Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Should Limerick Offer Replay

• 24-07-2011 09:51AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭

After last nights joke of a refereeing performance and if it is proved tonight on the Sunday game that one of the 2 points that were waves wide and then
    Over ruled by the ref prove to be wide.

Should Limerick be man enough to offer Wexford a replay or should the GAA stand up and make the brave decision to instruct a replay ??

Trying to remember a precedent where it happened. Am I correct in saying a replay was offered in a game
    Involving Carlow a dew years ago after a wide incident ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭One_More_Mile

will1977 wrote: »
    After last nights joke of a refereeing performance and if it is proved tonight on the Sunday game that one of the 2 points that were waves wide and then

Should Limerick be man enough to offer Wexford a replay or should the GAA stand up and make the brave decision to instruct a replay ??

Trying to remember a precedent where it happened. Am I correct in saying a replay was offered in a game

No. Wexford need to forget about it now. Louth got no replay for a more contentious decision last year.
    And for what its worth tonights replay will show that it was a point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,723 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Haven't seen it but any field sport like football doesn't just involve two two teams but also the officials. They are also human and also make mistakes. Its part of the game. Its disappointing but that's the way it is.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

no they shouldnt. not a hope of it. we were brutal, the referee and umpires didnt cost us that game, we lost it ourselves. granted, that point at the end I thought was wide, but there was 70 minutes of action before that and we were 5 points up and didnt close out the game. they also had a man sent off and we were 3 points up in injury time. it was our own fault. our goal was dodgy too. you get that in these games. its unfortunate that one incident will maybe cloud the result, but no way should there be a replay. shouldnt even be talk of one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

bruschi wrote: »
    no they shouldnt. not a hope of it. we were brutal, the referee and umpires didnt cost us that game, we lost it ourselvves. granted, that point at the end I thought was wide, but there was 70 minutes of action before that and we were 5 points up and didnt close out the game. they also had a man sent off and we were 3 points up in injury time. it was our own fault. our goal was dodgy too. you get that in these games. its unfortunate that one incident will maybe cloud the result, but no way should there be a replay. shouldnt even be talk of one.
    Yeah I was about to post about the goal wexford got alright. I felt he fouled the ball.

I was on the other side of the field to the free so ive no idea either way. If it had actually gone over and wasnt given would we be having this debate. Limerick would have had 15 players for extra time and who knows how it would have gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

why oh why are umpires totally clueless? Its not that difficult a job.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 35,566 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Of course they shouldn't - that's sport, accept it and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Tea Cup

No!! Come on Limerick!!!! Its not Limericks fault, its the GAA, they take in plenty of money at each game and have even more in the bank, its about time they introduced video ref, the technology is there. Each match is recorded by rte, utilise the resources!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭tommy249

Ridiculous post

The fact of the matter is that one umpire waved it wide and one umpire waved a point. The referee then consulted with BOTH umpires and took the opinion of the umpire with the best view. The ref did nothing wrong - he clearly consulted his umpires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭detective

It's going to be fairly interesting to see if they were points. No point us talking about it until we see it on camera. As far as I know Limerick radio called it wide, Wexford radio called it a point so it must have been difficult. It will have been some call by the Ref if it turns out they went over and he had the confidence to do what he did... he'll get an All Ireland out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

I was listening to it on the radio going home last night, great game, high scoring, see-saw match. Wexford had their chances and should have seen the game out but inexperience lost it I guess. I thought when that last free went wide/over that the referee should have called extra-time, fairest thing to do really, but I guess it's over now and nothing will happen, it will be interesting to see if the ref made the right decisions, I also gather that the Wex goalie was struck just before the equalizing goal was scored and the offending player booked (to be confirmed of course).

tommy249 wrote: »
    Ridiculous post

The fact of the matter is that one umpire waved it wide and one umpire waved a point. The referee then consulted with BOTH umpires and took the opinion of the umpire with the best view. The ref did nothing wrong - he clearly consulted his umpires

he did consult with both, but that umpire did not have the best view. the ball was curling from right to left, so the umpire on the far post wouldnt have the flight of the ball over the left side post as good.

with regards to the ref, it was never a free in the first place. but thems the breaks. it should never have got to the stage where one point would decide it.

I doubt the camera is going to make any difference to conclusiveness tonight on the sunday game. the angle I had from the open side I never saw the ball inside the post, but lads behind me higher up thought it was over. the only person with the best view was the man who waved it wide, and was then over ruled. Deegan the linesman also indicated it was wide to John Galvin on the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

No chance, even if one of them was a wide Limerick wouldn't give up a spot in the all-ireland quarters for god himself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

D_Red_Army wrote: »
    No chance, even if one of them was a wide Limerick wouldn't give up a spot in the all-ireland quarters for god himself...

This.

If it wasn't a point, I feel very sorry for Wexford and if I was one of their fans I'd be absolutely raging but Limerick can't give up a quarter-final place now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭rpurfield

see this is the problem the whole leinster final thing has caused last year.i didnt see the kildare fans crying for a replay despite a dodgy free against dublin.if we were to replay every game with dodgy decisions in the championship would never be over.chalk it down to experience and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭wingnut

Wexford fan here, there should be no replay but it is very annoying that in a sport with 7 officials on the pitch they get so many calls wrong.

Also what was with the extra time. 4 minutes announced, Masterson getting treatment for most of it and 2 minutes played. Joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

tommy249 wrote: »
    Ridiculous post

Were you at the game ? It was one of the worst displays of refereeing I have seen. Leave aside the 2 "Wide" Points for a minute. He also has questions to answer about Bradleys goal and Limericks, where Masterson ended up in the back of the net and he booked the Limerick culprit and still let the goal stand. He seemed to blow for a lot of frees only after the crown had roared for a decision !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

wingnut wrote: »
    Wexford fan here, there should be no replay but it is very annoying that in a sport with 7 officials on the pitch they get so many calls wrong.

Also what was with the extra time. 4 minutes announced, Masterson getting treatment for most of it and 2 minutes played. Joke.

Id also like to know where the ball went after the goal. I though it should have been easy enough to find it in the back of the net :rolleyes: There was another minute lost trying to get another ball onto the pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

It's karma for 96 All Ireland hurling final when Limerick's Brian Tobin had a perfectly legitimate goal chalked off. Payback's a bitch aint it :pac:

On a serious note, if it was wide then i do genuinely feel sorry for Wexford and their fans. Players train long and hard and spectators pay hard earned money to go to games. The least the GAA could do is get key decisions right, decisions that can make or break a team's season.

There are two ways to eradicate the problem of was it / wasn't it a point: 1 - use laser beam technology, placing a beam in each post that elevates straight up maybe 10-15 feet over the post, put a signal chip inside the ball. Every time a genuine point is scored the ball will beep and send a signal to the scoreboard operator. 2 - Place two officials in the terrace behind each goals. Put one to the side of each post. From there they will have a much better viewing position

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭sendit

Near we go again.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,360 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Didn't see the point and so won't comment directly on it, but I will comment on 2 things:
    1/ Mr Fahy or Fussy Fahy as he is known in Longford had been involved in a lot of controversial incidnets and IMO is not suited to the pace of top class championship football.
    2/ High profile interview from the Wexford goalie Masterson on newstalk this afternoon. In it he blamed everyone, the referee, both umpires and GAA top brass for the defeat last night. He conveniently forgot to include in his complaints that Wexford had the game in the bag or that the main reason Wexford were playing last night was because they lost a Leinster Final that turned on a monumental fcuk up on his part!!!! Referees and officials make mistakes, and I'm no fan of Mr fahy and co., but players need to grow up and tale responsibility for their own actions and mistakes and move on!

Didn't see the point and so won't comment directly on it, but I will comment on 2 things:
    1/ Mr Fahy or Fussy Fahy as he is known in Longford had been involved in a lot of controversial incidnets and IMO is not suited to the pace of top class championship football.
    2/ High profile interview from the Wexford goalie Masterson on newstalk this afternoon. In it he blamed everyone, the referee, both umpires and GAA top brass for the defeat last night. He conveniently forgot to include in his complaints that Wexford had the game in the bag or that the main reason Wexford were playing last night was because they lost a Leinster Final that turned on a monumental fcuk up on his part!!!! Referees and officials make mistakes, and I'm no fan of Mr fahy and co., but players need to grow up and tale responsibility for their own actions and mistakes and move on!

yeah Masterson would be better off staying quiet. 2 of his kick outs cost us points from messing. as you say, we had the game in the bag, and whether or not it was wide or not, Wexford shouldnt have let it get to that stage. 3 points up, in injury time, and with a man extra.

Will77, the ball went missing after the 'point' not the goal. there wasnt anywhere near the 4 minutes of injury time played. Masterson was down for ages, and then the ball was missing after the limerick sub behind the goal threw it over the wall.

he was an absolutley useless referee, but we have ourselves to blame for the loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭jacool

Didn't see the point

And there's the nub ;)

. He also has questions to answer about Bradleys goal and Limericks, where Masterson ended up in the back of the net and he booked the Limerick culprit and still let the goal stand.

Granted Kelly pushed him after the goal went in which he shouldn't have done but the replays show Masterson wasn't impeded when trying to make a save.
    bruschi wrote: »
    Masterson was down for ages, and then the ball was missing after the limerick sub behind the goal threw it over the wall.

You might want to take that back. It bounced over the wall. No Limerick sub or fan within an asses roar of it again the replays show it. Talk about hysteria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭AbsentPonderer

Limerick's rub of the green in my opinion.....
    Replay? Not a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

nobody can say for sure that it was wide. all we know is the ref was standing level with the post and he thought it was over the bar. as regards saying the umpires made mistakes, well is that not the purpose of multi officials? to make sure that the right decision is made? the first "wide" was a point, there is no doubt about that, the second there is a doubt....but nobody is able to proove the ref wrong.

even ben brosnan said on his twitter yesterday that he thought it was a point.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Wexford fan here, and I actually did think it was a point, but that's not really the point (excuse the pun!).

Even if it wasn't no replay should be offered imo.

However, having said that, it was an incredibly poor reffing display throughout (I was at the game), and the Wexford players are dead right to be saying what they're saying.

Masterson was very eloquent in what he said, and he was dead right in all of it imo.

Wexford players also giving out a lot on Twitter.

The joke injury time played was even worse tbh.

Just a little taster of what Louth must have felt last year.

Browney7 wrote: »
    Granted Kelly pushed him after the goal went in which he shouldn't have done but the replays show Masterson wasn't impeded when trying to make a save.

You might want to take that back. It bounced over the wall. No Limerick sub or fan within an asses roar of it again the replays show it. Talk about hysteria

not the ball that was kicked, there was another ball there as spare for the whole second half, but went missing when someone in green socks wearing shorts threw it away, it may not have been a sub, not sure who it was, but it was down near the corner at the open stand side. he was giving Masterson the ball everytime it went wide or over, and Masterson got onto him at one stage, so maybe he was getting his own revenge back. it made damn all difference anyway. when I first saw Kelly 'hitting' Masterson I thought it was a bad hit, as he was down for ages, but replays showed he was shoved in the chest/neck, not the face. he'd have been better off getting up and playing on the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

rpurfield wrote: »
    see this is the problem the whole leinster final thing has caused last year.i didnt see the kildare fans crying for a replay despite a dodgy free against dublin.if we were to replay every game with dodgy decisions in the championship would never be over.chalk it down to experience and move on.

The foul was a free kick actually according to the rule book so you are completely incorrect there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 fitzy.

Jaysus ye are the worst losers. Just take your beating.

http://examiner.ie/sport/gaa/football/model-chiefs-consider-next-move-162079.html

Haven't they a lot to be doing:rolleyes: Will they have a look at the Wexford goal while they are at it I'd know? I agree the ref left a lot to be desired but the refs word was good enough for the sending off when the footage wasn't conclusive yet is word his worth fu*k all when it comes to a score where the footage is inconclusive.

Limerick have been on the receiving end of controversy in the past in the last few years. Munster final in 09 Cork were given a penalty for God knows what when they were out of the game in the first half. Played Meath and we had a point ruled out for Lucey taking five steps in the last minute whilst being pulled and dragged. Then we played Kerry in Killarney last year and Tom Se was acting like a spolit child on the field and should have been sent off but only received retrospective punishment after the game. He walloped Steven Kelly with about 45 minutes to go in the game. Then against Cork Seanie Buckley was through on goal and got a push in the back causing him to hit the bar. The calls for a replay were deafening from Limerick so they were:rolleyes:

I don't wish to tar all Wexford fans as being sore because in fairness to the vast majority of Wexford fans on here they have been gracious and wished us well. Masterson would do well to shut the fu*k up. Wexford wouldn't have been in the qualifiers if it wasn't for him and he gave Limerick 2 points on a plate from dodgy kickouts and waved Ian Ryans first debatable point wide in the face of the umpire.

http://examiner.ie/sport/gaa/football/lavin-lets-rip-at-critics-162056.html

This article shows the belief the boys have in themselves and what they are trying to do. I hope we keep getting disrespected because its giving valuable fuel to the fire