Guitarist wanted.

• 11-11-2011 07:32PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26

Hey there..

Are there any serious guitarists out there ??
    With time and ambition.

Im looking for some one into starting something new (ORIGINAL).
    If you have your own ideas (riffs runs) and would like to do something with them. Like straighten them out add lyrics the voice, drums, bass and on etc.

Get in touch.

If you are only a little bit interested, or not that bothered but, like the idea or the sound of doing something with your work.
    (then please, do not get in touch)

I only wanna hear from those of you who have the time, ambition, drive, and feel the need to do something original.

thanx again, hope to hear from you. Ger !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭paul.fitz

Hey man I'm a guitarist struggling to find people with real drive that aren't full of sh*t.
    I have a drummer and bassist so far though.
    What is it you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 bg007

where are u based?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 morbid reflection

bg007 wrote: »
    where are u based?

Dublin, Lyricist and vocalist, original stuff only, style like velvet revolver adioslave.

• Site Banned Posts: 67 ✭✭Lemmewinks

Dublin, Lyricist and vocalist, original stuff only, style like velvet revolver adioslave.
    I'm a guitarist - have lots of original instrumental stuff recorded (I play everything on it) and tonnes more lined up - do you have any samples?

you get guys asking you stuff like and then thats the end of it, or hey yeah im interested and the interest dies a painless sudden death

any one serious enough to meet up for a chat and jam pm me. i wanna start working early january thanx.

I'd rather hear you back up your claims at being the next coming of Axl Rose before I waste time meeting up.
    You must have recorded something at some stage - and if not, how do you know you're that good if you've never even heard yourself properly on a recording?

I'm interested - but not in wasting time. I'd like for you to be as good as you say you are, because I have the same influences.

Lemmewinks wrote: »
    I'd rather hear you back up your claims at being the next coming of Axl Rose before I waste time meeting up.
    You must have recorded something at some stage - and if not, how do you know you're that good if you've never even heard yourself properly on a recording?

I'm interested - but not in wasting time. I'd like for you to be as good as you say you are, because I have the same influences.

ur right not waisting ur time, there aint much of it, ill have to get some one to record something with me. im sorry i cant send you much

I am open to criticism, I take it as an opportunity to change what can be changed for the better and greater good of the purpose, I mean to obtain . Nothing is personal unless you make it so.

This ain't directed unto anyone, unless you think it so !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭brendanL

couldn't you just show some commitment ...and record something and stick it on you tube or something. I'd never join unless I knew the genre and your style beforehand.

Your so pushy on what you want over all the previous comments suggestions that I'm out already. But good luck anyways :D

brendanL wrote: »
    couldn't you just show some commitment ...and record something and stick it on you tube or something. I'd never join unless I knew the genre and your style beforehand.

Your so pushy on what you want over all the previous comments suggestions that I'm out already. But good luck anyways :D

bren from galway who i spoke with last night is it ??

I will have some samples soon. Im just putting it out there for now, to make friends and contacts, when the time comes in January 2012 that im 100% available to work, it will simply be a matter of making a call as I am hoping to find a guitarist before then.

Thanx for the suggestions guys, obviously a demmo would help, i will have some as soon as possible to send people.

Right people - this guy is all talk. He sent me a PM asking me for samples of my work.

So I gave him a link my SoundCloud page which has demos of some songs I'm working on. I write, record & play everything myself at the moment & it's all instrumental. http://soundcloud.com/the-sonic-saloon/sets

He claims to be a lyrical genius who can do anything with words & lyrics, and he'd have something for me tomorrow. Today, he e-mails me back stumped and can't even figure out the layout to my songs. He says the timing keeps changing too and he can't get to grips with it (the track I selected is mostly 7/8).
    He asks if I can just write him something "normal" like verse, chorus, verse, chorus, bridge, solo, chorus x2 & fade.

And it deteriorated from there, with him typing in CAPS and saying "YOU REALLY DONT KNOW MUCH ABOUT WRITING A SONG DO YOU, ANY ONE CAN PLAY GUITAR BUT TO WRITE A SONG, BIG DIFFERENCE"

Anyway...

Right people - this guy is all talk. He sent me a PM asking me for samples of my work.

So I gave him a link my SoundCloud page which has demos of some songs I'm working on. I write, record & play everything myself at the moment & it's all instrumental. http://soundcloud.com/the-sonic-saloon/the-pursuit

He claims to be a lyrical genius who can do anything with words & lyrics, and he'd have something or me tomorrow. Today, he e-mails me back stumped and can't even figure out the layout to my songs. He says the timing keeps changing too and he can't get to grips with it (the track I selected is mostly 7/8).
    He asks if I can just write him something "normal" like verse, chorus, verse, chorus, bridge, solo, chorus x2 & fade.

And it deteriorated from there, with him typing in CAPS and saying "YOU REALLY DONT KNOW MUCH ABOUT WRITING A SONG DO YOU, ANY ONE CAN PLAY GUITAR BUT TO WRITE A SONG, BIG DIFFERENCE"

Anyway...

http://soundcloud.com/the-sonic-saloon/the-pursuit

it sound like an instrumental to me, WHATS WRONG WITH CAPS.
    I cant find anything that I could do with your song that would justify it, or I.

Maybe I am useless after all, as I can see now from your judgment .
    That sound you have going there, very nice, not my style at all. I wouldn't be too into your drum beat either.

You claim to be able to write a song, why not go away and do that. Im sorry your stuff dont float my boat, but whatever floats yours is good for you.

I aint into this music at all, thanx for clearing that up. again if I have offended you, it was not intended, however if you are offended, you should take it up with someone who cares. maybe think about hardening up some more, or opening up to opinions without taking offence.

if you wanna hook up and try working on something from scratch, let me no, other wise. Take care. Thanx again.

and please, im not into dishing out **** live hiding behind a screen.

LOL - WTF?

http://soundcloud.com/the-sonic-saloon/the-pursuit

it sound like an instrumental to me
    Eh, yeah it is an instrumental. What's your point? :confused: Isn't that why I asked you to use your self-proclaimed awesome skills to try & put lyrics to it?
    You claim to be able to write a song, why not go away and do that.
    Eh, I do. All the time. What do you do besides talk big?
    I aint into this music at all, thanx for clearing that up. again if I have offended you, it was not intended, however if you are offended, you should take it up with someone who cares. maybe think about hardening up some more, or opening up to opinions without taking offence.
    Eh, you haven't offended me - I know my stuff is good. I'm confident in my abilities.

This guy is a tripper.... clearly delusional. Look at the other 2 topics he started yesterday, besides this one:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056445716

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056435870

Talks a big game, so I gave him the benefit of the doubt; but when given a choice of 5 or 6 instrumental songs on my SoundCloud page to put a vocal melody or lyrics to, he comes back with NOTHING.

My song "Blue Cheese" is only 12-bar blues FFS!
    WHATS WRONG WITH CAPS.
    It makes you seem retarded.

NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!

OPEN MINDED PEOPLE ONLY WANTED, THE RETARD !!

Every time you type, you back up my point.

NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!NO COMMENT !!

OPEN MINDED PEOPLE ONLY WANTED, THE RETARD !!

you claim I am all talk, I have asked you to meet up to put the pen to paper.
    whats a few hours out of any day to see what we've got ??

If you dont have the time or do not wish to waste any time, wtf are you doing here.

Now I have offered to meet up, pen to paper, we start from scratch. If that dont shut you up, I dont care for anything else of you. be blessed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 steve79

Get a recording of yourself up and let anyone who is interested hear what your like.

steve79 wrote: »
    Get a recording of yourself up and let anyone who is interested hear what your like.

thanx !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,079 ✭✭✭✭Malice

morbid reflection: Please don't abuse other posters.

This is the chain of events as I see it. In the first post, you mentions original but then talks about expanding other people's ideas. Post #5 mentions instrumentals which you seemed happy enough to work on. In post #14 we get the first inkling that you might have bitten off more than you can chew. I played in a metal band a couple of years ago that specialised in time changes and odd time signatures. We could never find a vocalist either because if people don't have experience of that style of music it's very hard to write lyrics to it since it doesn't follow the familiar verse-chorus-verse style. If you're unable to handle it right now then, no big deal, but be honest with whoever you're dealing with.

Don't write in ALL CAPS because it reads like shouting and it defeats whatever point you are trying to make.

Lastly I'd say most people on here have been burned by time-wasters at some stage. If you don't want to be perceived as one you've got to get something down for people to appraise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭mg1

Ah see, this thread here only backs up all the comments made in this next thread below. Ahhhh musicians and there ego's. I really wish ye could all take a step back and come back down to earth. Is it any wonder band mates are sooooooooo hard to find with behaviour like that! Grow up and have some respect for yourselves and others.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056431073

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

Lemmewinks, fair play for dabbling in 'odd' time signatures. I'm big into that myself and Lord I understand it can be hard to find people who get that. Keep it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭brendanL

bren from galway who i spoke with last night is it ??

No from Dublin, but I assume some guitarist out there not only has the same name.. but the same logic as me ;D

brendanL wrote: »
    No from Dublin, but I assume some guitarist out there not only has the same name.. but the same logic as me ;D

yeah Im sure that aint hard to find. I dont remember what it was you said. im sure its reasonable. Im getting sick of answering comments on this tread now, but I will say, I aint ready to work until January. I am able to look and hopefully secure a place with some one till then.

AS for my thinking mind, I have yet to find someone who I can identify with on how far out there my thinking goes, how deep it goes and the way I put stuff into words.

Im not blowing me own horn when I say this, I just mean its a lonely place to be me ( leaving meself wide open for attack ) party hardy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭raindog.promo

Sonic Saloon. Checked out the soundcloud page.
    Great stuff!

Sonic Saloon. Checked out the soundcloud page.
    Great stuff!

always backing each other up, can't you guys stand alone ??

lemmys stuff is great, i never said it wasn't, but all the work and energy he puts into playing everything and the recording of it all.
    Should he find the right people to do all that work for him, there's no telling how fantastic he could sound. Imagine all that energy directed into the guitar work. Now that I would love to hear.

Till then, I stand alone and I will forever.

I have already got one warning on this tread for getting caught up in bitching, and the way blinky posted up all of my other treads and suggesting or giving his opinion on how he sees me (very negatively like) I wouldn't be surprised if I were the only one to be warned, as I stand alone.

Also I wouldn't dream of exploiting Let the guy wink on any of the treads he has started, but if I were to I would just be sinking to another level. Besides I have an allergy towards strawberry's.

So if any one has anything bad to say about me, please do, but don't expect the same reaction out of me toward's you.

............................................NEXT !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

So I gave him a link my SoundCloud page which has demos of some songs I'm working on. I write, record & play everything myself at the moment & it's all instrumental. http://soundcloud.com/the-sonic-saloon/sets

He claims to be a lyrical genius who can do anything with words & lyrics, and he'd have something for me tomorrow. Today, he e-mails me back stumped and can't even figure out the layout to my songs. He says the timing keeps changing too and he can't get to grips with it (the track I selected is mostly 7/8).

Anyway...

Awesome music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,079 ✭✭✭✭Malice

always backing each other up, can't you guys stand alone ??
    I hardly think it counts as backing each other up. It's more just a passing comment on the music from two anonymous Internet users.
    I have already got one warning on this tread for getting caught up in bitching, and the way blinky posted up all of my other treads and suggesting or giving his opinion on how he sees me (very negatively like) I wouldn't be surprised if I were the only one to be warned, as I stand alone.
    You got warned by me to cop on because your proclamations of your ability didn't seem to match up with reality. As I wrote in my post we've probably all dealt with people who are well able to talk but not actually deliver. Before you jump down my throat I'd like to say that your apparent confidence is admirable but you should let your musical output stand for itself.

Now please quit with the name calling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

Ha, this was a great read.