If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

PROJECT ROTTERDAM 10.4.11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Speedy44 wrote: »
    Monday
    Rest day

Tuesday
    5.5mls easy, nothing to report, 7:33 pace

Wednesday
    8mls easy, felt good
    Finished antibiotics :D

Thursday
    Last 'hard' session

2mls easy, 2 x 2mls Tempo with 3mins rec(6:06, 6:00), 3.75mls easy.

Felt pretty good. First 2mls warm up was 8+/ml so wasn't sure what the session was going to bring.
    With finishing the meds yesterday, I was hoping to have a bit more energy in the tank.

Did them on the track and was pleasantly surprised with it. First mile of the first 2mls was 6:09, then 2nd one in 6:03.
    When I started the 2nd 2mls I checked the watch and was at 5:47 :eek:, then again the wind was behind me. 1st ml was 6:02 and the last one 5:58.

Good for the confidence after the past few wks.

nice one speedy - had a similar workout myself before the taper proper which does a world of good for the confidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Speedy44

Friday
    Just 5.5mls easy mls at 7:41 pace.

Saturday
    7mls easy @ 7:42 pace.
    No news is good news I suppose!

Sunday
    11.75mls easy & 7:42 pace.

Felt ok, better the further I ran. The usual taper soreness.
    Stomach muscles very tender though and aware not to make and sudden movements when bending over and the like.

Week Distance = 45.5mls

Monday

1 hr easy @ 7:43 pace then I did 6 x 80m strides on the track.
    Felt good, stomach fine again.

Distance = 8.25mls

Tuesday

2mls easy @ 7:46 pace then 4 x 1200m with 2min rec.
    6:15, 6:02, 6:04 & 5:57 pace

It was fairly windy out so took me a bit to get going in the first one.
    They all felt comfortable though (as they should :rolleyes:), just a matter of getting this done really.

Distance = 6.91mls

Note:-
    Got my number for the marathon, its 7912, guess I have to do it now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭seanynova

best of luck speedy will be looking out for the splits on sunday....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

Best of luck Speedy. I'm doing the Daniels thing myself. You've nailed all those tempo/long/tempo runs which are a killer. Enjoy the race.

cwgatling wrote: »
    Best of luck Speedy. I'm doing the Daniels thing myself. You've nailed all those tempo/long/tempo runs which are a killer. Enjoy the race.

cheers cw.
    What are you looking to run yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

All the very best Speedy :)

good luck speedy - you dont need it though!
    Consistent hard training done - enjoy the race

Wednesday
    6mls easy + 6 x 80m strides

Thursday
    4mls easy + 4 x 80m strides

Friday
    4mls easy

Well, after 4 months of trying to follow the Daniels plan as dilligently as I could, it all comes down to this.

Have to say I'm feeling confident, and I'm going to give it my best, and enjoy it.

I have no ailments coming into it, and the weather looks like it should be fine, and I should ge a decent start as I'm in one of the lead pens.

I am going to make sure to take it really easy for the first 5mls especially, but right through 1/2 way, and in fact up to 20mls.
    I'll see where I am at after that.

Before Craughwell I would probably have gone out looking for 2:55, but now I will just go for the sub 3.

Thanks for all the good wishes, I'll have a pint for ye in Paddy Murphys ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,107 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Give a good shot Speedy, remember when you hit half way you've 21 under the belt and only 13 to go ;).
    What's your number so I can have a sneaky peak before the 10k on Sunday.

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Give a good shot Speedy, remember when you hit half way you've 21 under the belt and only 13 to go ;).
    What's your number so I can have a sneaky peak before the 10k on Sunday.

cheers beepbeep
    I'm #7912

best of luck in the National 10k as well.

Sub 3's in the bag for you!

I had a bit of a nightmare in Craughwell too. Don't let it put you off. I'm shooting for sub 3:10 in Kildare.
    I'll have a pint for ye in Paddy Murphys wink.gif
    You better have more than one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭dermCu

Best of luck Speedy.
    Seems like you've done some really good consistent training - I hope you get the result to match it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭tisnotover

All the best Speedy, looking forward to the report!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

Yeah, best of luck speedy. The hard slog of training is all but done. Take confidence that you got through a tough training plan and have come out the other end as fit as you have ever been.

3:13+

Just didn't have it, but I gave it my best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

All you can do is do your best speedy. The heat was savage I believe. Not a bad time considering. Now get some beers into you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Still a great time Speedy, you will hit your target another day. +1 on Slogger's idea, enjoy your evening!

Hard luck speedy, if it was as hot there as it was in Dublin then 3 13 is very respectable. Try to take positives from the experience and enjoy the brewskeys!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

+1 to Sloggers idea...It will happen another day
    Well Done

Enjoy the night Speedy. Nothing wrong with 3:13. You'll be back for more soon enough.

ahh hard luck speedy. interested to read your report. If it was anything like as hot there as here today then it wasnt a day for a PB marathon

youre training was great, you'll hit it next time.

enjoy the beers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,107 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Put it to bed and move one - the summer road racing circuit beckons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

gutted for you mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭seanynova

hard luck speedy,
    did not see that coming off the back of your training!

give us a good report anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Fair play, at least you gave it your best on the day - no regrets that way.

PS great time anyhow.... looking forward to the report

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭tisnotover

Hard luck Speedy, the training you put in deserved a much better time in fairness.

Have those pints and I'm sure the motivation will come back for sure, looking forward to the report all the same.

Splits:

1 - 6:55
    2 - 6:45
    3 - 6:53
    4 - 6:45
    5 - 6:39 - 33:57
    6 - 6:47
    7 - 6:43
    8 - 6:45
    9 - 6:59
    10 - 6:46 - 67:57 (34:00)
    11 - 6:50
    12 - 6:49
    13 - 6:52
    14 - 6:49
    15 - 6:49 - 1:42:06 (34:09)
    16 - 6:49
    17 - 6:48
    18 - 7:09
    19 - 8:41
    20 - 8:19 - 2:18:52 (36:46)
    21 - 8:46
    22 - 7:48
    23 - 9:09
    24 - 8:48
    25 - 7:42
    26 - 8:31
    .38 - 2:54 (7:40/ml)

3:13:54

Where to start!
    Tbh, have to say I'm gutted about this, really thought I had it in the bag this time.
    I hate to make excuses but I'm just trying to get my mind around the reason.

Thinking about it, I think that I missed the guts of a nights sleep on Friday night didn't help. Had to get up at 2.30am to take a 3.15am bus to make the plane at 6:50am from Dublin to Eindhoven. Of couse I was awake before 2am as it was.
    Then had to take a bus to the train station in Eindhoven, and an hour+ of of a train ride to Rotterdam.

After that it was getting close to noon so I figured I may be best picking up my number at the expo first, I wanted to make sure I got into the C pen ok, which I did. Also I figured it I get this out of the way I may be able to catch up on a few hours sleep in the afternoon.

Unforunately, my bag which seemed light enough carrying it a short distance started to get heavier as I had to walk a good mile or more back and forth to the train station.
    Then I had to take another train to where my hotel was in the 'burbs (my own fault for booking late). After that it was another bus, and then another walk of a mile of so to the hotel.

Managed to get an hours sleep but was wide awake then. Got a good nights sleep the nigth before the race (8hrs) figured I'd be ok.

Everything was ok leading up to the race. Got there ok, found a place to drop my bag and got into my pen with 15mins to spare, right up near the front with a bunch of lads from Clonliffe (I think).
    Took a gel and salt tablet and a few more swigs of water. Even had a last second piss in the urinal stratigically positioned near the start line. I had forgot the vaseline and there was a tub of it lying on the ground, so I figured everything was going in my favour.

So before I knew it, we were off.
    I decided beforehand to take it easy no matter what for the first half, so I was constantly checking the garmin.
    Happy to see the 1st ml in 6:55, and second in 6:45. Had in my mind that if I can average about 6:47's for the first half it will get me through in 1:29 or so.
    Hit the breaks a wee bit when I saw the 5th mile in 6:39, but glad to go through the first 5mls in 33:57, just 2secs down on my 6:47 target.

I was also keeping an eye on the official 5K splits incase the garmin screwed up. I had splits of 21:20 in mind to get to 2:59:20 I think.
    Hit the first 5K in 21:30, and the next in 21:07.

All this time I was feeling fine, just cruising really. Had no problem with the water/sponge combo.
    Took my 2nd gel at 6mls, remember thinking that I felt very much in control.
    All the miles up to halfway were the same, no bother. A little concerned when I saw a 6:59 for the 9th mile, but I felt I could pick it up whenever I wanted, and I was determined to take it easy up until 20.

Halfway in 1:29:53.
    Again I was a little concerned that it was slower than I had predicted, but again, I felt fine. The next 4mls up to 17mls were all more or less the same, 6:49. I remember after halfway thinking that I have turned the corner and am heading home.

I think it was about 15/16mls I felt the first signs of fatigue setting in, I think I was starting to feel the heat and thinking about the amount of miles I still have to do.
    When I got to 16mls I calculated that if I run 7min/mls from here I can still do it. I had some time in the bank so I remember thinking why am I still doing 6:49's and hurting, slow it down to 7's for a few and get until 20 and maybe get a second wind.

Around mile 18 I took my 2nd salt tablet, and a mile or so later my last gel.

When I saw mile 18 at 7:09, I'mnot really siure what happened. The legs just weren't there. They weren't cramping like in Dublin, they just had no energy.

There was no way I should have been out of gas at mile 18 at this pace.

After that I was just walking through the water stations and drinking as much as I could. The wheels didn't compleely come off like last time, and I was a little bit happy to see that I was still doing a few of the miles in the 7min+ range.

Anyway, thats it. Like I said, I'm not a happy camper, but I know I have it in me to go sub 3, maybe when all the stars are aligned or something!

I suppose the heat didn't help either. Not sure what the temp was, but the sun was beating down for the duration of it, and while I didn't feel like I was about to pass out (like one poor lad did whom I passed about 23mls been attended to by the medics), I suppose the fact that I was hydrating myself a lot helped.

Thanks for all the comments post race everyone, and for all the advice leading up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭dapope

Gutted for you also.

I followed your training log and the work was done. Your training had you in Sub 3 shape. It just didn't work out on the day. I think the conditions were a huge factor.

It may feel like it right now but no way is this "Back to the drawing board"

I wont say hard luck but congrats on making it through a less than ideal marathon. Thats still a brave effort slogging out those miles from 17 to 26.2. A lot of boardsie's here would bite your arm off for 3 13 in hot conditions! Losing a days sleep wouldnt have helped and the sun is a definite energy drainer. Focus on the shorter stuff for a while building up your speed and then maybe aim for autumn LSR training and a winter marathon..