Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Galway v Westmeath

• 04-06-2011 05:44PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,278 ✭✭✭✭

Does anyone know of any streams for this game? It's probably a long shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Live on Newstalk, Draw game with 17mins left :eek::eek::eek:

Fair play to Westmeath for having a right go at them anyhow. A Galway team packed with talent.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 35,674 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

very surprised with the performance of both teams!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I wasn't TBH. Westmeath are a good side and if you told me before the match we would have beaten them by even 3 points I would have taken it. I do think we need to be underdogs for the Dublin match though so this could be a blessing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Fair play to Westmeath for having a right go at them anyhow. A Galway team packed with talent.

I wouldn't have said it was a Galway team "packed" with talent. Come the next day, 1/2 of them won't start and the rest of them will be moved all over the place.

I can't see Coen, Lee, Gantly, Hynes (or Daly - one of them anyways) and maybe Callanan starting the next day. Collins will be playing at wing back with Kavanagh at full. Canning will be at the edge of the square, Regan will be centre back and possibly Aidan Harte will be wing forward.

I hope from a Galway point of view that McIntyre put out the team with the intention of it being a struggle and then eventually get over the winning line. If he did, then you wouldn't be able to say what Galway will be like. But if he put out that team thinking it was his best, the Galway are going nowhere fast.

Give credit to Westmeath, they played to their strengths and used their physical size to their advantage - Galway were having serious problems winning their own puck-outs, no surprise there!!! The one question that Galway supporters would have to ask themselves is this: If it was Tipp or KK that were playing Westmeath yesterday, would they have approached it in such a careless manner. The answer is a definate NO.

If Galway come within 5 points of the Dubs the next day, they will be doing well imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭MfMan

Kojak wrote: »
    I wouldn't have said it was a Galway team "packed" with talent. Come the next day, 1/2 of them won't start and the rest of them will be moved all over the place.

Somehow I've a feeling he was being ironic.

Poor display by all accounts from Galway; Cyril getting a hattrick doesn't help, makes it harder to drop him now. Tullamore in 2 weeks will be interesting.

I wasn't TBH. Westmeath are a good side and if you told me before the match we would have beaten them by even 3 points I would have taken it. I do think we need to be underdogs for the Dublin match though so this could be a blessing.

They are?.... based on what exactly?.

They lost EVERY league game in D2 which includes the heavyweights of Down, Carlow, Kerry etc....

This game showed us yet again how bad our HF is.
    For example Andy Smyth is a good club player but has no aerial ability, very poor striking and his control on the ground is as bad as it gets, yet here he is still starting.

It's starting to remind me of the footballers, in that it's clear as day where the problems lie, who are the main culprits, but nothing is being done to rectify it.

To play badly and still win by 9 points seems OK to me. But still let's make a crisis out of a win.

To play badly and still win by 9 points seems OK to me.

If it was Dublin we were playing yesterday, then I would agree with you but not Westmeath. Westmeath should be proud of their display (not trying to be condescending here) but if Galway have serious aspirations of lifting Liam this year, then they should have beaten westmeath by 15+ points.

Once again we are in the championship and we have question marks over nearly 1/2 the positions on the field. If we can't win the ball in the air against Westmeath, then what the hell are Dublin going to do to us.

If it was Dublin we were playing yesterday, then I would agree with you but not Westmeath. Westmeath should be proud of their display (not trying to be condescending here) but if Galway have serious aspirations of lifting Liam this year, then they should have beaten westmeath by 15+ points.

Once again we are in the championship and we have question marks over nearly 1/2 the positions on the field. If we can't win the ball in the air against Westmeath, then what the hell are Dublin going to do to us.
    We had a weakened side especially in the forwards. Do you consider the fact Galway might have been resting a bit due to the match Saturday week? Sure we didn't blow the world away but to play badly and still win by 9 points (not as if we were playing London either).

MfMan wrote: »

Poor display by all accounts from Galway; Cyril getting a hattrick doesn't help, makes it harder to drop him now. Tullamore in 2 weeks will be interesting.

I wasn't being ironic. Every Galway team has unmerciful talent at their disposal and just because ye got caught a little cold it doesnt mean ye are a bad team. I guarantee there was still alot of underage all ireland medals on the pitch yesterday for ye.

i would always rate galway and that is supposing they scraped past new york in hurling and would always be apprehensive about playing them as a Tipp man.

Dont read too much into yesterday. If anything it could yet do ye a service.

Do you consider the fact Galway might have been resting a bit due to the match Saturday week?

Are we in that sort of position to be able to do that sort of thing?? Have we won 2 or 3 AI's in the last 5 years. No we haven't, and if we keep up with these kind of antics, then are liable to get found out.

tipp_Gunner - underage doesn't matter a damn if you can't translate it into Senior success. Look at your own county, they turned a very good minor team into the top team in Senior in a matter of a few years. We have won numerous underage AI's over the last 20 odd years, but have never come close to winning a Senior.

I wasn't being ironic. Every Galway team has unmerciful talent at their disposal and just because ye got caught a little cold it doesnt mean ye are a bad team. I guarantee there was still alot of underage all ireland medals on the pitch yesterday for ye.

i would always rate galway and that is supposing they scraped past new york in hurling and would always be apprehensive about playing them as a Tipp man.

Dont read too much into yesterday. If anything it could yet do ye a service.

Ok. However 99% of Galway hurling fans can and will struggle to name a feasible starting 15. Many within the county would now criticise McIntyre over his management of the team (some emptier-headed ones naturally through anti-Tipp bias) but he could be doing a better job. On the other hand, he is also being lambasted, entirely unfairly, for his post-match interviews. These he has always been honest and straightforward in, at least to mine eyes. Cyril Farrell is doing no-one any favours with his constant mantra of 'Galway have the hurlers, it's just a matter of fitting the various pieces together' rubbish. Next time he says it, ask him to line out numbers 8 - 12.

Interesting also was Conor Hayes' match analysis on GBFM Saturday night. He had a fair go at the management in the Indo a couple of months ago in the wake of the Tipp' defeat and the veil of criticism on the radio was very thin again on the evening. What did McIntyre do to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭cremeegg

Typical ****e.
    the man was outstanding and scored 3 goals and still the "supporters" will have a go.

cremeegg wrote: »
    Typical ****e.
    the man was outstanding and scored 3 goals and still the "supporters" will have a go.

Did you see the goals he got? The first one won't be got again - the goalkeeper made a síte of a lame shot, the second was an opportunits goal while I admit the 3rd he made himself.

If he, or any Galway player, scores 3 goals against Dublin the next day, then he will be deserving of high praise.

cremeegg wrote: »
    Typical ****e.

And fair play to him. However the "supporters" would be happier still if he would score 3 (or even 1) against the big teams, instead of getting the curly finger in these games. No problem at all with his honesty and application, but sadly has extremely limited ability.

Are we in that sort of position to be able to do that sort of thing?? Have we won 2 or 3 AI's in the last 5 years. No we haven't, and if we keep up with these kind of antics, then are liable to get found out.

tipp_Gunner - underage doesn't matter a damn if you can't translate it into Senior success. Look at your own county, they turned a very good minor team into the top team in Senior in a matter of a few years. We have won numerous underage AI's over the last 20 odd years, but have never come close to winning a Senior.

Managers seem to come and go too often though although Tipp have had that problem too.
    Conor Hayes who got Galway to an all ireland final was shunted after 2006. Loughnane only lasted 2 years. Noel Lane didnt give long in the job. Maybe a bit of stability might be what the doctor ordered. I think Galway will play a big part in this years championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

Interesting also was Conor Hayes' match analysis on GBFM Saturday night. He had a fair go at the management in the Indo a couple of months ago in the wake of the Tipp' defeat and the veil of criticism on the radio was very thin again on the evening. What did McIntyre do to him?

McIntyre wrote the truth about him in the Connacht Tribune. IIRC when writing about the people in the running for the job McIntyre pointed out that with his only management experience being a poor performence for the NUIG Fitzgibbon cup team Hayes shouldn't be getting the job.

In general he wasn't afraid to write what he thought about him as a manger or any other manager or player, so everything he's wrote over the past 15/20 years is coming back to bite him on the ass right now no matter how fair it may have been at the time.

From my own p.o.v. I thought it was a disgrace that Hayes absolved himself of any responsibility for the 18 point hammering they got off KK in 2004. In the after game interview with GBFM he basically blamed it all on the clubs and the players and shrugged his shoulders saying what can you do. It showed just how bad a manager he was, a good manager never has a dig at the players in the press.