Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

About last night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

To be honest I hate it when people call the guys who play together here the BRDS clan.. I don't call myself that and only one or two people where that tag.

I only jump into games with the lads on here every once in a while and the rest of the time I play with my mates...

An honest question here to the people that play together, would you call us a clan?

I wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Just to clarify, this thread was originally meant for any user on boards.ie who played against another user on boards.ie to discuss their games from the previous night. Over time it developed into a BRDS clan thread simply because it was mostly BRDS clan members posting in it.

However, this thread should be inclusive of everyone that plays on XBox, regardless of clan, same with the Playstation thread. You never know, by being inclusive you guys might eventually decide to play a few friendly games and discover that you actually can get along!
    Fair enough, I was just agreeing with Ade's post. I'm in favour with getting along, after all, I didn't watch barney the dinosaur for years as a kid without picking up a few tips on the way ;)

To be honest I hate it when people call the guys who play together here the BRDS clan.. I don't call myself that and only one or two people wear that tag.

I only jump into games with the lads on here every once in a while and the rest of the time I play with my mates...

An honest question here to the people that play together, would you call us a clan?
    Nope we are more a group of super individuals who occasionly gather together for pub bashing :) and we have no entry requirements.
    I shouldn't have called us a clan, I was just comparing to IRL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

To be honest I hate it when people call the guys who play together here the BRDS clan.. I don't call myself that and only one or two people wear that tag.

Agreed , although its been a few months since i played with boardies ,when i did play i never thoughtof it as being in a clan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Oh I know but I'm trying to distinguish between a group who play together often and the few people who post here occasionally having joined in only one or two games.

I don't think it's fair to restrict the thread to people who have only played games with a recognised group of regular players.

If IRL want to post here about their games I'm cool with that and everyone else should be too, no pot-shots!!

OK, now that we're done with all this sh1te:
    129191434233162503.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

Speaking for myself I'd guage that most of us players came together with the intention of playing with other boards players rather than having to make friends by chance encounters in xbox lobbies. There have been members who've started out playing MW2 and continued into B:OPs and probably MW3. Others have dropped out after MW2 and others have joined only in B:OPs and no doubt others will join or drop out come MW3.

I think we're more a loose affiliation of players but for the sake of simplicity it's simpler to say BRDS clan rather than BRDS loose affiliation of COD players past, present and future.

Clan has the (IMO negative) connotation that it is a professional serious players only. Some players skill levels are certainly that good, but others aren't concerned about their stats and couldn't care less. As long as you're helping the team, everyone will respect you. You may get a slagging if you call in a chopper blocker or skip the chopper queue but pretty much everyone I've played with in the thread I'd gladly have a pint with (except Floyd!). A better description is BRDS group.

Personally I'm completely happy with the way it is, wheras others are considering Gamebattles and no doubt others just play for the group experience. It's not professional, it's not amateur, it's not all encompassing but hopefully it's always enjoyable for those who play and for those thinking of joining in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Finical

yimrsg wrote: »
    Speaking for myself I'd guage that most of us players came together with the intention of playing with other boards players rather than having to make friends by chance encounters in xbox lobbies. There have been members who've started out playing MW2 and continued into B:OPs and probably MW3. Others have dropped out after MW2 and others have joined only in B:OPs and no doubt others will join or drop out come MW3.

I think we're more a loose affiliation of players but for the sake of simplicity it's simpler to say BRDS clan rather than BRDS loose affiliation of COD players past, present and future.

Clan has the (IMO negative) connotation that it is a professional serious players only. Some players skill levels are certainly that good, but others aren't concerned about their stats and couldn't care less. As long as you're helping the team, everyone will respect you. You may get a slagging if you call in a chopper blocker or skip the chopper queue but pretty much everyone I've played with in the thread I'd gladly have a pint with (except Floyd!). A better description is BRDS group.

Personally I'm completely happy with the way it is, wheras others are considering Gamebattles and no doubt others just play for the group experience. It's not professional, it's not amateur, it's not all encompassing but hopefully it's always enjoyable for those who play and for those thinking of joining in.
    Well said!

Anyone miss that chnkylvr699? :( :pac:

He was mad craic on mw2!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Finical wrote: »
    Well said!

He was mad craic on mw2!

he went over to te dark side .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Shammy wrote: »

Battlefield??? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

Shammy wrote: »

I thought I played with him !

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

Look at the end of the day ye should all feel lucky that ye have the privilege of playing with such a beast as myself.

In fact I'm so great I think I should have both parachutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭cableguy.ie

IPAM wrote: »
    Battlefield??? :D

Worse he got a Wii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

That's only because I'm underage Yimrag :P

Also, I'm convinced that Perrin is not a human (or god) but rather a Simpsons quoting machine.

''Only I may dance''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

Finical wrote: »
    Well said!

He was mad craic on mw2!

I miss Chunky. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

We went mad the other day messing about with tomohawks, shotguns and no-scopes to make the games a bit more interesting. This clip is one of the results. My first ever intentional long rang tomohawk :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

x43r0 wrote: »
    We went mad the other day messing about with tomohawks, shotguns and no-scopes to make the games a bit more interesting. This clip is one of the results. My first ever intentional long rang tomohawk :D

Oh man, that is epic! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

x43r0 wrote: »

Double homahawk, sweet. Tis a great feeling landing a long-range homahawk to someone's face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

Enigma IE wrote:
    Tis a great feeling landing a long-range homahawk to someone's face.

I agree :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

double tomohawks?I got that beat :D this is one of the few clips i ever uploaded playing blops when i still played it, one of my faves though, I actually had more tomo kills in this match but couldnt fit them in the clip :pac:

edit: and a long range one for the lulz:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

That's what I'm talking about biggrin.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

using the FAL in Hardcore matches, so much fcuking win, its a 1-2 shot kill, its like having a semi auto sniper rifle

X, Ross, Muse, Arron and myself were on for a bit earlier, utter rape in TDM.

CFC came on and it was himself and myself in TDM for a while, K/D went up by .02 over the course of maybe a dozen games, raaaaaaaaaaaaape!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Stay on topic, 20 posts deleted. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

I've a good 10 instances of getting double tomohawks up close (you'd want to once you've thrown nearly 11,000 of them!) but I'm still trying to get double tomohawks across the map :(

Gotten some crazy ones aswell :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

The T Dawg is back!!!

CORaven wrote: »
    The T Dawg is back!!!

I was just coming on to say that! Signed in for a few minutes when myself and Ghandi were playing MW2.

Played against a party for a few games, plenty of danger close but even with it and their numbers they couldn't pub stomp. Felt a little :o for them TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

CORaven wrote: »
    The T Dawg is back!!!

Do you mean Ghandi?! :confused::pac:

FunkZ wrote: »
    Do you mean Ghandi?! :confused::pac:

No, though Ghandi is back as well!

TopDawgKilla (or something to that effect) is a Yank who's based in Germany and who we often play with. The man is a bit of a hero, often playing drunk and singing as we kick ass. Occasionally lets his wife play too. Also in the USAF.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

I liked the conversations we could still hear over the mic between him and his wife.Yesterday he was getting pushed into watching Love and other drugs,poor lad.