Tattoo on your neck - cheap and tacky?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Siuin wrote: »
    Doesn't take painful lasers and scarring to take off fake tan and make-up

unless your jordon :pac: or jodie marsh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭Tandey

That beside the point, other poster says a tattoo ''ruins the skin'' thats nonsense, why would a person get a tattoo that would ruin their skin? its the same as putting on make up in the sense that would she put on make up to ruin her skin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

Tandey wrote: »
    That beside the point, other poster says a tattoo ''ruins the skin'' thats nonsense, why would a person get a tattoo that would ruin their skin? its the same as putting on make up in the sense that would she put on make up to ruin her skin?
    I would agree with the poster who said that tattoos ruin the skin-- make-up and fake tan aren't permanent blemishes on the skin, injected ink is

And if you want to go down that route, tattoos dont stink like fake tan plus you dont have to keep spending lots of money on a yearly basis on putting a tattoo on and off like you do with make up and fake tan;)

And when you want to take off fake tan or make up, or tone it down for a particular event, it's possible. Tattoos may be a one time splurge, but it better be a good investment since it'll either remain there or an ugly scar will take its place- more than I can say for a bit of make-up.

I would agree with the poster who said that tattoos ruin the skin-- make-up and fake tan aren't permanent blemishes on the skin, injected ink is

How do they ruin the skin?? that comment is laughable, i dont see any of my friends skin ruined just because they got a tattoo, they're skin looks just like it was before they got it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Kaneda_

People say they get tats because they mean something to them.The death of a loved one,achieving a goal etc etc.This i undestand.

But what about the tribal tats that it seems like every second fella has on there upper arms? Is it meaningful or is it decoration or just a fad?

And when you want to take off fake tan or make up, or tone it down for a particular event, it's possible. Tattoos may be a one time splurge, but it better be a good investment since it'll either remain there or an ugly scar will take its place- more than I can say for a bit of make-up.

Thats the choice of the person, obviously it be stupid to get a tattoo in certain places of the body, and is far cheaper than make up and fake tan in the long run.
    Point is if a person likes the tattoo and they are happy to get it done they know its for life, but it certainly doesn't ruin the skin, same goes for fake tan and make up doesn't ruin the skin.

How do they ruin the skin?? that comment is laughable, i dont see any of my friends skin ruined just because they got a tattoo, they're skin looks just like it was before they got it.
    Simply boils down to one's opinion of tattoos- one person may see it as a work of art, another as a disfigurement.

I also don't understand why anyone would agree with a tattoo simply because it 'means' something. Jeez, if it was that epic an event, I'm sure they'd be able to remember it by themselves. All else fails, make a scrapbook!

Simply boils down to one's opinion of tattoos- one person may see it as a work of art, another as a disfigurement.

I also don't understand why anyone would agree with a tattoo simply because it 'means' something. Jeez, if it was that epic an event, I'm sure they'd be able to remember it by themselves. All else fails, make a scrapbook!

A disfigurement? jaysus its not a scar.

They don't get it simply because it means something, you do know a lot of smart intelligent people have tattoos, its because they see it as art plus it can also mean something to the person and the people around them, and fuck what anyone else thinks about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

Makeup use can ruin the skin! If you don't clean it off properly, use far too much that clogs pores all the time, forget sun factor as you've make up on etc.

Whereas a tattoo does not ruin the skin or the skin around it. It only ruins it in a "the skin is no longer a blank canvas" kind of way.

I don't think tattoos on the neck are tacky but you'd wanna be very sure about it. Theyre much harder to hide for work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Sticjones

Tattoos on women = 100% skanger.

It's a great warning sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

It's not where the tattoo is, it's what the tattoo is that determines it's all round shíteness.
    Its more visible on the neck though.
    Jimoslimos wrote: »
    I never understand this argument, when your old and saggy, you're well.....old and saggy - the absence of discolouring blurred ink ain't going to transform you into a gorgeous 20 yr old again.
    Some tattoos can look stupid on older people, saggy skin or not. I saw a lad about 45 in a takeaway a week ago, think he had his name tattoed on his neck and it just looked stupid, probably thought he was cool as fu*k when he was 18 with it. And when I see those barb wire tatoos on "hardmen" I cringe remembering it is now associated with pamela anderson.
    Im thinking of getting a tattoo of Tony Danza on my fore head.
    http://holdmeclosertonydanza.ytmnd.com/

Sticjones wrote: »

So you view women like Georgia Salpa and Megan Fox as skangers? right.......:rolleyes:

Maybe Mary Harney is your type of woman:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

Sticjones wrote: »

So you view women like Georgia Salpa and Megan Fox as skangers? right.......:rolleyes:

In fact a lot of celebs have one somewhere not just the younger crowd. And they're not skangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

I don't like tattoos, they look crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

make up and tan lotion can be washed off with soap and water, but it would take a fair bit of cash to get rid of tattoos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I don't like tattoos, so no, I wouldn't be getting one on my neck.

I've never seen a nice tattoo and what about when you get old and the skin is all saggy??

Or when you go to a wedding and see one of the girls in the bridal party in a lovely dress and then you see a horrible tattoo on her upper arm or back. Doesn't look nice in my opinion.
    Aishae wrote: »
    In fact a lot of celebs have one somewhere not just the younger crowd. And they're not skangers

Sean Connery has a old sailor tattoo on his forearm. You can spot the bad make-up job in James Bond films. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Amigomenor

Megan Fox has a mental illness and seems addicted to tats, as for Georgia she is not the brightest although she is very hot.

Have no opinion on tats but did see one on a guys neck that said "F~ck You Dickhead" and did not quite understand its purpose. Maybe he suffered from little person syndrome as he was short so it was visable to most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

If i did that I wouldnt be the person I am to day... :pac:

Go wash the sand out of your vagina... or maybe just have a dam installed dont think your fit for breading :)

Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭verywell

I don't have any myself but a good few friends have them. Some can be really pretty and / or cool others like dragons, crosses etc IMO look awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Caireann wrote: »
    Imagine when your old and saggy and the tattoos not on your neck but on the floor. :rolleyes:

how would the tattoos get on the floor...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

i know a fellow who got the praying hands with rosary beads tattoo, but whoever done it fúcked up so one of the hands is bigger than the other. so it looks like jeremy beadle doing a few prayers :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Kaneda_ wrote: »
    Would you get one done?

Might as well stamp 'Cheap and Tacky' on your forehead.

Only for total successes who don't care what people think, or total losers.

Any ordinary punter who has it done ,in my opinion, is a total and unequivocal knacker.

That's the way I roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Darkginger

I love the tattoos on my husband, but I don't have one myself - I've thought about it, I admit - was going to have one on my 50th birthday (yes, really - my Mum always said never to get one because it'd be with me for life - I reckoned at 50 I could handle that) but couldn't think what to have, so why do it just for the sake of it? There are not many tatts I like on women - can't stand the small ones, but those who go for full sleeves or backs can look really good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I'm all for tatoos. I've quite a few of them myself, but I've always thought that ones on the hands, neck or neck looks really tacky. I'd never get them there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Yes i do realise it's on me for the rest of my life, im 18 i can do whatever i like as far as i'm concerned. I would love love love for the boys to see my tattoo and see what they think! i love them and i love what they do! if you don't like the photo i uploaded or you have a spiteful streak in you and start @#$*!ging my tattoo i'd rather you didnt comment thanks :)<3

check out the tattoo here

Google showed up 2 or 3 others too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Might as well stamp 'Cheap and Tacky' on your forehead.

Only for total successes who don't care what people think, or total losers.

Any ordinary punter who has it done ,in my opinion, is a total and unequivocal knacker.

That's the way I roll.

We are truly lucky everybody does n,t think like you...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

The thing is people with tattoos think they look amazing and love to show them off. Its all well and good seeing Beckham and the like prancing about with tat's all over. Celeb's/Rock Stars can get away with it.

Johnny, the plumber from down the road however, just looks like a yob. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Tattoos themselves are cheap and tacky.

Tacky? Well that depends on your view of them really. But cheap? Certainly not! They cost a damn fortune :pac: