Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Paedophiles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

I'd also LOVE to know how many paedophiles there are in comparison to those who have acted on their urges and have been convicted for it. I'm trying to think of an estimate but it's actually impossible because there is just no way of knowing. I'd like to think that there are lots of people who just don't confess they are paedophiles and don't act on it. That is, imo, a really ****ty situation for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Mawbish

Wow its getting heated in this discussion!

I agree with those who are saying that there has not been enough indepth study on people who are sexually aroused by children (if the act on it or not)

Found an interesting link on chemical castration if you'd like to have a look go here : - http://serendip.brynmawr.edu/exchange/node/1778 from Brynmawr no less.

There is indeed a group that wish to remove laws that make their 'Child Love' an illegal act. They are based in the USA and I can't for the life of me think of the name of the group or find them on the internet....then again thats one website I can do without viewing.

Pre-emptive action? Hmm....well there is a theory that a number of those abused as children go on to commit similar abuse themselves which furthers the arguement that its a case of wishing to exert control over another person rather than the sexual act. But how could you possibly say without any reasonable doubt that Subject A is going to offend and Subject B isn't?

In the case of serial killers it has been shown that a number of them have had extremely poor upbringing (I don't mean money - I mean poor parenting) and had shown a disposition as children to kill small animals without remorse ie birds then moving on to cats and dogs and eventually working their way up to human beings.
    Again how can you say Subject A is going to offend and Subject B isn't?

We have a lot more to learn about the human brain and the chemicals that drive us.

In society paedophiles are deemed 'sick' or 'unwell' or 'freaks of nature' as we do not hold with the idea of children being sexual objects much less able to give consent to any sexual act. Why would a person who is having such thoughts and being fully aware that society at large is against these thoughts still go on to commit them? How can anyone ignore a crying, screaming child just to satisfy themselves? Do they think they're above the law? Do they think its part of their nature therefore they must be allowed to express it?

If someone were to have such thoughts towards a child they should seek immediate help from a GP - to STOP themselves from commiting abuse on a child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

jive wrote: »
    I'd also LOVE to know how many paedophiles there are in comparison to those who have acted on their urges and have been convicted for it. I'm trying to think of an estimate but it's actually impossible because there is just no way of knowing. I'd like to think that there are lots of people who just don't confess they are paedophiles and don't act on it.
    Well on the one hand I would like to think that people's humanity wins out in the vast majority of cases and they manage to keep themselves under control. But on the other hand I'm not exactly loving the proposal that lots of people are paedophiles :)
    Mawbish wrote: »
    There is indeed a group that wish to remove laws that make their 'Child Love' an illegal act. They are based in the USA and I can't for the life of me think of the name of the group or find them on the internet....then again thats one website I can do without viewing.
    Nambla. I think.

It's a rather bizarre organisation, their entire argument being based on the idea that paedophilia can be a consensual act of love and caring. The obvious problem being that asking a child to consent to sexual acts is like asking a dog to consent to being spayed. They are simply incapable of understanding what it is you are asking of them and its ramifications and instead will just go along with you because they trust you.
    Why would a person who is having such thoughts and being fully aware that society at large is against these thoughts still go on to commit them?
    Because they can't help themselves - and to a certain extent while they acknowledge that society deems it "wrong", they may not consider it wrong, or perhaps not as wrong.
    Morality and wrong and right have certain inbuilt components. It's not something which sprung up overnight or which was invented by religion. Humans are naturally moral because being good to other humans ensures that you have a place within in a community and therefore benefit from the ability to procreate and survive.
    Hurting other humans causes ostracisation and will result in the person not procreating and therefore being removed from the gene pool.

That's the basis of morality, but it has all sorts of shades and what some people consider right -v- wrong varies between individuals. This thread gives a good example. Most people would say that it's wrong to kill your neighbour because you feel like it. But some would say that if they're a paedophile it's OK to kill them. That's moral relativism and it's part of our nature.
    We have built up a much more rigid structure of morals which sets out exactly what is right and wrong - a set of averages, if you will, that society can agree on.

But the individual will still retain their moral relativism; some consider rape a more serious crime than murder, and some will consider that there's not really anything wrong with a little bit of social welfare fraud, the only bad thing about it is getting caught.

This is where paedophilia comes in. Some people will feel, despite it being legally wrong, that it's not actually all that wrong to act on it, for whatever reason. I imagine in most of their heads they feel that it's an act of love and they're not causing any suffering.
    Others may simply be sociopaths with the inability to relate to other humans as people, much like serial rapists and so on.
    If someone were to have such thoughts towards a child they should seek immediate help from a GP - to STOP themselves from commiting abuse on a child
    Well, this is the tough one.

We don't know what the law is here or what the law says here. And if I was one of these people I'm pretty sure I would not be happy telling anyone else, lest it become public knowledge.
    Even telling a GP or a Psychologist, patient confidentiality notwithstanding, they may have legal obligations which trump everything else and oblige them to inform the Gardai that Joe Bloggs is a potential sex offender.

I imagine a GP if confronted with this information would be equally conflicted between treating his patient and serving the public's best interests. This would especially be true if the GP himself has kids.

It's a symptom of a lack of information, and the current public thinking is that paedophiles are just animals with no self-control. AIDS went through the same ignorance hysteria when it was discovered to the extent that people were afraid to even speak to someone HIV postive, lest they catch it.
    Paedophilia is obviously not new, but as we've all said, we have so little information on it that most people are just insanely hysterical about the whole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

diddlybit wrote: »
    That's not very productive is it? If you are not interested in a rational dicussion of the topic, don't bother replying. I have no problem with listening to the views of people that differ from my own and this matter, and was genuinely curious in what you meant, but there really is no point in attacking me.

i wasnt attacking you , i was attacking ivory tower PC wooly liberal do - gooders , the kind of people who dictate social policy on almost every issue behind the scenes theese days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,367 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

This is a notoriously hard condition to study for many obvious reasons from the ethics of the studying to the general hatred and taboos towards people who are attracted to children.

To highlight just how problematic it is, imagine an analogy to medicine. If a doctor receives a patient with a given symptom the first step is to establish if the symptom is caused by the patient having something…. Say a disease, infection etc…. or because the patient is lacking something… a required mineral or vitamin in the diet for example.

Scurvy for example, before it was explained, had people coming up will all kinds of theories, and most of them involved the sick people having caught something. Very few people came up with the idea they were lacking something in the forms of vitamins… before the cure was found to include many lemons in a ships stores (or limes if you were cheapskate British people… hence the name “limeys” for brits).

Clearly both understanding a condition AND treating a condition are massively contingent on knowing if a patient has something, or lacks something.

The issue is that our knowledge of pedophilia has not even reached that level and from what I have read on the subject… the idea of whether pedophiles are sick in that they have something wrong with them that we do not (some mental perversion for just one example), or sick in that they lack something we actually have (certain mental blocks for just one example)… actually divides the community of those with expertise on the issue almost in half.

I tend towards the latter, that they lack something we have, but my reasons for this are not all that strong, but those who lean the other way have similar problems. All we do know is that this is an area we desperately need to know more about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

irishh_bob wrote: »
    i wasnt attacking you , i was attacking ivory tower PC wooly liberal do - gooders , the kind of people who dictate social policy on almost every issue behind the scenes theese days

I don't think anybody is seeking to dictate policy, just posing a tough question that can be easily dismissed by favourite stock phrases like "PC woolly liberal do - gooders" that don't mean anything or actually thought about and analysed.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

K-9 wrote: »
    I don't think anybody is seeking to dictate policy, just posing a tough question that can be easily dismissed by favourite stock phrases like "PC woolly liberal do - gooders" that don't mean anything or actually thought about and analysed.

its a way of describing those who wish to grant equality to every section of , society , no matter how twisted or dangerous , some posters in here are attempting to potray the attitude towards paedophiles as being no different to societys attitude to gay people some fifty years ago , talk about blurring the lines of what consitutes common decency

Jaysus, I don't think anybody has mentioned granting them equality! Discussing the subject isn't dangerous or pc, liberal etc.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

I find it funny how people can call them predators and say they should have no rights etc. I'd like to see how long my account would remain unbanned if I said the same thing about other people with a different sexual preference. Double standard comes to mind!! (and before I'm told the difference between paedophiles and other preferences I'm already aware, but that doesn't make them 'predators' and take away their rights).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

CorkMan wrote: »
    I'm confused as to why people become pedophiles. If "not getting female sex" could be a cause I think there would be more pedophile priests, as the overwhelmingly majority never had sex before.

I think it goes against nature itself to molest children, loads of different animals are part-gay, but how many pedophiles? I think for that reason it is a mental illness, or a product of low self-esteem or something.

Someone pointed out to me one time: it is a sexual preference. Much like woman likes man/man like man/woman likes woman. Which makes it all the more dangerous for children. Rehabilitation? I think not.

a different sexual preference. Double standard comes to mind!! (and before I'm told the difference between paedophiles and other preferences I'm already aware, but that doesn't make them 'predators' and take away their rights).

In fairness nothing could be further from the truth. They ARE predators. And highly organised - as has been proven. We are honour-bound as a society to protect the most innocent (our children) from evil. And this is evil of the worst kind. The other sexual preferences you mention are between consenting adults. There is a huge difference.

Freddie59 wrote: »
    In fairness nothing could be further from the truth. They ARE predators. And highly organised - as has been proven. We are honour-bound as a society to protect the most innocent (our children) from evil. And this is evil of the worst kind. The other sexual preferences you mention are between consenting adults. There is a huge difference.

I'm aware of the difference like I already said.

How are they predators? How has this been proven? My understanding is that they are sexually attracted to children instead of how normal people are attracted to adult males / females. Convicted paedophiles breaking the law may be predators and highly organised but you can't tar them all with the one brush. You're dad could be a paedophile and just ignores his sexual tendencies and instead has had a family for the pursuit of a normal life. My point is that not everyone who is a paedophile is a serial rapist like the tabloids make out.

I'm aware of the difference like I already said.

How are they predators? How has this been proven? My understanding is that they are sexually attracted to children instead of how normal people are attracted to adult males / females. Convicted paedophiles breaking the law may be predators and highly organised but you can't tar them all with the one brush. You're dad could be a paedophile and just ignores his sexual tendencies and instead has had a family for the pursuit of a normal life. My point is that not everyone who is a paedophile is a serial rapist like the tabloids make out.

I don't understand how you are trying to rationalise this horrific behaviour.:confused: Yes, there are probably paedos in some familes (who also act on their behaviour) but these are evil beings, not someone with a 'particular leaning' or sexual preference.

And they are highly organised - through all strata of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭seenitall

A very interesting thread, thank you, OP.
    diddlybit wrote: »
    There is a very small paedophiliac emancipation movement, but they prefer the terms "Child Emancipation."

I find this particular little piece of info chilling to the bone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

you liberals and your moral relavatism , whether they cant help it or not is irelevant , they are a danger to kids and need to be removed from society if they show any signs of predatory behaviour , you wouldnt be so progressive and tollerant if one of your kids was at risk
    Where did anyone say predatory tendencies shouldn't be addressed? One of the points being made is that there could be "closet paedophiles" - those who find children sexually desirable but don't act upon it and certainly don't tell anyone about these feelings. So therefore we don't know about their tendencies. Personally, if someone were to reveal this to me, I'd feel sorry for them as that must be a devastating realisation, but while I don't know for certain whether a lack of self control is inherent in paedophilia, I wouldn't be comfortable with them being near children either.
    you dont take pre - emptive action against a man who walks his dog past a creche everyday , you do move against someone who makes inappropriate advances towards minors on an increasingly regular basis
    I believe that is exactly the point the poster is making. You're just finding defence of child abuse where there isn't any.
    liberals try to shut down debate on issues like this by potraying common sense possitions as broad brush and extreme
    No they don't - show me one example of a "liberal" defending child abuse.
    No they don't - don't be silly. To believe conservatives hold no power is laughable.
    its a way of describing those who wish to grant equality to every section of , society , no matter how twisted or dangerous
    What? Who?

And that phrase is an extremely hackneyed, ignorant-looking phrase that people use to try and sound clever, or is used as a piss-take of Daily Mail outrage merchants.

I don't understand how you are trying to rationalise this horrific behaviour.:confused: Yes, there are probably paedos in some familes (who also act on their behaviour) but these are evil beings, not someone with a 'particular leaning' or sexual preference.

And they are highly organised - through all strata of society.

Because having desires for someone isn't horrific behaviour it's just how you are. That's how I can rationalise it. I'm not trying to rationalise child abuse like you are implying. They are not evil; just because they have a sexual preference towards prepubescents doesn't make them evil. If they act on it then you could argue that they are evil but for those that suppress their urges you could argue that they are the exact opposite of evil.

I don't understand why you keep saying that they are organised as if they are a giant group of individuals plotting against children. I'm not talking about convicted paedophiles or paedophile rings here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

what a weird thread??op do u like pre pubescent children urself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

seriously!!! who the fk is attracted to pre pubescent children and cant help it. dont buy it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

And highly organised - as has been proven.
    Actually it hasn't been proven. Not by a long shot. We've seen that in some cases, they are highly organised. So too can burglars, car thieves and terrorists be highly organised. And just like those types of criminals, we have also seen paedophiles who have acted alone and without any organisation.

But you fail to address the possibility of closet paedophiles who do not act on their feelings.

You use the term "evil" like it's a technical fact. It's an emotive term which fails to recognise that all morality is relative and few people are so morally skewed as to be completely without redemption.

In fact yourself and irish_bob have pretty much proven my point that any attempt to have a rational discussion about the problem of paedophilia gets shot down as an attempt to somehow legitimise it.
    You've taken to the media spin that all paedophiles turn into inhumane monsters, drooling at the sight of children and getting involved in paedophile rings at the first chance they get.

Yet it's highly, highly likely that some (most?) paedophiles never act on their feelings. The problem is that any attempt to study it is met with the kind of rabid stonewalling that yourself and irish_bob display here.

Shane St. wrote: »
    seriously!!! who the fk is attracted to pre pubescent children and cant help it. dont buy it
    Whether you don't buy it or not (translation: you don't like to believe it could be a reality) doesn't make a difference. If there are people who just have that innate attraction, it's just there, then that in itself is not their fault - but obviously acting on it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭T2daK

agreed. Go get help is the answer

what a weird thread??op do u like pre pubescent children urself

No I'm fortunate enough to be attracted to adult women! Thanks for the inquiry though.

Paedophiles.
    T2daK wrote: »
    agreed. Go get help is the answer

Help from who, exactly? The general public? If I was a paedophile I'd much rather keep it entirely to myself because if word gets out you will not be able to live in peace due to people like Shane St. and RachaelVO. You would probably have to move away from your own home and I'd imagine that the paedophile tag would follow you to wherever you moved meaning that you'd effectively have to live in an extremely isolated area and remain relatively anonymous throughout the rest of your life, which is a pretty sad reflection on todays society given they are, for the most part, accepting of all other sexual preferences. Also I'm sure they don't choose to like children. Sexual preference isn't exactly a choice and I'm not sure it can be 'helped'.

I wonder if there was actually a confidential support for paedophiles consisting of health professionals would there be a drop in those convicted? If they could be 'trained' to suppress their urges or curb them in some way? Pity that there are too many thick people in the world to consider the plight that others might have, let alone try to understand them.

In fairness, I doubt anyone's suggesting a person with paedophilic tendencies seek help from the general public - but to do so from professionals would seem a correct course of action to take. The problem is though, as you say, there doesn't seem to be such a service.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Denerick

I think people are deliberately choosing to see the tag 'paedophile' and assume we are talking about people who act on their thoughts, and then get all huffy and self righteous in response.

'You're sick, twisted and disgusting' is not a response unfortunately, at least not one befitting the humanities forum. We need to understand paraphilias if we hope to help people, and I'm sure we can agree, tabloid readers alike, that treating people with paedophilic tendancies, or at least helping them to control their urges, is a positive thing.

... Or, of course, we could round up a mob and get a bonfire started... which seems to be the majority sentiment.

Yeah, the ones who are predatory are predatory, the ones who are organised are organised, the ones who are evil are evil... but the fact that there may be those who would never, ever act on their urges and are none of the above seems to be getting lost...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

The OP (and responders) are confusing consensual behaviour with deviant thought.

Well I'd say it's deviant thought but as long as they don't act on the thoughts, there is nothing to consent too, consensual behaviour doesn't come into the OP's point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Op is suggesting that general public acceptance of homosexuality is at odds with general public revulsion for adults desiring sexual relations with children.

His assumptions are at odds because you can't be against people's thoughts. Thoughts are private and behaviour is not.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,887 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

This is such an important issue that needs to be researched and understood, and I think it's good to have a serious discussion about it.

Louis Theroux did a special called "A Place For Paedophiles" in 2009, where he was allowed unprecedented access to a secure hospital which houses 500 offenders.

He candidly interviewed offenders who give a valuable insight into how their minds work or worked when creating situations to gain access to their young victims.

This won Louis the RTS award for Best Presenter, and it's well worth a look.

For anyone who's interested, here are all 6 bits:

It's important to have an understanding of what the hell it's about in order to treat the cause rather than just the symptoms. Unfortunately some confuse - or want to confuse - that with celebrating/excusing paedophilia. It's nothing of the sort - its aim is to stop paedophiles from carrying out abuse.