If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool v Manchester United, Anfield, 15th October 12:45 - (MOD NOTE - Post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

de Gea made two (at least) fantastic saves.... Was outstanding - the save from Henderson was top class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,925 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Enjoyed the game. Pity Henderson couldn't make himself a hero with his 2 chances at the death.

I hate Utd at corners, we've conceded so many over the last few years, every time they got one today I got that sense of foreboding.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Didn't see the game. Should of played our best 11 from the start. 2 points dropped. City almost certainly will win today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,864 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Looking forward to Sean Bateman's verdict on the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

nkay1985 wrote: »
    I think Fergie set up his team to be drawing at 70 minutes and then push on for the win in the last 20. Plan was working until Adam's dive.

and would have only for it. still delighted, possibly the hardest game of the year with the exception of stamford bridge put to bed now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

murpho999 wrote: »
    But they didn't take them in the 2nd half with Rooney and Nani on, your post makes no sense.

Utd scored 1 after the substitution, compared to 0 before it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

How did liverpool not got 3 pts there against what looks like a very adverage utd side.

murpho999 wrote: »
    But they didn't take them in the 2nd half with Rooney and Nani on, your post makes no sense.
    won the game from when they came on til the end so yours doesn't. United with arguably their 3 best attackers on the bench were as good as Liverpool first half just didn't have that bit of ingenuity in the final third. Welbeck didn't suit the lone striker role at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Great second half. Shame we couldn't hold the lead. I think Smalling and De Gea stopped that turning into solid loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

2pts behind pool 2 games in hand ....lovely jubley

Henderson did well for Liverpool when he came on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Daemonic

Better 2nd half, but I think the big winners today are the Mods :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Liam O wrote: »
    Really annoyed at Fergie's team selection tbh, Liverpool were there for the taking first half.

Yeah, i should have added considering the team selection too it was a good point.

I just can't understand why we started with just the 1 up front when we have so many options up there. And that resting certain players after international duty doesn't stand up much as an argument considering fletcher, evra and a few other who played during the week started. Don't think anderson was even in the brazil squad.

I was confident of winning before the game but when i seen the team sheet i was much less optimistic about our chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Fair result both teams very defensive.

178120.JPG

Yeah, very defensive :rolleyes: 14 attempts to 10 in Liverpools favour.

De Gea kept United in it. Ferguson will be the happier of the 2 mnanagers by a mile.

Not disappointed by a draw at all - a point against Utd is always a good result for any team, but Liverpool really should have won it by a few goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Thank god we equalised as I was dissapointed at not looking forward to the premiership and match of the day. Once again united players just never give up, it's not luck it's just class!

Fair enough result although I think liverpool shaded it. Would of been gutted to lose with the goal they got.

De Gea deserves loads of credit. Didn't put a foot wrong and made impressive saves. Only see him getting better and better. Funnily enough, alot of our better forwards are nicely rested for next weeks game against city !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Well it was United hanging on at the end. Liverpool didn't take their chances.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Thought it was a rubbish game. Very scrappy.

1-1 draw but since Adam dived we can always tell people that we "should" have won...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Happy with the point, DDG is class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

What I cant understand is why wasnt Rio sent off if he fouled Adam,De Gea was MOTM by a long way,couple of super saves to get a point for Utd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,443 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Credit to Rio, admitted that there was contact with Adam for the free kick. Obviously added that he didn't believe that it was enough contact to bring him down but still, good to see honesty like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

ffs. Adam was running at full pelt and there was contact from Ferdinand, clipped the outside of his boot and sent him sprawling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

United were there for the taking today, Liverpool were easily the better side. De Gea kept United in it, he put in some shift, fair play to him.

Credit to Rio, admitted that there was contact with Adam for the free kick. Obviously added that he didn't believe that it was enough contact to bring him down but still, good to see honesty like that.

Yeah. If only Adam had the honesty to stay on his feet too, we'd all be happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,173 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

That was a very strange interview!!!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

Clear dive from Adam, David De Gea was immense. Hanging on towards the end but happy with a point given our bizzarre team/tactical selection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Agreed and then gerrard said he took a bad free kick. Good to see some honesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,864 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Liam O wrote: »
    won the game from when they came on til the end so yours doesn't. United with arguably their 3 best attackers on the bench were as good as Liverpool first half just didn't have that bit of ingenuity in the final third. Welbeck didn't suit the lone striker role at all.
    #15 wrote: »
    Utd scored 1 after the substitution, compared to 0 before it.

Liverpool had good chance after the subs and could easily have won the game only for De Gea.

Earlier on people were saying it was Fergie's tactical genius having Rooney and Nani to come on and run a tired Liverpool ragged but it didn't happen and Fergie has shown that he respects Liverpool as a good team more so than Utd fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

The-Rigger wrote: »
    ffs. Adam was running at full pelt and there was contact from Ferdinand, clipped the outside of his boot and sent him sprawling.

Jaysus, adam is hardly a fatso or anything nor short on balance.

If he touched the outside of adams boot you really think that in reality a player would fall over without having to dive? Clear dive end of discussion.

Doesn't take away that Giggs failure to stay in the wall has cost us the goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Have we not got over bitching about diving? Really?! Every team has somebody who's guilty of it, it happens ALL the time. Are ye all new to the game or something?

FTR I'm not saying it was a dive, I couldn't see, stream wasn't great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

lol@all the people who maintained there was no contact. Go ask Rio. Enough said.
    Change your tune now and talk about how it wasn't enough contact to bring him down.