Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HP Touchpad Thread (NO Discussion Of Personal Buying/Selling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,603 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Read earlier something about CDiscount having the Touchpad.. but it forced buyers to also purchase accessories with it.

My Argos reservation is for tomorrow but I called in on the way home to have a check. The kiosk didn't recognise my reservation code.

Now I don't know if that is because it has been deleted or because I was a day early. I'll try tomorrow again for the craic but I have no great faith that I'll end up with a TouchPad at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Xzen

Basq wrote: »
    Read earlier something about CDiscount having the Touchpad.. but it forced buyers to also purchase accessories with it.

Havent they been out of business for the last few weeks though? Long before this discounted price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭EI_Flyboy

I was told this morning at 9.30am when I rang that they had none in stock, and none in the warehouse..

.. but thought they'd still honour reservations.

That's lousy tbh..!

If you can at all, don't ring but go along in person when your reservation time comes up and if they don't fulfill the reservationm complain loudly but nicely. Something along the lines of, with a big smile on your face;

NO WAY!?! You're kidding me, right!? Because I was onto Argoshelpers on twitter and THEY said my reservation was good, that they were sure you guys would also do everything you could to help too and that if reservations weren't fulfilled, they'd be extended til more stock was available seeing as reservations can't be made unless the stock is there to back it up, right!?! They said to let them know if not so that they could follow up!"

And be loud but nice, keep a smile on your face. If it all possible, a few of you should maybe go in to the same store together and all repeat the same kind of thing or chime in together to create a friendly yet stunned and incredulous crowd. If you have a smartphone with twitter bring it along because that's pretty much what Argoshelpers have been saying. Don't leave til you have your reservation extended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭padocon

Well if you reserve it and didn't get it complain.

I didn't have a reservation.. I just rang this morning to enquire.

baz8080 wrote: »
    My Argos reservation is for tomorrow but I called in on the way home to have a check. The kiosk didn't recognise my reservation code.

Now I don't know if that is because it has been deleted or because I was a day early. I'll try tomorrow again for the craic but I have no great faith that I'll end up with a TouchPad at this stage.

Don't use a kiosk, go talk to someone face to face and argue your point nicely but firmly. DO NOT take no for an answer. DO NOT leave without your Touchpad or a reservation extention.

Do you guys want your Touchpads or not...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

if there are people without reservations getting them while people with reservations are bring cancelled, its s bit of a fiasco.

Oh well then, bummer Dude... Still, I reckon there are more on the way, there are probably also some 3G/4G models in existence somewhere seeing as HP promised they be out in time for school's return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Le produit que vous cherchez n'est plus référencé dans notre catalogue.
    Veuillez nous excuser pour la gêne occasionnée.
    Retour à la page d'accueil

Not on their website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭iknorr

Lads and Ladies,

Iv been following this thread since the beginning.

And theres one MAJOR flaw i keep coming across.

Alot of people who are contributing info they got from news reports, twitter, calling companies etc are still without confirmed touchpads.

In a way this is completely unfair to those people.

I would suggest that people sort themselves out first rather than posting here first.
    By posting the info here before you get yourself a touchpad your gonna get loads of people who just happen to fall upon this thread via google take the info and run for a sale.
    This is creating more & more competition for you and giving you less chance of getting a touchpad for yourself.

The mods, as far as i can tell, dont care about this issue. Its creating massive publicity & traffic for boards. It has been suggested a few pages back about creating an almost private community for events just like this one. Could anything like that be created here on boards.ie so a shambles like this wont happen again?

wyndham wrote: »
    Not on their website.
    Dodgy translation!
    Within minutes, has elapsed CDiscount all HP TouchPad tablets he had in stock, and he sold at a knockdown price site at the manufacturer's decision to discontinue support of WebOS on mobile devices. But late in the day, the seller required the customers to buy accessories for the right to buy the last copies available of the shelf.

Sensing the right shot and the operation of low-cost communication monstrous, the online merchant CDiscount announced Wednesday it would offer for sale of tablets HP TouchPad, before doing so effectively. The day before, Darty had managed to climb in the most popular words on Twitter, simply because he had sold the famous tablet elapsed in minutes. Given the popularity of off-the shelf price, which could soon benefit from porting Android , CDiscount won a very number of visits, and a few copies of his past when the touchpad is on sale at the end of the afternoon.

The story could stop there and would not deserve more attention if the business practice CDiscount was not ... questionable. It seems that the merchant has withdrawn from sale the touch pad only, never to propose that the bundle with some accessories (case, keyboard, charging station, power adapter ...). How to get rid of too cumbersome, and inflate the average basket of compulsive buyer.

A practice is questionable legality under the prohibition of tying. The article L122-1 of the Consumer Code has, in fact it is forbidden to "make the sale of a concomitant (...) purchase of another product."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

Now in the same boat as a lot of ye,

Reservation starting tomorrow for Jervis Argos. @Argoshelpers have said that they will only charge the lower price and my reservation stands. I hope this means that they kept one behind the counter.

I'm not going to leave without one at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,375 ✭✭✭madmoe

Same here. Only an argos reservation left...

I'm still holding out hope on my Expansys pre-order mate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭sam27

Interesting review from PC Advisor

http://bit.ly/p3Eifu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Dragonz_Rawr

Was just in argos dundrum...apparently they are expecting a small delivery at around 10am tomorrow. No reservations and first come first served. Don't know whether it will happen or not...and she didn't say how many they were expecting.

The operative word here is "apparently" :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Xzen wrote: »
    Yep, from what i've seen in this thread it's not just Argos but FNAC, Amazon and its marketplace sellers who've been having "inventory issues" too. Perhaps they need to get some better inventory/database managment or maybe they were overwhelmed by the demand. Either way a lot of disapointed people here...Think perhaps with all this demand HP may ressurect the touchpad? (even a cheaper hardware one? ) I really liked WebOs.

Amazon is the worlds biggest online retailer. I'm pretty sure it's inventory system works pretty good. The system is undoubtedly set up in such a way that it assumes further stock can be ordered from suppliers when their current inventory levels run out hence them taking extra orders.

Not a chance HP will ressurect the touchpad http://www.ft.com/intl/cms/s/2/96b9f60a-cc14-11e0-9176-00144feabdc0.html#axzz1VyDAgGzn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,854 ✭✭✭Raoul

Was just in argos dundrum...apparently they are expecting a small delivery at around 10am tomorrow. No reservations and first come first served. Don't know whether it will happen or not...and she didn't say how many they were expecting.

If anyone would be so kind to get me one if there is I would appreciate it, unfortunately I have a job and cant go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭DermotOH

troll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,375 ✭✭✭madmoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭matchthis

So I got a reservation code for on Monday for to collect one between Saturday and Tuesday. I havent gotten any further communication from them. Has this been cancelled or is it still valid? I'll give them a shout in the morning all the same, but suspense is killing me:eek:

DermotOH wrote: »
    troll?

No...am not a troll!!!!! Have just been following the thread for past couple of days!
    I also can't get there as I work in city...but someone may as well have a chance if they turn up there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭BogManInc

Sorry, dumb question but I'm new to Twitter...

In order to DM ArgosHelpers to check out if my reservation stands, they need to be following me first.. how do I get them to follow me? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

BogManInc wrote: »
    Sorry, dumb question but I'm new to Twitter...

In order to DM ArgosHelpers to check out if my reservation stands, they need to be following me first.. how do I get them to follow me? :o

Send them a tweet and ask them to follow you so you can DM them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭BogManInc

Cheers, did that already, no dice yet though! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ecomac

DermotOH wrote: »
    troll?

That's strange. I have reservation for Dundrum and I spoke with manager 2 hrs ago. They have nothing in stock right now, and they don't know if and when they will get anything. The never know what they will get next day as he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭wingnut

ecomac wrote: »
    That's strange. I have reservation for Dundrum and I spoke with manager 2 hrs ago. They have nothing in stock right now, and they don't know if and when they will get anything. The never know what they will get next day as he said.

+ I'd image they will try to fulfill reservations for all stores out of the warehouse first before allocating them randomly for FCFS.

I don't know...all I know is that me and the guy in front of me on the customer service queue were told same thing!

To be honest.. rumours on incoming stock is just that.. rumours!

What you hear from one Argos employee / manager should not be held as gospel..

.. as we've seen today, straight answers is not something Argos excel in.

No...basq I completely agree...which is why I said apparently!! I can't get there tomorrow...hence why I came out tonight...but I hope for someones sake they get some in and someone gets one!!