ROK 180km possible to get fit in a month and a half???

• 17-05-2011 09:35PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭

so, I was/am meant to be doing the ring of kerry on the 2nd of July. Due to injury I havent been able to do much. I went out the other day got 40km under my belt but was pretty tired after it. So my question is, what think ye of my chances of being fit enough for ROK in a month and a half? 4 sessions a week do anyting to get me prepared? 40km not a bad base considering I havent cycled properly since last September...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭buzzingnoise

i'm in the same boat. laid up since christmas and destroyed after two small spins at the weekend (30 flat miles sat, 50 flat miles sunday). i've done the ring a good few times and its not a race so i reckon anyone could do it if they took their time. i've seen all shapes and sizes finish this and there are only two good climbs.
    best of luck, go for it!

thehamo wrote: »
    so, I was/am meant to be doing the ring of kerry on the 2nd of July. Due to injury I havent been able to do much. I went out the other day got 40km under my belt but was pretty tired after it. So my question is, what think ye of my chances of being fit enough for ROK in a month and a half? 4 sessions a week do anyting to get me prepared? 40km not a bad base considering I havent cycled properly since last September...

You'll be grand. Just try and get in a fair bit bitween now and then.

On the day, maintain a comfortable pace, do not feel compelled to keep up with faster groups/riders if you feel they're too fast for you, and eat. Your worst potential enemy over this distance is hunger knock or the bonk. Sore legs can be tolerated/ignored ("shut up legs"-Jens Voigt), but it's impossible to run on an empty tank.

The route isn't too tough. 2 climbs, neither too steep, just long, steady affairs. Put it in a fairly small gear and spin your way up at a comfortable pace and you're laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭kennyb3

You ll prob be grand on the day if you pace yourself and are sensible.

Your biggest issue may be not getting injured again as you chase fitness to get back in shape in time. Be sensible in building back up, take rest days and make sure the injury is fully gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

ROK is only 167km-ish :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭thehamo

Cheers lads. Was out today got lost and ended up doin an unintentional 40km spin! Wind was torture tho, felt like crap after it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭knipper

I'm doin something equally foolhardy, myself and three friends are gonna do it. Just started cycling today with a leisurely 15km spin gonna build it up as best I can and give it a go. One of us is a marathon runner ( not me ) but the others are just 5 a side footy players.
    Planning a 40k for the weekend to see where I'm at.
    The four of us are all in the same boat just doin it for the craic.

Quick question do we need to get insurance for the race its not very clear from the website if its mandatory or not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

It's not a race. It's simply an endurance event sandwiched between sandwich stops.

Anyone reasonably fit can do a cycle of this distance with little specific training. You'll feel like sh1te after. But will recover in a few days.
    Take it handy, drink lots, eat little and offer.

6 weeks from now. If you are starting at 40km this week. Just do 5 cycles adding 10-15km per week until you are up at around the 100km mark in 5 weeks.
    You'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭slingerz

i'm doing this and wouldnt have much cycling fitness but have a good fitness level from GAA doin it with soem experienced lads who did it last year and they said its grand just at your own pace and a bit of crack.

as a once off i dont think fitness is that much of an issue as you'll get carried along by the other cyclists around yiou

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭devotional1993

slingerz wrote: »
    i'm doing this and wouldnt have much cycling fitness but have a good fitness level from GAA doin it with soem experienced lads who did it last year and they said its grand just at your own pace and a bit of crack.

as a once off i dont think fitness is that much of an issue as you'll get carried along by the other cyclists around yiou

dont wear a gaa jersey and you will be grand:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Easy. I did the Wicklow 200 a couple of years ago. I hadn't been on the bike for a year. I started training on 23rd April and did the W200 about six weeks later. I was in my late 50s. I had two long training runs of 120km+ and lots at around 50km to 80km.