Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

e60 M5 - mods?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Why should you give a fúck if you're happy with what you're driving and how you've modified/styled it?

Basically yeah, it either looks like a nice car or it doesnt. The e60 M5 looks excellent, but you can make any car look better with some mods, subtle or not.
    Im not talking Lambo doors and Neon lights here either.

Being an M5 doesnt make it some sort of untouchable work of art, its not, its a car and the most populous M5 to date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Eisemann is the only mod for an M5!

Based on some of the posts here the 1st thing I'd do is register it in someone else's address, then I would debadge/rebadge it as a 520D 130 to confuse the fcuk out of would be haters, de-exhaust it, hire a security guard and put a fence around the house.

Seriously im joking - wear well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭macl

I have to agree with some of the posters - Subtle is the name of the game. I don't want to turn heads with sound or naffness (the m5 is a thing of beauty in itself no doubt). But there's always scope to personalize it a bit without going down the Neon lights route *shudder*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

I think Neons on a detailed white M5 in California would be ok, driving down the N11 or on the M50 when its pissing rain?? nah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭kdevitt

macl wrote: »
    Eisemann can be a little 'Loook at meeeee' from a noise point of view but I do like their work in general.

You specify the sound level when buying one - the lowest level is barely above stock, so its not really a look at me type of sound.

I'd be interested in knowing how many people recommending eisenmann exhausts actually have ever had one though - the drone can be a pain for a lot of people.

Anyway - without seeing the car, its hard to suggest mods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,909 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

€25k for an e60 M5. God they are getting cheap. I see one advertised (with only 40k miles) as having 6k spent on vanos gear. That is scary. If thats what m5 bills are like, I would steer clear.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

E60 M5 mods i would do :

1. Eisemann Exhaust (these can be quite raspy so You Tube to see if you like it. Also theres a few guys on BMW-Driver that have Eisemann exhausts on their M3's so they may give you a viewing)

2. Standard wheels are great imo.

3. I would upgrade the Angel Eye bulbs to a white LED or similar.

4. Put petrol in and drive it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Personally I'd rebadge it as a 520d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Confab wrote: »
    Personally I'd rebadge it as a 520d.

Something I really don't understand - and have seen it done. Anyone with a clue will know its an M5, and everyone else couldn't care less!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭subway

presuambly its a "seurity by obscurity" tactic. people may be paranoid that if the M5 badge is spotted they will become a target. ie, word gets around etc.
    probably for the same reason people feel uncomfortable walking around with a wad of cash in their hands.

persoanlly i dont get it as i dont think the car is that much of a target but i guess maybe it depends on the area, personal attitude, etc.

subway wrote: »
    persoanlly i dont get it as i dont think the car is that much of a target but i guess maybe it depends on the area, personal attitude, etc.

Considering a new Octavia VRS costs upto 5k more than a 2005 e60 M5 and would be easier to sell and easier to "hide" with regular mass produced stock, it makes absolutely no sense these days.

If people think M5s are being stolen to actually commit other crimes, again they arent, if anything is being stolen for that its Audi RS spec models which are a much better getaway car (and the this is backed up by actual thefts).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Hey guys,

Sold my E46 and picking up my m5 tomorrow - cannot bloody well wait. It's all stock outside (good few upgraded bits on interior) but was wondering if anyone has done anything with their: Alloys, Bumpers or exhaust. Any recommendations?

I've been checking out some of the HARTGE stuff and it looks pretty nice. Just concerned about going from 19" to 21" from a comfort-of-ride point of view. HARTGE dont appear to do anything less than 21"s

Cheers

Supercharger with oem look, after that a set of really good tyres and leave it alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

Keep her standard looks and performance wise until you are well used to her. Get to know your car well and then decide what you do/dont like and would like to upgrade!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Seperate

I'd just get it clean and keep it standard myself. They're a beautiful car in standard form

What color is it?

Sepang Bronze

Closest car here: http://www.m5board.com/vbulletin/attachments/e60-m5-e61-m5-touring-discussion/9032d1127016590-first-aussie-meet-photos-img_0880.jpg

It has some hartge stuff added (alloys / bumper). Pretty nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Seperate

Sepang Bronze

Closest car here: http://www.m5board.com/vbulletin/attachments/e60-m5-e61-m5-touring-discussion/9032d1127016590-first-aussie-meet-photos-img_0880.jpg

It has some hartge stuff added (alloys / bumper). Pretty nice.

That'll come up nice and shiney with a good polish!

Best of luck with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭paddydriver

OP... Come on, where are the pics?

Leave it as is - they look great in the bare. Can't afford one now but 2 years and I am getting one... well could afford one now but divorce would cost more.

OP... Come on, where are the pics?

Leave it as is - they look great in the bare. Can't afford one now but 2 years and I am getting one... well could afford one now but divorce would cost more.

Picking her up about 4. I might have to wait until some decent light in the morning. Otherwise a showroom snap on the phone will have to do!

Good stuff...best of luck with her!

Know two people have got them recently and of course me helped them make the decision; and then they go and get one... can't wait to be in position to get one in year or two. Would probably try have one as a weekender as I do a lot of mileage and couldn't afford it for day to day as they're a bit of an alcoholic:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

So jeleous.........best of luck its a fantastic car and probably the last of its kind, v10 NA M Car.

Sepang Bronze

Possibly the best colour ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Sepang Bronze
    Just googled it, that's a lovely colour.

I got caught up in taking it for a drive :P

attachment.php?attachmentid=147691&stc=1&d=1297530297

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,909 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Lovely car. Was that one up on carzone for the last month or so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭pm.

man thats just s€x on wheels, best of luck with it

Great motor! Best of luck with her. Can see good beading on the wax? Did you give it a good once over;)

So what did you bargain them down to? Was up as €22k+ as absolutely lowest I recall.

I actually looked at that one few years back when it was €69k! - posted on here about it too as it was first one I had seen below €70k and other sellers I talked to were giving out as they were still €75-80k.

Have fun anyway. Your welcome to drop over and bring me for a spin... and a few of the lads here:D

Thanks guys. It was up on carzone alright but was more than 22k. 14 mpg so far and I've not really been pushing her (feck it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Congratulations on buying one of the greatest cars of the last 20 years!

Have fun driving it and I'd enjoy it fully before modding it.

I'd personally upgrade the wheels to real BBS LMs, they are very expensive but the good things with BBS are that they keep most of their value when you resell them.

BBS_LM.jpg

Eisenmann sound fantastic when on full attack, but can get tiresome at 120kmph.... I've heard of people installing a butterfly valve with an internal switch to open/close it which would be ideal!

If you get really bored with the 507bhp, give G*Power a call for prices of a supercharger!!

S.

I've heard of people installing a butterfly valve with an internal switch to open/close it which would be ideal!

Id assume the M5 is already rigged up with a BF value for the same reason on the stock exhaust. I know the 535d is (diesel I know!) as is the RS4 this era.

Thanks guys. It was up on carzone alright but was more than 22k. 14 mpg so far and I've not really been pushing her (feck it)

Just leave it in M the whole time - may as well have fun:D