Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

castie wrote: »
    Sooo Botha potentially out.....

Really??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Flincher

Deny the Scarlets a losing bonus point next week, beat Castres at home, and the we've topped the group before going to Milton Keynes.

Great position to be in at this stage. Well done lads.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Really??

Being Pessimistic here as he had to be helped off the field.

Yeah, I suppose. I really hope not. He'd be a massive blow...as it's a huge step down at this stage. Hayes is 38 and Archer is no Botha...

We can't afford any more injuries, especially in the front row.

Maybe it's a good time for that sacrifice to appease the rugby gods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

Word on MF than Len Dineen said it was only a dead leg. Hopefully we get a bit of luck for once.

Ive been disappointed with Chambers the last few weeks, he seems to only perform from the bench. I wouldn't be surprised to see Earls slotting in at 13 when he returns. It'll certainly appease uncle Deccie anyway.

Its always good to get the calculations done

2 home wins will leave us on 20.

Scarlets are now on 10, if we deny them a bonus, they most they can get from their games is another 10, which would leave them on 20. We go through on the head to head.

Castres are on 6. If we beat them, they can finish on 18. (2 try BP wins, losing bonus, and try bonus against us).

Saints are on 3. 3 BP wins leaves them on 18.

Hopefully Saints will beat Castres next week, just to take them out of contention. It would also mean Castres could send a second string to Limerick in January, which wouldn't do us any harm.

It'd be great to travel to Milton Keynes relatively worry-free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Chambers was poor today, also thought Zebo was out of position on a few occasions... Hopefully Botha is fit for next week as we don't really have a legitimate alternative starter...

Flincher wrote: »
    Its always good to get the calculations done

2 home wins will leave us on 20.

Scarlets are now on 10, if we deny them a bonus, they most they can get from their games is another 10, which would leave them on 20. We go through on the head to head.

Castres are on 6. If we beat them, they can finish on 18. (2 try BP wins, losing bonus, and try bonus against us).

Saints are on 3. 3 BP wins leaves them on 18.

Hopefully Saints will beat Castres next week, just to take them out of contention. It would also mean Castres could send a second string to Limerick in January, which wouldn't do us any harm.

It'd be great to travel to Milton Keynes relatively worry-free.

I think next week could be tight again. But we should be able to eke out a win. Will Earls definitely be back?

I can't see either Castres or Northampton getting a bonus point win against us. Beat us, yeah, but I don't think we'd concede 4 tries.

2 home wins and a bonus point loss gets us through no matter what. But for what was a very tough group is looking very very good right now.

Fair play to the team though, they've really produced when it matters. Coughlan was superb today, Leamy was good off the bench again, I thought Ryan was pretty good, Varley was excellent...in fact all the front row were. POC was immense, Murray was decent enough, ROG did what needed to be done, Zebo was elusive in attack, poor in defence. Mafi was good too and Hurley, bar one awful kick, was excellent.

The try was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭macslash

Sorry lads, I know ye are probably discussing the game today but I just had a quick query. I'm in college in Limerick and myself and a few of the lads were on about heading to a game. I see Treviso are in Thomond the 7th January. Anyone know would tickets be easy to get for this and around how much? Cheers lads..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Pro12 tickets are no problem to get.

Sound..ticketmaster the best route ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,591 ✭✭✭✭phog

macslash wrote: »
    Sorry lads, I know ye are probably discussing the game today but I just had a quick query. I'm in college in Limerick and myself and a few of the lads were on about heading to a game. I see Treviso are in Thomond the 7th January. Anyone know would tickets be easy to get for this and around how much? Cheers lads..

I reckon they'll be tickets for the Castres H/C game available if you're around that week-end.

But as Tomond say, PRO12 tickets are available for most games.

Sound..ticketmaster the best route ya?

Buy them at a ticket office if you can, avoid the bull**** ticketmaster charges. You can buy them at Thomond Park's ticket office and there might be a ticket agent in town too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Cat A 40
    Cat B 30
    Terrace 20
    Just order them on the munster rugby internet site or the ticket office at thomond

Brilliant. Thanks a million lads!

So, ROG is playing his 100th game in the HC.

Your favourite ROG Heineken Cup moments?

His conversion in the dying seconds of the game against Saracens in TP in 2000 to get us into the Q/Fs.

His penalty kick from the halfway line (thanks to Shane Jennings it was moved forward 10mtrs.) against Leicester in Weford Rd, though that came back to haunt us in TP later that season.

Many more mentions could be made but those two kicks stand out for me.
    Sooo Botha potentially out.....

I saw him walk around congratulating the team at the final whistle so hopefully he'll be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Didn't get to see the game today but 3 from 3, what a start for Munster! Obviously still a long way to go and the performances haven't always been fantastic, but a home quarter is definitely on the cards now. The icing on the cake is that you still have Wallace, Fla/Sherry, Earls and Jones to come back into the team. Maybe Munster Rugby isn't so screwed! :P Can't wait for the Leinster Munster final now :D

CouchSmart wrote: »
    Didn't get to see the game today but 3 from 3, what a start for Munster! Obviously still a long way to go and the performances haven't always been fantastic, but a home quarter is definitely on the cards now. The icing on the cake is that you still have Wallace, Fla/Sherry, Earls and Jones to come back into the team. Maybe Munster Rugby isn't so screwed! :P Can't wait for the Leinster Munster final now :D

Don't jinx it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Benny Cake wrote: »
    Chambers was poor today, also thought Zebo was out of position on a few occasions... Hopefully Botha is fit for next week as we don't really have a legitimate alternative starter...

Munsters backs are so badly coached that the entire backline look pants when they're not receiving kicks or in broken play. Murray and ROG weren't doing them any favours today with their shody distribution.

I think Chambers played well and hope he is offered a new contract

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭the_blackstuff

Does anybody know the exact date of the castre game. If you go through the supporters web site to buy them it says the 13th but on everything else its just showing that weekend? I reckon the fixture must be made at this stage. Trying to plan a head

The Saints game is set for Sat 21st so I reckon we'll get a 6 day turn around, so that would mean our game against Catres would be Sun 15th. Just a hunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

usually its announced after the double header

http://www.munsterrugby.ie/news/9789.php

Munster: Sean Scanlon; Luke O'Dea (Corey Hircock 66), Tom Gleeson, JJ Hanrahan, Ronan O'Mahony; Declan Cusack, Duncan Williams; David Kilcoyne, Duncan Casey (James Rael), Christy Condon (Peter Borlase 59); Dave Foley (Dave O'Callaghan 64), Ian Nagle; Billy Holland Capt., Tommy O'Donnell, Paddy Butler.

Replacements: James Rael, Peter Borlase, Dave O'Callaghan, Brian O'Hara, Cathal Sheridan, Cian Bohane, Corey Hircock.

DOC2.0 got 16 minutes off the bench while Borlase got 20.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

So, broken jaw for Peter O'Mahony.... Should make things a little more interesting, I mean, it was getting dull, you know.

How long will he be out for??

Straight swap at the weekend, Leamy in. Kills any speculation about rearrangements to the back row...

How long will he be out for??

Straight swap at the weekend, Leamy in. Kills any speculation about rearrangements to the back row...

Who to bring onto the bench though? Leamy has been virtually a game-changer when he's come on, I really think he's been exceptional. Holland started at 6 for the A team, with DOCv2.0 on the bench. Personally, I'd nearly risk bringing DOCv2.0 in to bench but Holland has paid his dues and wouldn't let us down.

From MF:

"Could we bring the Holy Stump of Rathkeale to Thomond?"

I'd go with O'Donnell on the bench, better player than Holland in my view. He's a strong ball carrier, and could provide a bit more impact off the bench. Holland is solid, does the basics well, but if we are going to take them on up front, O'Donnell would give a bit more impetus.

He can also cover 7 if needed.

Flincher wrote: »
    I'd go with O'Donnell on the bench, better player than Holland in my view. He's a strong ball carrier, and could provide a bit more impact off the bench. Holland is solid, does the basics well, but if we are going to take them on up front, O'Donnell would give a bit more impetus.

He can also cover 7 if needed.

I'd like to see O'Donnell at 6 too, but don't think Foley sees him as one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Yeah I know what you mean it had been at least 7 days since we had a serious injury to a key player :eek:

I imagine MOD will come into the match 22 though it really should be Nagle