Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girls Clan [G!RL]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,846 ✭✭✭Jet Black

GunnerG!RL wrote: »
    I was just replying to the fact that the clan was not only set up for mw2, maybe some girls just adopt the clan name an its not the only girl/lady clan there are many more. our G!RL CLAN have been playing online together for 4yrs & we are in fact in process of trademark register because of approches of sponsership:D our member have grown from 2 - over 100

You might be a little late...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

I didn't find that too great tbh, just me? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Leeg17 wrote: »
    I didn't find that too great tbh, just me? :confused:

Its no "Magill - Supertage" thats for sure :D

What'd you expect lee ? They are girls after all !!! Pfff

You know what would be a great idea actually, if we could organise a few games, boardsies vs girls clan ??? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Magill wrote: »
    Its no "Magill - Supertage" thats for sure :D

What'd you expect lee ? They are girls after all !!! Pfff

You know what would be a great idea actually, if we could organise a few games, boardsies vs girls clan ??? :D

Definitely not :pac:

I wouldn't mind doing some competitive sometime in the future, maybe in the summer, I know Ade mentioned it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Sprrratt

I got my girlfriend to try and play zombies one time. She slapped me silly after 1 game of looking at the ceiling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

Feckin I phone :/

We should def have a few games with / against the girls clan . Just for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,970 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Girl on my Friend list in the UK is currently Prestige 14 Level 30, she is a fantastic player :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

LakesKeane wrote: »
    We should def have a few games with / against the girls clan . Just for the craic

pun intended ? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Tommy_NDX

LakesKeane wrote: »

Yeah definitely. We'd totally win the game over them though..................wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 GunnerG!RL

the montage above was not great i must say my G!RL's would put them to shame :p as for the trademark i see they are G!RL squad well im paying for trademark check :eek: lol so we'l see soon.. but the G!RL's with me are being noticed for there efforts most my f/l which is full of girls only have good ratio an play all game modes.. we get horrible abuse for winning matches or having higher kill ratios at d end of game you guys seriously need to give the girl gamers a chance not all are ****ty players lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 GunnerG!RL

bt judging by above comments i dont tink i shall waste anymore time here:mad::mad::mad:

I was being serious. :confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

What exactly is the point of an all-girl clan?

I'm a girl btw and have played competitively for years in other games but I still don't get the point of all-girl teams.

liah wrote: »
    What exactly is the point of an all-girl clan?

I'm a girl btw and have played competitively for years in other games but I still don't get the point of all-girl teams.

Maybe they dont want sweaty 14 year old boys drooling over them. Any girl gamers i've ever known of have always had a legion of these ejits kissing their asses all day even tho most of them sucked balls !!

The only girls with legions of guys following them around are the type who just want the attention anyway, more often than not. It's not hard to tell those eejits to feck off, I've done so many times.

I just think the whole 'girl gamer' thing is really counterproductive, particularly when so many companies have girl gamer teams that are only there for show instead of actually being proper competitive players, which again is incredibly counterproductive.

The idea of girl clans seems unnecessarily divisive and perpetuates the "omg, a girl on the internet?!" ridiculousness.

The only girls with legions of guys following them around are the type who just want the attention anyway, more often than not. It's not hard to tell those eejits to feck off, I've done so many times.

I just think the whole 'girl gamer' thing is really counterproductive, particularly when so many companies have girl gamer teams that are only there for show instead of actually being proper competitive players, which again is incredibly counterproductive.

The idea of girl clans seems unnecessarily divisive and perpetuates the "omg, a girl on the internet?!" ridiculousness.

I agree, although there are/were a bunch of female tournaments at ESWC/CPL etc so i guess that would be a good reason for girls to clan up when it comes to competitive gaming and for companies to sponsor girl teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭Saaron

My Bf and I play COD together all the time, almost everyday! It's so addictive! :D

I agree, although there are/were a bunch of female tournaments at ESWC/CPL etc so i guess that would be a good reason for girls to clan up when it comes to competitive gaming and for companies to sponsor girl teams.

Any girl worth her salt should be able to game with the guys, I just don't get the need for the voluntary segregation. There's a lot of really good guys who game, I'm still friends with some that I've known because of gaming and I've known them easily 5+ years.

It's basically perpetuating 'girl on pedestal syndrome,' because by separating ourselves and making ourselves inaccessible to the boys, they start acting like idiots towards us because they don't get that we're just like them in that we wanna game because they have no exposure to it because we're cutting ourselves off. Idiocy perpetuates idiocy and now you have idiots who say 'tits or gtfo' any time they hear a girl's mic ingame.

I'd find it incredibly rare that a 'guy team' wouldn't accept a girl onto the team if she was otherwise qualified, I've never seen it happen anyway, yet girl teams do it all the time.

Plus, being girls is pretty much the only thing we'd have in common (outside of the game, of course)-- I'd rather play with a good mixed team I can communicate with and have a laugh with than sit there worrying about everyone's gender.

All-girl teams tend to make a huge deal out of the fact that they're all girls. Erm, why should that make a difference? You should want to be judged on your merit, not the skill it takes to possess a vagina (which, frankly, isn't much!). Maybe I'm a purist but I'm in it for the game, not the attention. Girl teams.. well, who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Drop the sexism and rape jokes please. Not funny. Thanks.

Any girl worth her salt should be able to game with the guys, I just don't get the need for the voluntary segregation. There's a lot of really good guys who game, I'm still friends with some that I've known because of gaming and I've known them easily 5+ years.

It's basically perpetuating 'girl on pedestal syndrome,' because by separating ourselves and making ourselves inaccessible to the boys, they start acting like idiots towards us because they don't get that we're just like them in that we wanna game because they have no exposure to it because we're cutting ourselves off. Idiocy perpetuates idiocy and now you have idiots who say 'tits or gtfo' any time they hear a girl's mic ingame.

I'd find it incredibly rare that a 'guy team' wouldn't accept a girl onto the team if she was otherwise qualified, I've never seen it happen anyway, yet girl teams do it all the time.

Plus, being girls is pretty much the only thing we'd have in common (outside of the game, of course)-- I'd rather play with a good mixed team I can communicate with and have a laugh with than sit there worrying about everyone's gender.

All-girl teams tend to make a huge deal out of the fact that they're all girls. Erm, why should that make a difference? You should want to be judged on your merit, not the skill it takes to possess a vagina (which, frankly, isn't much!). Maybe I'm a purist but I'm in it for the game, not the attention. Girl teams.. well, who knows?

^ When i was into competitive CS i would have had no qualms letting a girl join our clan as long as she was good enough(I've never played with or against one that was.. at least in CSS, im sure there are a few tho) and could attend lans etc. I guess its just a numbers thing, its just not common to see girls playing games, hence why some guys act like they've never talked to a girl before when they see one online (Maybe they actually haven't :D).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

Why have a Boards clan? Or an Irish clan? Or any clan other than those that have a significant effect on the game (skill, strategy, etc)?

As AlisionB said, "P.S: A bit of Craic!". It's probably more of way for girls to make some on-line friends (that also happen to be girls) then for serious competition (which of course could evolve if the players thought they were good enough).

Why have a Boards clan? Or an Irish clan? Or any clan other than those that have a significant effect on the game (skill, strategy, etc)?

As AlisionB said, "P.S: A bit of Craic!". It's probably more of way for girls to make some on-line friends (that also happen to be girls) then for serious competition (which of course could evolve if the players thought they were good enough).

Because no one cares if it's a Boards clan, or an Irish clan, or anything else. There's actual valid reasons why girl teams are counterproductive to both the gender and gaming community and I've listed them, more or less, already. There's no real valid reasons why boards or Irish teams would be counterproductive.

Since when did playing video games have to be productive?

I can get what you are saying, but I think the having the craic here is important. Much like the Ladies Lounge exists on boards, a girls clan just helps girl to socialise/play on a different medium.

I don't see how seperating by race, gender, religious beliefts, etc really make a difference tbh. There are clans for over 30's. Why? Cause it increases the chances of people enjoying playing together, of having a similar mindset. Why do boards guys play together? Again, similar interests (and just to have someone to play with). It's not guranteed that everyone will have more in common, but it does increase the likelihood.

Guys acting stupid around girls on-line is common, well before there ever was a girl clan. I would imagine some girls like to separate themselves because of this. Not the inverse, which you seem to imply, that by girls having clans makes them inaccessible. You could say it 'perpetuates the "omg, a girl on the internet?!" ridiculousness', I would say it actually helps to better represent there are girls in the first place. Many girls intentionally make sure they cannot be identified as girls (not have typical feminine name, etc), and would go by unnoticed. I've seen one commentator on YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/XoUrBrownEyedGirloX , Northern Irish, 30k+ subscribers) who seems to be good in CoD, otherwise, you don't really hear much about female CoD players.

In fact, I think a girl clan with skilled players has a lot of good potential. If they did videos, for instance, they would probably get a good YouTube partnership setup. They would get a lot of attention, and would probably help to draw in further girls. And what is wrong with wanting that attention? Thats the name of the game these days, particularly on CoD, where names like Seannanners, Hutch, etc. are famous.

Since when did playing video games have to be productive?

It doesn't, but it certainly doesn't mean I can't disagree with the principle in the bigger picture.
    I can get what you are saying, but I think the having the craic here is important. Much like the Ladies Lounge exists on boards, a girls clan just helps girl to socialise/play on a different medium.

The Ladies' Lounge still permits men.

Having the craic is great and all but it's very much missing the bigger picture here. If we want people to stop treating us poorly ingame or undervaluing us ingame, segregating ourselves is counterproductive. It gives people labels to slap on, it means guys aren't getting exposure to girl gamers reinforcing girl on the internet syndrome (which is a MASSIVE pet peeve of mine), it means it reinforces with the girls that the guys are idiots and not to game with them, it reinforces to guys that we don't want to game with them because they're idiots, which reinforces the abuse we receive from them because they're bitter and so on and so on and so on.

It just drives an even bigger stake between guys and girls online and I hate that stake. I hate it so much.
    I don't see how seperating by race, gender, religious beliefts, etc really make a difference tbh. There are clans for over 30's. Why? Cause it increases the chances of people enjoying playing together, of having a similar mindset. Why do boards guys play together? Again, similar interests (and just to have someone to play with). It's not guranteed that everyone will have more in common, but it does increase the likelihood.

I get your point, but it's kind of irrelevant. Sure, they may have some things in common, but it still doesn't make it a good idea. Particularly if they're segregating themselves because of the ignorance of others. But I just don't see the abuse towards the rest nearly as much as I see it towards girls, and as a girl who games myself it's something I'm really bloody sick of because it has direct repercussions on me. If the others had direct repercussions on me I'd argue against them, too, in much the same fashion really.

In my experience, exposure is the best medicine for idiocy, and by segregating ourselves we're limiting our exposure which just reinforces the cycle.
    Guys acting stupid around girls on-line is common, well before there ever was a girl clan. I would imagine some girls like to separate themselves because of this. Not the inverse, which you seem to imply, that by girls having clans makes them inaccessible. You could say it 'perpetuates the "omg, a girl on the internet?!" ridiculousness', I would say it actually helps to better represent there are girls in the first place. Many girls intentionally make sure they cannot be identified as girls (not have typical feminine name, etc), and would go by unnoticed. I've seen one commentator on YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/XoUrBrownEyedGirloX , Northern Irish, 30k+ subscribers) who seems to be good in CoD, otherwise, you don't really hear much about female CoD players.

Agree to disagree tbh, just because girl clans weren't around first doesn't mean it doesn't perpetuate the problem in a massive way.

I played an FPS competitively for years. I once played on a girl team, and frankly, they sucked. They also had no real incentive to get better because they all knew they'd get noticed for playing just because they're girls and were considered 'good'-- but only really for a girl team. They got slaughtered by guy teams. But just because they're girls, they were still considered 'good.' It's patronizing.

The girls who play on mix teams tend to be quite a lot better than those who stick to all-girl teams. The girls who stay on all-girl teams will get more abuse from lads (though still more attention, but only if they're hot) and that reinforces their desire to stay in all-girl teams and again, the cycle continues.
    In fact, I think a girl clan with skilled players has a lot of good potential. If they did videos, for instance, they would probably get a good YouTube partnership setup. They would get a lot of attention, and would probably help to draw in further girls. And what is wrong with wanting that attention? Thats the name of the game these days, particularly on CoD, where names like Seannanners, Hutch, etc. are famous.

A lot is wrong with that, to be honest. Most girls who are famous are famous because they're girls, not because they're as good as the blokes. That's not a good image to set, because again, it's perpetuating the idea that girls aren't as good and should be noticed just 'cuz they're girls and they're slightly better than what girls are expected to be like. This means that girls learn that they can get popular just for being girls, and the vicious cycle continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

If a player/team is good at COD/any other game then they should warrant attention. If people get attention for something other than their skill at the game then it's only for novelty not based on an individuals or team skill. That attention can be considered as negative or positive depending on an individual's personal stance.

I think it's important to note the difference between the girls who chose to play together for enjoyment and those who play competitively as they aren't one and the same.

For those who play competitively, there are arguements for them to be included into boys competition and for them to be separate but if they want to be taken seriously as competitive gamers there is a far greater challenge in taking on all comers rather than only chosing to play other all girls clans.

I'd imagine that those who chose to play less seriously would have no qualms coming up against another party whatever their sex is in a lobby.

Well talking on the bigger picture then, how will girls get noticed? How will they get this exposure you talk about?

You seem to be against girls looking for attention, but at the same time, say girls need more exposure. I see these 2 things interlinked. I see girl clans put more focus on the fact that girls exist in gaming (though are obviously a minority), rather than individual girls (which will mostly go unnoticed, and will be seen as the exception/outlier).

As for segregation, I assume girl clans will still play public matches/lobbies, rather than both sides of the team being girls only. Obviously if a girl clan only play private matches amongst themselves, they won't get noticed.

You'll see, in Ireland and elsewhere, initiatives to promote the likes of Science and Engineering to girls. These initiatives exist to highlight girls in these fields, and to show it as an attractive career choice.

A girl clan can do the same thing. It can highlight female players, and hopefully good ones, which otherwise would probably go unnoticed. You seem to dislike the potential personality of these clans (fame-hungry, not as good as the blokes and apathetic, etc). But, if the clans bring in further girls, you are going to get girls that don't fit this mould. Clans will introduce many girls to teamwork and even sometimes simply online play, as girls are less likely to have gaming friends. A girl clan that draws in 20 new players, 4 of which are good and play actively outside of the clan, is better than having no clan at all. All them girls will probably get better too, and might even bring in new girls.

As for the stake between guys and girls: even if say a girl clan got grief in a lobby, do you think the behaviour will then encourage guys that wouldn't usually grief an individual girl in a lobby now do so because they perceive this stake? I don't see how. If anything, girls get grief because they are seen a minority. Encountering a opposition full of girls will highlight that they exist better.

Either way, I have no problem with girl clans, and I don't really see them as detrimental. As a guy, if I was playing against a girl clan, I wouldn't feel segregated. I would just shoot in them in face like anyone else. :P

Well talking on the bigger picture then, how will girls get noticed? How will they get this exposure you talk about?

Um, gee, I dunno-- merit? Skill? Talent? The exact same things the boys get evaluated on?

Anything else is patronizing.
    You seem to be against girls looking for attention, but at the same time, say girls need more exposure. I see these 2 things interlinked. I see girl clans put more focus on the fact that girls exist in gaming (though are obviously a minority), rather than individual girls (which will mostly go unnoticed, and will be seen as the exception/outlier).

By 'exposure' I mean not only in competitive gaming but simply social gaming community exposure.

In competitive gaming there should be no other reason than merit and skill that anyone should be popular. Again, anything else is absolutely patronizing.

In social gaming, it requires individual girls to go out and game with the guys to show them that we're not only our gender but genuine people who can be talked to in the same way as the other guys.
    As for segregation, I assume girl clans will still play public matches/lobbies, rather than both sides of the team being girls only. Obviously if a girl clan only play private matches amongst themselves, they won't get noticed.

It doesn't matter what they play against. It's the fact that they're only socializing with themselves. I don't know if you've played competitively (in leagues or just scrims/unofficials) or not, but there's typically not much socializing done with teams you're playing against outside of organizational purposes before/after the match unless you have prior friendly history with the members.

It's essentially putting it to an 'us vs. them' scenario which I don't think is right or good for the future of girls online.
    You'll see, in Ireland and elsewhere, initiatives to promote the likes of Science and Engineering to girls. These initiatives exist to highlight girls in these fields, and to show it as an attractive career choice.

Which I don't agree with unless the girls are genuine competitors for the lads. I'm a believer of merit over novelty and promoting people simply because of their gender with no regard for their actual merit in the field strikes me as counterproductive.

This does not mean that girls cannot have role models, in fact it means their role models will be genuinely talented people, moreso than they would be if they were chosen simply by gender, and I think that's a far more enticing prospect.

Highlighting girls because they're girls also serves to make males incredibly bitter, as evidenced by large amounts of debate over tGC and tLL on various topics, since there's no alternative for men, men have to gain recognition through merit alone making it much harder for them and for that their bitterness can be justified. I'd be angry too if I saw guys getting recognized simply for the fact that they possess a penis.
    A girl clan can do the same thing. It can highlight female players, and hopefully good ones, which otherwise would probably go unnoticed. You seem to dislike the potential personality of these clans (fame-hungry, not as good as the blokes and apathetic, etc). But, if the clans bring in further girls, you are going to get girls that don't fit these mould. Clans will introduce many girls to teamwork and even sometimes simply online play, as girls are less likely to have gaming friends. A girl clan that draws in 20 new players, 4 of which are good and play actively outside of the clan, is better than having no clan at all. All them girls will probably get better too, and might even bring in new girls.

I seriously doubt girl clans bring in further girls, if anything they're there to appeal to guys, at least most of the corporate-sponsored teams. For non-corporate-sponsored teams, the girls would have to be playing the game to begin with to find out about them, really.

And you're right, clans do do those things. But you can do those things just as well with guys as you can with girls. The segregation makes no difference at all. As I stated earlier most guy teams would be happy to take on a girl.

I'd argue that girls are more likely to have gaming friends as some guys will do anything to befriend a gamer girl.

Look, the crux of it is-- should girls be getting into gaming and getting into girl clans because they're girls or because they genuinely enjoy the game and/or want to actually compete and have skill?

In the first case, sure, gender's relevant. But I'd argue this is a very negative image to be setting.

In the second case there's no relevancy for gender and gives girls more positive aspirations rather than simply resigning themselves to the fact that they're girls and therefore will only be evaluated on that fact.
    As for the stake between guys and girls: even if say a girl clan got grief in a lobby, do you think the behaviour will then encourage guys that wouldn't usually grief an individual girl in a lobby now do so because they perceive this stake? I don't see how. If anything, girls get grief because they are seen a minority. Encountering a opposition full of girls will highlight that they exist better.

Peer pressure, I've seen it happen tbh, I've had guy friends turn on me simply because the majority of their mates were taking the piss. It's certainly not rare.

Girls get grief because they're seen by default to not be as good as guys. Girl clans perpetuate this by basing their appeal on their gender rather than their talent.
    Either way, I have no problem with girl clans, and I don't really see them as detrimental. As a guy, if I was playing against a girl clan, I wouldn't feel segregated. I would just shoot in them in face like anyone else. :P

So you seriously cannot understand any of my points?

I know this is going to sound sexiest or whatever but.. the thing with competitive gaming.. girls are NEVER going to be as good as the guys, just like with pretty much every sport and game in the world... and not just the obvious football/tennis.. but the mental sports aswel. Chess/snooker/darts/golf are all dominated by males, i dont know why its like that but thats just the way it is... however there are female teams and touraments for most sports.

Er, in fairness, there's no females with equivalent skill in those things because women haven't had the same amount of opportunities to break out nor the reasons to be top of their fields-- mainly because of this kind of 'well, you're a girl and you're alright so that's good enough' crap.

I guarantee you women are just as good as men, they just don't have a reason to be because of the crutch given simply for the fact that they're women. Women who don't understand true equality love this crutch because it means they get the same results with less effort. Women who do understand true equality hate this because it's, frankly, insulting.

Unfortunately since the majority of people are only concerned with what concerns them they have no idea that the impact of them using that crutch will spread to not only our image as a gender but us ourselves in how we evaluate ourselves.