Brand snobbery

• 04-08-2011 03:22PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

Are you a person who woundnt buy a certain brand?,i often heard ladies and sometimes gents remarking about quality of Argos jewellery,or what about "hi-tec" runners,i haven't seem them in years!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Are you a person who woundnt buy a certain brand?,i often heard ladies and sometimes gents remarking about quality of Argos jewellery,or what about "hi-tec" runners,i haven't seem them in years!.

It's not really brand snobbery if the complaint is about the quality of the products ie. if people don't buy hi-tec runners because they fall apart it can hardly be described as brand snobbery.

No I'm not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,156 ✭✭✭srsly78

In before massive row about Apple products.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Some people refuse to buy Dunnes brand breakfast cereal insisting on the Kellogg's ones.

I only eat Armani brand crunchy nut cornflakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,507 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I won't wear Rebook until they drop the Union Jack from their runners and well Ben Sherman I just think he's a C**t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Some people refuse to buy Dunnes brand breakfast cereal insisting on the Kellogg's ones.

that's cause Kellogg's taste better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭gubbie

I've never been into Guineys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Not quite brand snobbery, but I wont buy an Ireland Jersey, whilst its sold with any sponsor accross the front, the players dont wear it, why should the punters.

Thats becuase Dunnes own brand tastes like sh!ote.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭Yawns

No problem with the brand just the quality to be honest and that's not snobbery as pointed out above. I wouldn't fork out any money for shoes or runners if they're going to fall apart. I have Reebok and couldn't give a flying **** about the union jack on it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I could care less, i wear dunnes jeans and shirts and I like Aldi and lidl food the only time i become a snob is when it comes to beer... the cheap stuff just doesnt get me drunk or it tastes like pish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Yawns wrote: »
    I have Reebok and couldn't give a flying **** about the union jack on it :D
    Doesnt matter anyway they're owned by the germans:pac:

also i dont buy dunnes or hi tec runners because they are knee breakers

Its not brand snobbery i just dont buy **** quality stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

I refuse to buy brands, no matter how much I like the product, who have annoying adverts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Only when it comes to kelloggs cornflakes, other brands taste like crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,221 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

i find non brand jeans awful to wear, no shape compared to AE or Tommy and they last a long time. Same with jumpers, 20 euro dunnes one is all baubled after 2 months.

However I would not pay €80 for a lacoste poloshirt just for a s**e crocodile on the front

Ever try tesco beans, watery compared to heinz or batchelors. Cheap sellotape, takes half the day to find the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Snobbery - no
    Quality - Yes

Foodwise, most things own brand are grand except for a few exceptions - Tea bags, Mayonnaise and nobody makes Tayto like Tayto.

I tend to avoid Penneys clothes because they fall apart/shrink/stretch/all of the above after a wash or two.

At the other end of the scale I try to avoid logos/branding on "designer" labels as I hate the look of it. As demonstrated by this gobshiite.
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRdfCKzcmxk5x55zmEcYKt2DDpJKvGtXTyTCu-M3RuW6yVQUbLmaQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 aisog

As has been said before its not about the brand but the quality. I dont mind paying a high price for something that is a good qualitysame way as I wouldnt not buy something just because it was cheap.....if that makes sense!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Some cereals, heinz beans, lyons or barrys tae.

Everything else is a judgement of value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Argos jewellery - are you joking?!!?!?

So, yes I guess I am a bit then :)

Snobbery - no
    Quality - Yes

Foodwise, most things own brand are grand except for a few exceptions - Tea bags, Mayonnaise and nobody makes Tayto like Tayto.

I tend to avoid Penneys clothes because they fall apart/shrink/stretch/all of the above after a wash or two.

At the other end of the scale I try to avoid logos/branding on "designer" labels as I hate the look of it. As demonstrated by this gobshiite.
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRdfCKzcmxk5x55zmEcYKt2DDpJKvGtXTyTCu-M3RuW6yVQUbLmaQ

Your right Walkers make them ten times better and you know it.
    *raises flame shield*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Dunnes Stores Museli > Alpen

it's a case of trial & error, combined with a bit of cop on that some things are too cheap pricewise to be decent quality

Dunnes Stores Museli > Alpen

it's a case of trial & error, combined with a bit of cop on that some things are too cheap pricewise to be decent quality

I agree about the muesli also their java ground coffee is on the good side of alright, their st B teabags however are a disgrace to teabags everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I couldnt give a crap about the brand. Ethical shopping is another issue though. Will only buy mayo made with free range eggs... Dairy products from the republic etc. Sausages with a high meat content....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

I can be a bit of a brand snob, superquinn sausages, tayto crips and the like. But at the same time I am currently living on Tesco Malted Milk biscuits at 39c a pack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

nobody makes Tayto like Tayto.

Oh gawd wait til the dubs spot this... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭ghosttown

Tesco Malted Milk biscuits are great ! And kids love them too, great price.

Have tried most own brands, but still certain things can't go non-brand.

Fairy liquid - just better than own brand.
    Doritos, and doritos dips - so much better than cheaper ones.
    As said above - teabags - worth a little extra for Lyons (or Barrys / whatever your preference)
    Bread - either local bakery, or Brennans, or the instore Lidl bakery - but not the cheaper own brands.
    Beans - has to be Heinz
    Cheese -can't take to the cheap store ones.
    Toothpaste - for some reason I'll always go back to Blanx, maybe as a smoker, but worth paying extra for.

On the other side, some of the 'cheaper' items are actually better. Juices - the Lidl and Aldi drinks are much better than the expensive Tropicanas and the like.
    Milk - quite happy to buy the Centra or Gala milk for cheaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭jiffybag

Sunglasses have to be Oakley or GTFO!
    Anybody wearing Superdry , Bench etc is probably a scumbag too.

Brand snob , me ? YES.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

there are some things you just cant imitate good quality, heinz ketchup and beans, hellmans mayo. but other stuff you can ad lib,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

I grew out of being a brand snob when it comes to clothes. I used to only wear shoes made by Vans, etc.

With regards to food, own brands are alright with a few exceptions. Rashers MUST be Denny's! And obvious knock offs are an absolute turn off (ie. Freeway Cola (Lidl), Fizz-up, Crisp Rice and Spar Toobs (Pringles knock off))

Sykk wrote: »
    Oh gawd wait til the dubs spot this... :eek:
    I'm far from being a Dub, but that still annoys me! If it's Tayto, it's Tayto... If it's Walkers, it's another brand of crips!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

the older you get the less clothes labels matter, when you're 14 you wouldnt dream of wearing something from Dunnes, now its the only place I buy plain t-shirts, 5 quid for a fitted 100% cotton white tshirt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

I don't think "nobody makestayto like tayto" was meant in the country way all crisps are called tayto, think he just meant tayto are his favourite brand and nothing else compares.

I am a bit of a brand snob i suppose, not to the extent of putting myself out of pocket though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Auvers wrote: »
    that's cause Kellogg's taste better
    ...And Dunnes crap turns into a mush a lot quicker!