Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Silly/dumb things that customer say/do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

mattjack wrote: »
    I arrived at house one day in my van that had electrician/electrical contractor,rewires,etc etc all over written all over it ,was met by a very irate woman who asked me was I the painter ?

Seen a van in Cork with the electrical contractor logos on it and in print

BURGLER ALARMS

Not relevant to this thread but the above post reminded me of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Icaras

asking where something is (without asking if you work there) when you're doing your shopping, wearing a jacket, denim jeans, and runners.

Haha - I love doing that, normally people do try to help you with very confused looks on their face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Shellygoose

I used to work in a callcentre. Lost track of the amount of times this happened..

Me: How would you like to pay? We accept Visa, Mastercard or Laser.
    Caller: Can I pay in cash?
    Me: No Sir, its impossible to pay with cash over the phone!!
    Caller: Oh right, ya I suppose it is. Mmm what do I do now?

Mmm go f**K a duck for all I care - you've just wasted 10 mins of my life that I will never get back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Actually yeah, being asked if you work here when you're in a lovely Dunnes workshirt, with a pricegun in hand opening boxes of stock is fairly fecking annoying. Not the first time, but eventually over time you start screaming in your head 'do you really think I'd wear this godawful shirt because I like it????'

Stupidity wise I can't think of anything that beats the person eyeing up the BOGOF offer on boxes of choclates and actually asking if they could just have 'the free one' because they didn't want two. On a more regular basis, people trying to get refunds on things they haven't got with them, or people presenting stuff for a refund that's from Penneys etc. and refusing to listen to reason. 'No love, I bought it here, I'm certain' and actually get pretty angry about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ah ffs it's depressing there are people like that in existence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

I get told the automated system kept asking them for their acc number DUH!!

Or those fudgepackers with no acc number.....whats your address sir?
    20 Yellow brick road.....silence.....yea what frickin county moron.

Why is my bill so high. Ive only a light on and the tv. :rolleyes:Yes cause you never wash yourself, your clothes, drying your clothes after.
    Or boil a kettle.....hmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Elbows22

Customer calls into call centre , gives account number then explains how she is so angry that HER delivery is cancelled as SHE didn't provide necessary documents.

Customer: Im so angry, all i wanted is my service installed.
    Me: Unfortunately as the procedure was outlined to you 3 times already and you didnt provide necessary documents the order was cancelled.
    Customer: This is disgraceful - Do you know who i am??
    Me: Yes obviously, you gave me your account number.......
    Phone goes dead...................:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Ghandee wrote: »
    Do you speak English?

In Ireland............

WTF language did they think I spoke?

Brón orm, ní thigim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

I used to be a piercer and you did used to get a fair few oddballs in the door. One guy I remember who id pierced previously so knew to be a bit special came in

'um.....hair dye?'
    'eh no sorry, we dont sell hair dye, we do piercing. i think theres a shop around the corner that sells it'
    'no i have some here i just need someone to put it in for me'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

Quite a frequent on:

Whilst putting down the shutter - "Oh, are ya closed?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

Rude bollix comes in screaming making demands, I tell him calm down, he does not calm down so I tell him get the fcuk out, he rages I know the owner and ill be telling him about you, walks out and slams door.

Gob****e, I am the owner.

Class. I have an orange top that resembles the B&Q uniform. Some days I have been more helpful to their customers than their own staff.

Looking forward to the day I get someone like the idiot above.

Quite a frequent on:

I use to work in restaurants. People try to force the locked door open when we are cleaning up at the end of the night, while shouting drunkingly any buurrgeeeerrrrrs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Resi12

"I WOULD NEVER DREAM OF PAYING THIS MUCH FOR COSMETICS!"

She says as she is shoving her laser into the chip and pin, what a fcuking knob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭ThelotusKid

Dudess wrote: »
    I worked for a music retailer and was wearing the company top with the logo plastered all over it, and was carrying a crate of CDs and putting them on display when I was asked did I work there.

Dudess has a day job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Many gems here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Elbows22

Customer I didnt get any call regarding my delivery......
    Me Ok well il check the number we have for you. The number we have is 08........
    CustomerThat number is gone with nearly 12 years now....
    Me Did you call us and notify us of your change in contact information?
    Customer No that is your job to do that!!!

Yes because we're going to ring you every day just to make sure your on the same number....................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Well, what I've gathered from this thread is that people in call center's are very unhappy people :pac: Why do you let these things get to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Quite a frequent on:

I can go one worse! Pulled down the shutter at work last week at the end of the day and went out the back to clock out etc. so there was no one in the shop.

Heard the shutter opening up and went out to see what was going on. A lady had actually pulled up the shutter and was standing in the door shouting for service...

The only thing I've learned in my current job is that the majority of people are thick as shit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,580 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Works both ways.
    I went into a new business some years ago as I wanted to try and sell the owner a new product. As it turns out there were a group of men talking at the back of the business. I asked the young sales assistant who the boss was. He told me it was his father and that he was one of the men talking down at the back. He said his father was the grey-haired man. Not knowing the man's name I asked the young lad "what do you call him" and he replied "daddy".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Sashiee

I work in a call centre and do not like being shouted at with "where me bleedin' credit's gone yee robbin b*stards!!"
    While the guy is on the TOILET!

Can clearly hear him taking a dump!
    Just said "Don't forget to wash your hands!"
    and hung up .....weirdos out there......

Or Worse, Sunday I had an irate English man on the phone calling me "a stupid potato woman"
    and that the company is going down the drain because of people like me.
    He could'nt grasp the concept that a stolen laptop from a college library is NOT COVERED UNDER CAR INSURANCE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭mojesius

Ah, takes me back to the waitressing days.

Silly customers ask for the bill and at the same time do a writing motion with their hand. Only one of these is necessary, we got you the first time champ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭SnoopyGunner

I used to work in a call centre, as a customer service representative. One of the funnier callers was a woman who asked me for the number of O2's helpline. The company I worked for wasn't O2 and certainly wasn't directory enquiries.

Least it was better than a certain tv and music industry figure who demanded a technician be sent out at 9 o'clock when all he had to do was reboot the stb :rolleyes:

"I work in tv, I NEED my tv!" Realised who it was when he said that... Rude little fecker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Had a customer in 2 weeks ago who asked me what meals we do with chicken in them. I said we have various meals depending on what you want, chicken pieces, chicken burgers, sandwiches or pizzas. He then started telling me I didn't know what I was talking about and I should know what I want and I haven't a fcuking clue what I'm even selling. I replied 'I do sir, but you need to be a bit more specific as there are over 30 different meals here, half of which include chicken.'

He then started telling me I was a retard, slow, he knows the owner, etc etc. I politely told him that I know exactly what I'm doing or I wouldn't be working here. He then pointed at a sandwich board and said 'Can you make all of those?' I said that I could and that we had a deal on to get a drink and chips with them for 2 euro extra if he was still interested in a meal. He asked which ones had chicken (while calling me slow, clueless, not knowing my own job, gonna complain about me to the owner, etc). I said that there are several with chicken, and started to name them and asked would he like a menu to see the full ingredient list. He started calling me slow and retarded again, and eventually said 'Right, I'll make it easy for you, I'll have X (X had no chicken in it whatsoever).' I asked would he like the meal deal, he said no, and started saying I needed to stop asking stupid questions because I clearly couldn't do my job. I asked him which bread he would like his sandwich on, pointing out the three different breads that we do, and naming them. He said 'What's in the breads?' and I said 'well this is seeded white bread, this is wholewheat brown bread and this is ciabatta bread, it's a white Italian bread.' He then proceeded to call me a stupid retard for not knowing all of the ingredients of the breads. I told him politely that we do not make the bread in store so I do not know the ingredients. He once again started calling me a retard, at which point I told him to get out of the shop and had him removed by security. Cnut!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

Tech support. Asking a customer to type numbers, when the customer then asks..... are these all in capitals?

Has happened numerous times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

I was just in a shop with my 12 yr old daughter, she was in school uniform pushing the trolley when a lady approached me and asked if we had that box of disposable gloves. I said I dont actually work here so she turned to my daughter and asked her the same thing.

Thinking shes not really with it I said id give her a hand and got her the box of gloves, then she was asking my daughter how much they cost. I could see chloe was trying to hold in the laughing as she searched down the list of prices. She said to the woman 'they're 3.31 ' and she started grumbling about the price then said to Chloe 'Do ye have those peas that you soak ?' It was comical. I had to stand in between them and say 'next aisle' before she burst out laughing into the poor womans face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Sashiee

it's all coming back to me now...:rolleyes:

Used to work in a very popular retail store that does clothes for women , men, kids and homeware...
    but the thing I just could believe was that in this busy shop in the middle of a shopping center mothers used to just drop their kids off at the toy section and come back for them about an hour or so later!!
    I cant even count how many times we've had to call security because of a "lost child" in our store...:eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

banquo wrote: »
    There's a really long thread in the Ranting and Raving forum like this. I started it and it is my favorite child.
    Linky?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭corktina

LyndaMcL wrote: »
    Had a customer in 2 weeks ago who asked me what meals we do with chicken in them. I said we have various meals depending on what you want, chicken pieces, chicken burgers, sandwiches or pizzas. He then started telling me I didn't know what I was talking about and I should know what I want and I haven't a fcuking clue what I'm even selling. I replied 'I do sir, but you need to be a bit more specific as there are over 30 different meals here, half of which include chicken.'

He then started telling me I was a retard, slow, he knows the owner, etc etc. I politely told him that I know exactly what I'm doing or I wouldn't be working here. He then pointed at a sandwich board and said 'Can you make all of those?' I said that I could and that we had a deal on to get a drink and chips with them for 2 euro extra if he was still interested in a meal. He asked which ones had chicken (while calling me slow, clueless, not knowing my own job, gonna complain about me to the owner, etc). I said that there are several with chicken, and started to name them and asked would he like a menu to see the full ingredient list. He started calling me slow and retarded again, and eventually said 'Right, I'll make it easy for you, I'll have X (X had no chicken in it whatsoever).' I asked would he like the meal deal, he said no, and started saying I needed to stop asking stupid questions because I clearly couldn't do my job. I asked him which bread he would like his sandwich on, pointing out the three different breads that we do, and naming them. He said 'What's in the breads?' and I said 'well this is seeded white bread, this is wholewheat brown bread and this is ciabatta bread, it's a white Italian bread.' He then proceeded to call me a stupid retard for not knowing all of the ingredients of the breads. I told him politely that we do not make the bread in store so I do not know the ingredients. He once again started calling me a retard, at which point I told him to get out of the shop and had him removed by security. Cnut!

did you not do Chicken and Spit sandwiches then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,051 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

working in a busy bar at the weekend...

customer: can i've a pint of tenants?
    me:certainly..........(puts on a pint)
    custmoer: can ive a coke?
    me: ok......(gets a coke)
    customer: gimme a vodka too.
    me: alright....(goes an gets a vodka)
    customer: a whiskey and white lemonade
    me: (goes and gets that)
    customer: a pint of heiniken.
    me: (me inside: ffs - gets a heineken)
    customer: another vodka
    me: (steam coming out my ears now.....say nothing)
    customer: a pint of guiness as well.
    me: FOR **** SAKE I CAN REMEMBER MORE THAN ONE F*CKING THING AT A TIME WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING ORDERING A GUINNESS LAST YOU DOZY BASTARD?
    customer: gimme 17 tequilas as well

GAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH

every bloody weekend. idiots who would take 10 minutes to order 4 bloody things, then try and pay you in pennies or not even pay you at all. nightmare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Re in a supermarket with some weird vegetable "You're charging by piece. What's that about? Who decided that? You sure? (Yes) when did that happen? I've been buying there here for twenty years and they've always been sold by weight... Always.' (and it went on total for the bag -1.50)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

retalivity wrote: »
    working in a busy bar at the weekend...
    Buddy of mine was working in a bar in London over the summer. Apparently ordering one drink at a time is the default setting in that bar. One day he was asked for a pint of Guinness. Did the first pour and as it was just him and the customer at the bar, was trying to have a chat while waiting for it to settle. Customer wasn't all that chatty. Finishes the pint and was just asking for the money when the customer says "And a pint of (some other drink)". In the end the guy wanted like 5 drinks. Happened on numerous occasions.