Earwigs and Spiders in my house!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

He'll be back.

I'd say so, this fécker was on a mission alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I'd say so, this fécker was on a mission alright.

And since you're the one who threw him out, he'll be looking for you if he remembers. You better pray he doesn't have Total Recall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

The wife made me collect and throw out 4 large spiders the other day from the bathroom. They were big feckers too, but I gather them up in a glass and went to go outside. On the way out,the wife told me to go to the front garden and spin around five times to disorientate them so they wouldn't come back in. Four times I did this,one time after the other. On the fourth time I saw the next door neighbour watching from the upstairs window at my shennanigans. Ah well. Her and her cats. And shopping trolley.

But they haven't come back yet :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

delly wrote: »
    Those crazy big spiders are very common these days. They don't spin webs like your regular friendly spider, therefore they wander around hunting for prey. I know the site of them scurrying across the floor can be offputting, but if you move quick enough they can make a tasty snack.

Wrong and wrong I'm afraid. These are Giant House Spiders, Tegenaria Duellica (formerly Gigantea). Tegenaria are matt-weavers, they tend to spin webs on the corners of floors and ceilings. The reason they are more prevalent around autumn is that it is mating season and the males are in search of a mate.

The wife made me collect and throw out 4 large spiders the other day from the bathroom. They were big feckers too, but I gather them up in a glass and went to go outside. On the way out,the wife told me to go to the front garden and spin around five times to disorientate them so they wouldn't come back in. Four times I did this,one time after the other. On the fourth time I saw the next door neighbour watching from the upstairs window at my shennanigans. Ah well. Her and her cats. And shopping trolley.

But they haven't come back yet :rolleyes:

Laughed at the spinning around thing.
    To be honest, these spiders can't survive outside (indoor spiders can't live outdoors and vice-versa) so you might as well kill them, you're doing them no favours by ejecting them from their house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

Though we think we have it bad here, it could be so much worse. For example, a friend of mine was in Thailand a few years ago. He was in bed trying to sleep but wasn't able to as it was too hot. In an effort to cool himself down he lifted up his blanket to let some cool air in. As he lifted up the blanket he heard a rather loud thud followed by the noise of something rather large and with numerous legs scurrying away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Jumped into the shower on Saturday morning and saw a tiny little spider on the wall. Then I noticed another, and another.... I stopped and looked around and counted 42 of them! Straight out with the hoover, got every one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

No spiders or Earwigs here but these F**kin tiny (like grains of salt) white bugs are all over my kitchen counter and NOTHING seems to kill them - not bleach, not bug killer, nothing!!! Not a scrap of food in the house and threw out my bin - which is where I believe they came from.

I haven't eaten in the kitchen in 4 days - been living on take aways and packaged goods. I have taken to going around my counter and sink with sellotape picking them up but they keep coming back!!:eek:

What the hell are these things and how do I get rid of them??

Lice? fleas? fruit fly maggots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I havent noticed any spiders but everything that can fly seems to come into my fourth floor apartment. Moths/wasps/flies like crazy everywhere-no idea why they're coming in but Ive been armed with wasp killler every time I go to relax on my couch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

some_dose wrote: »
    Though we think we have it bad here, it could be so much worse. For example, a friend of mine was in Thailand a few years ago. He was in bed trying to sleep but wasn't able to as it was too hot. In an effort to cool himself down he lifted up his blanket to let some cool air in. As he lifted up the blanket he heard a rather loud thud followed by the noise of something rather large and with numerous legs scurrying away.

:eek: oh holy crap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Elmidena

carlybabe1 wrote: »
    :eek::eek: thats horrendous!!!! If ye must kill them, and I seriously wish ye wouldnt (the size of them ffs, they are a fraction of your size) then do it quickly, and dont leave them in bits, put them outta thier misery.........
    I like spidies......:(

Ummmmm, nooo?? I dont think spiders here bite, ants, earwigs ,wasps etc all have venom of some degree, but dont think our spideys bite
    My right inner thigh will contest to that statement. That was one horrific trip to the bathroom to suddenly see it there and CHOMP....had a bit of a limp for a day as it got a nerve :mad:
    The only other worse trip to the bathroom was going for toilet roll to see one on the opposing side of the toilet paper. Had the paper been the other way around on the holder, I would've grabbed it. The toilet roll ALWAYS stays the "right" way around and always will now!
    Note: both these buggers were the massive horrible types. Huge brown one on thigh, huge hairy black one on toilet roll. It was luck (?) of it's size that I saw it's leg on the other side before I went to take the paper.

Shudder.

Though I am less of an arachnaphobe these days, still wouldn't EVER want to relive those!

smash wrote: »
    Lice? fleas? fruit fly maggots?

Nope - non of the above - they don't jump, can't fly and have tiny legs. They trundle along quite lazily.
    Lice are black, fleas jump and maggots don't have legs - I've been on google all day trying to find what they are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

No spiders or Earwigs here but these F**kin tiny (like grains of salt) white bugs are all over my kitchen counter and NOTHING seems to kill them - not bleach, not bug killer, nothing!!! Not a scrap of food in the house and threw out my bin - which is where I believe they came from.

can you take a pic of one and post it ? I'm intrigued if i'm honest.

some insects emerge form eggs in nymph (exact minature) form, and are white, but become coloured as they grow.

Ah they're just little mites or Booklice. Every house has them really.
    http://www.livingwithbugs.com/mites.html

smash wrote: »
    Ah they're just little mites or Booklice. Every house has them really.
    http://www.livingwithbugs.com/mites.html

yeah, was just thinking booklice.

look anything like this whatdoicare ?

marcsignal wrote: »
    can you take a pic of one and post it ? I'm intrigued if i'm honest.

some insects emerge form eggs in nymph (exact minature) form, and are white, but become coloured as they grow.

Someone sent a message there saying they might be grain/rice mites...which I think they might be as the photo looks like them. They are too small to take a proper photo of but here's a link to the grain mite: http://archive.gipsa.usda.gov/tech-servsup/visualref/VRI/HTML_Pages/Insects/bug27.htm
    I'm having a look for mould/leaky pipes as it says that they feed of it.

Someone sent a message there saying they might be grain/rice mites...which I think they might be as the photo looks like them. They are too small to take a proper photo of but here's a link to the grain mite: http://archive.gipsa.usda.gov/tech-servsup/visualref/VRI/HTML_Pages/Insects/bug27.htm
    I'm having a look for mould/leaky pipes as it says that they feed of it.

Could be. Do you have a bag of flour in the cupboard ? if so, examine the under the folds of the bag, thats where they hide. They could be some kind of stored product insect. You could also check any other cereal based product you have in the house, particularly if you've had the product for a long time.

marcsignal wrote: »
    Could be. Do you have a bag of flour in the cupboard ? if so, examine the under the folds of the bag, thats where they hide. They could be some kind of stored product insect. You could also check any other cereal based product you have in the house, particularly if you've had the product for a long time.

I think they first came from the bin -- We recycle alot and have a food bin outside so the kitchen bin rarely gets emptied out - perfect conditions for mites. We dumped the bin and bought a new one and just in case I dumped all my flour and cereal goods too - I usually put them in containers anyway but I took no chances!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,045 ✭✭✭Jude13

As a kid flying and spiders never bothered me, now both do.
    The spider issue I think is mainly due to a camping trip in the desert in the Middle East, it started raining huge drops, pelting down, which was lovely until the spiders started coming of the feckin sand. My self and the other boys luaghed even though they were massive as we sat on the bonnet taking snaps, the girls got inside the 4x4. the laughing stopped when the spiders decided to take refuge on the only high point on the sands my 4x4, cue scrambling in through the windows. I wouldnt walk bear foot on the sand the next day. I know we get cammel spiders here but not sure it was them, there had legs as thick as my fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭shefra

We have the same problem with earwigs as the op. Every year same time july august and they are driving me crazy. This year was the worst i've seen to the extinct that we dont open the windows or doors to the back of the house because thy nest around the frames, despite that they still manage to get in ugh:eek: I've put it down to country living all the tress, grasses etc disguisting.
    If I could afford to concrete the entire place I would just to be rid of them. Anyone with solutions:(

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

motherogod I have to stop clicking on the links in this thread.
    I'm feeling itchy all over now.

I'm whor hovering tonight for sure.

I think they first came from the bin -- We recycle alot and have a food bin outside so the kitchen bin rarely gets emptied out - perfect conditions for mites. We dumped the bin and bought a new one and just in case I dumped all my flour and cereal goods too - I usually put them in containers anyway but I took no chances!

Hmmm, I guess all you can do is empty all of the cupboards and wipe them down with diluted bleach or similar. You could also use a Deltametherin based spray. Ant spray you get in a hardwarwe would do, and if everything is packaged or in containers, there is no risk of contaminating your food.

Lightly Spray the inside surfaces of the cupboards, allow to completely dry (1hr). Use a mask for your mouth and nose, even a paper one, and avoid contact with your eyes. Deltametherin will sting if it gets in your eyes, and there is nothing you can do except rinse your eyes with cold water, and wait for stinging to subside. The same would apply if you get it on your hands and then rub your eyes. Be careful of this.

if you're in Dublin, and if the problem persists and you feel you need professional help, just PM me. I hung up my own sprayer for the last time in the mid 90s, but I know loads of guys still in the pest control game that could help ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Do house spiders eat earwigs or is it just flies they eat?

They'll eat just about anything they can...so anything around their size or smaller

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

A couple of years ago, while hoovering, I discovered countless numbers of little green slow-moving spider-like insects on the underneath of a chest of drawers. I was renting the apartment and that chest of drawers was pretty much the only thing the landlord had put in. I never checked it. The underneath was rotting away and these insects appeared to be feeding off it. I DO NOT WANT TO KNOW WHAT THEY WERE - DON'T TELL ME IF YOU THINK YOU KNOW. I hoovered the feckers up but I was bawling crying just with pure disgust. My skin was crawling. Anything like that fills me with utter horror. Maggots especially - they make me completely freak. If I ever had them in my house, I would leave and never return.

Spiders are ok. I don't like them but I'll just throw 'em out. Flying insects are also not allowed in.

This thread makes me feel itchy :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I've been seein lots of tiny one's about the house. Didn't bother me in the least unitil I came upon a HUGE one in my bathtub. Why do they always head for the bath-tub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Quit putting the spiders back outside. That's how they get in my house. Kill them and stop being such a sap :D
    I treat them and all the insects as tresspassers. Enter my home without permission and youre getting squashed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

Why do they always head for the bath-tub?
    They always get you at your most vulnerable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

BBDBB wrote: »
    maybe you are some kind of parselmouth and dont realise it

Not so much of a true Harry Potter fan then?! It's parseltongue and it refers to the language of snakes, not insects!