Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If... the Unforgiving Minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Toughest session in a long time yesterday - 10 x 1K @ 10K pace.

Did the first of these end of last year starting with 5x 1K in 4min, pushed it up to 6 then 8 in 3:50 at the start of this month. Averaged 3:53 for the ten this week, with 1:30 recovery interval.

Started out at 3:50 for the first, by the end of the 4th I was sure I had done 5 but my watch told the truth. I had a bad nights sleep on Tuesday and I was feeling the effects, but I persevered, keeping the pace under 4 mins and finishing with 3:48 for the 10th one.

When I did the 8, I felt that I could have easily done another two, this time I could not have done another one. My average HR was up from the last time also reflecting the increased effort 161 bpm instead of 156 during the reps and 153 v's 145 during the recovery. Also recorded a max HR of 224 in rep #7, not sure how accurate that is but it was more than a random spike as I hit 210 & 191 in the previous two reps.

Not sure when I will fit in my second session of the week as I will be working late on Thursday, hopefully on Friday.

As predicted, I had a busy week at work and delayed my Thursday session to Friday and it was tough going. Plan was for a tempo interval 3-4 laps of 2.25 km at 10K pace = 9 mins /lap, with 2 mins recovery between each lap.

I had plenty of excuses for struggling - I was mentally and physically tired from the working week; I usually take a rest day on Fridays; it was windy; the course was a mucky, hilly XC course not best suited for fast times; there were some uncontrolled dogs putting me off. Probably it was a combination of all of the above.

I went out hard on the first lap (too hard) in 8:32 with average 166 bpm.

After a 2 min recovery, I pushed it again. After about 200m a large sheep dog decided to use me as herding practice. I knew he would do me no harm but he did not help my pacing and concentration. In fairness to the owner, she tried to control him and apologised; all I could manage were a few expletives. This lap was 8:59 and 169 bpm but I was cream-crackered.

I knew I would not manage 4 now so I settled for 3 laps. This time the sheep-dog was under control but another more menacing dog was loose so I took evasive action to avoid him. This resulted in a shorter 2K lap in about 8:30 with HR of 165 but way slower then planned pace.

Overall it was not a very satisfying run but I took solace in the fact that I had got out there and pushed myself hard. Probably the biggest problem was going too fast on the first lap.

I have a few races planned for the next few weeks. At Easter I am targetting the Carney 10K but I have decided to run another local 10K next weekend as well. My thinking is that I improve with each race and I want to get my pacing right and I will use the first 10K to do that. I am also hoping to knock my 40:32 PB on the head next weekend and then try and pull big one out of the bag in Carney. The first 10K will have a small field, last year 40 mins would have got in the top ten and as it coinicides with the National 10K GIR this year it should be much the same. The Carney race will have a higher quality field with hopefully a few people to chase after and push my limits.

I am not sure if it makes sense but I will give it a go. If I am not feeling 100% I will give the first one a miss and concentrate on my target 10K. Three weeks after that the Streets of Sligo 5K is on and I will try to give my recent 5K PB another rattle. The course has one good hill so might not be the best for a PB. In any case I can not miss the opportunity to run around the streets with no traffic. I did the Streets of Galway a few years ago and it was one of my favourite races, running along the familiar streets, traffic free.

In the meanwhile, I will continue with my usual sessions - Sunday long run, Tuesday intervals, Thursday tempo or hills - probably ease back on the Thursday intensity on the race weeks. Keep running!

Sunday long run, pretty much to plan, nice and easy.

Lap 1 in 30:15 (4:53 pace) HR average 153
    Lap 2 in 29:45 (4:48 pace) HR average 159
    Lap 3 in 36:03 HR average 110 (more watch problems), I added on an extra km or so in this one to make it up to 20km, also had an untimed pit-stop.

HR was a bit higher than usual but after a late night, i was happy enough. A few twinges in left knee and outside right knee (ITB?) but I think it's mostly pre-race nerves.

On mature reflection, I am considering not doing the 10K next weekend and saving my efforts for two weeks later. I have just checked out the route and it is nice and flat for 7.5K, then has a 20m rise over the next mile and back down over the last km.

My main reason for racing next weekend was to get a bit of experience at pacing a 10K and set myself up for Carney 10K two weeks later.

Being a logical person, I am trying to weigh it up:

Pros:
    Get experience of pacing 10K
    Sharpen up for 'A' race
    Get rid of the race nerves
    Enjoy the race, maybe even place in my age-group

Cons:
    Hilly course, may struggle to PB
    Reduced training Thursday to Tuesday
    May not be a "professionally" run race, accurately measured etc
    Risk of injury

Any opinions out there?

Well after getting some (offline) input, I have decided not to run the 10K this weekend, have confidence in my training and concentrate my efforts on the race two weeks later where I hope to do damage to my 40:32 PB.

Joined the club for our two weekly interval session, normally it's 300's or 400's every second Tuesday and on the intervening weeks when they do some shorter stuff I do 1K intervals alone, as I feel I need more of the longer stuff and I can leave the faster stuff until later. Somehow we had got out of sync and this week they were on 200's so I decided to give it a go.

I was not sure what pace I should be at but started off at 34s. Recovery was a jog back along the infield which averaged at 1:21. I had company for the first 8 or so and kept the 200's between 34s & 36s. I lost count on one and ended up doing 13 instead of 12, with the final one in 33s, not too unlucky.

Checked my McMillan pace chart aferwards and my average of 35s is at the fast end of what I should be doing. For my first speed work in over a year, that's not bad and confirms that it's still in the legs when I need it. A few aches and twinges now but nothing serious.

Still felt the effects of Tuesday's speed work in my legs today but went for a 1 mile repeats session anyway. Coping with the extra tiredness in the legs is good practice for a 10K race.

Started the session with the group who were doing about 7 min miles and then pushed on alone for the next 5. Times were 7:00, 6:19, 6:16, 6:09, 6:11, 6:07 - giving an average 6:20, just outside my 10K pace. Recovery times were around 3 mins except for the first one @ 4 mins.

This is similar to one of the Best 10K workouts in this thread.
    I would have followed the sequence more closely if I had read it earlier. I have done a few similar sessions in this 10K build-up and will try the 3 x 2 mile @ 10K pace this time next week. To be effective, I need to ease back a little on my Tuesday intervals.

Next up long run on hills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I'm finding your log a great read, keep up the good work.
    I see you decided not to race which if looking for a PB is probably a good idea.

Since I pulled out of the 10K I decided to hit Knocknarae on Sunday morning for a good hill work out and follow part of the route of the warriors run. I arrived in the car park at the bottom of the tourist trail and the cairn was covered with mist and there was no one else on the mountain. I had forgotten my HRM watch, so I took my Nokia phone with sports-tracker instead - probably a good thing to bring when running alone up a misty mountain.

I followed the trail upwards. The first section was slippy enough, first lesson learnt - make sure to use runners with good grips! Then it gets a bit steeper. I had heard people say about the warrior's run that "everyone slows to a walk at some point". Not me mate, I thought to myself, wrong again. At least on this first attempt I had to slow to a walk a few times, but there's plenty of time for practice in the coming months.

When I got to the top I went around the cairn anti-clockwise and followed what I thought was the warrior's route up. I continued along by the wall for a while and eventually came to the edge of the mountain where I took the photo below, looking down over the bay as the mist was starting to clear. There obviously was another path downwards that I had missed so I headed back to the cairn (always the reference point up here - second photo) and back down the descent.

th_10042011111.jpg th_10042011112.jpg

I could not believe how strong the pull of gravity was and had to rein myself in from flying over the edge. At the steepest parts, I did not take the direct route that I suppose the experienced mountain runners could handle and went the longer route around it. About half way down, I turned off to the right following the fence, in search of the race route, which I never really found, so just headed back up through the heather eventually following a path that brought me back to where I had been earlier.

From there it was around the cairn again and back down, meeting human life forms for the first time and trying not to take flight. By now my feet hurt with blisters, I think from a combination of the sharp stones, perspiration from the now warming day and the side to side movement on the trails. I had gone over on my ankle a couple of times also but nothing serious.

After reaching the bottom, I headed out on the road down towards the glen, keeping it easy all the wasy to the bottom. Back up the Glen Road was not a tough as I had thought from driving the route. In the end it was just over 12.5 km, so not really a long run, but the effort was equivalent. Today I have a couple of tight calves but no after affects.

Below is a screen-shot of profile from sports-tracker showing the ups and downs and corresponding pace.

th_knocknarae2.jpg

One of the things I have found out in the last few weeks is that I can do three quality sessions a week but not push myself hard on all of them. Last week I was tired from my 200m session on Tuesday and could not give everything on my Thursday 1 mile repeats. What I need to do is identify one key workout a week and build the rest around that.

My key workout this week is the McMillan 3x2mile @ 10K pace but I had also done a tough hill session on Sunday last so I needed to ease back a bit on my Tuesday track session as I still had some aches from the hills. I prefer doing my track sessions with company but that can mean fitting in with the group and this week they were doing 800m's.

I went with the group for the first two in 3:19 & 3:24 with 2:45 (400m jog) recovery. I felt comfortable enough with that so moved up and tailed off another guy who was doing around 2:50 to complete #3 & #4 in 2:57 off 2:14 recovery. For #5, I set my own pace and was pleased to hit 3:00 with dead even 200m splits (0:45, 1:30, 2:15). The last one was not as even but finished dead on 3:00 also, which is my 5K pace. Felt good not tired after.

Thought this would be an relatively quiet week at work but looks like I will be working late Thursday again so I will need to reschedule my key workout, hopefully to Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

just found your log and a great read it is. your improvement is very impressive.
    fair play keep it up.

My key workout this week was the McMillan 3x2mile @ 10K pace with 5 minute recovery but I had my excuses for not hitting target times already lined up before I started:
    It was Friday, and Friday is usually a rest day.
    I was tired after a stressful week at work and I had a late working night Thursday involving Guinness and a rich meal.
    I did not have an accurately measured 2 mile flat circuit that I could use.
    The road was wet and slippy in my Nike Lunarglides.

On the positive side my body was well rested since my last session on Tuesday. I measured out a 1 mile stretch close to home on mapmyrun that was relatively flat and planned to do three times over and back. I took my phone with me to reconfirm the distance using sportstracker. I decided my target pace was an ambitious 39 mins = 3:54 /km and 6:17 /mile (my PB is 40:32).

The first rep, I started off a bit quick, but that's what often happens in a race anyway but by the turn point I was down to about target pace and finished at 12:30, so nicely inside 12:34 target, but that was tough.

McMillan calls for a 5 min recovery, which seems a bit long but I was happy to take it. When I checked my phone it showed my distance was a bit long at 3.33 km instead of 3.21, so I decided to start 60m further down the road to knock off the extra 120m.

As I pushed it out this time, there was a beautiful full rainbow in the fields to my left, I almost stopped to take a photo - not now! This time I finished in 12:01, which seemed too good and I could not figure out whether the distance was right or not - my brain loses its normally good mathematical ability when running.

I convinced myself that it was right and five minutes later ploughed ahead with the third rep, managing a 12:08. After a short recovery, my brain regained its mathematical ability and I was able to work out that this was equivalent to a 38 min 10K - something wrong there.

I still have not figured it out properly, its either:
    a) when I paced out the extra 60m, I measured 120m instead due to brain malfunction.
    b) sportstracker and mapmyrun do not measure distance to within 100m accuracy
    c) I am about to knock 2 mins of my 10K PB
    d) none of the above, because its only another training session and just because Greg McMillan says it a great indicator of your 10K time, does not mean it's true.

My vote is with a combination of b & d - I am particularly suspicious of the long recovery period. On the other hand, at least I did not blow up in the middle of the session and find out that I am way outside my target pace. I am still not sure what pace I will start out at for my Easter Monday 10K but I am ready to give my PB a good hammering, bring it on !

Original plan for next week was an interval session at 5K pace Tuesday but the local Fit4Life league also kicks off and I am tempted to run the 2-miler but not race it - hopefully stick to 5K pace, with no big finish. If I think I can't hold back, then I won't do it, or maybe I'm just fooling myself. ;)

might sound a bit ott but would you consider buy an engineers measuring wheel yoke for about €50 (saw them once in chadwiicks or woodies on offer a few months back). they dead accurate and sounds like you could benefit from knowing exact 1 /2 /3/ or whatever route ? just a thought.
    good session all the same.

Did long run Sunday, 20K nice and steady 3x6.2km plus an extra mile on the first lap. Lap times were: 34:51 HR-150; 28:44 HR-154; 29:42 HR-134(?).

Tried out my new Adidas Cushion Response that I got for €60 in Lifestyle for the first time. Happy enough with them as general training shoes. I got 25% off because I traded in my old ASICs which go to make synthetic football pitches apparently. I looked at the Adidas Supernova Glides also which I already have but picked the Response because of the slightly lower heel.

I would like to move towards a minimalist style shoe like the Saucony Kinvara but I also don't like paying full whack for running shoes and I don't see the Kinvaras being discounted for a while. In truth I am too mean to pay over €100 for runners. The ASICs that I gave away had 500 miles on them and I picked them up on a holiday to US in a discount store for about $50. My Adidas SNs were bought on a business trip to Asia for around €60. I also have a pair of Nike Lunar Glides that I got for €50 in TK Max last year and pair of Salomon XT Wings which were reduced in wiggle when the wings2 were introduced.

Tuesday was the first race of the local Fit4Life league - 2 mile handicap at the racecourse. I started with a group of three and let them move away over the first of two laps. My focus is on Monday's 10K so I did not want to go all out. At the end of the first lap, a guy who started about 20s behind me caught up and I decided to stay with him. We reeled in one of my starting group and at the start of the final hill I made a short burst, kept it steady up the hill and pushed again at the top as I felt someone come up on my shoulder. I was not going to get into a sprint finish but felt good to stretch out a little.

I finished somewhere in the middle of the pack with an unofficial time of 11:50 - a bit faster than I had planned but a good warm-up on a beautiful evening for my upcoming 10K. The plan for the rest of the week is easy running with a few strides thrown in.

where is the upcoming 10k ? whats teh course like? you aiming for a pb or how do you think ur fixed.
    good luck anyhoo.

where is the upcoming 10k ? whats teh course like? you aiming for a pb or how do you think ur fixed.
    good luck anyhoo.

I am doing the Carney 10K in North Sligo on Easter Monday.
    I am told it is generally a flat course with a climb of about 40m over about a mile starting around the 4K mark, near Lissadell House if you know the area.

This time last year I was injured and started my come back with this log about seven months ago so I have a few levels of targets for this race.

1. Run 10K without injury and enjoy the race :)
    2. Break 2 yr old PB of 40:32
    3. Break the 40 min barrier :D
    4. Beat a few competitors
    5. On a good day 38:59 ! :eek:

Plan is to set off just under 4 min /km pace for the first 4 K, see how I go on the hill then push or coast home (depending on how I feel) over the last 3K.

Sounds good anyway.

know of the race but never did it.

hope it goes well for ya. nice weather predicted anyhow.

(c'mon the sub 40)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

best of luck sunday , hopefully weather wont be too hot for it ! whats your number ? ,cause if im there i shout you on

Seres wrote: »
    best of luck sunday , hopefully weather wont be too hot for it ! whats your number ? ,cause if im there i shout you on

thanks, don't have number yet, collect on the day I think.

you will just have to shout for everyone so or look out for me in the luminous yellow top :p

Kept it easy during 1 mile reps Thursday. After an initial 7:46, I kept an even 7 min for the next five (HR 152) with 3 min recovery (HR 123). Enough to tire me out on a hot day, but hopefully keep an edge.

Been feeling a few niggles in my left knee over the last few days, but I think they have alwasys been there and I am just paying them more attention with the upcoming race. Begone and do not trouble me.

1. Run 10K without injury and enjoy the race :)
    Check!

2. Break 2 yr old PB of 40:32
    Check!

3. Break the 40 min barrier :D
    Check!

4. Beat a few competitors
    Did not beat them all, but passed a good few on the way in - half marks!

5. On a good day 38:59 ! :eek:
    My watch said 38:59, officially I was a few seconds over, but don't know if that was chip or gun time - half marks, but I'm not complaining.

Race went close to plan, started a bit fast, slowed too much for a few K, unofficial 5K split at 20:04 and came home in about 19:00.

Great crowd, great weather, great spread afterwards, great atmosphere, great race !

I'll do a race report later, off to enjoy what's left of the long weekend now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Well done DL your training deserved it.

fair dues. sounds like you nailed it.

fair play on breakin the 40min on a tough course like that, good day at the office , look forward to the report :)

Had built this race up as a target to break 40 mins, without realising that it had a decent hill in the middle, but my training had gone well and after a good 3x2 mile session (ala McMillan) I knew it was possible as long as I did not mess up.

It was a beautiful summer's day in spring, with a light breeze coming off the sea. As often happens at race starts I struggled to get a signal on my HRM watch which I needed as I can not get lap (km) times without it. I lined up near the front and we were off within 5 mins of the advertised time. I was across the mat in couple of secs and my watch started, great now relax.

The lads in the front row went off at their usual hectic pace. I heard afterwards that the winner Emmett Dunleavy went through the first km in 2:57 and had already established a lead that in the end was almost a minute.

My plan was to be somewhere between 3:56 (39 min time) and 4mins for the first few km. I hit 3:42 & 3:48. I felt good and was at the back of a large group but I knew these were not all going to be sub 39 min runners. I eased back saving something for the hills, next one was 4:06 - a bit too slow but still ahead of 39 min pace. I was probably enjoying the surroundings too much going through the grounds of Lisadell house - a carpet of bluebells on one side, calm sea on the other - worth all the euros spent in the courts to keep the roads open to the public. As I hit the hills near the house, I slowed further with the next two km's both 4:14, bringing me to half way in 20:04. I had already passed a few on the hills, but this was a bit slower than I wanted. According to the official splits, I was in 33rd position at half-way. I had set my 5K PB just 10 weeks ago at 18:52 so I would have to do something similar in the second half of this race to hit the 39 mins.

The sun was out and the day was warming up now so I grabbed a mouthful of water from a cup, threw the rest over me and picked up the pace. During the first 4K, my HR was averaging 165, now I was up at 172. I felt I was moving well, I did not even think about my old knee injury. By now the main group had spread out well and I could see small clumps of runners ahead to aim at down the road, and set about picking them off. I know a few followed me as I picked up speed but I did not look behind once. Next few km's were 3:44 & 3:45. At 8K, my watch said 31:30 (my old 8K PB was over 34 mins in Galway 2008). I slowed a little over the next km as I caught a group of 3 and stayed with them for a while, saving some energy for the finish.

I could see a fellow clubmate a few hundred meters ahead of me and although he was probably out of reach, I had him in my sights as I approached the final km. 3:53 for km #9 left me with a 3:40 to get under 39 mins. In my last 5K, I did 3:30 in the last km so it was possible. Into the last 500m, I could hear someone catching me, probably the same few guys that were behind me from half way, but "no one is going to pass me in the last 400m" and as we rounded into the village of Carney, I stretched out and finished comfortably, but would have needed another few hundred meters to catch the guy ahead.

The missing seconds:
    I did not check my watch immediately after I stopped but I knew I was within a few seconds of 39 mins, which was good enough. I try not to focus on artificial targets like 39 mins or 40 mins but I admit I was disappointed when the official time had me at 39:04. I tried to figure out where I lost the 5 secs on my watch. I started my timer as I crossed the start mat, so assuming they were real mat to mat times, I should be accurate there. In any case it only took me about 2 secs to get past the start mat. Looking at the split times, my first half was officially 20:09 and the second half 18:55 and my timings were 20:04 & 18:55 so the difference was in the first half and either the official time started early or was not sync'ed correctly (I wonder how that actually works?) or my watch lost 5 secs - the most likely answer as I did have problems at the start. Lesson learnt - don't rely too much on your own watch, or get a better one, which I have been saying for months!

Overall I really enjoyed this race, I ran hard without ever feeling much discomfort. My 2nd half was within a few secs of my 5K PB - a negative split by over a minute. Nobody passed my from about 4K onwards and on a perfectly flat course, I could go faster. However despite the hills midway, lots of others had run PBs also, so there was plenty of discussion and chat over the ample tea, sandwiches, biscuits and cakes afterwards. I will do this one again.

PS Sorry about the delay posting this.

enjoyed the report very much dna.
    fair play you hammered the sub 40. a great second half 5k too.
    wouldnt worry about the few secs either way . without jumping the gun , have you any other 10km target races? with maybe a flatter course?
    well done.

enjoyed the report very much dna.
    fair play you hammered the sub 40. a great second half 5k too.
    wouldnt worry about the few secs either way . without jumping the gun , have you any other 10km target races? with maybe a flatter course?
    well done.

Cheers MFA,

No other 10K races in the plan, yet. There are a few coming up over the summer as part of the Sligo Road Race League but none that you could call flat. Around here its hard to run for that long without bumping into some hills. There are a few 10Ks in Mayo also in their road race league but I'm not sure what those courses are like. I may just wait until Autumn to go for another PB.

Next up is the Streets of Sligo 5K in a couple of weeks, again its not flat but a must-do. I also need to decide if I do the Warriors Run in August and build up the mileage and hill work for that.

Any good 10Ks round your way that you'd recommend?

dna_leri wrote: »
    Cheers MFA,

No other 10K races in the plan, yet. There are a few coming up over the summer as part of the Sligo Road Race League but none that you could call flat. Around here its hard to run for that long without bumping into some hills. There are a few 10Ks in Mayo also in their road race league but I'm not sure what those courses are like. I may just wait until Autumn to go for another PB.

Next up is the Streets of Sligo 5K in a couple of weeks, again its not flat but a must-do. I also need to decide if I do the Warriors Run in August and build up the mileage and hill work for that.

Any good 10Ks round your way that you'd recommend?

Caramore 10k , on the 15th May , part of the Mayo Raod League , very flat , great pb course ! , known for it :) , checkout their website

Seres wrote: »
    Caramore 10k , on the 15th May , part of the Mayo Raod League , very flat , great pb course ! , known for it :) , checkout their website

Only problem is the clash with Streets of Sligo. I think I will pass on another fast 10K until the Autumn.

After Monday's race, I rested completely on Tuesday, which was just as well since I was straight back into the thick of it at work. What's the point in a bank holiday if you end up doing two days' work the next day. Same again next week, I expect.

By the time Wednesday evening came around, I was delighted to be back out running again. Weather still beautiful, a chance to forget about work, no injury worries after the 10K - I even had a spring in my step. It was another one of those days that I could have just kept on running but I quit after 7 easy km.

Thursday I was back with the club doing 1 mile repeats. The last few times, I did 6 of these at around 10K pace. This time I was happy to do 4x 1mile with 3 min recovery. Legs felt a bit heavy but times were ok at: 6:17, 6:04, 6:00, 6:11. Not very consistent but close enough to my current 5K pace of 6:04.

The next few weeks will pass quickly until my 5K on May 15 so I will try to get a few faster runs between now and then. I will keep my long run going, though with a lot going on this weekend it may be a bit shorter than usual so I will throw in extra hills to compensate. Next Tuesday I will do a 2 mile local race in fit4Life league - a bit quicker than the last 11:50 will be fine. On Thursday I'm planning short hill repeats, followed by some mile pace reps the following week to sharpen up.

agree with seres about caramore but as you say it clashes with the popular sligo streets.
    am doing the galway 5km series over the next 6 weeks. so after that ill be looking out for a nice 10km myself in the galway/mayo general area. will keep in touch.