If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

Think I'll put my Christmas Tree up today...
    Need a break from all this tedious studying anyway...
    Found one in a cupboard, must've been left by previous owners,
    Only right I join in the festivities,
    Who knows, the flashing lights might make me want to study more!
    I'm willing to take the risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭OhMSGlive

YFlyer wrote: »
    You will have to listen to the Presidents speech first. Not quite up there with Castro yet.

:confused: I'm lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

YFlyer wrote: »
    You will have to listen to the Presidents speech first. Not quite up there with Castro yet.

If only Castro was the president.... this place would be running like a well oiled machine then. :pac:

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    If only Castro was the president.... this place would be running like a well oiled machine then. :pac:

There'd also be no freedom of speech.

OhMSGlive wrote: »
    There'd also be no freedom of speech.

Sure we already have no free speech!!! *RABBLE RABBLE RABBLE* :pac: :pac: :pac:

Resources downloaded from SULIS....time for a well earned study break. :(

[1]Sure we already have no free speech!!! *RABBLE RABBLE RABBLE* :pac: :pac: :pac:

[2]Resources downloaded from SULIS....time for a well earned study break. :(

[1] Careful, sceptre Big Brother might be watching you.

[2] We've a running joke within our course: "Taking a well earned break after opening Logic Pro." :pac:

[1] Careful, sceptre Big Brother might be watching you.

I'll add a few more :pac:'s to make it really clear I'm messing. :pac:

ATTENTION: You see that door to the lab that's wide open with people studying inside? Yeah, that one! Well done! Now, where do you think would be a bad place to stand around with your friends having a laugh and a joke? Where? That's right!!! Right outside in the hall!! Well done!!! Now, for an extra ten points, where in CSIS would be a good place to have a laugh and joke? Where? Come on, you can get this!! I believe in you? YES!!!! THE CAFE!!!! Or the ATRIUM ye ****ing *****!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

:confused: I'm lost.

Come along to the speech.

Dickheads are back after an hour of peace..... seriously, it really makes me despair at the standard of student in this place, seriously, if you're not gonna study, then f**k off away from a place where people actually want to.

I mean, it's not as if EVERY lab in the building is open to go into, why stand in the f**king hall knobjockey's! /rant

If only I wasn't so terrified of confrontation I'd actually say this to them....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Drinking tea, eating pancakes, curled up in front of the fire with a blanket and economics notes, resisting temptation to throw said notes into fire....:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

My notes are out of reach and haven't the will to move...
    Broke up from Ice Skating last Saturday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭El Inho

Think I'll put my Christmas Tree up today...
    Need a break from all this tedious studying anyway...
    Found one in a cupboard, must've been left by previous owners,
    Only right I join in the festivities,
    Who knows, the flashing lights might make me want to study more!
    I'm willing to take the risk.

we have the box off a tree at home...that could go up soon too!

plus on the bitchin side of things....

fúck is up with the library internet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 villagejester

Dickheads are back after an hour of peace..... seriously, it really makes me despair at the standard of student in this place, seriously, if you're not gonna study, then f**k off away from a place where people actually want to.

I mean, it's not as if EVERY lab in the building is open to go into, why stand in the f**king hall knobjockey's! /rant

If only I wasn't so terrified of confrontation I'd actually say this to them....
    I don't think you should be allowed complain if you didn't even ask them to move. Getting over confrontation is part of why you get given group work in classes. It is likely something you will have to deal with in a work enviornment also and if you can't manage it it will effect your pricieved performance. Next time a situation like this arrises, for the good of yourself and your interest (in this case study), try to deal with it politely. It often turns out better than you might expect.

You also come accross as really pompous in your post. If you are really that much better than the students you despair over you should realize that their aloof attitude will give you an advantage when you finish with much better grades than them. Sorry if this is upsetting but it's the truth IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

I'll add a few more :pac:'s to make it really clear I'm messing. :pac:

ATTENTION: You see that door to the lab that's wide open with people studying inside? Yeah, that one! Well done! Now, where do you think would be a bad place to stand around with your friends having a laugh and a joke? Where? That's right!!! Right outside in the hall!! Well done!!! Now, for an extra ten points, where in CSIS would be a good place to have a laugh and joke? Where? Come on, you can get this!! I believe in you? YES!!!! THE CAFE!!!! Or the ATRIUM ye ****ing *****!!!!!!!

Have you tried closing the door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Skyrim

Saw some poor sod getting his car clamped and pleading with security to take it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,652 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Skyrim wrote: »
    Saw some poor sod getting his car clamped and pleading with security to take it off.

Couple of years ago I was in a tutorial in the Schumann, just outside the car park. All of a sudden one girl in the class jumped up and darted out of the room. We then got to watch her scurry out to the car park just in time to move her car before the approaching clampers got to it. :pac:

I had a lecture once leave the class every 10 min or so to make sure his car wasn't getting clamped. He even asked student to keep an eye out for clampers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭Agent_99

Was this at the back of the main building leading to the Student Courtyard?

There was one clamped there today with a note on the dash saying that clamping was illegal under the road traffic act.....

Driver failed to realize that the road traffic act applies to public roads and not private property :D He was also blocking access to a disabled spot so i hope they charged them double.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭thats not gone well

Agent_99 wrote: »

There was one clamped there today with a note on the dash saying that clamping was illegal under the road traffic act.....

Driver failed to realize that the road traffic act applies to public roads and not private property :D He was also blocking access to a disabled spot so i hope they charged them double.

i see your "charge him double" and raise you legal precedence.
    Judge ruled clamping illegal at WIT 18/1/2007
    Judge William Harnett ruled at Waterford district court last week that WIT has no authority to clamp the Vehicles of people who park illegally at its cork road campus.

The case originated when a clamp was removed from a car by its owner on January 5th last year. The judge ruled that the owner was entitled to remove something that was stuck to his car by whatever means and if it damages his car, he was entitled to claim damages.

While there where notices up in the car park informing motorists that clamping was in operation, Judge Harnett ruled that there were no laws to support that notice before dismissing the case.

WITSU expects that WIT will seek legal clarification on this matter and that clamping will continue for now. WITSU welcomes the ruling that clamping is illegal, however does not encourage motorists to park in dangerous or unhelpful positions.

BTW the RTA also applies to public places, including carparks.

I don't think you should be allowed complain if you didn't even ask them to move. Getting over confrontation is part of why you get given group work in classes. It is likely something you will have to deal with in a work enviornment also and if you can't manage it it will effect your pricieved performance. Next time a situation like this arrises, for the good of yourself and your interest (in this case study), try to deal with it politely. It often turns out better than you might expect.

You also come accross as really pompous in your post. If you are really that much better than the students you despair over you should realize that their aloof attitude will give you an advantage when you finish with much better grades than them. Sorry if this is upsetting but it's the truth IMO.

I'm not pompous, I was just p*ssed off and using it as a convenient distraction to study to come and post on here. :pac:

"Despair" was probably a tad overdramatic. :pac:
    Jester252 wrote: »
    Have you tried closing the door?

Yes. The door is held open, and AFAIK we're not supposed to close it. (I've been passing by and coming in here for two years and have never seen it closed, even during tutorial times.)

But s'all good, they fecked off after about five minutes. I stand by my post, if you want to do the bollix (and they were doing the bollix) then why come up to the third floor of a building where people are trying to study instead of just staying downstairs in the atrium.. but anyway, moving on.

Spent an entire day going over a sixty page research paper trying to synopsise it down in my own notes.... So far, i've only gone through thirty pages and have six pages of notes.... :\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭Agent_99

i see your "charge him double" and raise you legal precedence.

BTW the RTA also applies to public places, including carparks.

The inconsideration of blocking a Disabled Spot which is in daily use, blocking a fire exit from the main building and going equipped with a printed note stating the road traffic act with the sole intent of parking somewhere that they know full well is not allowed. Sure we could all do that and park all over the place. I know from daily experience that parking is a pain in UL at the best of times but there is no excuse for that type of behavior, there is plenty of parking available this week but obviously this person is a lazy sod that won't walk the length of themselves and to hell with everybody else. I do hope they charged him double.

btw 5 years later do they still clamp cars in WIT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭thats not gone well

The inconsideration of blocking a Disabled Spot which is in daily use,

its not lined as a disabled spot afaik? there are very faded lines near the loading door alright but nothing distinguishable?
    blocking a fire exit from the main building

it wasnt blocking anything iirc? wall behind and pillar on one side?
    (not that its any less obnoxious)
    printed note stating the road traffic act with the sole intent of parking somewhere that they know full well is not allowed

allowed or not security are not allowed clamp regardless of where its parked. could be on the lawn outside plassey house and there's SFA the can do without the Gardaí. end of.

WRT WIT i have no idea if they still do or not

eldwaro wrote: »
    fúck is up with the library internet?

the fook is up with the internet everywhere... wireless has been slow as sh*te all day, an now Dromroe internet's just as bad... :\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

dromroe internets been more dire than usual today timing out every few minutes. :mad:

f0ggy92 wrote: »
    dromroe internets been more dire than usual today timing out every few minutes. :mad:

I've actually taken to counting the number of times the web times out over a set period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Niall09

The whole network is like this, it's the same in Cappa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Skyrim

Yeah that was the place. Just saw him arguing with security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Nockz

I'm not pompous, I was just p*ssed off and using it as a convenient distraction to study to come and post on here. :pac:

"Despair" was probably a tad overdramatic. :pac:

Yes. The door is held open, and AFAIK we're not supposed to close it. (I've been passing by and coming in here for two years and have never seen it closed, even during tutorial times.)

But s'all good, they fecked off after about five minutes. I stand by my post, if you want to do the bollix (and they were doing the bollix) then why come up to the third floor of a building where people are trying to study instead of just staying downstairs in the atrium.. but anyway, moving on.

Spent an entire day going over a sixty page research paper trying to synopsise it down in my own notes.... So far, i've only gone through thirty pages and have six pages of notes.... :\

CS304A?

Niall09 wrote: »
    The whole network is like this, it's the same in Cappa.

Did the builders hit that one line in the north campus that controls everything in ul again

Nockz wrote: »
    CS304A?

Yep, best place to get work done usually. Usually the least crowded and quietest of all the labs cos it's so small, and most people who're up that far go for the class PC's in 3004B.