Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speech and language therapy

• 17-03-2011 05:40PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭

Dunno if i'm posting in the right place but i was just wondering if anyone had any ideas for a back up course in case the points for speech and language therapy go up :D I really want to do this course in trinity and I don't have any other ideas haha.
    So i'm just wondering if ye know of a course that would be good as a back way into speech therapy or that might be good instead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Everyone I met who did Speech & Language therapy was a total bitch. So, if you want to best replicate the experience, find a course where you'll be surrounded by bitches. You could start with sociology, it's chock-full of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭investment

happyfish wrote: »
    Dunno if i'm posting in the right place but i was just wondering if anyone had any ideas for a back up course in case the points for speech and language therapy go up :D I really want to do this course in trinity and I don't have any other ideas haha.
    So i'm just wondering if ye know of a course that would be good as a back way into speech therapy or that might be good instead!

Do you go to school on the green?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭happyfish

Thanks i kinda feel like i did something wrong in asking this question...
    investment no i'm from cavan :rolleyes: why do you ask?

Thanks i kinda feel like i did something wrong in asking this question...
    investment no i'm from cavan :rolleyes: why do you ask?

:rolleyes: I would lose the attitude If I was you. specially if you're coming to TCD

attitude? i don't know if you're joking or if i broke some unwritten internet rule but i can see i should just go to a career guidance person or some thing:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭TrollHammaren

Pet wrote: »
    Everyone I met who did Speech & Language therapy was a total bitch. So, if you want to best replicate the experience, find a course where you'll be surrounded by bitches. You could start with sociology, it's chock-full of them.

Jesus. What did you study? I reluctantly agree somewhat with Sociology. I found it full of díckheads in general. Some nice people, too, but they were few and far between.
    investment wrote: »
    :rolleyes: I would lose the attitude If I was you. specially if you're coming to TCD

Are you on drugs, investment? I didn't detect a hint of attitude from the OP. Also, if I recall correctly, you're not even in Trinity (correct me if I'm wrong). Stop scaring away potential students!

Anyway, OP, my girlfriend is doing a Ph.D with the CLCS, so I'll ask her about; she's bound to know someone who can answer for you.

Jesus. What did you study? I reluctantly agree somewhat with Sociology. I found it full of díckheads in general. Some nice people, too, but they were few and far between.

Are you on drugs, investment? I didn't detect a hint of attitude from the OP. Also, if I recall correctly, you're not even in Trinity (correct me if I'm wrong). Stop scaring away potential students!

Anyway, OP, my girlfriend is doing a Ph.D with the CLCS, so I'll ask her about; she's bound to know someone who can answer for you.

I'm kind of in trinity actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

Also, if I recall correctly, you're not even in Trinity .
    He just has a lot of feelings

thanks a million trollhammaren thats brilliant:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭TrollHammaren

thanks a million trollhammaren thats brilliant:)

My girlfriend mentioned "Clinical Speech and Hearing Studies" or something along those lines. Your best bet is to check out http://www.tcd.ie/slscs/

Otherwise you could check out occupational therapy, which is meant to have a few overlaps.

Hope this helps, and don't hesitate to ask if you have any questions at all, I'm happy to answer :)

:D i'm lookin at the link right now it seems like theres loads! and i might try and ring up the occupational therapy dept in cavan to see if they have any info just in case because i don't really know anything about it!
    thanks so much for your help:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭moretothegirl

If its speech and language therapy you definitely want, then if you don't get the points the best thing is to go on and do an undergraduate (can be in any subject but if your specifically interested in SLT I would suggest Linguistics) and once you have completed your undergrad you can apply to UL's 2 year postgrad in SLT.
    You will graduate qualified as a speech and language therapist.

Undergrad in SLT = 4 years
    or 3 year undergrad+2 year postgrad = 5 years

Not that much of a difference and to be honest I know many people who have done the postgrad and the course gets a much more positive feedback than the one in TCD. This might be because candidates are more mature and ready for the courseload by the time they get into UL perhaps.

SLT is a great occupation but be prepared.... that course in TCD is very full on and tough going.

thanks moretothegirl :D yeah i looked at the course in limerick before i think i might go down that road because i really feel like slt is what I want to do so that just makes the most sense if points go up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 sugarplumkin

thanks moretothegirl :D yeah i looked at the course in limerick before i think i might go down that road because i really feel like slt is what I want to do so that just makes the most sense if points go up!

Hey there! I'm taking the back route to SLT myself. I studied Linguistics in UCD, which I really loved and will hopefully do a MSc in SLT soon. You can also get into the UL course with similar degrees such as nursing, psychology etc if you'd be more interested in something else.

They've also very good courses in SLT in the UK if you think you won't get into the Irish ones. They're usually easier to get into as they're interview based (I was accepted to UK but didn't go in the end).

Just so you know you have to take a year out between your B.A. and the UL course as you must have your degree complete before applying. You will also need to get work experience of your own accord to help you get in. Again there is the UK option for SLT as a postgrad.

Hope that helps a bit :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭perri winkles

Hi sugarplumkin

Couldnt help noticing your post, Im doing linguistics in UCD too and hoping to apply for UL in December :D

What kind of work experience are you doing? I've applied ot a good few places but the garda vetting takes so bloody long that I havnt been able to actually start yet!

Do you know anyone who is doing the course down there? I went to the open day in Oct/Nov and it sounds seriously tough to get into :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 sugarplumkin

Ooo another UCD linguist!!! Is this your final year? I loved the UCD course, it was great! Are you enjoying it?

It is very hard to get work experience, the place I'm in at the moment took 5 months for my garda clearance to come through. You can get a quick clearance from your local garda station that some places will take, but they are usually only for short term (week or so) if that might help? Starting anywhere is great. All my experience is special needs based so I'm looking into acquired brain injury and stroke organisations to get some work experience in the aphasia side of things.

I've been doing a good bit of work experience, volunteer speech and language therapy assistant, shadowing SLTs, volunteering as a special needs assistant. I get to sit in with the SLT in the school I volunteer in at times, as well as work one on one with the children. The speech therapists are always very willing to help you out anyway they can and answer any questions you might have.

Have you applied to many places? Even if they aren't able to offer and work exp for you organizations and schools are always very helpful with providing information.

I don't know anyone doing the course at the moment but I know someone who has finished it. It's meant to be a really intense course, but so worth it in the end! It is really tough to get into, I didn't get in the year and the other girls I know who applied didn't either eep! But next year, we might even be there together!!:D:pac:
    Hi sugarplumkin

Couldnt help noticing your post, Im doing linguistics in UCD too and hoping to apply for UL in December :D

What kind of work experience are you doing? I've applied ot a good few places but the garda vetting takes so bloody long that I havnt been able to actually start yet!

Do you know anyone who is doing the course down there? I went to the open day in Oct/Nov and it sounds seriously tough to get into :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭perri winkles

Yeah I'm in final year, I thought the course was ok Im not the biggest fan of UCD to be honest, so looking forward to finishing! Also UCD fuucked up my timetable last year so only doing a minor in Lingo now unfortunately :(

Wow fair play to you, you're doing loads! I'm doing work once a week with an autistic boy and have been doing that since 4th year in school and love it. Going to meet a man from Acquired Brain Injury Ireland today actually so hopefully that goes well. I've started with an organisation that helps people with special needs in the community and helos them get out, socialise etc so I like that too. I also work in a hospital part time so always in contact with patients and the likes so could be worth putting down on the application!

I really need to get on it properly though the year is flying can't believe it's nearly summer! :eek:

Oh god so did you apply last year? From what I heard it sounds like everyone applies at least twice to get in, very few get it on the first go (Sounds like that anyway!) I think if I don't get it I'll apply to England, couldn't take another year out :(

What kind of work did your friend do who's finished the course? Never know we might both be doing it!:p Although I have a feeling I won't get it eek:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Quibbler

Happyfish there's great info there for you so hopefully all your questions have been answered :) If you end up following the postgrad route feel free to get in to get in touch with me.
    I have literally just been accepted onto the UL programme so will be starting in September!

Quibbler wrote: »
    I have literally just been accepted onto the UL programme so will be starting in September!

Bit off a come down from TCD :cool:?

Thanks guys i really appreciate it:D feel like i'll probably be doing the post grad route so its great to have the info!
    edited to say well done on getting into ul!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Groinshot

investment wrote: »
    Bit off a come down from TCD :cool:?

You have to be in Trinity to make comments like that. We don't like people who pretend to be as good as we are.