Subtle abuse by youths on the street

• 13-11-2011 07:54PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭

How does one deal with this?

I'm 19 and these guys, usually a group of approx 6 or more that went to the same school as myself keep giving me these sarcastic, ungenuine greetings (you can tell by the tone) when I walk down the street in my village at weekends. At first I was suspicious, yet gave them a polite hello or a salute back, but they seemed to find this hilarious so I stopped. Now I just ignore them, but they honk a car horn, throw small pebbles along the ground near me or some other sh!te.

They technically aren't breaking any laws, so any suggestions besides wearing my iPod to block out their voices when I go walking? Maybe some reading may consider it a small thing, but it makes me feel so uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,646 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

*cough* wanker *cough*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Pick the weakest of the bunch and beat the living lord shíte out of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Ask them have they heard the good news, then invite them to a gospel tent meeting.

They'll stay well clear of you in future, guaranteed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Sound like right c*nts tbh.

If I see someone I know I'll say hi or give them a nod, I wouldn't have time for people who act like you described OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Take your iPod off, go over to them and strike up a conversation by offering them some Worthers Werthers Originals. Before long you will all become best of palls and be tagging fun pictures of yourselves of nights out on Facebook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭christ on a bike!

I'd approach them, just ask "Have you got a f*ckin problem" and stare one of them down like you might kill him.
    It will suggest that maybe they shouldn't mess around with you

In seriousness though OP, this won't last long. You're 19 and they're the same age? They're just being immature as they have the mental age of a peanut.

But soon they'll be fully grown men and will have to stop hanging out the way they do and have to do other stuff, like queue in the post office for their dole and park their cars 3 streets away from their single mother girlfriends house so the state don't realise he's living there and she has her benefits taken away.

Or somrthing!

I'd approach them, just ask "Have you got a f*ckin problem" and stare one of them down like you might kill him.
    It will suggest that maybe they shouldn't mess around with you

yeah, 6 dudes messing with one guy....... they'll sh*t themselves if you stare at them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Godot. wrote: »

I'm 19 and these guys, usually a group of approx 6 or more that went to the same school as myself keep giving me these sarcastic, ungenuine greetings (you can tell by the tone) when I walk down the street in my village at weekends. At first I was suspicious, yet gave them a polite hello or a salute back, but they seemed to find this hilarious so I stopped. Now I just ignore them, but they honk a car horn, throw small pebbles along the ground near me or some other sh!te.

They technically aren't breaking any laws, so any suggestions besides wearing my iPod to block out their voices when I go walking? Maybe some reading may consider it a small thing, but it makes me feel so uncomfortable.

Do you see them by chance, or do they stand there waiting for Godot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

MungBean wrote: »

To be fair that is just going to lead to escalation...if you are going to go that route OP, get a costume, wait until it's dark and then sneak up on them and start swinging like crazy. Most of them will be scared sh*tless and will probably take off running before they realize what is happening.

However if they realize it's you, I am not going to lie they will beat the sh*t out of you, my only suggestion then would be to grab an orphan from the local orphanage and see if you fair out any better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

To be honest id get the oul lad out and blast them with urine

MrStuffins wrote: »
    yeah, 6 dudes messing with one guy....... they'll sh*t themselves if you stare at them!

Obviously wont **** themselves but they'll see he's not a pushover. In a lot of ways it's still an animal kingdon out there, a bit of posturing and making the right noises can get you a little respect on that base level
    I'm not a big lad but I guarantee you that you wouldn't f*ck with me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

brummytom wrote: »
    Do you see them by chance, or do they stand there waiting for Godot?

Get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Now I just ignore them, but they honk a car horn, throw small pebbles along the ground near me or some other sh!te.

cars are vulnerable when they are parked up at 4am ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭latenia

Wrong. Pick the biggest loudmouth and using the heel of your hand, punch his nose into his brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Godot.

I would feel like a complete knacker if I resorted to that sort of scum level. Plus, knowing my luck, a Garda would probably come along lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

OP dye your hair, your obviously a ginger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Obviously wont **** themselves but they'll see he's not a pushover. In a lot of ways it's still an animal kingdon out there, a bit of posturing and making the right noises can get you a little respect on that base level

Small man syndrome ha ha

I guarentee if i was standing with 5 of my buddies and you came over staring at us and trying to show us how you're hard we'd be more than happy to f*ck with you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

Ill bet all six of them are unemployed, uneducated wasters as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Turtyturd wrote: »
    To be fair that is just going to lead to escalation...if you are going to go that route OP, get a costume, wait until it's dark and then sneak up on them and start swinging like crazy. Most of them will be scared sh*tless and will probably take off running before they realize what is happening.

However if they realize it's you, I am not going to lie they will beat the sh*t out of you, my only suggestion then would be to grab an orphan from the local orphanage and see if you fair out any better.

Nah if they were violent they would be trying to start a row instead of just tormenting him. They are just assholes. I've seen if before with a group hasslin one person, if they lay into them and show that any hassle will lead to a violent altercation they will back off. You meet any one ore two of them on their own and they wont say or do anything.

They are all afraid of altercation, but it doesnt stop them being assholes when in a big group. Plus if ya do get the shíte kicked out of ya you have something to go to the police about. 6 on 1 and you cant come out of it lookin like the culprit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Sorry to hear of your situation pal.

The only advice I could give is the following, although I'm not sure if it will help; it could either sort it out in a flash or make it worse for you - grab one of them (the weakest one) and kick the ****ing bollox out of him. That should sort things out, it usually works.

I would feel like a complete knacker if I resorted to that sort of scum level. Plus, knowing my luck, a Garda would probably come along lol.

Dude, don't be listening to these clowns. You don't wanna be going into a group of lads looking for a fight. The goons suggesting this would do nothing of the sort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

fat__tony wrote: »

I dunno. Sounds more like the behaviour of young professionals to me.

Nah if they were violent they would be trying to start a row instead of just tormenting him. They are just assholes. I've seen if before with a group hasslin one person, if they lay into them and show that any hassle will lead to a violent altercation they will back off. You meet any one ore two of them on their own and they wont say or do anything.

They are all afraid of altercation, but it doesnt stop them being assholes when in a big group. Plus if ya do get the shíte kicked out of ya you have something to go to the police about. 6 on 1 and you cant come out of it lookin like the culprit.

You really have no idea what you're talking about do you? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

fat__tony wrote: »

Because they're black is it?? You f**king racist !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭pacquiao

You need to relate to them somehow.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Dude, don't be listening to these clowns. You don't wanna be going into a group of lads looking for a fight. The goons suggesting this would do nothing of the sort.

So what, walk around like a victim?
    It's a sad fact you got to stand up for yourself at times, and if you get a few slaps then you get a few slaps. Happens most lads at some stage

pacquiao wrote: »
    You need to relate to them somehow.

Don't get into a fight with THIS poster!

Even if you win those watching will give the victory to him! :pac: