Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HP Touchpad Thread (NO Discussion Of Personal Buying/Selling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭coach22

Kenny_D wrote: »
    Nabbed the last reservation in Naas argos last night at 7.30pm for the 32gig at full price and my sister collected it today for €145. Rang ahead to make sure it was there. Keep an eye out on the argos stock checker this evening and reservations that weren't collected might come back into the system

It cant be reserved anymore though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭spongbob

Nabbed the last reservation in Naas argos last night at 7.30pm for the 32gig at full price and my sister collected it today for €145. Rang ahead to make sure it was there. Keep an eye out on the argos stock checker this evening and reservations that weren't collected might come back into the system

Do all argos close at 9oclock on a wensday? or do ya wait untill midnight to check

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Rang ahead to make sure it was there. Keep an eye out on the argos stock checker this evening and reservations that weren't collected might come back into the system
    They've disabled reservations for them since this morning, so I think even if they become available again it won't be possible to reserve. If reservations aren't collected they may become available to buy in store though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

I still am. Not holding out much hope though...

Unless you know a place? :D

Can you not just refrain from posting until you have something productive to write?

There's WAY too much sh!te talking and doom and gloom on here and not enough actual information.

It started off with stuff along the lines of "there's none left WORLDWIDE - we've missed our chance now, game over man, game over!".
    Now there's confirmation of a new wave of them from HP so that's thrown that theory out.

Less hysteria and more information please.

Everyone on here wants one and I don't care if you're an Android dev or the Pope himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Glenbhoy

http://benworldwide.com/hp%E2%80%99s-touchpad-firesale-could-spell-success-for-an-amazon-tablet/

For those of us who missed out, this article about the forthcoming Amazon tablet reckons it will be retail at a loss for Amazon and the expected price could be circa $250.

Just went back into dundrum. They sold the last "32gb" apparently! I was in there earlier and they said they sent them back! I mean WTF! And they had no 15gb! Is there any other places in dundrum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Seamu$

Just as a matter of interest, did anyone get one from either the Tralee or Killarney Argos stores? I see people saying they reserved units last night in certain Argos stores, I was trying to do so from the Kerry stores on Monday and they were all out. Just curious to know did they ever have any?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Vertakill wrote: »
    Can you not just refrain from posting until you have something productive to write?

There's WAY too much sh!te talking and doom and gloom on here and not enough actual information.

Everyone on here wants one and I don't care if you're an Android dev or the Pope himself.
    I was answering a question that someone asked me on the previous page. If you've got a problem with someone's posts, I'd recommend the ignore button lest you blow a valve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭God Father

RE: Argos

While reading this thread at 3:09 I got a text to say that my reservation is ready to collect. (A 32GB HP touchpad I reserved on Sunday at 6:25, in the NAAS Store.)

This was not meant to be ready to be collected until Friday so I headed to the store with a little bit of doubt to say the least..

When I got there the lady who served me nearly chocked out the line "Thats the HP Touchpaaaa............" :)

Anyway I paid for it @ €145 and was told that I was very lucky its the only one they have. That being new they never even had the 16GB version.

Also the staff member was honest in saying that she tried to get one for herself but was told there are none there to take. And that there is another one coming in for a customer and that they will be honouring that aswell. Fairplay..

Also mentioned how they had around 50 people in this morning giving them an earfull on how they should have some in stock for them to buy... Apparently these people didn't even have reservation numbers..

This store is new with new staff so I don't know how good a chance someone has in one of the Dublin stores were the more experienced staff will know "the system" a little better..but there should be some hope at least.

Finaly I dont know if the fact that I emailed Customer service about an hour before hand helped as I didnt hear back from them yet...

4jasnm.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,603 ✭✭✭✭Basq

You took a photo of her giving you your Touchpad? Creepy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭wingnut

Have one reserved for Limerick tomorrow. Has there been any official statements from Arogs saying what to do if staff tell you the "two men from HP came and took them back" or other such nonsense.

I won't be there myself someone else collecting. Would prefer to be there to fight the case if they do try anything funny.

Plus I think its funny people are tweeting the agos support with their reservation numbers, esp in the UK. You could try your luck with someone else's code!

Basq wrote: »

little brother did... Excitement/evidence as there is a lot of Sh*** talk on here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

+1 - fair play though

God Father wrote: »
    little brother did... Excitement/evidence as there is a lot of Sh*** talk on here!

skeptical-dog.jpg

cisk wrote: »
    skeptical-dog.jpg

Ah yes here come the "thanks" hunters :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭darirl

In previous posts I told how I had a reservation with argos cancelled, it was due in for today and I told that they were sending them back to HP.

Anyway I got on to customer service and they emailed me back that I should talk to the manager again. So in I went this afternoon and the guy had one available, he was also fuming so I presume the CS rep had a word with him. Anyway I just said I only said to the rep what was being said on the chat forums/twitter etc and that I didnt mean to cause any trouble.

Either way I got a touch pad and he didnt have to say what happened to my original order and why they weren't sending them back to HP. He was grand enough but if looks could kill, lol...I wouldnt mind but herself wants me to go back tomorrow for stuff for the kitchen, I dont think I'll be welcomed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

touchpadporn :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

bikerg wrote: »
    Mine changed this morning to Shipped.
    But was changed over €400 for it.

no confirm email nothing.
    Now they dont want to know. It's shipped and thats final!

I did eventaully get to speak to Zoe, who was helpful, and said not to accept the delivery, do a return to sender. I wont get a refund for the postage ,€15, but I'll get the cost of the Touchpad back
    It looks like you got one of the few that they did have in stock. If I were you I would (fwiw):

1. Accept the delivery.
    2. Appraise yourself with the Distance Selling regs.
    3. Sit tight and see if Expansys do get more stock and what price HP/they put on it.
    4. Ask them to apply the same pricing to you.

The worst case scenario us that you end up returning it and lose the delivery and the return charge (you've already lost the delivery charge). Best case is that they agree the lower price and refund the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,375 ✭✭✭madmoe

Seamu$ wrote: »
    This gadget? GADGET? How very dare they. Do they not realise that this is the most important piece of equipment ever invented and they just dismissively refer to it as a "gadget"?!!! Well I never! :mad:

Got the EXACT same e-mail...fair play to them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

darirl wrote: »
    In previous posts I told how I had a reservation with argos cancelled, it was due in for today and I told that they were sending them back to HP.

Anyway I got on to customer service and they emailed me back that I should talk to the manager again. So in I went this afternoon and the guy had one available, he was also fuming so I presume the CS rep had a word with him. Anyway I just said I only said to the rep what was being said on the chat forums/twitter etc and that I didnt mean to cause any trouble.

Either way I got a touch pad and he didnt have to say what happened to my original order and why they weren't sending them back to HP. He was grand enough but if looks could kill, lol...I wouldnt mind but herself wants me to go back tomorrow for stuff for the kitchen, I dont think I'll be welcomed!

Fair play, you had one reserved through their own system, can't argue with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭cfeeneyinterior

God Father wrote: »
    RE: Argos

While reading this thread at 3:09 I got a text to say that my reservation is ready to collect. (A 32GB HP touchpad I reserved on Sunday at 6:25, in the NAAS Store.)

This was not meant to be ready to be collected until Friday so I headed to the store with a little bit of doubt to say the least..

When I got there the lady who served me nearly chocked out the line "Thats the HP Touchpaaaa............" :)

Anyway I paid for it @ €145 and was told that I was very lucky its the only one they have. That being new they never even had the 16GB version.

Also the staff member was honest in saying that she tried to get one for herself but was told there are none there to take. And that there is another one coming in for a customer and that they will be honouring that aswell. Fairplay..

Also mentioned how they had around 50 people in this morning giving them an earfull on how they should have some in stock for them to buy... Apparently these people didn't even have reservation numbers..

This store is new with new staff so I don't know how good a chance someone has in one of the Dublin stores were the more experienced staff will know "the system" a little better..but there should be some hope at least.

Finaly I dont know if the fact that I emailed Customer service about an hour before hand helped as I didnt hear back from them yet...

4jasnm.jpg
    I've been snooping around here watching the thread explaode for the last while. I've a reservation for the touchpad; for collection the 1st September. They are supposed to send an automated text when it comes in.
    I also reserved this on Sunday like Godfather; Alot here seem to be saying that they are all gone; but I suspect they didn't have it reserved? Should I still be hopeful of getting it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

Just got this

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your pre-order for the HP TouchPad. Unfortunately, due
    to the unprecedented demand for this gadget, stock levels across the
    UK and Europe are incredibly low.

We wanted to let you know that we are working extremely hard to get
    our hands on more stock as we know how popular the TouchPad has
    become. Please bear with us while we try and secure more TouchPads,
    and we promise to keep you up to date if and when stock arrives.

If we are unable to complete your order please rest assured that you
    will receive a full and complete refund.

We sincerely apologise for the delay, but hope to be able to let you
    know for certain the situation in regards to your order very soon.

Kind regards,

Zoe

Head of Customer Services, EXPANSYS

Thats me out of the race now I guess :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Babyblessed

I missed about 60 pages, can I just ask, have people who had reservations with Argos actually got their hands on the touchpads yet?

Nope, reservation said ready from today til Saturday, they dont have it.............yet!

TheZohan wrote: »
    Are you sure? I walked in 5 min ago and picked one up, they had they stacked on a pallet near the counter.

Hahahahaha! After the stress I just had with their 'phone service I feel much better after reading that. :p:D

bricky06 wrote: »
    that bodes well for me then, i got onto argoshelpers about 20min ago to see if they can look into mine.

Argos HQ absolutely rubbish!

Boyet wrote: »
    want one been looking since last night :)

PMSL..... had reservation since Sunday... Comedian!:p

I went into get mine (ha) today as its held from Wed-Sat. Girl behind the counter said we dont have them, never had and wont be getting them. Basically tough! She showed me a screen which she suggested meant the warehouse had cancelled them.
    I spoke to a lovely manager who offered to look into it. I was already on the phone to HQ (dont mess around me) who basically told me it was an error and they should never have been reservable. They put me onto a customer service manager who again reiterated the 'tough luck, theres nothing we can do' line. In the mean time said 'lovely manager' got onto her contacts and discovered the my touch pad was in fact on way and should be with the store tomorrow, she is personally going to look after it for me until I get in to pick it up.

I will wait to see if it appears but she seemed very positive and most importantly her customer care was great, she really looked into the situation!

Fingers crossed for tomorrow.....

OH is still looking for one but wont post here due to comments about new users hopping on the 'band wagon'. Mind you, not sure I can go through all that again..... wheres the vino...:D:p;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I've been snooping around here watching the thread explaode for the last while. I've a reservation for the touchpad; for collection the 1st September. They are supposed to send an automated text when it comes in.
    I also reserved this on Sunday like Godfather; Alot here seem to be saying that they are all gone; but I suspect they didn't have it reserved? Should I still be hopeful of getting it?

Reservations seem to be good to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Babyblessed

darirl wrote: »

Confirms my experience! Mind you HQ were shocking and totally lacked knowledge. They need to speak to their tech guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

Anyone who ordered from FNAC had any progress? Mine is still sitting at Order Preparation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 darraghdog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Pique

mcgovern wrote: »
    Anyone who ordered from FNAC had any progress? Mine is still sitting at Order Preparation.

Ditto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Collected my 32g from Argos Nutgrove about an hour ago.
    Brother collected his 16g from there this morning.

Both reservations were made on Saturday afternoon, and were not due to be in stock for collection until later this week, but i received a text yesterday saying that the 16g was ready for collection, so i just took a chance that the 32g would be there too, and it was.

There was no drama. Quoted the reservation numbers, paid and collected.
    Those with reservations that maybe valid for collection later in the week should pay a visit to the store and check if it's in already. The girl at the cash desk said there were 2 more reserved 32g versions awaiting collection.

Lot of unfair and unjustified bashing of Argos staff in this thread IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭podge3

Woohoo :D

Typing on my TP in my local Argos carpark :D:D

I had given up on my reservation being honoured but on my third phone call to the store today I spoke with the manager. She was very helpful and told me my tablet was available for collection. My earlier 2 calls had me thinking something was up as the staff I spoke with were very hesitant and wouldn't give a a straight answer.

So anyhoo, I drove to the store with my reservation email printed off, fully expecting a problem of some kind. I used the automated machines and my order was there.

When my tablet came out from the store, the manager checked my reservation number before she gave me the tablet. Another buy was also getting one at the same time and his receipt was checked also for the correct reservation number.

There was at least one more tablet on the shelves behind the counter. Dunno who that was for as mine came from the store.

Thank Argos - you honoured my order. Now to cancel my FNAC tablets.