Gardai abuse of the rules of the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

ShiresV2 wrote: »

I don't get the begrudgers. If the cops can get somewhere quicker because they can exceed the speed limit or use a bus lane, even if it's just to buy more doughnuts, then fair play to them. I wish I could do that, I can't, but why begrudge them.

Because the laws of the land should apply to all the people in the land equally except where explicitly stated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Snakeblood wrote: »
    Yeah, but in order to be exempt from a particular law, the gardai should be exempted explicitly from that law. It shouldn't be just open to interpretation. As far as I'm aware, Gardai aren't allowed go down the bus lane to get to the shops, unless someone is robbing those shops.
    Did i hear you complaining about taxis or is it just the Garda as usual ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Kiss1037

The point of starting this thread was not to bash the gardai , but to hopefully shame someone to get them to behave responsibility and not like kids, how can they expect others to behave when they are not behaving also, just because these laws do not apply to them is no excuse whatsoever.

As for the advanced training , crap , loads of others have also completed these courses, it teaches one how to drive better and safer, not how to be able to break the rules and not be a danger to others.

Dunno what you're on about. Explain please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    I have no penalty points. I have taken (and passed) advanced driving courses in the UK and Australia. I have worked at Templemore as a training consultant. Yes, I believe the emergency services need to be allowed flexibility when responding to calls. However, I object when I see (as I did last week) a guard sitting in her car in traffic (she was in the lane next to me for a good 10 minutes) chatting and then texting on her mobile and then pull someone over 5 minutes later for doing the same thing. The guard was using a mobile phone while driving - this is against the law. She was not responding to a call-out. Indeed, after she issued a penalty notice to the driver she stopped, the same guard had time to pop into Tesco for milk.

It smacks of one law for us/another law for them - haven't we had enough of that sh*ite in Ireland?

Maybe the Super was waiting for his milk. a bun and a packet of fags.

Taxis also use bus lanes and are allowed use mobiles when driving.
    I didn't hear you complain about them, only the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Kiss1037 wrote: »
    I know that the Gardai have leeway re the rules of the road , but i'm geting very pissed off seeing them break the rules of the road, day in , day out

This morning i saw , the gardai pass me in a bus lane definitely at speed , several minutes later , i called into the local petrol station to see same gardai car parked up and the gardai buying coffee, then i saw a garda cycle through a red light.

I think we should start a post with a list of there discrepencies , so that we may hold them accountable like the rest of us to the rules of the road.

BTW i have no issue with them if they are on urgent business.

you are 100% definite it was the same garda car with the same gardai on board, you are prepared to testify in court. Take your time.

You mean you and the other people who have issues with AGS.

Every week we have at least one thread about how ****e gardai are etc.
    Anyone who thinks they could do a better job, sign up.

You forgot to say if they paid for the coffee or not.

Taxis are transporting people to their destinations, I don't really have a problem with them using bus lanes. Them using mobiles? yeah, I'm not sure that's legal, and if it is, it probably shouldn't be.. Gardai who are going to the shops (yes, as in not official business) shouldn't be using bus lanes to make life more convenient for themselves.

If you want to start a thread about Taxi drivers, go ahead. If you are just being arsey for the sake of it, be my guest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,204 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Last time I looked taxi drivers are not tasked with ensuring people adhere to the rules of the road and have the power to issue penalties/arrest. Or has that changed?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

The gardai for their own safety should follow the rules of the road. Since the average IQ of a garda is much lower than the average person, so they need to put all their limited intelligence into concentrating on the road.

what a contribution! Shouldn't you be at school or are you not old enough to go?

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Last time I looked taxi drivers are not tasked with ensuring people adhere to the rules of the road and have the power to issue penalties/arrest. Or has that changed?

Get off your high horse. The Garda are doing a great job and if you worked in many other countries you would know that. Stop the petty complaining. I am proud of my police force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭blindsider

Tetra is deployed almost everywhere. Some parts of Donegal and a few other very remote areas may not be 'on air' yet, but they will be by end of 2011.

In virtually all cases, Tetra is now the official radio communications tool - it's secure and allows inter-agency communication e.g. the Ambulace service and will also include the FB's if/when the Fire Service change over.

There is absolutely no reason for a Gda to use a mobile while driving - texting is just scandalous. The general public is prevented from phoning/texting while driving for safety reasons, why would this not apply to the Gardai also? If a Garda was on the phone, it would have to be official, urgent business? Not a phone-call to find out what's for dinner?

Interesting to see what would happen if a Garda was in an
    RTA (on the phone) and the phone call was not official?

Do the Gardai still get a deal from O2 for phones and minutes/texts etc?

WRT contacting Tetra limitations on contacting another member, i.e 1-1 calls, Tetra can do this, the Gardai have to request it.

Bosco boy wrote: »
    what a contribution! Shouldn't you be at school or are you not old enough to go?

You should be out catching criminals I suppose you are on boards at work:p

Taxis are transporting people to their destinations, I don't really have a problem with them using bus lanes. Them using mobiles? yeah, I'm not sure that's legal, and if it is, it probably shouldn't be.. Gardai who are going to the shops (yes, as in not official business) shouldn't be using bus lanes to make life more convenient for themselves.

If you want to start a thread about Taxi drivers, go ahead. If you are just being arsey for the sake of it, be my guest.

No i think i will be just a begrudger like you for the sake of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭blindsider

Really? Is that why so many have a bluetooth headset?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭cladda1112

only last week a garda car pass me out at speed on a white line. As the traffic was bad ahead i managed to catch up again and when we got to the town they parked outside an eating house in town behind another police car on yellow lines. An hr later on my way home i passed the hotel pub again to see them all come out and get in to their cars. Would mind but my brother was caught last week for passing out a tractor on the same stretch of road. Only place in abut 2 miles that you can pass out safe.

No i think i will be just a begrudger like you for the sake of it.

I think rules should apply to everyone in a country. I'm not sure how that's begrudgery for the sake of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

And where do you think the gardai have been before they pick up a cup of coffee? Where do you think they go after they've picked up their coffee?

Would you rather the gardai spend their time sitting in traffic?

Jesus a bit of common sense wouldn't go astray here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Gardai who are going to the shops (yes, as in not official business) shouldn't be using bus lanes to make life more convenient for themselves.
    They're always on official business, while they're on duty. But they still need to eat. Maybe they should have scheduled lunch breaks where they all just clock off for an hour and ignore any calls over the radio?

For the entire trip from wherever to the shops and back again, they are on official business. If they spot something on that trip, they will divert and chase that up and not go to the shops. How do you propose we separate "official business" from "non-official business" while the Garda is on duty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

TheZohan wrote: »
    Another garda bashing thread...awe bless.

Gardai have to take advance driving courses to drive garda vehicles, they're a damn sight better drivers than most that will post on this thread.

But anyway, rabble, rabble, 2 points for speeding and I'm bitter, rabble rabble, gardai are shìt, rabble, rabble let me drag my knuckles...

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/garda-in-fatal-crash-didnt-have-a-driving-licence-inquest-told-1945362.html

A garda who was on his way to court when he knocked down and killed a pensioner did not have a driving licence, an inquest has heard.

Garda Brian O'Connor held only a provisional licence and this expired over three years before the collision which claimed the life of Claire Barr (77). However, Dublin City Coroner's Court yesterday heard that under current legislation gardai do not need to hold a licence when they are driving a vehicle in the course of their duties.

Why should I get two points for speeding and not a Gard, if they're not doing so out of necessity but to get to the feckin' shops quicker? :confused:

It must really drive you nuts when they get themselves and friends of speeding fines.
    If you got done for speeding and a friend offered to get you off, what would you say?

blindsider wrote: »
    Really? Is that why so many have a bluetooth headset?

If the Garda cars were equipped with bluetooth i'm sure the Gardai would use it, but they are not. Maybe people expect them to supply their own for the use of the state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭tmcw

Why should a garda get assaulted practically daily when dealing with asswipes in his job and not you?

Because that's what they sign up to do.

From their website:
    gardai.ie wrote:
    Some of An Garda Síochána’s core functions include:
    the detection and prevention of crime;
    ensuring our nation’s security;
    reducing the incidence of fatal and serious injuries on our roads and improving road safety;
    working with communities to prevent anti-social behaviour;...

And where do you think the gardai have been before they pick up a cup of coffee? Where do you think they go after they've picked up their coffee?

Would you rather the gardai spend their time sitting in traffic?

Jesus a bit of common sense wouldn't go astray here.

Actually, that hadn't occurred to me at all. Good point. I withdraw the comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

seamus wrote: »
    For proper enforcement, it stands to reason that the enforcers should be exempt from a number of laws while on duty in order to maximise their effectiveness.

Yes, but only where they are using those exemptions in order to carry out their work. Breaking the traffic laws because you want to get to the shops quickly doesn't qualify.
    If an ordinary citizen were to forcibly detain someone in order to execute an arrest, they could be charged with assault. Would you require that a Garda be subject to the same law?

Actually it depends how much force is used and whether the force was NECESSARY.
    A Garda who is off duty should absolutely be held to the same standard as everyone else, perhaps even more rigidly so.

Yet they're not. Remember the guy who assaulted another person in Coppers and got off prison time because "jail is too rough for Gards"?

hondasam wrote: »
    It must really drive you nuts when they get themselves and friends of speeding fines.
    If you got done for speeding and a friend offered to get you off, what would you say?

'That's against the law'

jonsnow wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/garda-in-fatal-crash-didnt-have-a-driving-licence-inquest-told-1945362.html

A garda who was on his way to court when he knocked down and killed a pensioner did not have a driving licence, an inquest has heard.

Garda Brian O'Connor held only a provisional licence and this expired over three years before the collision which claimed the life of Claire Barr (77). However, Dublin City Coroner's Court yesterday heard that under current legislation gardai do not need to hold a licence when they are driving a vehicle in the course of their duties.

So they need to change the law and offer driving courses to all Gardai.
    I think the Gardai actually want that themselves but it seems many have been refused courses due to budget constraints.
    I think driving should be part of their core training then sad events like this might not occur.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    You've never seen a gardai bashing thread on AH!?! :eek:

LOL! :D

Care to link me to one?
    Legitimate complaints are not bashing, fyi. If you can find me a thread where people had a go at the Gards over something which wasn't actually wrong, then let me know.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Bosco boy wrote: »

You should be out catching criminals I suppose you are on boards at work:p

I'm following one at the moment at high speed while replying to you

I'd lose all respect for them to be honest. This is supposed to be a democracy. Corruption has no place whatsoever in it, big or small.