If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool v Manchester United, Anfield, 15th October 12:45 - (MOD NOTE - Post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

What I cant understand is why wasnt Rio sent off if he fouled Adam,.

ffs just cos he fouled him (and he did methinks) doesn't mean he has to be booked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

The-Rigger wrote: »
    lol@all the people who maintained there was no contact. Go ask Rio. Enough said.
    Change your tune now and talk about how it wasn't enough contact to bring him down.

I asked Rio, he said Adam dived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

murpho999 wrote: »
    Liverpool had good chance after the subs and could easily have won the game only for De Gea.

Earlier on people were saying it was Fergie's tactical genius having Rooney and Nani to come on and run a tired Liverpool ragged but it didn't happen and Fergie has shown that he respects Liverpool as a good team more so than Utd fans.

I agree with that.

But that has nothing to do with my post that you quoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Rooney10 wrote: »
    Clear dive from Adam, David De Gea was immense. Hanging on towards the end but happy with a point given our bizzarre team/tactical selection.

Even though Ferdinand said he caught him?

lol

De Gea was United's best player, 3 world class saves. Follwoed closely by smalling.

Liverpool took too long to step into a higher gear, and paid the penalty for not putting away the abundance of chances they created.

Should have had a penalty too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,443 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

#15 wrote: »
    Yeah. If only Adam had the honesty to stay on his feet too, we'd all be happy!

I agree completely. Downing's dive annoyed me more than Adam's.

Regarding the fuss about Evra trying to get Downing booked for diving in the first half. Why is it so taboo for a player to call for an opposing player to be booked when they have blatantly cheated? Don't get me wrong, I do know why ultimately but bringing back a degree of honesty back into the game is something that players can do.

The decision makers in the game are obviously incapable of making the right decisions to make it happen so players taking it upon themselves in pointing out blatant dishonesty makes sense to be me.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Liverpool had good chance after the subs and could easily have won the game only for De Gea.

Earlier on people were saying it was Fergie's tactical genius having Rooney and Nani to come on and run a tired Liverpool ragged but it didn't happen and Fergie has shown that he respects Liverpool as a good team more so than Utd fans.
    Both teams were equally bad in the first half, Lucas was having an off day, as was Giggs. Fletcher and Adam looked capable of producing holes in the opposition defense whenever they pushed up a bit. It was crying out for a Rooney or a Nani to exploit the gaps between the midfield and forwards and the selection from Fergie was bizarre with not even Anderson starting who was another player who could have exploited both team's poor midfield on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,057 ✭✭✭✭adox

sent him sprawling.

What?? There was minimal contact. A slight breeze had more chance of naturally knocking down Adam.

He decided to go down and did.

Also a shocking dive from Downing in the first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

lol@all the people who maintained there was no contact. Go ask Rio. Enough said.
    Change your tune now and talk about how it wasn't enough contact to bring him down.

if the situation was reversed and we scored from that free, would ye be happy with it? would ye ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I'd love to see a panel of Giles, Dunphy and Jamie Redknapp. How does that idiot have a job on Sky? Complete idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Redknapp - " gerrard typifies everything Liverpool is about, he's swashbuckling!" brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Disappointed we didn't win in the end, but a point against the champions is never a bad result.

My motm was Kelly without a doubt, followed by Enrique.

Adam was really good, Gerrard when he dropped back to holding midfield was great, Henderson played really well when he came on, Suarez played very well as did Kuyt. Downing was disappointing for the most part and i thought Bellamy should have replaced him early in the second half.

Have to say that United defended well, particularly Smalling, and Danny Wellbeck was excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

lol

Contact equals foul, yeah?

LOL

Essien wrote: »
    Have we not got over bitching about diving? Really?! Every team has somebody who's guilty of it, it happens ALL the time. Are ye all new to the game or something?

Ah come on Essien. It's typical fan hypocrisy, it's allowed in the immediate aftermath of a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭d22ontour

Decent point which would have been gladly taken before the game considering the team selection, looks like Fergie was giving some reserves a game to keep them fresh. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

For the record i never said it was no contact, i didn't discuss it at all before, so im not changing my tune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

I didn't see an interview but I gather Rio admitted there was contact?

What excuse will it be now? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

spiralism wrote: »
    if the situation was reversed and we scored from that free, would ye be happy with it? would ye ****

No one asked you to be happy. Being capable of some objectivity would be acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭coach23

lol

De Gea was United's best player, 3 world class saves. Follwoed closely by smalling.

Liverpool took too long to step into a higher gear, and paid the penalty for not putting away the abundance of chances they created.

No more a Penalty than united could've had in second half Fair result all considering not the greatest of matches and no classic in the grand scheme of things but fair enough result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

Jaysus Jamie is unbelieveably biased.

Regarding the fuss about Evra trying to get Downing booked for diving in the first half. Why is it so taboo for a player to call for an opposing player to be booked when they have blatantly cheated? Don't get me wrong, I do know why ultimately but bringing back a degree of honesty back into the game is something that players can do.

The decision makers in the game are obviously incapable of making the right decisions to make it happen so players taking it upon themselves in pointing out blatant dishonesty makes sense to be me.

This post should be stickied!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

alproctor wrote: »
    ffs just cos he fouled him (and he did methinks) doesn't mean he has to be booked.
    Last man back fouls an attacking player and prevents a goal scoring opportunity and its not a booking:confused:. I'm obviously on the wrong drugs today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

cson wrote: »
    Jaysus Jamie is unbelieveably biased.

I don't know if it's bias or just plain thickness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Thought it was a rubbish game. Very scrappy.

1-1 draw but since Adam dived we can always tell people that we "should" have won...

Ahhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Have we not got over bitching about diving? Really?! Every team has somebody who's guilty of it, it happens ALL the time. Are ye all new to the game or something?

FTR I'm not saying it was a dive, I couldn't see, stream wasn't great.

It's just the people who cant admit that it was a dive and think rio actually tripped him up that seems to be what is dragging this discussion on and on tbh.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Just when the mods thought 1-1 saved themselves some work...

Perhaps we can all just copy and paste the Berbatov penalty "what is enough contact and what isn't" thread. Should be the same posters, same argument:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

As a neutral this thread is always gold. Biggest laugh this time? The rank hypocrisy of United fans complaining about diving. Any fans of a team containing players such as Rooney, Owen and Nani need to keep their mouths shut when it comes to cheating.

Roll on the return fixture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

ferdinand should have been sent off for that challenge on adams as it was a 2nd yellow , ref bottled it bigtime. Tackle from behind so was a definite yellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,611 ✭✭✭jaykay74

For Enriques handball ? That would have been harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,950 ✭✭✭nkay1985

He said there was contact but questioned if it was enough to bring him down. I have the answer to that question. It wasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

I may need to wash myself after saying this but Gary Neville comes across quite well as a pundit.