If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Router Port forwarding

• 25-02-2011 01:41PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭

Hi Lads,

Need some community help with my new router.

It will not connect to any game on xbl. Connects to xbl fine... but when I try to join/create a game, I can't connect. Now I am aware of the port forwarding requirement but it aint feckin working. I went to portforward.com and technically my router, although new, isn't listed.

I have this router. It is technically not listed but I think that this one is the closest. It certainly looks like the same/similar firmware. Link.

The problem is that when I try to follow that, or even using a bit of common sense where its different, I get a "DUPLICATE PORT NUMBER" error when I try to put in start and end ports of the same number even though it is this that's suggested in the guides.

Any ideas? - I really don't want to have to change out a router every time I want to play some SSF4 online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

Does it have a upnp option? Thats the easiest way to do it if it does.

EDIT: Quick google says it does so turn that on and use automatic for your ip address in the xbox settings. That should do the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭ayjayirl

It does.... I set them..

Active the Universal Plug and Play(UPNP) Service - on/ticked

Allow users to make configuration changes through UPnP - on/ticked.

These weren't on but I am pretty sure that they were before I tried to 'fix' it.

I have set them back to 'on' ad will try it again later. I'll post up when I try.... I hope it works.

Thanks Bush!

Ye just use upnp and dont change any port forwarding settings at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

does this mean lagless games btw?

No it wont fix any lag unless the new router is better than the old one, maybe.

Placebo wrote: »
    does this mean lagless games btw?

If I can get it working I think it will be as lag-less as can be done with our line.

Lag has nothing to do with your losses btw....

ayjayirl wrote: »
    If I can get it working I think it will be as lag-less as can be done with our line.

Lag has nothing to do with your losses btw....

your the one that always leaves after i download you after one game
    "cant tech, too laggy" - make that your motto ?

I thought you guys got a new connection, which is why i assumed there is a new router. anyway anything that can help get rid of that lag so you can tech

Placebo wrote: »
    your the one that always leaves after i download you after one game
    "cant tech, too laggy" - make that your motto ?

I thought you guys got a new connection, which is why i assumed there is a new router. anyway anything that can help get rid of that lag so you can tech

Hopefully.

Download me? Good one. ;)

182287_10150129279830115_567805114_8255476_3312994_n.jpg
    i cannot wait for our first to 10 at inferno.
    its ****in on Aaron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

If you still have no luck you could try putting the 360 on your routers DMZ