fireworks

• 22-10-2011 09:27PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭

There really in full swing at the moment. of course its only 9 days left till halloween. how can they be so abundant in a country where there supposed to be illegal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

The North, they sell em, fireworks, TNT, semtex etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

?

Have you ever been in the city center around this time of the year ?,
    like every market/high street there's someone selling them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Mr.Success

so most gaurds just turn a blind eye then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

FearDark wrote: »
    The North, they sell em, fireworks, TNT, semtex etc.

Thats it, since they made that provision in the Good Friday agreement regarding recreational explosives, theres been a marked increase in the volume of them down here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Mr.Success wrote: »
    so most gaurds just turn a blind eye then?

They're the ones selling them :pac:

probly confiscate them and give em to friends nd neighbours.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

probly confiscate them and give em to friends nd neighbours.

They actually do that :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Keith in cork

how can they be so abundant in a country where there supposed to be illegal.

Fireworks????

Didn't happen to notice the heroin problem while you were there did you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The Ploughing Championships are a great place to stock up on them each year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Fireworks can be very dangerous if they get into the hands of children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

i love fireworks.
    I have a heap of them already.
    The garda actually pulled up at one of my friends gafs and watched and clapped at the fireworks we were lighting.
    until we fired a rocket over someones back wall and milled a car out of it.

Fireworks????

Didn't happen to notice the heroin problem while you were there did you?

i'm down the country so no heroin problems thank god. theres more fworks than drugs around here at the moment

Dotrel wrote: »
    Fireworks can be very dangerous if they get into the hands of children.

thats the whole problem, its all kids who have them. they cant drive up the north and get them so its some scumbag who sells them to the kids down here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    i love fireworks.
    The garda actually pulled up at one of my friends gafs and watched and clapped at the fireworks we were lighting.

Proud of yourself, someone's hard earned car. That was a scumbag thing to do.

thats the whole problem, its all kids who have them. they cant drive up the north and get them so its some scumbag who sells them to the kids down here

actually its people who get their parents to drive them up the north and then they sell to their friends.
    Its hardly ever adults sellin fireworks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It's like a war zone here atm. The dog freaks out every time one goes off.. the dopey fcuker, you'd think he'd cop on after a few thousand that he doesn't need to hide in the bathroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I can never understand why people spend their money on bangers. They explode and make a loud bang......WOW! :rolleyes:

As i always say you'd be better off just doing a ripper of a fart, at least there can be some comedic value to that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Jesus OP, where have you been? Speaking as a Dub, fireworks have been a traditional right for generations of Dubs despite them been illegal. I even set some off myself over the years.
    And yes there is some newish law about a 10grand fine for letting off a banger but have you seen anyone charged over it? Basically the fireworks banning law was brought in at the start of the Troubles(explosives related) and about time it was repealed so respectable folks can enjoy the occasion without being branded criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Keith in cork

i'm down the country so no heroin problems thank god. theres more fworks than drugs around here at the moment

Me too. Open the eyes man, far more serious issues. No matter where you live, if your seeing fireworks on the streets, theres a gear head close-by. Not selling fireworks though i might add :pac:

bit a hash maybe, nothin too serious in a small town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Don't do as good old Mario Balotelli did last night:D:D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056428609

thats bull**** man why would there be gearheads where there's fireworks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Kaneda_

They are not dangerous.

Yeah sure,some people attach them to dogs and cats and see how high they can fly and even fire them at livestock but over all the majority of people use them safely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 189 ✭✭Bergkamp 10

It's one of the many benefits of living near the border....:D
    They literally have them on sale on the side of the roads and have shops of them.

The closer to Hallowen you leave it the cheaper they are. Any scum that use them to hurt or scare animals should serve a lengthy jail term though....:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Kaneda_ wrote: »
    They are not dangerous.

Yeah sure,some people attach them to dogs and cats and see how high they can fly and even fire them at livestock but over all the majority of people use them safely.

Properly made ones are quite safe. Unfortunately the majority of the ones I've seen so far seem to be cheap ****.

It's one of the many benefits of living near the border....:D
    They literally have them on sale on the side of the roads and have shops of them.

The closer to Hallowen you leave it the cheaper they are. Any scum that use them to hurt or scare animals should serve a lengthy jail term though....:(

wher u? around swalinbar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    i love fireworks.
    Try sticking one up you're arse and lighting it, I hear thats fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Kaneda_

MagicSean wrote: »
    Properly made ones are quite safe. Unfortunately the majority of the ones I've seen so far seem to be cheap ****.

Well yeah thats true there are alot of dodgy ones around,im no expert though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭elaverty

A lad i know got stopped at a checkpoint comeing out of Newery last weekend and had some which were confiscated 200euros worth,,,Jst took them,but no fine or anything,,,,and then the PSNI lads probably sold them back to the lads he bought them Off...:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 189 ✭✭Bergkamp 10

wher u? around swalinbar?

nope east cavan close-ish to clogher market.