Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HP Touchpad Thread (NO Discussion Of Personal Buying/Selling)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Charlie Haughy

I hear currys and PC World are having a flash sale of a new batch of touchpads at 6pm today. I suggest everyone goes down and ques now to avoid disappointment, ill meet you down there.

¬_¬

< _<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 rg1265

This a good thing or bad thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,587 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Just spotted this on the Argus page...

Additional Information

Current selling price valid until 26/08/2011

I hope this does not mean that they will NOT do a price drop before then as lots of boardsies will loose their reservations....
    Reserved will be available to collect from:
    Friday August 26th to Tuesday August 30th 2011

I'll be alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Gone from misco.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Taur

Misco.ie have removed the HP Touchpads from their product view. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 nightowlzaphod

Its all futile , because whilst you have been pressing F5 waiting for the price to change , some of us called our suppliers who have contacts in Misco and got our orders in direct from Misco staff via business channels.

I would not be the only one to do this , so expect v.few items to be left by the time they do change the price.

Right now, the best bet is to consider that HP had not shipped large quantities to distribution, but now the things are off loading like hot cakes, anything left in the warehouse will be pushed to the distribution channels next week. There will be more coming, although they won't make any more. All we are seeing today is what was already in the distribution channel.

Do not panic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭celj

That guy that rickrolled should be banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

yer man from elara on the chat room just announced they had 10K signups today. Not surprising at all!

Consider that even if half of those are going to make a burst for the 50 or 100 units at 6PM, what the chances of getting through are.............

hell with it, im bailing. DONE!

.t'was a bit of craic while it lasted though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Touchpad 16GB - €105.27
    Touchpad 32GB - €136.73

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,935 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

Don't speak logic to us man! We're far to delerious for that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

minotour wrote: »
    yer man from elara on the chat room just announced they had 10K signups today. Not surprising at all!

Consider that even if half of those are going to make a burst for the 50 or 100 units at 6PM, what the chances of getting through are.............

Obvious troll is obvious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Charlie Haughy

Elara's prices for 6pm:

Touchpad 16GB - €105.27
    Touchpad 32GB - €136.73

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

Elara site has gotten deathly slow, 30mins before release. Cant imagine what it's going to be like later. Account details ready to copy and paste.

Though I'll probably give up fairly quickly if they only have 50 for the public. God knows how many staff will take.

IMO HP should have doubled the price on these. They'd still fly off the shelves but people would be less eager to do it to turn a profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Et Cetera

I hear currys and PC World are having a flash sale of a new batch of touchpads at 6pm today. I suggest everyone goes down and ques now to avoid disappointment, ill meet you down there.

¬_¬

< _<

mmhmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭iknorr

minotour wrote: »

Im not falling for your lies!!!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Calling it a day myself, Misco was the big one for me and raging I missed out.

Was good craic anyway F5'ing all day, lots of lads in office doing the same :)

Oddly enough doesnt make me want to splash the cash on a proper tablet, just wanted this for the price and messing around : /

O well, good luck with those hunting at 6pm from Elara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 markjk

People can be touchy here, thanks for heads up though, thankfully got one reserved.:D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 492 ✭✭thebison

How should we attack Elara then?

Are the tablets up yet at normal prices so we can F5 the hell outta it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Can't even refresh Elara now.

That's that then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 blehhhh

Guy at Elara just told me there is only around 30 units available after 6.00, rest have been snapped up by staff, and business customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Tazium

Just use the other refresh combo alt+f4, you can try now but it will work better at 6pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

I don't believe anyone in this thread anymore :p

but anyways.. soon time for a smoke, bit of a head pump to get in the zone... F5 like a mother**** from 17.58 til I see available and click... **** yeah...

this is gonna be an epic fail when the servers just crash at 17.59 :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭wingnut

Someone on t'net says Argos price will not change until 26th. Anyone confirm / deny or know where they picked that date from.

iknorr wrote: »
    Im not falling for your lies!!!! :p

I am genuinly walking away right now, ill keep an eye on it here with me fone but no more. If it was disinformation i was after id go with yer mans "Firesale in PC world at 6" plan, genius!

best of luck though. anyway, this is not the end, there will be a new tranch tomorrow or the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭SkrApsAK

**** Misco the Touch-teasing ****bags!! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭wingnut

Price has changed on Elara... dun dun dun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

Tazium wrote: »
    Just use the other refresh combo alt+f4, you can try now but it will work better at 6pm.

I would hope that they got onto their hosting provider / sys admin and warned them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

I'm out myself. Misconception was my last real hope. Promising all day they were going on sale then nothing. Getting an email off me in the morning. Today is a great shop window and they dropped the ball. Not on stock, maybe that can't be helped, but bad customer service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Xzen

wingnut wrote: »
    Someone on t'net says Argos price will not change until 26th. Anyone confirm / deny or know where they picked that date from.

They dont have any in stock in any shop in Ireland so I wouldn't hold my breath.

Worse case scenario of anyone who misses this sale, these'll be on ebay in 6months time for the same price and better quad core media tablets will be all the rage by then anyways :)

Tazium wrote: »

remember this is the early chat room days, when some noob asked how to hack another user and then they dropped out. marvellous, right, im gone