Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12 - Mod Note 4153

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Just looking at the table for last season, 26 points after 14 games would have been 3rd, 2 points behind 1st! :eek:

http://www.statto.com/football/stats/england/premier-league/2010-2011/table/2010-11-22

I'd say 4th is going to be 72-75 points based on the form so far.

Looking at 36-38 points by half way which means 13-15 points out of the next 6 games.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

flahavaj wrote: »
    I wasn't referring to you initially, you quoted my post and picked on a couple of words in it and ignored the rest.
    6292091493_17d092bcaa.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Just on the suarez potential ban, and new strikers - Why do we need any - Bellamy, Kuyt, Carroll?? Carroll needs a run of games anyway - if we buy another striker just because suarez is injured then carroll might as well be sold.

From reading the Guardian site, winning tommorow will equal a club record 7 Away wins in a row, last done in 1988.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

ardinn wrote: »
    Just on the suarez potential ban, and new strikers - Why do we need any - Bellamy, Kuyt, Carroll?? Carroll needs a run of games anyway - if we buy another striker just because suarez is injured then carroll might as well be sold.

Carroll is the only out and out striker we have at the moment, sure the other lads can play there and do an adequate job but they are not being played in their best postion. We need a striker, not midfielders who have an eye for the occasional goal. One player I'd absolutely love to have is Hernandez, if we could get someone similar to Hernandez, a born striker I honestly believe we would have a special team. We need a striker that will be on the edge of the 6 yard box every time he sees his wingers threatening, not Suarez who will come to the edge of the box and look to receive it and take players on. Andy would also have his place as his aerial prowess (or supposed, haven't seen it too much from him yet) would be a very important attribute in unlocking certain teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

K-9 wrote: »
    From reading the Guardian site, winning tommorow will equal a club record 7 Away wins in a row, last done in 1988.

That's a jinx if I've ever seen one:pac:

Blatter wrote: »
    That's a jinx if I've ever seen one:pac:

:D, yep I was saying how Lucas was injury free a while back!

It's nice to actually not fear away games as a pool fan, big contrast to Roy's days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Sappy404 wrote: »
    We're missing a centre forward to score those chances. The problem is Andy's form. If he can turn it around, get a few starts in the team and start to put away some more goals, we'll be fine. The flipside of that is if he hasn't improved by mid-January, there'll be a strong chance of us signing another striker and he'll likely be sold by next season.

It's a massive 6 weeks for him.

I can't see us selling him on that soon. How much would we get? :o
    Its like Barca when they brought Ibrahimovic. OK, we are not Barca (and Andy is no Ibra), but it may be a case of right player wrong club (or vice versa). I was really impressed with Carroll when we played them at (Sports Driect ;)) St James' Park last season, he had too much for us physically and bullied us to be honest, but they were playing a different style to what we play now, completely different. Barca are best playing without a stiker, and when Zlatan moved on (and he clearly didn't suit their style of play) he followed it up with a superb season at Milan.
    I like Carroll, he can't help his transfer fee, but i wouldn't be surprised if he did end up elsewhere, and at a more direct side he'll score 20+ a season. But that just doesn't fit in with our current footballing philosophy.

Assuming the above, why did we spend £35 on Carroll if he doesn't fit the style Kenny wants to play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,729 ✭✭✭mormank

Make or break for Rafa's reputation and a very risky move. With ludicrous amounts of money comes ludicrous expectations and these billionaire owners aren't known for their patience. Another poor start like he had at Inter and he'll be out of Paris as fast as he was out the door in Italy.

Sure it is, but he it gonna get PAID either way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

Blackburn forward David Hoilet is being heavily linked in Jan think his contract is running out too.

Decent player can play upfront or wide forward decent pace too I think he'd be a great signing for Liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,672 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Hoilett would be an awesome heir to Bellamy.

a very exciting player. i'd almost feel bad if someone took him off Blackburn so early in his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

He's averaging 1 goal in every 7 appearances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

opr wrote: »
    They have huge money these days right ? Interesting to see how he gets on if they back him in the transfer market.

Opr
    Make or break for Rafa's reputation and a very risky move. With ludicrous amounts of money comes ludicrous expectations and these billionaire owners aren't known for their patience. Another poor start like he had at Inter and he'll be out of Paris as fast as he was out the door in Italy.

Just wondering if you have any thoughts on his time at Inter? His public demands for transfer funds were a bit embarrassing. Made a real plonker out of himself. I felt sorry for him at first but then realised it was a self-sacking. He wasn't up to the job.

If he nips that kind of foolishness in the bud (and crazy guarantees like finishing in the top 4) then he'll be grand. PSG are rolling in it, all they need is a steady pair of hands.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Your way off chessplayer, look at Inter now, they are lets be honest, total ****, he inherited a team that were finished, they had their last hurrah the season previous and then they were spent, not only that but they were ravaged with injury, they did need to buy much like Chelsea should have over the last few years but the blame keeps being passed to management over players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Rafa made an error leaping into Inter. As you say they were old and like milk just staring to go off, his demand for funds was correct but the owners seemed to think they could get away with it. I also think he should stay clear of PSG who look every inch like a vanity project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

mike65 wrote: »
    Rafa made an error leaping into Inter. As you say they were old and like milk just staring to go off, his demand for funds was correct but the owners seemed to think they could get away with it. I also think he should stay clear of PSG who look every inch like a vanity project.

I think he will do well for the, he might have to weather a storm early on a la Mancini but if he gets a decent run I think he could do the same thing and mould a side that is gonna be dominant over the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭kop77

@luis16suarez Luis Suarez
    Concentrated for tonight's game! Hope We win and dedicate victory to Lucas!! YNWA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,909 ✭✭✭✭8-10

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Assuming the above, why did we spend £35 on Carroll if he doesn't fit the style Kenny wants to play?

Hate to break it to you but there were a few more 0's in that transfer fee. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

8-10 wrote: »
    Hate to break it to you but there were a few more 0's in that transfer fee. :(

£00.35? :eek:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

If you are looking for a great Xmas present or want to treat yourself...

http://www.irishkop.com/forums/showpost.php?p=620758&postcount=105

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭kop77

Quiet in here today.......... any footie on the tele tonight?

4827fdff_tumbleweed.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

kop77 wrote: »
    Quiet in here today.......... any footie on the tele tonight?

4827fdff_tumbleweed.gif

Lucas is injured. Nothing else to talk about.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Liverpool at more or less evens to be winners on the night, can't really pass that up with the form they've been showing.

12/5 to win first half and finish out 2nd
    or evens for the win, what do you guys think.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Liverpool at more or less evens to be winners on the night, can't really pass that up with the form they've been showing.

12/5 to win first half and finish out 2nd
    or evens for the win, what do you guys think.?

I think you'd get an unbiased opinion in the gambling forum.

7-0 to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Would be opposing us at the prices but still not sure if I will get involved. Gonna wait for team news.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

104 corners this year, most in the league, I'd say about 100 of them failed to beat the first man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭RayCon

kfallon wrote: »
    Anyone know where I can get this new Anthem Jacket, seems the official store is out of stock already. I would prefer to get it from a UK site/store as the US sizes are a bit 'dubious' plus it'll cost extra to ship.

http://image-load-balancer.worldsportshops.com/Datafeeds/Graphics/Products/ImageCache/300x300/26690.jpg

Thanks in advance for your help!

not sure if you got a reply .. kitbag.com have it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭Sappy404

niallo27 wrote: »
    104 corners this year, most in the league, I'd say about 100 of them failed to beat the first man.

What are you talking about? Charlie Adam's corners are worth £10m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Sappy404 wrote: »
    What are you talking about? Charlie Adam's corners are worth £10m.

His corners in the last few weeks have being very poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Lucas is injured. Nothing else to talk about.

Jaysus we really have to get over the Lucas injury if we are not going to write off another season. get someone to fill in for the next few weeks and buy a replacement in January. surely the scouting brains at Anfield can find someone :confused: