he just didn't see a light at the end of the tunnel. and he only had a certain amount of time at the top.

people talk about his first interview with Chelsea as if it was a dig at us.

1) if it was a dig at anyone, it was the owners;
    2 he has to say he's now arrived at a big club.

now, it could have been worded better, but as Al said, i reckon he tried to justify it in his head.

as i say, i'd take him back instantly, and bite your hand off, for 20m.

plus, that would mean Andy Carroll, technically, would only have cost £5m.

;):D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

SlickRic wrote: »
    plus, that would mean Andy Carroll, technically, would only have cost £5m.

;):D:pac:

That would be awesome! :pac:

Striking options of;

Suarez, Torres, Carroll, Kuyt & Bellamy would be **** material imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,392 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I would take him back in a heartbeat as well.

Not sure I buy everything you said Slick, some of your points about him being asked to wait until January or defending the interview etc.

But I completely agree (although we can't be 100%) that his heart is still here and he would perform better here.

Would Chelsea let him go in the summer though? It wouldn't be embaressing for AVB as such as he didn't buy him but still..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Are we going to pay him double the wages we were like he is likely on at Chelsea? We aren't actually saving any money if we do.

If he is leaving Chelsea(which is possibly BS anyway), would he be prepared to go to a club that may not be in the CL next season?

I'd say that would be one of the main sticking points.

Did he go to Chelsea for the money of chance of trophies? The latter imo.

Liverpool are rebuilding and this year we might fall short of the top 4.

Also, would Chelsea sell him to us? Highly doubt it.

Still love to see him back tbh at the right price, but he isn't a shadow of the player he was since his operations,. Saying that he is still a top player.