If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool v Manchester United, Anfield, 15th October 12:45 - (MOD NOTE - Post #1)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

Happy with the result considering the team that started.against a first team 'pool. It shows the gulf in the squads in all fairness. I thought evra was lucky to stay on the pitch, first yellow should have been the waving of the imaginary card. Hate seeing it and should be stamped out.

Ferdinand's challenge was a free, not a yellow though. Sure he does not have to go down, but there wad contact and thus a free. De Gea was outstanding, he made a huge difference when he was eventually called upon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

ONly one team played for the win today and fergie has to be delighted with the point he set out to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

adox wrote: »
    What?? There was minimal contact. A slight breeze had more chance of naturally knocking down Adam.

He decided to go down and did.

Also a shocking dive from Downing in the first half.

Nothing will beat Young's double twist and pike in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Essien wrote: »
    I didn't see an interview but I gather Rio admitted there was contact?

What excuse will it be now? :pac:

Rio said he dived which is what most united fans believe. Nothings changed, Adam made a meal of it and WON a free. It happens and no team would-be happy losing to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I agree completely. Downing's dive annoyed me more than Adam's.

Regarding the fuss about Evra trying to get Downing booked for diving in the first half. Why is it so taboo for a player to call for an opposing player to be booked when they have blatantly cheated? Don't get me wrong, I do know why ultimately but bringing back a degree of honesty back into the game is something that players can do.

The decision makers in the game are obviously incapable of making the right decisions to make it happen so players taking it upon themselves in pointing out blatant dishonesty makes sense to be me.

Is he gonna run around doing it next time Nani or Hernandez dive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

#15 wrote: »
    Ah come on Essien. It's typical fan hypocrisy, it's allowed in the immediate aftermath of a game.

No its not. It's the kind of crap that drives match threads into the depths of stupidity, resulting in a lot of posters just not participating in them. It's the reason I don't read match threads for big Chelsea games anymore, far too much baiting.

Eventually they make the YouTube comments sections look civilized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

keano_afc wrote: »
    As a neutral this thread is always gold. Biggest laugh this time? The rank hypocrisy of United fans complaining about diving. Any fans of a team containing players such as Rooney, Owen and Nani need to keep their mouths shut when it comes to cheating.

Roll on the return fixture.

Therefore no teams fans can ever complain about diving?

Gutted about the draw, as one of the lads said earlier, hate not winning. Take a draw at Anfield though, the pool usually kill us there lately. Fergie really could have picked a better side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

The-Rigger wrote: »
    No one asked you to be happy. Being capable of some objectivity would be acceptable.

objectivity does not = siding against utd for the sake of it, most players have been hit by stronger breezes and managed. funny thing is if the free didnt go in, pool fans could have ****ed adam out of it for going down, he'd have got a shot off and could well have scored anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

jaykay74 wrote: »
    For Enriques handball ? That would have been harsh.

Both decisions to NOT give penalties were correct imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Fcuking amazes me how the likes of Sean Bateman are nowhere to be seen after the performance Da Gea put in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,950 ✭✭✭nkay1985

keano_afc wrote: »
    As a neutral this thread is always gold. Biggest laugh this time? The rank hypocrisy of United fans complaining about diving. Any fans of a team containing players such as Rooney, Owen and Nani need to keep their mouths shut when it comes to cheating.

That would be fair enough if you can point out that the same fans don't criticise their own players when they do it. I know I do. I hate seeing it from any player, not just the opposition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

mixednuts wrote: »
    Fcuking amazes me how the likes of Sean Bateman are nowhere to be seen after the performance Da Gea put in.

It hardly amazes you, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,443 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

I may need to wash myself after saying this but Gary Neville comes across quite well as a pundit.

It's horrible, isn't...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,607 ✭✭✭✭cson

BERBA wrote: »
    ferdinand should have been sent off for that challenge on adams as it was a 2nd yellow , ref bottled it bigtime. Tackle from behind so was a definite yellow.

I think you need to revisit the definitions of behind and front BERBA.

As regards the free kick;

[1] Ferdinand brushed his ankle. As Ferdinand said himself in the interview it shouldn't be near enough to bring a 12/13st man down but that's the way the game is gone -> that's the key point. The way things are, that type of contact is a free kick. It shouldn't be.

[2] It's not a yellow for me. If you give cards for that you're going to end up with 22 players on cards on the pitch. As with the contact situation above; the game is gone far too card happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

At least Carroll didn't come on and score,he would never be seen again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

baz2009 wrote: »
    It hardly amazes you, in fairness.

You would be surprised Baz .

I felt it (weird I know) for Da Gea in his first few shaky starts .

Young fella , foreign country , thousands of fans etc etc .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I think Rafas mind games during the week got to ferguson with his team selection and negative tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭mada999

Fergie teams team selection sent utd out not to lose so he'll be happy..

felt Liverpool only really came into it when utd's big guns came on... Little Pea did well as a poacher for the goal..

Have to say Hendo played well when he came on and slotted in to the middle... better in the middle than on the right...

Suarez was a menace all game and De Gea did well and made some good saves...Gerard played well too..

Adam was very hot and cold today and his tracking back is very suspect!

Enrique and Smalling played very well also...Enrique was a bargain buy....

all in all I'm happy with the point againts the champions who have a better squad than us...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Didn't that sean bateman chap say utd were going to play Liverpool of the park and win by 2 clear goals. Haha

niallo27 wrote: »
    I think Rafas mind games during the week got to ferguson with his team selection and negative tactics.
    You forgot the smilie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

Essien wrote: »
    No its not. It's the kind of crap that drives match threads into the depths of stupidity, resulting in a lot of posters just not participating in them. It's the reason I don't read match threads for big Chelsea games anymore, far too much baiting.

Eventually they make the YouTube comments sections look civilized.

Fair enough, in that sense you are right. But I think we've almost all been there when we've overlooked a dive from one of our own players and cursed an opposing player for diving. That's all I meant. Didn't mean to advocate for thread meltdowns!!

cambo2008 wrote: »

You say that like it's a bad thing?:pac:
    You would be surprised Baz .

I felt it (weird I know) for Da Gea in his first few shaky starts .

Young fella , foreign country , thousands of fans etc etc .

I had full confidence in him, but knew we had to be patient. He still doesn't fully inspire me with confidence when he goes for a cross, but I'm not half as nervous as I was in the first couple of game. If today is anything to go by, he's gonna be a star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,611 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Thats clearly it alright. Good insight there. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,443 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Ah jesus, even if you honestly believe that, why bother even saying it?

Ironically, didn't Rafa say in that interview that the whole mind games thing is complete nonsense. He is either a genius or negated his own argument..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

I really don't see what was wrong with Adam going down, there was contact (ie a foul) and if it hindered him in the very slightest what is wrong with him going to ground. Although I'm a Liverpool fan, I would say this about any player on any team in the world. A foul was committed and had Adam stayed on his feet would he have gotten a free kick? If the answer is no then what's wrong with going to ground to ensure the referee makes the CORRECT decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,385 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It was a pretty poor game on reflection, which derby games usually are in fairness. Can't help feeling disappointed with Ferguson's set-up though, he played for a point and while he got it, it ruined the game as a spectacle.

baz2009 wrote: »
    cambo2008 wrote: »

You say that like it's a bad thing?:pac:
    It's entertainment,if everyone had the same views and were ever so nice to each other these threads would be fairly boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Ah jesus, even if you honestly believe that, why bother even saying it?

Ironically, didn't Rafa say in that interview that the whole mind games thing is complete nonsense. He is either a genius or negated his own argument..

It's a joke man, relax, a bit of light banter after bring tense as **** for the last 2 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

yesno1234 wrote: »
    there was contact (ie a foul)

Contact != Foul

Well fair play to Fergie, he's going to get the draw he played for.
    United will be happy with that. Fergie set out his team to nick a.draw and they did just that.
    It was a pretty poor game on reflection, which derby games usually are in fairness. Can't help feeling disappointed with Ferguson's set-up though, he played for a point and while he got it, it ruined the game as a spectacle.

Okay, we get the idea.