Has Matt Cooper Lost The Plot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

I think Carol Coleman is excellent and a great interviewer (ould Bush didn't) but there is just not enough of her on radio, she has a slot on Sunday morning, an excellent programme.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Samich wrote: »
    Matt Cooper is Today Fm which is Tv3!!!!

NOT RTE! For once I know something in which everyone else is wrong :)
    Today FM is TV3?

Today FM is owned by Communicorp (Denis O'Brien), TV3 owned by Doughty Hanson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,817 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

orourkeda wrote: »
    Name one good irish interviewer.

Gabriel Mary Byrne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭kyleman

Vincent Browne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Totally disagree with the majority in this here thread. Matt Cooper is the best all round broadcaster in the country. Jack of all trades, master of all.

Pighead remembers when he took over Dunphy's slot on Today FM and he got absolutely crucified by the reviewers for the first couple of months. The fcuker didn't let that face him though. Old Matty boy picked himself up, dusted himself down and within a year it was a case of Eamonn who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Cooper is OK on the radio, but no more than OK. He's just a bit meh.

However, in the world of television & in particular, sports, he stands out as being one of the worst football presenters I have ever seen. TV3's coverage of Champions League football is abysmal & Cooper fits into that category just perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Freddie59 wrote: »
    After Cooper's rant, Adams said 'Matt - I'm agreeing with you', which he subsequently ignored and went off on one again.

And that's precisely what it was an absolutely, totally unprofessional, embarrassing, unnecessary rant. It really was a case of clam da fúck down Cooper and listen to the man ffs. Unfortunately most of these amateurs populating our airwaves, are incapable of leaving their blatant bias and prejudices outside the studio where it belongs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 isthatit

Rega wrote: »
    Denis Irwin
    denis irwin a humble cork man. my friend standing at the bar in the nuremore hotel. a man comes up pushs him out of the way. my friend turns round says i was here first. good ole denis turns round, do you know who i am. my friend says yes but i was still here first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I like Cooper, but he shows his bias a lot and I don't always agree with his views. Still better than the opposition at that time of the evening.
    I managed to miss this this evening....anyone know what time the Adams interview was at so I can listen back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 isthatit

kyleman wrote: »
    Vincent Browne
    hes not the same without orvile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

I listened to George Hook on the way home instead. That American guy was on it. He's fun. It's a bit like listening to an AH troll on the radio.

He's grand to listen to when you have a cloth handy to keep the car speakers dry from all his slobbering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

Always listen to Matt Cooper on the way home, but OP is spot on, I thought he was going mental with Gerry Adams this evening. He could just as easily go nuts at every Fianna Fail TD about having gobshyte builders for friends.

How anyone can listen to George Hook blathering on for two and a half hours after a hard days work is beyond me. I presume the lovely Ingrid is deaf..........

...........and blind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Gee Bag wrote: »
    Always listen to Matt Cooper on the way home, but OP is spot on, I thought he was going mental with Gerry Adams this evening. He could just as easily go nuts at every Fianna Fail TD about having gobshyte builders for friends.

How anyone can listen to George Hook blathering on for two and a half hours after a hard days work is beyond me. I presume the lovely Ingrid is deaf..........

...........and blind.

I used to like GH, but it seems like he has become a caricature of himself in recent months. The first half hour of his show is just a monologue.

So I'm back to MC, which does my head in too. Both shows have reached their sell by date IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I like the Matt Cooper show and I think he does a good job interviewing on it. He really does know a lot about a lot and he asks the right questions. I listen for about half an hour every evening on my way home. Waaaay too much sport coverage though... WAY too much.

I also think Pat Kenny is avery good current affairs interviewer (not a good chat show interviewer though) but MC has those both covered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Micklaus

Bring back Gaybo. It's only when there gone that you realise how damn good they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Are we supposed to take this seriously, despite all the crappola that went on during his 'watch'? How could anyone see this Celtic Tiger version of a 'hard hitting' show as anything but a big fat useless joke?

Frankly, the only person I'd like to hear MC grill is MC, on the subject of how little f.uc.king difference his existence on the airwaves has meant in practical terms. However, I'm sure that'd turn out to be a big bottle of bullsh!t as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I like listening to Hook, he seems to enjoy criticism and while opinionated admits they're just his opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Mike Murphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,923 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Locker10a wrote: »
    Marian Funicuan is good if you listen to her and Mary McGill, there are mabe 1 or 2 more and thats it !

Marian Funicuan is one of the worst on Irish radio. No matter what the topic, she'll pretend that she knows everything about it (regardless of whether she's even ever heard of it before), and talk down to anyone who doesn't agree 100% with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,536 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Cooper's nothing more than a soundbite journalist...they're all as bad as each other now..
    the only ones I listen to now are the lads from On the ball and Moncrieff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

isthatit wrote: »
    denis irwin a humble cork man. my friend standing at the bar in the nuremore hotel. a man comes up pushs him out of the way. my friend turns round says i was here first. good ole denis turns round, do you know who i am. my friend says yes but i was still here first.
    That story is very oddly punctuated...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

4leto wrote: »
    I think Carol Coleman is excellent and a great interviewer (ould Bush didn't) but there is just not enough of her on radio, she has a slot on Sunday morning, an excellent programme.

I think you may be mixing up your Colemans there. There is a Carol Coleman and a Karen Coleman. The one that used be in the U.S. for RTE is Carol I think.
    Anyway I think people went way over he top about her asking Bush a hard question. So what? The other Coleman has an irritating voice for radio.
    The fact that a lightweight like Matt Cooper is hosting a major drivetime slot programme says a lot about the state of the Irish media.
    People like Dunphy are treated like they are intellectuals:D:D The Irish media family is pathetic. I wonder will any of them walk out in sympathy with their colleague Sam Smyth? I won't hold my breath. Fearless journalists that they are:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Namlub wrote: »
    That story is very oddly punctuated...

Hell of a story though. Absolutely cracking yarn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    Cooper's nothing more than a soundbite journalist...they're all as bad as each other now..
    What a load of cobblers. What does that sentence even mean? Are you trying to say Cooper speaks in short sharp sentences? Hogwash!

To be honest it's your post that is actually coming across as being soundbitesque. Cooper is a highly skilled journalist who has twice won journalist of the year and who was editor of a national newspaper at a ridiculously young age. He mightn't be your cup of tea but he's far from a soundbite journalist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Ryan Tubridy. He's our Paxman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,307 ✭✭✭Good loser

Coopers a pain in the ass.

Practically everybody irritates him which doubly irritates me!

He's prejudiced, populist and shallow. Never challenges the public man/woman

when they come on the show no matter how crazy their opinions are.

Love when he's slapped down by the likes of Pat Rabbitte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

Matt Cooper is typical of the current crop of Irish media peeps. Write a book. Pontificate on the radio. Get a GAA presenting Job that completely defies your media background. Blah, Blah, Blah. For some reason they are deemed talented and therefore must be seen and heard everywhere, despite their mediocre and sometimes, diabolical and shameful performances.

Its a media thing. Once you are in, you must be seen and heard absolutely everywhere. Just look at Lorraine Keane for example. No obvious talent yet she is set up as some kind of media Queen. That is until TV3 found younger birds who would work for less and perhaps sleep around a hell of a lot more in order to get up the ladder.

Cooper is in fact a nobody who got lucky. It could happen to anyone that is willing to talk ****e and listen to even more ****e on live radio. Once you are "in", you are laughing. (and of course being laughed at)

As for Hook.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

Heard the interview and thought the ambush was a disgrace,although Gerry Adams handled it quite well.Obviously used to ambushes.It was around 17:15 IIRC.It was funny with Adams agreeing with Cooper and Cooper on a scripted rant which didnt expect Adams agreeing with him.

I usually enjoy Matt Cooper, sometimes he can be a tool but then so can I so I understand it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I think something happens previously good presenters when they've been on Today FM for a long perios of time. Ray D'Arcy and Matt Cooper for example have turned into pompous little f*ckers where once they were excellent.

As for who's good I have to say Pat Kenny is a superb current affairs broadcaster and interviewer on the radio at least.

I would love to see Sean Moncrief do a "serious" talk show. He is highly intelligent and does not take himself too seriously.

I would also throw in Ken Early from Newstalk's Off The Ball. He is the best thing in Irish media right now.