All this fawning over Obama is embarrassing.

• 24-05-2011 03:17AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 30

He is just another political sleaze bag, albeit more charming and eloquent than our native-born sleaze bags. The fawning admiration the Irish people showed him was foolish and undignified. Cynicism is oftentimes an Irish reflex, but for some reason contact with the Obama PR machine only provoked in us childish credulity.

Discuss.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

/discussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

But he is lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

nah it's not. tis right gas man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Discuss.
    No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

In case you havent seen reeling in the years, there is nothing the Irish do better than to all crowd around a high status politician, smiling and cheering in a such a worshipping, "we are not worthy" manner. It adds a bit of theater to their crappy, bland filled lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 FirstHundred

stoneill wrote: »
    But he is lovely.

If you were an AFPAK shepherd who lost his family to a Predator drone you might have a different opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

i agree.

Bar the colour of his skin the man has done absolutly nothing to warrant the attention he gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

guitarzero wrote: »
    In case you havent seen reeling in the years, there is nothing the Irish do better than to all crowd around a high status politician, smiling and cheering in a such a worshipping, "we are not worthy" manner. It adds a bit of theater to their crappy, bland filled lives.

it's either that or look out the window complaining about the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Aoifey! wrote: »
    No.

is féidir linn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

PILF tbh :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Pretty much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Flojo wrote: »
    PILF tbh :pac:
    Hell yeah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

All this negativity and begrudging is embrassing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Seloth

Its embarrassing and truly laughable.My mother was excited to see him on the television and I couldnt care less about him being in Offaly but truth be told if you or I or any of us where there I'm sure we'd be the same.

I can remember once when went to a gig with a few friends and when we were walking back to the que from a shop we spotted some of the band members who noticed we had seen them.Now they got a bit unease looking and two of my friends ran wanted to run over to them and did but I could see they really didnt want some annoying young fans runing over so I didnt bother.Needless to say the two lads ran over and said "Your -Insert band name-" to which they replied "Yup" and continued on :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Lighten up, ya big moany bollocks.

Barry is class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

If it makes people happy, then let them be. It's been all doom and gloom stories for the past 3 years and it'll be back to them again next week.

I think he looked genuinely happy with the response he got, whatever his political policies etc, he seems like he enjoyed his trip and he made many thousands of people happy for the day.

Plus he even managed to get me to sit down and put up with Dave Fanning mouthing over the top of the concert...I HATE Dave Fanning, so Obama's obviously doing something right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

J. Marston wrote: »
    Lighten up, ya big moany bollocks.

A good 75% of posts on the internet could benefit immensely from the inclusion of this simple phrase. Science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Go kill some zombies Valentine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

His wife is seriously hot.

Something about her attitude as well that is cool. She's smart and you wouldn't mess with her kinda thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

guitarzero wrote: »

Reminds me of the worship of that slimeball Bill Clinton when he came to visit, he was treated as if he was a living saint. Made me want to vomit at the time.

I think most Irish people are pathetic by nature, when I saw that tool Enda Kenny scream "He is the American dream." I felt my lunch move slightly upwards.. A phoney worshipping a phoney.

Ireland is a parody of itself, a freakshow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Give me a break. All other nationalities would've had the same rent-a-crowd if he visited any other country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Reminds me of the worship of that slimeball Bill Clinton when he came to visit, he was treated as if he was a living saint. Made me want to vomit at the time.

I think most Irish people are pathetic by nature, when I saw that tool Enda Kenny scream "He is the American dream." I felt my lunch move slightly upwards.. A phoney worshipping a phoney.

Ireland is a parody of itself, a freakshow.

I feel sorry for you.

At the very least, just dont give a crap. That you apparently have physical side effects from seeing people happy is truly saddening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭endabob1

Like him or not, he is the most powerful man in the world and we could do with a few friends like him.
    Personally I find him engaging, a spectacularly good orator and as an immigrant myself I think he does embody not just the American dream, but I suppose the dreams of everyone who has had to emigrate at some point. His ancestors both recent & not so recent left their homes to make a better life, it's fantastic that the son of a guy from a rural village in Kenya is now president of the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Oh FFS, a little bit of sunshine in an otherwise dismal place! People had a little bit of an expectation, and hoping that maybe just maybe Baracks visit might yield something good for the country.

Fail to see how that is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

But I loves him :eek:

Is feidir linn :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭lamai

Who cares what he is, He made a good speech and made a few people happy,

makes a change from 24/7 doom and gloom on the tv. lighten up you miserable

feckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

You're right op, we should have ignored him. Imagine not one person turned up to his speech, that would had showed him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 djdrobins

I think we did ourselves proud, while he was here. He and his wife seemed to have a great time - they were welcomed and embraced it. It is not only us falling over the presidents when they arrive - they genuinely seem to enjoy the atmosphere when they come over, and it is a sign that we are welcoming and friendly.
    Don't forget - the world was watching Ireland yesterday, they watched every second he was in the country - I am in France at the moment for the last few months and they were even saying here that it looked like he actually had a good time in Moneygal, that he and his wife really got into a meet and greet with the locals.

You can't fake that sort of thing - that's why Bush didn't bother too much - not because he had to history to Ireland, but as he just didn't care to try.

I think his visit will have only positive effects on Ireland and it was worth it. We did ourselves proud yesterday and this crack on giving out is pointless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Some of you really need to get laid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Hate to piss on anyones chips but did anybody check out the US coverage of the visit ?
    It was very poor coverage compared to prior visits - CBS news featured it for a few seconds while NBC only mentioned the visit in the context of the President being kept briefed on the tornado situation in Missouri.

The tornadoe killing so many people really dominated US news channels and knocked the Obama visit way down the list.

Don't expect floods of American tourists followng this visit ( which lets face it was under 12 hours ).