Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do You Care?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Desire.

what.to.do wrote: »
    If you really didn't care, you wouldn't turn up for the exams. Its simple as.

Obviously not. I have to turn up because my Mom and Dad make me. Doesn't mean I care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭shadowninty

I want to get in A in maths
    Only as my maths class is streaked and I don't want to be the only B

Other than that I don't care and really don't give a ****

The one good thing about the Junior cert is that its made me realise I have to concentrate.
    Half my family has wasted their intelligence and I don't want to do the same

Indiego, someone needs to give those elders of yours a slap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭cantanstrophe

Not in the slightest. The way I see it, the Junior Cert has basically been a load of craic (like, the actual exams). All the energy floating around, its great. And that's what matters more to me than getting a letter on a sheet of paper TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭FatRat

Desire, you do care and I know it. You wouldn't be talking about the JC here if you didn't. That goes for everyone here and everyone reading this.

I care, but I don't care all the same. It's hard to explain how I feel about it. I did my homework for the 1st month of 1st year. That was it. It's sounds un-imagineable and it also sounds like a lie, but there really is no point in lying on the internet, or in real life for that matter. I'm one of those people that people hate, the person that say they haven't studied in their life but still do well in tests. People tend to think people like me are lying, but I'm not.

It wasn't until after the mocks that I started feeling that doing well is worth something. It's not important for going anywhere in life, but it's worth something. You can think back and say to people "I got x amount of A's in the JC". And feel good about yourself. I dunno why, but this worthiness of doing well in tests appeals to me. It makes me feel good about myself. I always want to do better then my friends. That's probably it. I like being better at everyone else I know at something. It makes me feel more confident about myself.

I can think of sports in the same way I think of the JC. I play sports, and do I want to be good? Better then everyone else? Yes.

This kind of apathy isn't going to bode well in 6th year, especially considering you're just going to get more hormonal over the next couple of years.

Sorry mister "I'm doing the leaving" but I haven't a clue what apathy means :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭The Radiator

jc is a crock of shi and to those sayin "if ya didn't care ya wouldn't turn up" ya kinda have to. School will ring home to see why yer not in and parents make ya go in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 fabulousdiva

all i can say is that all year i cared about this junior cert and then on wednesday last week ..i was just like questioning myself.. where is the junior cert going to get me in my life?? NO WHERE. my dad said the day i get my results i might as well just look at them and trow them in the bin cus i will never use them.

my parents DO NOT put pressure on me as i am a good student at school.
    they said they don't care if I get all Cs or Bs , they said the leaving cert is important and the junior cert is like a mock exam..

so i am not worried about this jc.. but i do hope I get at least 4 As.. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭P H A 7V T O M

jc is a crock of shi and to those sayin "if ya didn't care ya wouldn't turn up" ya kinda have to. School will ring home to see why yer not in and parents make ya go in

Plus you might get banned from State Exams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Exoskeleton

In a way I do. I'm actually getting paid for my results from a few people and I have gadgets to buy! Procrastination really gets in the way though.
    My sister is really pushing me to do well, so I want her to be happy with my results.
    I don't really care what I get in History and CSPE as they'll just be a distant memory come 5th year, but the JC has already taught me a few things.
    I need to work on my time management in English if I want an A in the LC, and I can do Honours Maths next year if I work as well as I did over the past month.

Be thankful we're not doing continuous assessment though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭buyer95

I just want it to be over! I want the summer to start now so we can all relax for a while. As long as I get honours in nearly everything I wont be too worried about specific results, I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭what.to.do

Plus you might get banned from State Exams

You won't get banned for not turning up, you'll just get NG in that exam. Or else it doesn't appear on the result sheet.

FatRat wrote: »
    Desire, you do care and I know it. You wouldn't be talking about the JC here if you didn't. That goes for everyone here and everyone reading this.

It also sounds like a lie, but there really is no point in lying on the internet.

I honestly don't care what results I get. Obviously, I want them to be respectable as I don't want to disappoint my parents and they've all been grand so far. The Junior Cert doesn't mean anything to me, neither does school, and I just want to finish next Monday so I can get on with my sporting career.

There's no point lying on the internet sure. :pac:

Desire. wrote: »
    There's no point lying on the internet sure. :pac:

There isn't but you'd still be surprised at how many people do it anyways :)

After hours
    cough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 fionncdabest

I honestly don't care what results I get.

C'mon Desire if you didn't care about school you'd be in bed all day and not looking up junior cert posts on this? :p

You must care some bit to go on boards and check what the crack is about th jc :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭Legion.

I'm also not looking at my results. I'm doing all honours and will probably get Bs and i've done little or no study. Think I might save em till the night before the LC starts :')

I have a feeling a certain somebody on here could end up lying about their results come September. :pac:

Not you, by the way.
    C'mon Desire if you didn't care about school you'd be in bed all day and not looking up junior cert posts on this? :p

You must care some bit to go on boards and check what the crack is about th jc :D

Pfft, I don't how to put it really. I enjoy school, I enjoy the craic with the lads, I do well in school. I guess it's not that I don't care about school, I just don't care for school. Does that make sense? No, thought not.

If I had the chance to drop out of school, I would. I don't hate school or anything, I'm just not bothered by it.

I just like Boards and this is the easiest forum to fit into as its easy to talk about the Junior Cert with people my age. I post in other forums too, not as frequently, but I'm going to be frequenting the Gambling forum a lot more shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 ITDemo

Just wondering, is anyone here studying purely for monetary rewards?

Lots of my friends are saying they are getting up to €20 or more for an A.
    Just seems wrong to me. I haven't even thought about getting money. My parents have said they will do something for me after it, regardless.

I understand some reward is nice, but an exact amount of money per A seems to me that it encourages the wrong reasons one should study.

I never get rewarded for doing well :(
    I know lots who are tho....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

I just like Boards and this is the easiest forum to fit into as its easy to talk about the Junior Cert with people my age. I post in other forums too, not as frequently, but I'm going to be frequenting the Gambling forum a lot more shortly.

For all you people who have become addicted to boards, there's actually a teenager forum, Clearasil & Hormones that I got addicted to when I had a tiny number of posts (all downhill from there. :p). So yeah, when all this JC craic is over and if ye still wanna stick around, no harm popping a head in there. :)

I honestly don't care what results I get.

That's exactly what I was thinking Fionncdabest. Doesn't make sense to be checking "what the crack is about th jc" if you don't care.

Slow Show wrote: »
    For all you people who have become addicted to boards, there's actually a teenager forum, Clearasil & Hormones that I got addicted to when I had a tiny number of posts (all downhill from there. :p). So yeah, when all this JC craic is over and if ye still wanna stick around, no harm popping a head in there. :)
    Its so hard to break into a new forum :3

That's exactly what I was thinking Fionncdabest. Doesn't make sense to be checking "what the crack is about th jc" if you don't care.

Think what you want. It doesn't bother me. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭En

As you may or may not know, colleges in the UK check your Junior Cert results as well as your Leaving Cert results, so I care quite a bit, to be honest.
    My family and I plan to leave this country (for obvious reasons) straight after my Leaving Cert, and I need to get into a top college or I won't have a luxurious future, so doing well right now is number one priority for me.

Oh yeah, and Desire (specifically) not caring about the Junior Cert is not what this thread is about, so let's not turn this into the crapstorm the predictions thread was turned into ^_^

inb4 everyone jumps on me

En wrote: »
    Oh yeah, and Desire (specifically) not caring about the Junior Cert is not what this thread is about, so let's not turn this into the crapstorm the predictions thread was turned into ^_^

Eh... Thread Title: "Do You Care?" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Indiego wrote: »
    No, im 14, not 15 till December :L

Hahahahahahahaahh XD trust me, im not 'straight edged' by a long shot :L I might be a tad 'nerdy' but my social life is a different story :L
    Woah! I was almost 16 doing mine. If we did it at the same time, you at your current age and me at the age I was doing mine, I'd have been 16 months older than you.
    I never get rewarded for doing well :(
    I know lots who are tho....
    I got money towards a new guitar for my results. :D
    It's not really. Just stick it out and check out the IRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭En

Eh... Thread Title: "Do You Care?" :pac:

Sorry if I wasn't clear, I meant YOU in particular not caring and everybody else saying you do is not what this thread is about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

You're not doing too badly tbf. :)

Slow Show wrote: »
    You're not doing too badly tbf. :)