Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brownian Motion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

You are a bit mad running a 5k after a 10 mile in the morning, but you probably know that. Fair play to you for still eking out a c 18 min despite that. Thats some going, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

brownian wrote: »
    Got some advice after the race from one of the lads who left me for total dust
    What was the advice? Don't run a brisk 10 miles in preparation for a 5k race?!
    You're either a genius, or a mixed up crazy kid..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Mental stuff B, absolutely mental. I'm tired just thinking about it. I'm off to bed. Well done on the PB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭brownian

Ah the joy of positive feedback :) I know you're all collectively right, and that if I wanted to run a competitive 5K then I shouldn't head out for a 10 mile spin six hours earlier.

But... to be honest I wasn't particularly focussed on running the 5K competitively - my priority is to train for DCM. Two ten-mile tempos (if that's the best way to describe my average weekday spin) per week is pretty much all I'm doing during the week, and I didn't want to miss either one. Equally, I wanted a down day today before LSR/LFR running tomorrow, so the ten-mile was pretty much a given.

But... I would have felt bad not turning up and making some sort of an effort at the run, seeing as it's organised and all by my new club. So, the only solution is to do both. Not the ideal one for a fast 5k time, but there'll be other 5ks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,092 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

..... and don't listen to Martin Francis [he's not normal :p] and you may have gathered with his tale of 'got a call at 3am to go to Dingle and run the Marathon and said why not and went and ran 2:58'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Consider your logic justified. You're still a crazy mixed up kid though. :) If you reckon you could take a minute off of that time on a better planned day, 17:06 would be a pretty damn fine time for a 5k.

Risky putting down a gauntlet like that - might be optimistic. While I was hurting more or less throughout the run yesterday, objectively it mightn't have been worth 60 seconds.

But aahhh - I'd say it was:pac:. Post marathon I'll give 5k a serious go.

Formal results online - apparently I was a second slower (18:05) than I thought. Second M45 though...slice and dice the data enough, you can always find something good:)

This is why we have daughters with iphones....at the end of the Fit4Life 5k last night

photo.JPG

Pretty much as planned - 15 miles at 7 minutes. Two minutes were lost stopping for a drink at the car about mile 12, so overall 7 minute miles is a fair estimate.

Met up with theRoadRunner, ecoli and tunguska for this run, at the Community Centre in Firhouse, which was Race HQ for a BHAA 10k. TRR and tunguska were both planning to run this race, after the 15-mile warm-up. Great to have company and the miles passed pretty easy. Steep uphills are not suiting me well at the moment - the others tended to drop me on these, so I'd to work a little to catch up. Fortunately our route, a very nice one around the Bohernabreena reservoirs, was largely flat.

We could probably have managed a slightly faster pace, especially in the second half of the run, but I was happy enough to throttle back to 7:00 when I found us pushing the speed up, and the lads were decent to indulge me.

tRR headed on to the BHAAA race at mile 12, ecoli guided me around one lap of the BHAA course to round out our 15 miles. Sympathy/respect to the racers - the core of the lap is a long drag into a stiff enough wind, where I was working pretty hard to maintain the 7:00 pace.

Really enjoyed this run - felt like about as fast as I wanted to run today. It's very good to run with faster people (at least for me!), as any temptation to laziness is put aside in the effort not to drop off the back. Thanks, chaps!

Some sort of five-miler is probably on the cards tomorrow, just to loosen out the legs. If I get out of the pit, it'll be the club training up in Djouce...shame it's so early (0930 :eek:).

Off to Italy Mon-Thurs; determined to get decent runs in there too, though.

First attempt in a good while at a recovery run - goal time was about 40 minutes, but found it difficult to keep the pace down and caught myself in the usual run zone of 4-4:30 a lot of the time.

For a change, ran down through Monkstown and along the sea - expected big winds and high seas, but was pretty calm, both air and water. Then back up to Baker's Corner, down to Deangrange, up Kill Lane and across past the French school to come home through the parks at the top of my road. Pleasant rolling run, lots of gentle inclines.

Felt fine throughout...this is an improvement on my few other recovery runs, where I've always felt poor. A bit tight afterwards, esp the achilles and a few tweaks inside the left thigh, but I don't think anything serious.

Off to Italy at half five tomorrow morning - hopefully will find the opportunity to get ten miles or so in before the meetings start in earnest on Tuesday.

Four days in sunny Italy this week. Didn't exactly make for the ideal running environment, but there you go. 29 degrees of an evening, and madly humid - the hum off my running gear is almost audible at this stage.

Padua (an hour SW of Venice) is actually pretty nice for running - lots of riverbanks with bike/walk/run paths, with water fountains every once in a while. The one I ran on seemed to go on for ever - I ran out 9k along it with no end in sight. Somewhere along it there's a hot girl factory - serious lycra-clad running talent, which helps to keep the spirits up but does nothing for the already overheated bod.

Anyway - Monday rest, Tuesday 10 mile in 72 minutes; Weds 5 miles in 38 minutes. Following work related dinner/beer fest yesterday am too shattered to run today, but will get in five easy tomorrow and then a long slow hilly run on Saturday.

Looking at Dublin six weeks away, the general plan is

2 x 10 plus 1 or 2 x 5 during each week; during taper weeks multiply by 75% in DCM-2 week, by 50% in DCM-1 week)
    15 this weekend (hilly, so no big pace plan) [DCM - 6] 17 sept
    18 next week [DCM -5] 24 sept goal pace c.7 min miles with 5 miles at 6:40 or lower
    20 following week [DCM - 4] 1 Oct goal pace as above
    20 following week [DCM - 3] ...might push it to 21 or 22 - 8 Oct goal pace as above
    15 following week [DCM - 2]...starting taper - 15 Oct goal pace as above
    10 following week [DCM - 1]..tapering - 22 Oct goal pace as above
    26.2 following week 31 Oct.

I hope that the goal pace is fast enough...basically I plan to run the long runs at about as fast as I feel I can sustain. Hopefully I'll find that 6:40 (PMP) isn't too hard, and that I can do more of them than it says above. Midweek 10-mile pace will be around PMP, or a bit faster. Still a bit worried that my 10-mile midweek pace isn't, at the moment, any faster than PMP (a little slower, really). But am starting to find that running overall is getting easier.

Sorry, rambling now.

...last weekend's 15 miles were pretty much as fast as I wanted to run, and as far. I could maybe have gone a smidgen faster, and/or a bit further, but this was a workout for me.

Checking the logs of my companions, as one does, I find that ecoli has this mammoth long-distance speedfest tagged as "Sunday easy run".

Had to smile. Mrs B thought it was hilarious :)

Woke up exhausted today - the trip to Italy really took it out of me. Too many late nights and just too darn hot. If I can get myself in gear, I'll head for five or so easy miles today. Tomorrow's got a long slow run planned with the folks from Bray runners - in a sense, it's a break from the faster-paced stuff of the last few weekends, but there's more miles, and hills. And the weather looks a bit dodge too.

Anyway, nothing to report today, yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Padua (an hour SW of Venice) is actually pretty nice for running - lots of riverbanks with bike/walk/run paths, with water fountains every once in a while. .

That takes me back, lived in padova for 3 months as a student. Great spot.

Good luck with the rest of the training, what is the target for the DCM?

That takes me back, lived in padova for 3 months as a student. Great spot.

Good luck with the rest of the training, what is the target for the DCM?

Thanks TBB. I certainly enjoyed the few days there, even if nearly all of it was spent in meetings.

DCM target is 2:54:xx all going well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

...last weekend's 15 miles were pretty much as fast as I wanted to run, and as far. I could maybe have gone a smidgen faster, and/or a bit further, but this was a workout for me.

Checking the logs of my companions, as one does, I find that ecoli has this mammoth long-distance speedfest tagged as "Sunday easy run".

Had to smile. Mrs B thought it was hilarious :)

Put that down to feeling fresh. I say if i tried that pace this week maybe a more moderate effort :D

Its all about perspective I look at some my other running partners training logs and get the same reaction.

Think that is thre great thing about this sport performance is an ever moving goal post and you find that as you get fitter/faster things you thought used to be killer become easier and easier as you go on

A tale of two halves. Met up with the gang from Bray Runners in Glendalough on Saturday morning for a long slow run. Ran up to the Sally gap (15 miles) at a nice easy pace - really a cruise. I could have gone quite a bit harder, but really enjoyed the easy pace, I must confess. Two gels and a litre of Torq did no harm either. Two hours for the fifteen miles, average eight minutes a mile or 5:00 /km.
    This was of course basically an uphill run, which is my excuse for the easy pace.

From the end of the 15 I turned around, ran back to the Gap and back onto the Laragh road for another 5 miles. Really heavy cold shower swept in - squinting into the rain while hacking along into the gale-force headwind made for an invigorating running experience. This last 5 miles was a Krusty-style "finish the run hard" approach, and the pace went from 5:00 to 4:13 (2 seconds off PMP for Dublin) on a predominantly (but not very) downhill course. Happy enough to have it in the legs, and TBH could have run another five without pain (if I could get a dry shirt anyway!).

Nice to get a long run in, and to feel comfy. Next week's long run will be faster.

Just a recovery run around the park near the house. No GPS, but pace was 7-8 minutes a mile. Felt reasonably comfortable, but definitely feeling the miles from Saturday.

Lots of meetings today, and thinking that some rest will do no harm.

Looking forward to reading all about the HALF, when I can get out of meetings!

Evening update - bit of a sore throat, bit of a headache, generally a bit boll1xed this evening. Hoping against hope that haven't caught the ten-day antibiotics-requiring bug that Mrs B and both the little Bs have had in the last few weeks.

Hypochondria - sign of a runner with lots of training done and a bit to go.....

Finally, some running to record.

Still not feeling entirely 100%, reading A/R/T and other people's logs finally tipped me over the edge and into my runners. Did my usual 10 mile circuit around Sandycove, Bullock Harbour, Coliemore, Killiney, Ballybrack and back through the long linear park to Deansgrange. Did my best to build a little more pace on the uphills than of late, but let the body run at whatever pace it felt like on the flats and downhills. Fairly short of breath a few times, so clearly working hard on the hills.

Good to feel the strength in the legs, even where the lungs are a bit tight. None of that weird pain in quads and calves that I had a couple of weeks ago.

Laps are a bit random on my old Garmin 205..and/or I haven't worked out how to use it properly yet. Data something like this...

Kms 1-8.66 avg pace 4:10
    Kms 8.66-10.86 avg pace 4:19
    Next 700m going down Bono's hill to killiney beach avg 4:13 (interesting to see that the steep downhill doesn't give automatic speed
    Final 5km pace around 4:15-4:20.
    Couple of kms warmdown stuff, where I switched off the Garmin, but didn't and so messed up the last lap data.

Happy to get this run in. Feeling a bit under par and undermotivated over the last couple of days - hard days in work, bit of hypochondria about. Training not derailed but not full steam ahead either. Going out when not in top form and still knocking out ten miles in 67 minutes is reassuring. Probablyl knock off five miles early on Friday morning and then rest up for Saturday's LSR. Leaves me a few miles short for the week, but not critically so.

Seem to have picked up a bit of a muscle pull yesterday. Can't sit up in bed (have to roll over sideways), and there's a tenderness in the left thigh that's not very pleasant.

Hopefully a bit of rest will help - neither discomfort is close enough to the surface to ice (and icing my groin isn't too appealing :)).

So...resting resting 1-2-3, while all around the bustle and clamor of the Boards.ie Berlin Expedition gets under full steam. As would be expected, there are more posts about which pub to go to than anything to do with athletics:D
    Maybe it's because the pub is something that can be decided collectively, while the run is very individual.... or maybe the pub is just getting its due importance!

Muscle pull in the leg feeling better,though stomach muscle still a bit dubious. Resting up, prior to tomorrow's longer run. Feeling strong enough...the family bug doesn't seem to have stricken me. Touch wood.

Big weekends for the lads. Triumph and tragedy in Berlin. Drama and podiums in rathdrum. The usual overachieving in rathfarnham.

Brownian on the other hand went low-key after the near week of rest. Still carting a bit of a groin strain and some sort of pulled stomach muscle. Hit the park with drquirky on saturday morning. Mrs b has given warning me about meeting men off the Internet in the Phoenix park :). To my surprise drq isn't a native dub but is instead an ex college runner from the states....and it shows. A solid clip for ten miles, a quick glug back at the car and then an alpine expedition up something horrible called knockmaroon, followed by more hills. By fifteen i was hurting; selfishly I was a wee bit relieved when the doctor also hit a bit of a rough patch around 17 and we detoured into farmleigh for a drink. Getting going again was a bit harsh but we were back on sevens within a half mile or so.

by mutual agreement we decided to pick easy flat Tarmac for the last bit and so a couple of quick miles down Chesterfield were in order. 2:26 including the breaks; 2:19 or so actual running time.

Found three lads with their feet in the air beside the car; looked so odd I had to join them. Turns out one of them is elfoyzer (spelling?) who is behind some special forces running session next week, same place. Had the craic for a few minutes with feet in the air; then locked my keys in the boot and had to call the calvary.

To runfast in LSRs or not? Either this is a great training strategy or it's going to screw me but running as fast as reasonably possible on the LSRs seems logical to me. It does mean I need rests more than most and that I do relatively few miles; but a session like this one gives me a bit of confidence going forward. Gonna stick with it until DCM and then think about proper training next time. Have a sneaky feeling there's 2:50 or so in there if I only got my sh1t together.

Yes yes yes - finally broke 1:05 over the hilly Killiney ten mile course; pretty chuffed.

Headed out much later than usual (about sixish), with my brand new pair of Nimbus 12s (got a pair online, as I knew exactly the model and size I wanted) with last-marathon's wonder juice of 700 ml of Torq solution inside me.

Took it a little easy up the hill towards Monkstown, and down to CBC. Started to build the pace up onto Tivoli road and then got a good traffic-free run down to Glasthule. Much less traffic than my usual lunchtime run, and this (As well as good lights and bit of brass-neck traffic management) certainly helped to pull the time down. Handy spin around by the 40 foot, along to Bullock and up the first drag towards Dalkey. On the edge of panting hitting Coliemore road, so coasted down to Coliemore Harbour and found decent pace up to Sorrento; rested again till the turn up the hill and then worked on the hills. They went better than usual, and soon I was down by Killiney beach. Pull up over Ballybrack, knowing I was going well, and then kept it together through Kilbogget park and back to Deansgrange. Still finding good pace right to the end, though to be honest I was going pretty hard (3:40s) for the last couple of Ks, but the last 5ks were all sub-4..

Feeling very strong, but there's definitely an injury in the groin someplace - ringing the fizzio first thing tomorrow.

Greatly pleased - this is the first sign of an improvement in fitness over the pre-Conn training, and two days after the 20-miler in the Park, it's fair recovery.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Great running. Careful with that groin. I was wrecked through winter when I pushed an injury in the DCM last year. As part of the A/R/T winter strength challenge I've started to do some of the groin stretches that I was given by my physio back then. Hope they'll keep me stronger and ensure any such injury is kept at bay. Might be worth your while similarly looking up similar exercises?

Thanks, SJ. Rang the fizzio this evening, hopefully will get appointment in next day or two. Groin quite uncomfortable for first half mile or so today, then settled down.

Won't self-prescribe stretches until I've talked to the physio. But overall doing some work on core and indeed any muscle other than calves and quads would certainly be a good idea - sound advice!

[aside; just worked out that today's run (which is pretty much at the edge of feasibility for me, at least on this course) is 4:04 per km pace on average. I can afford to run 4 seconds per km slower than this for my target marathon time....but for 2.62 times as long. Jeepers, it's a big ask. Not even taper time and he's fretting]

No more to say about it really. Rang the fizzio, hope to get an appt today or tomorrow. Given the discomfort, amn't looking forward to having those thumbs do horrible things to my groin:eek:

Apart from that, not too stiff and sore - running in the compression socks yesterday seems to have suited the calves.

A smidgin slower than Monday's run, on a warm and windy evening. To be honest, didn't feel in great form for the first few miles, only found comfort around miles 5 to 9.

Picked up a pretty solid knot in the right calf over the last 500m, which is hurting me now. Stretches ok, so I'm hoping it's nothing serious - certainly it's a worrying niggle. Seeing fizzio tomorrow over my groin pain (which is still lurking), so may ask her to look at the calf too.

On the running front, happy enough to be able to knock off 1:06, which is just faster than PMP, at the end of the day and when not really on form. Never really killing myself, but definitely at the harder end of chugging along.

Feeling fitter and faster over the last couple of weeks - hope injury doesn't sneak in now!

Well, the physio reckons I've some sort of tear where the stomach muscle meets the groin "Gilders Groin" or something like that. But she says it might just go away, and that I should be ok to keep on trucking, at least until the marathon. By then we'll know if it's going to self-heal or not. If not, it's keyhole time.

The calf pain is nothing too serious - a couple of days' rest should do it, and lots of the usual heel drops and calf stretches.

So, resting today. Jeepers it's hot, so I'm happy enough. Sadly (or thankfully), it's also v.busy, so am chained to the computer and the phone.

Try a couple of easy miles tomorrow to see how the calf is, before making definite plans for the weekend. A weekend off won't kill me, but it'd bump my momentum a bit....

Just a quick jog in the rain to see how the injuries are holding up. The calf behaved pretty well, as did the groin, so unless pain suddenly appears I should make the long run in the park tomorrow. Happy days.