Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

budhabob wrote: »
    Just read on breakingnews, Dougie is out for the season. Fecking disaster.
    Total Disaster but it prob means more game time for the likes of Luke O'Dea, which is better for us in the long run but at the same time ideally you'd want them getting gametime with Dougie beside them

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,765 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

That's not good news. You'd have to worry for his career at his age too. Hopefully he bounces back as he's been great for Munster.

Not the end of the world give the opposition for the next two games. If Munster beat Scarlets, they'll do it up front. And hopefully Earls will be back before the last two games to add some pace and finishing to the backline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Rotten news.

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭TheJims

Confirmed here.. http://www.munsterrugby.ie/news/9761.php

Hes been electric since the first weekend of the HC, terrible news for our backline
    The disappointing news to come out of the Munster camp is that Doug Howlett will miss the rest of the season with an Achilles injury. Howlett had a scan yesterday that showed he will require surgery to mend the damage with a recuperation period then of 6-8 months. In other injury news, Keith Earls (knee) is expected back training next week with the possibility of a return to action in the home game v Scarlets. Earls was in UL this afternoon but took no part in the session.
    Others due to return from injury include Peter Borlase (back) who may take part in the British & Irish Cup game in Tralee on Saturday and Dave O'Callaghan (knee) who could also be involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

Horrible horrible news.

I know that Rugby is an extremely physical game and maybe as a Munster fan I'm just more attuned to our plight but, surely there can't be any other teams around who have suffered a similar amount of high profile injuries in recent years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Horrible horrible news.

I know that Rugby is an extremely physical game and maybe as a Munster fan I'm just more attuned to our plight but, surely there can't be any other teams around who have suffered a similar amount of high profile injuries in recent years.

I strongly disagree.

Connacht could barely field a team against Leinster earlier this year. Ospreys were without 19 alone against ye last week (granted 5 or 6 on International duty).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

Hard luck Munster :(

But at least Earls is coming back - that's a very big plus.

I strongly disagree.

Connacht could barely field a team against Leinster earlier this year. Ospreys were without 19 alone against ye last week (granted 5 or 6 on International duty).

I'm not just talking about the current scenario, I'm talking in general over a period of time. Without going into much detail, Horan, Flannery, Buckley, POC, Leamy, Wallace, TOL, Dowling, Murphy, Jones and Earls have all missed huge spells due to injury. Its a huge difference from the eternally fit, Bull, ROG , Stringer etc. on whom we built our past successes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Very bad news, has been brilliant throughout his entire career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Too lazy to google it but... when does Howlett's contract expire?

A real kick in the teeth for a guy who was playing really well this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

I strongly disagree.

Munster will always be able to field some sort of team, even in situations where we're badly hit with players, that being said, Munster have had an awful injury profile over the last 3 years, perhaps it's no worse than other teams but it's still pretty bad.

Horan - heart problems
    Flannery - fairly much missed two/three seasons
    Buckley - succession of injuries
    POC - several serious injuries
    POM - neck injury last season
    Wallace - knee injury
    Leamy - several knee or cruciate (?) injuries
    TOL - bad ankle injury, bad back injury, bad eye injury
    Tipoki - retired with knee injury(?) (had comeback of sorts in NZ?)
    Dowling - retired with hip injury
    Barry Murphy - retired with ankle injury
    Howlett
    Earls - carried groin injury for first half of last season, iirc
    Jones - neck injury, knee injury

In addition, guys on the fringe of the squad
    Barnes - broken elbow last season, broken hand this season
    Borlase - hip injury,
    Hurley - eye injury, achilles injury
    Sherry - ankle injury
    Nagle - ankle injury
    Ryan - broken arm?
    Troy Smith - knee injury

I know every squad has long term absentees, and I know most pro players play despite a niggle or a strain every other week but you'd hardly say we'd been blessed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Gutted. Absolutely gutted. He was backing up his excellent defence with some potent attacking this season.

Aidric wrote: »
    Gutted. Absolutely gutted. He was backing up his excellent defence with some potent attacking this season.

Yeah, he's been great this season, tbh, I don't want to think about it yet, I genuinely fear for our backline without him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,349 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

I'm not just talking about the current scenario, I'm talking in general over a period of time. Without going into much detail, Horan, Flannery, Buckley, POC, Leamy, Wallace, TOL, Dowling, Murphy, Jones and Earls have all missed huge spells due to injury. Its a huge difference from the eternally fit, Bull, ROG , Stringer etc. on whom we built our past successes.

Im not downplaying Munsters injuries but rugby is a physical sport so I'd say nearly every fan could list a massive number of their teams key players who have missed significant time over the last 3 years with injury. I certainly could with Leinster anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Too lazy to google it but... when does Howlett's contract expire?

A real kick in the teeth for a guy who was playing really well this year.

End of the season. He's been on a rolling one year contract. Was hoping he'd take over as backs coach when he retired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,591 ✭✭✭✭phog

Shocking luck for Dougie and Munster.

I heard on RTE Radio that Simon Zebo left the training session today in crutches too, hopefully, he'll be available for the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Munster will always be able to field some sort of team, even in situations where we're badly hit with players, that being said, Munster have had an awful injury profile over the last 3 years, perhaps it's no worse than other teams but it's still pretty bad.

Horan - heart problems
    Flannery - fairly much missed two/three seasons
    Buckley - succession of injuries
    POC - several serious injuries
    POM - neck injury last season
    Wallace - knee injury
    Leamy - several knee or cruciate (?) injuries
    TOL - bad ankle injury, bad back injury, bad eye injury
    Tipoki - retired with knee injury(?) (had comeback of sorts in NZ?)
    Dowling - retired with hip injury
    Barry Murphy - retired with ankle injury
    Howlett
    Earls - carried groin injury for first half of last season, iirc
    Jones - neck injury, knee injury

In addition, guys on the fringe of the squad
    Barnes - broken elbow last season, broken hand this season
    Borlase - hip injury,
    Hurley - eye injury, achilles injury
    Sherry - ankle injury
    Nagle - ankle injury
    Ryan - broken arm?
    Troy Smith - knee injury

I know every squad has long term absentees, and I know most pro players play despite a niggle or a strain every other week but you'd hardly say we'd been blessed.

Is Darragh Hurley injured currently? He has/had potential to be a very good player but has been cursed with injuries. I'd say a few more injuries and Munster might not offer him another contract.

Other fringe players like DOC2 and Sean Scanlon have been out injured too lately.

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭TheJims

Felix Jones and David Wallace continue their rehab with expected return around February while Jerry Flannery is also looking towards a New Year return.
    I had no idea Jones was going to be out so long! was expecting him to be available between xmas and new years!

Source

profitius wrote: »
    Is Darragh Hurley injured currently? He has/had potential to be a very good player but has been cursed with injuries. I'd say a few more injuries and Munster might not offer him another contract.

Other fringe players like DOC2 and Sean Scanlon have been out injured too lately.

Couple of lads I know around Con don't reckon he'll play this season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Zebo injured in training today according to RTE a couple of mins ago. :(

Darragh Hurley is too injury prone, imo. A change of scene might suit him, has helped other players overcome similar situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Zebo injured in training today according to RTE a couple of mins ago. :(

Yeah just heard that on the news, had to leave training on crutches apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Its looking like Luke O'Dea might get a run of games. Great opportunity for the lad. Also looking at the academy, players like Hircock, Cian Bohane, and Ronan O'Mahony could feature. I havn't a clue what those players are like.

Regarding Darragh Hurley, I can't see Munster offering him another contract if he is out until the end of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

First choice back three injured, one of the replacements (Zebo) on crutches.

Is Mafi fit? I heard he was injured

O'Dea isn't in the squad for the HEC (given his youth) but given how hard up Munster are for backs he might have gotten a chance if he was in the squad.

First choice back three injured, one of the replacements (Zebo) on crutches.

Is Mafi fit? I heard he was injured

O'Dea isn't in the squad for the HEC (given his youth) but given how hard up Munster are for backs he might have gotten a chance if he was in the squad.

We are allowed 2 medical jokers so, we can add players if needs be. If Zebo's injury is for any stretch of time we should look at getting in a player on a 3-month loan. Hopefully Howlett will be able to take up more responsibly with the backs with the intention of staying on coaching (hopefully not for another few years yet).

Mafi's whereabouts are now a huge concern, hopefully everything is ok there. TOL might even get a shot with the outside backs and make the wishes of a selection of fans true.

The one thing we must ensure, is that Earls is not rushed back.

We are allowed 2 medical jokers so, we can add players if needs be. If Zebo's injury is for any stretch of time we should look at getting in a player on a 3-month loan. Hopefully Howlett will be able to take up more responsibly with the backs with the intention of staying on coaching (hopefully not for another few years yet).

Mafi's whereabouts are now a huge concern, hopefully everything is ok there. TOL might even get a shot with the outside backs and make the wishes of a selection of fans true.

The one thing we must ensure, is that Earls is not rushed back.
    The plan was to add Wallace Fla Sherry and Felix to the squad as they came back. If Munster do well in this HEC and add a few people now they won't be able to add those returning from injury.

That said I think an addition to the squad is needed now, O'Dea or some signing, if a signing who?

Fionn Carr

Fionn Carr
    That was my first thought as well, I'm sure Leinster could let go their 6th choice back three player at the moment, is it allowed to play for two RDPro12 teams in one season?
    RDP12 wrote:
    5.4. A Team may play permit players from non-RaboDirect PRO12 teams within the same Union. A non-European player may not play on permit and a permit player may only play for one Team in the RaboDirect PRO12 in any one season.

It only talks about permit players but does that apply to other players? Does anyone know. If Carr couldn't play in the Pro12 well he couldn't just play in the Heineken for Munster at any rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Not a hope Fionn Carr is going to Munster!

Not sure where back 3 players would be available, maybe short term from the SH? It'd be pretty brilliant if they signed someone like Hosea Gear

I say the 'Bring Tommy Bowe to Munster' campaign starts right now.