Gateway Student Village?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 BubblesXD

Yeah I went up yesterday to have a look! The walk would be short enough, ten minutes max! The route is straight forward too, when your at gateway just walk straight and then take a left and DCU is on your right. Theres a shop right across the road, a Garda station is in RIGHT beside the apartments. I got shown the show apartment and it was lovely! When you go in the door there's a large bathroom on your right, the next two rooms that side are bedrooms which are big enough, massive compared to larkfield! Desk and a large enough wardrobe, mirror and a single bed. On the left as you walk in there's another bedroom, sameish size as the others! Then there's the shared area of a kitchen and sitting room which looks lovely. The leather couches were in the show one but I did see the maintenance people putting them into other apartments! There's a table etc, they give you cutlery and the lot, microwave large fridge freezer toaster kettle. Pretty sure I'll be headed here come September!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 school_sux

BubblesXD wrote: »
    Yeah I went up yesterday to have a look! The walk would be short enough, ten minutes max! The route is straight forward too, when your at gateway just walk straight and then take a left and DCU is on your right. Theres a shop right across the road, a Garda station is in RIGHT beside the apartments. I got shown the show apartment and it was lovely! When you go in the door there's a large bathroom on your right, the next two rooms that side are bedrooms which are big enough, massive compared to larkfield! Desk and a large enough wardrobe, mirror and a single bed. On the left as you walk in there's another bedroom, sameish size as the others! Then there's the shared area of a kitchen and sitting room which looks lovely. The leather couches were in the show one but I did see the maintenance people putting them into other apartments! There's a table etc, they give you cutlery and the lot, microwave large fridge freezer toaster kettle. Pretty sure I'll be headed here come September!

woooo its sounds so nice, cant wait to move in!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 SophieRogan

Change of plans for me, looks like I'm staying in shanowen sqaure! But good luck guys, have fun :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

Change of plans for me, looks like I'm staying in shanowen sqaure! But good luck guys, have fun :)

Tried to get in there but all booked out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 SophieRogan

Tried to get in there but all booked out

Yeah it was booked out when I applied but I got through by cancellation!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

Yeah it was booked out when I applied but I got through by cancellation!

Aww nice. They just told me to keep an eye on the site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 school_sux

went up to gateway yesterday! Cant wait to move up there, the place was really nice and not for from dcu at all, really excited about starting now!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭polkabunny

Went up earlier today to have a gawk, (didn't cop you had to pay today, long story) and took some pictures to show the family, can upload them to photobucket or something and link them if somebody wants...
    Overall impression, nice and clean. Plenty of room, and they seem to have it all pretty well firgured out. You have an oven/grill, toaster, kettle, fridge/freezer and microwave, and was pleasantly surprised to see cutlery and bits like that came with too. Wireless broadband is there, the router is in clear view in the living/dining room, and a good wardrobe size too. Took me and my friend 10 minutes to walk from DCU, but we were arsing around and messing really, so it's probably quite shorter. Very easy to get to and everything, Garda station is three steps away from the door and straight across the orad is the leisure centre, and I think there's some shops across the road and down a bit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭RyDar

Stayed there last year, didn't really like it...it wasn't bad just wasn't...good!

The walk can be a quite annoying, especially when when it's really hot, or really cold (last winter it took 30 mins upwards to walk to DCU due to the feckin' ice rink that had formed the whole way..) or raining, also you won't really be able to go back for lunch or whatever because it'll take you 15 mins to get there and 15 mins to get back.
    Another problem I had was the apartment itself, I got a small one, was pretty dirty when I got there, but that was just bad luck as opposed to malintent.

The good side though is it's close to the shops (which are mega cheap), garda station, leisure centre, bus stop, all that kinda stuff, rent is pretty good, and they upgraded the internet connection (last year it was diabolical)

Also in regards to guests, they don't care, people can stay over in your apartment no problem, so long as you're not making any noise they probably won't even notice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 emmy_lou

so I got offered a place on campus today, and I'm after paying the full amount for gateway, I am so annoyed, I really want to stay on campus. Just wondering do you think I'd get my money back from gateway, I know there is a long waiting list, so they wouldn't lose out on money...

EDIT: nevermind I'm staying on campus, good bye gateway :)

Anybody find out their room numbers? Im 69 :/ hahahah

I'm 107 :)
    Haha, you'll have some craic with a flat number like that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Sm4shbox

How did ye find out?

When is everyone moving up/ their things in?

Can't wait :D

Sm4shbox wrote: »
    How did ye find out?

When is everyone moving up/ their things in?

Can't wait :D

You're told when you get your keys :)
    Moving up on Monday as far as I know, fairly early but I won't stay up for the full week beforehand, you? :D

@Sm4shbox Where abouts in Mayo are you from? Ive been told my roommate is from Ballina?!

Collected my keys today and not moving up until the 18th because Im working weekends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 tanyatucker27

no. 75E :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Sm4shbox

BubblesXD wrote: »
    @Sm4shbox Where abouts in Mayo are you from? Ive been told my roommate is from Ballina?!

Collected my keys today and not moving up until the 18th because Im working weekends!

Sorry it's not me! Originally from Mayo but don't live there now.

Who's in block C? :)

no. 75E :)

Ah Im 69E

Don't suppose anyone's in block G?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 jledru

Hi everybody,

I think I'm going to Gateway in September !
    I would liki to know if there is people going to DIT kevin street ?

Julien

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 ainevarley

Lads...Just going to move in this year to the Gateway. Has there attitude towards overnight guests changed much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭XtotheZ

ainevarley wrote: »
    Lads...Just going to move in this year to the Gateway. Has there attitude towards overnight guests changed much?

not sure really but the general feeling is the place is a prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 ainevarley

XtotheZ wrote: »
    not sure really but the general feeling is the place is a prison.

So no way to sneak overnight guests in or anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭XtotheZ

ainevarley wrote: »
    So no way to sneak overnight guests in or anything?

I've no idea, I'd say if you were cute about it and wernt acting the bollix no one would find out so there'd be no problem