If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Poitin

• 29-03-2011 03:44PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭

Was in my mates gaff a few weeks ago and having a few cans and all that goes along with it, he turns to me and asks ''Ya want a drop of Poitin?'' After half a tray of Bulmers this was a great idea, knocked two glasses back and i felt brand new.

So got home and was lying in bed and felt the watery feeling in me neck, sure enough there was a late nite session of decorating in the bedroom, carpet, wall, curtin, behind the rad, bed, floor, window, roof.

The 1st time ever i've gotten sick because of drink, but i felt brand new the following morning, no hangover, no headache.

So have you ever tryed Poitin or would ya??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

No.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I tried Italian "Grappa" - fcuk!
    I took a few shorts, stood up and went outside, hit fresh air and that was it - BANG - the stuff hit me and I was gone.
    LETHAL ruddy stuff! LOL :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

My aul fella coerced me into drinking it when I was 12, if that's not child abuse I don't know what is. Fúcking horrific, it felt like the apocalypse in my mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

poitin never gives you a headache, it also has great medicinal quailities.

When I was ages in single digits if I had a sore tooth my father used to make a mouthwash for me of poitin, boiled water and sugar and rinse my mouth out worked all the time.

Also my uncle put a shot in the bottles for his early lambs to help them get through the cold weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Yeah I had it last summer after a night out back at a friends house, we had a few small glasses of it and next thing I know we were all wrestling each other, something we rarely do, i picked one of my friends up on my shoulders in pure poitin fueled strength and another friend dropped kicked me in the chest and we all crashed through a bed, it completely shattered. It was a funny night even though I was freaking out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭RichieC

I prefer Poutine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,452 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Had it, legally, in Japan. The pub sold three different kinds: all one brand, of 70, 80 or 90% strength. Obviously went for a shot of the latter. Didn't taste of anything except burning. Always wondered why they made an 80% version - for when the 70% is too weak, but 90% is too strong?

Also had it illegally, in Ireland. I was about 16, and my friend had a lucozade bottle full of it - got it from his uncle. Only had a few sips, but it also just tasted like burning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Biggins wrote: »
    I tried Italian "Grappa" - fcuk!
    I took a few shorts, stood up and went outside, hit fresh air and that was it - BANG - the stuff hit me and I was gone.
    LETHAL ruddy stuff! LOL :pac:

a few shorts haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Had it a few times. It's burny.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Have tried it. Sure it's just nearly 100% alcohol. Nothing spesh, no biggie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

Had it once, hated it, never tried it again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Haven't had it myself.

Drank a lot of homemade vodka in Poland, which is bloody strong stuff. They sell 100% spirit on the supermarket shelves over there. Imagine selling that here, it'd be a disaster area!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Had it years ago at a friend's house, could feel my organs melt and it tasted like liquid silver.

The girl beside me took the bottle and threw it into the fire :eek: Nice explosion followed suit as we tried fleeing the room.

Could've possibly been petrol :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

Drank a heap of it one Christmas... while working on night duty I should add... woke up at 3pm with me father asking me was I drinking the night before. I asked why... he told me to look out the window. My old 250N was lying on it's side in the front garden, my boots were hanging from the cherry tree and my lid was stuck on top of the bin full of puke... never drank it again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

a few shorts haha

Get the real strong version and thats all it takes! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Yes. Drop of it goes into the Christmas cake too every year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,099 ✭✭✭Stinicker

It cured me of Swine Flu once ! Best Alcoholic drink known to mankind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 AnonoMouse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Haven't had it myself.

Drank a lot of homemade vodka in Poland, which is bloody strong stuff. They sell 100% spirit on the supermarket shelves over there. Imagine selling that here, it'd be a disaster area!

I thought if you drank 100% alcohol it would kill you??? :confused:

Yeah I've had it. Also my mother wouldn't make a Christmas cake without it.

It's good stuff we get though not crap laced with bleach etc, thats the danger with poitin more than the alcohol.

I think its quite nice actually and it has a lovely smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

I'm sure it would! This stuff is meant for homemade vodka as far as i know.

Actually, having had a look it's only 95%.

This is the stuff: http://www.sklep.bizpol.pl/images/spirytus_05.jpg

Some freak I used to live with had some in a water bottle in the gaff.
    One night I had a few mates back and we were on the decks in my bedroom. I remember this stuff was in the kitchen and run out to get it to give the lads a sniff off the vile stuff.
    I passed it around and everyones faces wrinkled up in disgust as to how could someone drink this. Anyway the guy on the decks didn't hear me saying it was poitin, headphones on!, and grabbed the water bottle out of my hand and knocked back a load thinking it was water of course....
    It took but mere seconds before it was sprayed out his mouth all over my bedroom But look on his face was so worth it even though I didnt mean to prank him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

Our cat knocked over a bottle that was stood in a little space between the fridge and the wall, noticed him licking something off the floor but thought no more of it as I didn't notice the knocked over bottle.

He spent the next 48 hours almost comatose on the window sill.

True story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭RichieC

Luxie wrote: »
    Our cat knocked over a bottle that was stood in a little space between the fridge and the wall, noticed him licking something off the floor but thought no more of it as I didn't notice the knocked over bottle.

He spent the next 48 hours almost comatose on the window sill.

True story.

Lucky to come away with its life..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

RichieC wrote: »
    Lucky to come away with its life..

1 down, 8 to go as it were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Lord Derpington

Bloody expensive if you are to buy the legal stuff, like this 90% in Celtic Whiskey Shop is €60 for 500ml :eek:
    Good stuff though, ive had it before and it strong to say the least!

got to love the description though
    Flavour: Warming and peppery, the initial shock subsides, and a balanced fruitiness shows through. With water, the middle taste is longer and reveals more fruit.
    Finish: Long, lingering, and warming with a dry and spicy tail.
    Overview: True to its heritage roots, and an ideal contemporary premium cocktail base.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

100% will more than likely either kill you or just destroy your insides and kill you slowly.

When alcohol is "100%" it's not exactly 100% as that defies physics or chemistry or something (since once it's mixed with water, even the moisture in the air it's no longer 100%). I think the highest that is consumable (technically as a liquid) is 99.5%. but it's not actually meant to be drank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

When closing time comes in my local pub, they shut the doors so the Gardai can't get in, whip out the ashtrays & give everyone who wants it, a wee dram of poitin.

It's nice stuff. Goes well with Guinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Never had it, that said, don't know if I would take it from some guys personal still either. Could kill you in even small doses if it's methanol.

I am getting 2 bottles of Everclear when I go to the US in May, they are sorted already! :) 95% grain alcohol! :D gonna be hammered I think! :D Bringing one bottle home for me an my friends then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Never had it, that said, don't know if I would take it from some guys personal still either. Could kill you in even small doses if it's methanol.

I am getting 2 bottles of Everclear when I go to the US in May, they are sorted already! :) 95% grain alcohol! :D gonna be hammered I think! :D Bringing one bottle home for me an my friends then.

Wouldn't it more akin to moonshine? Since bothare homemade and often tend to be vastly different from maker to maker?