Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

vote green

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭vaalea

robbie1977 wrote: »
    How many seats do you predict the green party to win vaalea ?

No idea, not into betting n that sort of thing... just hope for the best. :P and keep the conversation going i suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Koyasan

telekon wrote: »
    Maybe if we vote them back in they can triple the carbon tax rate. Yay! :rolleyes:

Some of us depend on transport for their work. Disaster of a tax.

€1.44 at the moment!! Jesus, like.

If you depend on transport for work you shoudl eb happy that the Greens are incentivising those who are going to buy new vehicles anyway to buy low emmissions vehicles now before the the price of oil hits $150 dollars a barrel shortly.

The carbon tax they introduced represents less than 3% of what you pay at the pump. The majority of the increase has more to do with demand in China for a decreasing resource than anything the Greens do. The money is also used to fund the warmer homes scheme, reducing the energy bills of the most vulnerable.

newtadis wrote: »
    il vote for the greens if they legalize green :)
    John Gormley answered a question on this on youtube. He said he believed criminalising people for using a small amount of it doesn't make sense and that there are better uses for Garda resources. I imagine you wanted more, but it seems like the best you will get at this point.

My local Green candidate doesn't have a chance,

so this is how I'm voting:

No.1 to the Greens so they get 2% of No.1s nationally and are able to keep an office open.

No. 2 (which will definitely transfer) to someone with a chance.

Two birds, one STV ;).

If you also have a Green no-hoper in your constituency, consider giving them your No.1 and your No.2 to your real first preference so the Greens can continue to campaign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,989 ✭✭✭✭recedite

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    refusing to acknowledge that technologies such as nuclear would help address carbon issues while backing unreliable and expensive wind is....Every time I see Eamon Ryan say the words smart and green I want to punch the imbecile.
    Your own graphs show that onshore wind is one of the cheaper sources of electricity in the long run, because of zero fuel costs.

This attitude that greens are all anti nuclear is outdated. Some are, and some aren't.
    Many believe that it's the only way left to reduce CO2 emissions enough to combat global warming, and that modern plants are safer than the one originally planned for Carnsore Point.
    Eamon Ryan has many times called for a debate on nuclear in Ireland. What other politicians are proactive on the nuclear issue?
    He also believes that the smallest viable modern plant would be around 1MW, and that is too big for us, considering that when a plant is shut down for maintenance, other similar plants need to be there to cover the demand.
    What is your position on this aspect of it? I'd say you would be an asset to any Green debate on the subject.
    Ryan has organised electricity interconnectors to the UK instead, whereby we can export surplus wind generated power, and import nuclear derived power.

The less well informed will no doubt complain that importing nuclear generated electricity is hypocritical for a non nuclear country, but such is life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭johno2

recedite wrote: »
    Eamon Ryan has many times called for a debate on nuclear in Ireland. What other politicians are proactive on the nuclear issue?
    He also believes that the smallest viable modern plant would be around 1MW, and that is too big for us, considering that when a plant is shut down for maintenance, other similar plants need to be there to cover the demand.
    That should be 1GW which is the mean size of modern nuclear plants.

You're right about it being too big, that would be bigger than moneypoint, and moneypoint is actually 3 separate plants all in the same place. They regularly have one of them shut down for cleaning and servicing. I suppose that ideally we'd build 3 x 1GW plants and remove 2GW worth of old fossil stations. That would leave us with enough capacity if one of the nuke plants had to be shut down for some reason.

I was anti-nuke back in the Carnsore days, and rightly so too, but things have changed.

johno

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭vaalea

Just slightly exhausted from the last few weeks of canvassing. With less than 24 hours till the polls open, as oil prices heading towards €120 a barrel, maybe its time to wean ourselves of oil and gas, and vote green tomorrow, but I would say that, wouldn't I? - Cuffe

RE NUCLEAR
    Imagine the fifty years ago, you had a delightful little baby boy, full of hope and promise. You spared no expense in bringing him up: private tutors, piano classes, fancy summer camps. You raided your retirement fund to pay for his college education, financed his travels around the globe, even put off retirement when he needed to move back into the house after being unable to find a job. Now he's 50, playing Grand Theft Auto in the basement, and asking what's for dinner.
    That's pretty much the story of the nuclear industry in the United States. A new report from the Union of Concerned Scientists, "Nuclear Power: Still Not Viable Without Subisidies," details the more than 30 different subsidies that are lavished on nuclear power at every stage of its production. Taken together, these subsidies "often have exceeded the average market price of the power produced." That is, it costs more to prop up the industry than its product is worth. What if we subsidized clean energy instead?
    --Paul Rauber
    http://sierraclub.typepad.com/sierradaily/2011/02/deadbeat-fuels-part-1-nuclear.html

Don't think you want to focus on nuclear at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

bye bye greens , you useless pack of t0ssbags

DaDumTish wrote: »
    bye bye greens , you useless pack of t0ssbags

I'm sorry to hear you're emigrating.

johno

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Koyasan wrote: »
    If you depend on transport for work you shoudl eb happy that the Greens are incentivising those who are going to buy new vehicles anyway to buy low emmissions vehicles now before the the price of oil hits $150 dollars a barrel shortly.

The carbon tax they introduced represents less than 3% of what you pay at the pump. The majority of the increase has more to do with demand in China for a decreasing resource than anything the Greens do. The money is also used to fund the warmer homes scheme, reducing the energy bills of the most vulnerable.
    3% + vat and if they get in they intend doubling it to 8 cent/ liter + vat. What they should do is bring down the price of lpg and give grants to convert cars to lpg as it is a cleaner fuel. But then their tax take will fall, clean air in one hand money in the other hand which hand will the greens use? The money hand :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭jimaneejeebus

Your mom vote green. They say they'll liberate us from oil by 2020 with freakin wind-farms. What happens when it's not windy.

I never heard the 2020 reference. I'd like to see a link if you have one.

There's a lot of ways to store energy. You could plug your electric car into your houses electricity and charge it up when it's windy. Then if you want to boil the kettle when it's not windy, you can draw electricity from the car if the load on the grid is too high.

There's also hydro systems like turlough hill, poulnapuca and ardacrusha that can store lots of energy and deliver it when it's needed. We'd need to build a lot more of those to get us through the windless days though. Click here -> http://spiritofireland.org/

johno

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

johno2 wrote: »
    You could plug your electric car into your houses electricity and charge it up when it's windy.

Sorry Johno, but have you ever tried to get a parking space anywhere near your house or apartment in an Irish city ?

You'd need about a mile-long extension lead in some areas.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Sorry Johno, but have you ever tried to get a parking space anywhere near your house or apartment in an Irish city ?

You'd need about a mile-long extension lead in some areas.

If I put my arm out my bedroom window I can touch my car. There are electric charge points in college car parks now. That's the only place I've seen them so far, but they've started to pop up in the last couple of years.

johno

EDIT: And I'm in an Irish city btw.

If I put my arm out my bedroom window I can touch my car. There are electric charge points in college car parks now. That's the only place I've seen them so far, but they've started to pop up in the last couple of years.

johno

EDIT: And I'm in an Irish city btw.

One example doesn't disprove my point.

Ever been to areas like Fitzhaven, where you're lucky to get to park on the road within 100 yards of your house ?

One example doesn't disprove my point.

Ever been to areas like Fitzhaven, where you're lucky to get to park on the road within 100 yards of your house ?

Nope, but one example doesn't prove your point. :p

johno

Nope, but one example doesn't prove your point. :p

johno

One example with 30 houses certainly trumps an example of one house! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭thenutflush

The green party were a party people voted for when all the usual concerns of the electorate ie. how much money they have in their pockets, became eliminated, in our case by a property bubble and credit fueled boom.

When people have no money worries or safety worries, they invent/ exaggerate things to worry about ie. the big fuss about global warming and peak oil, both of which I've heard nothing about in the past 3 or 4 years. This has taught me not to buy into the scaremongering by the media on a new threat every few years. In 5 years time we'll be back to worrying about terrorism, or nuclear fusion, or hyperinflation, or water supplies running out, or something, until theres another recession and these problems suddenly disappear :rolleyes:

Originally Posted by johno2 viewpost.gif

Their manifesto ?????

Quote:
    There's a lot of ways to store energy.

Yes
    Quote:
    You could plug your electric car into your houses electricity and charge it up when it's windy. Then if you want to boil the kettle when it's not windy, you can draw electricity from the car if the load on the grid is too high.

But what if it's not windy??
    Quote:
    There's also hydro systems like turlough hill, poulnapuca and ardacrusha that can store lots of energy and deliver it when it's needed.

True-

Quote:
    We'd need to build a lot more of those to get us through the windless days though. Click here -> http://spiritofireland.org/

Where exactly have the greens signed up for this?

One example with 30 houses certainly trumps an example of one house! ;)

I live in a housing estate with about 25 houses, all very similar. Most houses in Limerick have a driveway, lots have a driveway big enough for 2 cars.

Where is Fitzhaven anyway? In Limerick?

Surely you're not gonna blame the Greens for building it are you?

johno

If anyone were a true environmentalist, they'd know that nuclear power is the only source of energy that will 'liberate' us somewhat from fossil fuels.

People really need to learn some basic science

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

dynamick wrote: »
    I'm voting green because I'm interested in energy use, transport and planning and the greens can see that they're all linked together. Plan cities badly and you can't put in good public transport and your energy use shoots up.

The other parties see consumption as part of wealth. One component of GDP is public consumption. So the more crap you buy, the richer you are. To me this is nonsense and I'm happier with a philosophy of efficiency and reuse.

The greens have made mistakes but they've been in government in the toughest financial crisis that came about as a result of policies they opposed.

Lastly I think the left-right thing is over. We need public services and welfare but we also need a good competitive business environment. I don't want a union funded and controlled labour party or a wannabe tory party with Varadkar and Creighton at the helm, pretending they are different from Fianna Fail despite being funded by the same companies and wealthy people.

so Vote Green tomorrow!
    So, lets all vote green because it really wasn't their fault.

They didn't know that;
    (a) Preventing stag hunting would condemn us, and our descendants,to debt,
    (b) Increasing carbon taxes, that have no relevance to the environment but to exchequer, would have no benefit to stopping Global Warming (Sorry, Climate Change)

Vote Green, were a naive shower of ****es but we deserve our pensions,
    Vote Green, we'll give you broadband, on a stick (not broadband
    Vote Green, because we're more smug than the rest
    Vote Green, because we don't achieve
    Vote Green, Planet Gormless is utopia; Whatever Planet Gormley is (It may change)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Jim Stark

vaalea wrote: »
    vote green. people love to vote for the same old parties thinking they are going to get a CHANGE?! A real message to politicians is kicking old parties to the curb and seeing if a different party can breathe some fresh air into politics.

a vote for green IS a vote for the economy if any of you have been reading up on the economics of climate change and green collar jobs. Green Party is not just about environment, it is about sustainability in all areas, and that means long term employment prospects, not short sighted quick fixes.. and it means working for priceless equality and quality of life rather than quick big $$.

Why do so many people overlook the greens?

No.

Their manifesto ?????
    Their manifesto says the target is to produce 40% of our energy from renewables by 2020. How does that liberate us from oil?

johno

If anyone were a true environmentalist, they'd know that nuclear power is the only source of energy that will 'liberate' us somewhat from fossil fuels.

People really need to learn some basic science

You've got a point there. I take it you're going to vote for the party that has construction of nuclear power plants on their manifesto then.

johno

Their manifesto says the target is to produce 40% of our energy from renewables by 2020. How does that liberate us from oil?

johno

Their manifesto says they will "Roll out a strategy to set Ireland on the road to being an oil free economy by 2030."

What?

are we going to have
    No plastic?
    No steel?
    No Cars?
    No Food?

What planet are you living on?
    Learn some basic physics before you go yapping on about stuff you really don't understand.

I live in a housing estate with about 25 houses, all very similar. Most houses in Limerick have a driveway, lots have a driveway big enough for 2 cars.

Where is Fitzhaven anyway? In Limerick?

Surely you're not gonna blame the Greens for building it are you?

johno

As you said yourself - "lots" have a driveway big enough for two. Not "all".

And what about 3 people renting a 3-bed house?

I'm not blaming the Greens for building anything, so quit being mischevious!

I am blaming them for foisting unworkable solutions on us, and for taxing people who have no choices even more.

Create the alternatives and then charge the same or less for those; then I'll consider the greens as being in the real world.

Mind you, even then they'll get no forgiveness for NAMA & Anglo & propping up FF, so let them off in their own planet - it'll keep them occupied during their forthcoming unemployment.

You've got a point there. I take it you're going to vote for the party that has construction of nuclear power plants on their manifesto then.

johno

I haven't seen a party that has this on their manifesto, but if they did-even if it was fianna fail- I would vote for them.

This is the only currently available technology that can have us somewhat fossil fuel independent.

Their manifesto says they will "Roll out a strategy to set Ireland on the road to being an oil free economy by 2030."

Fine, I asked you for a link to tell me where you saw them saying they would liberate us from oil be 2020? You still haven't done that, and changing 2020 to 2030 isn't fooling anyone except yourself.
    What?

are we going to have
    No plastic?
    No steel?
    No Cars?
    No Food?

What planet are you living on?
    Learn some basic physics before you go yapping on about stuff you really don't understand.

We don't produce cars or steel in this country, it's all imported. Plastic and food can be produced without oil (well mineral oil anyway). And where did you pull these claims that we'll have none of these products in our lives anyway? Just don't send me a picture please, I've seen goatse already and I don't need to see it again.

Where do you think my understanding of physics is failing me? You can't seem to grasp the concept of storing energy, so I'd be very interested in seeing how you think you know more about the subject than I do.

johno

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

vaalea wrote: »

Why do so many people overlook the greens?

cos they made fuel MORE expensive, bailed out when the tough got going, & in general have no balls.

soon ye'll be gone they way of PD's