Orange Order to attend Dublin visit.

• 14-05-2011 08:55PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭

Protestant clergymen, Orange Order members from both sides of the border and former loyalist paramilitaries are expected to be among the guests at next Wednesday's Islandbridge Commemoration event attended by President McAleese and Queen Elizabeth II.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0514/queen.html

A queen, the English prime minister and clergymen. Grand. Not a bother I'm thinking. The orange order though? Is that a bit much like. What do the people of AH think of all this.

Last time the orange order came to visit there was bedlam. Is there any need to invite this funny cult at all. It's the year 2011 and realistically, grown men playing at dress up and carrying out bizarre rituals is hardly something the average person would be interested in. Wonder who invited them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

squod wrote: »
    Last time the orange order came to visit there was bedlam
    ... caused by others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

The queen is coming to Ireland? When was this announced???? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

I think everyone needs to go and watch the eurovision and forget about the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

squod wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0514/queen.html

A queen, the English prime minister and clergymen. Grand. Not a bother I'm thinking. The orange order though? Is that a bit much like. What do the people of AH think of all this.

Last time the orange order came to visit there was bedlam. Is there any need to invite this funny cult at all. It's the year 2011 and realistically, grown men playing at dress up and carrying out bizarre rituals is hardly something the average person would be interested in. Wonder who invited them.

wait for the trouble to start and we will get branded as a bunch of savages by the english press and for once we prob wont have done anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

all we need are celtic fans to get the tri-colour :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

dvpower wrote: »
    ... caused by others.

Due to the subtle trolling by the Orangies in the first instance...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭inode

I'm more concerned with the fact that nearly the entire gardai will be in Dublin leaving the rest of the country very vulnerable to break in's etc.

That just describes every religion on this planet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Ah FFS, could they not just stay away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

... caused by others.

Your having a laugh right?.. everytime they go marching they go to areas that they know will get peoples backs up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

... caused by others.

Like the time the kkk went to harlem and the locals "caused" bedlam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

There is a Grand Orange order lodge in Dublin. I heard a documentary on it recently - very interesting. I think there is about five lodges in the Republic. Maybe its them who are meeting the British Queen. BTW I dont see why people are getting so strung up about the subject as there was no such outcry when the last royal visit was here --Prince Albert of Monaco. Shes just another head of state. Nothing more or less.

BTW I hate when people call her the Queen as there are plenty of Queens. She is the British Queen. She is nothing special.

There is a Grand Orange order lodge in Dublin. I heard a documentary on it recently - very interesting. I think there is about five lodges in the Republic. Maybe its them who are meeting the British Queen. BTW I dont see why people are getting so strung up about the subject as there was no such outcry when the last royal visit was here --Prince Albert of Monaco. Shes just another head of state. Nothing more or less.

BTW I hate when people call her the Queen as there are plenty of Queens. She is the British Queen. She is nothing special.

Its is the south order as far as im aware.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

To be honest, I'd say there'll be mayhem on the streets of Dublin. Better stock up on the popcorn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

MrMatisse wrote: »
    I think everyone needs to go and watch the eurovision and forget about the past

How can anyone ever forget Johnnie Logan and My Lovely horse?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Don't see the need for it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Maybe a bomb could take them all out?

Bring it MI5 Im waiting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

... caused by others.

LEst we forget the Love Ulster parade was primarily organised by this bastion of modernity, who I think suspiciously resembles a fat curley watts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

Why the hell are the crazy cult coming down for this. God damn freemasons:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭end a eknny

i think a lot of british people would not agree with you about her being nothing special. as for the usual sh1t trotted out about her being just another head of state. are you not aware of all the attrocities perpatrated on the irish by the british for centuries as far as i am aware they still occupy part of ireland now i am not the best scholar evere and have a bad memory and if you can enlighten me as to when exactly monaco sent its army here to murder irish people take their land and starve them to death

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Detest the orange order but they are big fans of the queen so it makes sense that they'd go and meet with her - seeing as it's so geographically near and all. The reason why people here just refer to her as "the queen" is because everyone will automatically know who's being referred to. And she's probably the most famous of all the monarchs in the world anyway. No biggie.
    Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Maybe a bomb could take them all out?

Bring it MI5 Im waiting
    And feck it, a few innocent bystanders could be killed too, but meh... what of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Sounds like a fun day is on the way,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Dudess wrote: »
    And feck it, a few innocent bystanders could be killed too, but meh... what of it?
    You do realise I was joking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    You do realise I was joking?

Covering your tracks in case MI5 are actually watching?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Strange, if it's the Northern Orange Order that are coming to visit. I mean, why don't they go visit Bet in their own country... She does live there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

fcuking sh't stirrers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I'm not so worried about the Orange Order. I'd be more concerned with the UDA's presence on the anniversary of the Dublin & Monaghan bombings. We must be a big joke to them at this point.

johngalway wrote: »
    Strange, if it's the Northern Orange Order that are coming to visit. I mean, why don't they go visit Bet in their own country... She does live there.

Not only that the queen has been to norn iron several times theres no reason for their bigotry down here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Dudess wrote: »
    What a cunt. If insulting that awful bigot gets me into trouble for breaking the Boards civility rule, so be it.

Naming that video "Willie Frazer insults Catholics of N Ireland " doesn't mean that's who he was actually talking about. I'd be a tad suspicious of the fact its a 13 second clip