Members Mixes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

the-cosmic-disco-re-bumped#zoomed-artwork
    -
    My little homage to Derrick Carter's classic Mixmag comp - The Cosmic Disco (still the daddy of all house mix cds, in my humble). As much as possible I've included the same artists and labels and mixed in a similar (but of course not as splendidly) style to the boy Carter. Love and apologies to the BHQ.
    -
    Download at http://soundcloud.com/dejan1/the-cosmic-disco-re-bumped/download & http://www.mediafire.com/?n9prx2vgduqs47l
    -
    1. Jephte Guillaume - Lot Do Bio // Spiritual Life
    2. Lump - Feeling // Morris
    3. Black Science Orchestra - Save Us (Funky Music) // Junior Boys Own
    4. Azari and III - Reckless With Your Love (DJ Sneak dub) // Permanent Vacation
    5. Gene Farris & Cajmere - The Warehouse // Cajual
    6. Butch - Tease Me // Cecille
    7. Bear Who? - The Blaze (Gene Farris mix) // Dust Traxx
    8. Tuccillo - Laptoploop Part 3 // Isgud
    9. K-Alexi Shelby - Sex-N-R-001 // DJax
    10. DJ Motion - Crazy Drum (Paul Johnson dub) // Shaboom
    11. Mark Broom - Supersnout // Saved
    12. Green Velvet & Jamie Principle - The Call (Ante Up) // Cajual
    13. Morning Factory - Btraxx // 20:20 Vision
    14. Aphrohead - Darkroom (Derrick Carter mix) // Rude Photo
    15. Cajmere & Dajae - Say You Will (Green Velvet mix) // Relief
    16. Terra Deva - Fresh Start (Derrick Carter's All Hail The New Ugly re-dub) // NRK
    -
    Mixes available at http://soundcloud.com/dejan1

The original mix is indeed classic stuff, no arguments there. I'm just wondering what the point of this mix is? I mean, if you can't improve on the original (although maybe your one is technically mixed better, I dunno!) and it's exactly the same tracks?!

I just don't get it, sorry. I'm not having a go just curious as to what angle you're coming from on this? I certainly don't think there's anything wrong with drawing inspiration from as great a DJ as Carter is btw, just not sure this is the right way to go about it, only my opinion of course. :)

For example, I'd much prefer to hear and be far more interested in an original mix of yours where the tracks have been compiled and programmed by yourself! You've clearly got good taste in house music so bring it on!

Editing to add: PS I realise it's not exactly the same tracks on reading your post again but I think my main point still stands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 sammcd84

T Williams ft Terri Walker – Heartbeat (Mosca Rmx)
    Hypno – Over The Top
    Mosca – Square One (Julio Bashmore Rmx)
    Roska & Untold – Long Range
    Scuba – So You Think You’re Special (Joe remix)
    Jacques Greene – What You Want
    Brackles – Me & u
    Roska – Time Stamp
    Brackles and Shortstuff – Pipey D
    Blawan – Iddy
    Didz & Chico – Something New

http://soundcloud.com/subone/subone-xmas-2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Dirtyduffer

Giles wrote: »
    The original mix is indeed classic stuff, no arguments there. I'm just wondering what the point of this mix is? I mean, if you can't improve on the original (although maybe your one is technically mixed better, I dunno!) and it's exactly the same tracks?!

I just don't get it, sorry. I'm not having a go just curious as to what angle you're coming from on this? I certainly don't think there's anything wrong with drawing inspiration from as great a DJ as Carter is btw, just not sure this is the right way to go about it, only my opinion of course. :)

For example, I'd much prefer to hear and be far more interested in an original mix of yours where the tracks have been compiled and programmed by yourself! You've clearly got good taste in house music so bring it on!

Editing to add: PS I realise it's not exactly the same tracks on reading your post again but I think my main point still stands.

It's a tribute, Giles - nearly all the tracks are from artists and labels featured on the original but different tracks made 14 years on. There isn't a single track common to both mixes. The point of it is to retread a classic mix and see how this style of music has progressed over that time.

It was a fun exercise, and I think the mix easily stands on it's own. I could just have easily given it my own title but I made the mix with Cosmic Disco in mind, so thought it better to make the nod to the original. As with any music or film or art that is heavily influenced by one other particular piece, if you fail to acknowledge the original you look more like a thief than an admirer.

If you really dig the original then I'd recommend you give this a listen. Like any DJ, I'd love to hear your feedback (unless it's negative, in which case like any DJ I really don't want to hear it ;)). You might think it's nothing like the original, or maybe you'll see the similarity. Warning - I'm not and never will be the DJ Derrick Carter is. It's simply a tribute to a classic mix from a fan, all tracks compiled and programmed by me.

If you're only interested in hearing my "own" mixes I have a geansai-load on Mixcloud and more recent ones on Soundcloud (link above). If you even trawl back through this thread you'll see I've been plaguing it with a mix about every fortnight, always with brand new tracks and normally alternating from deep house on one and techno on the other. Feel free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

It's a tribute, Giles - nearly all the tracks are from artists and labels featured on the original but different tracks made 14 years on. There isn't a single track common to both mixes. The point of it is to retread a classic mix and see how this style of music has progressed over that time.

It was a fun exercise, and I think the mix easily stands on it's own. I could just have easily given it my own title but I made the mix with Cosmic Disco in mind, so thought it better to make the nod to the original. As with any music or film or art that is heavily influenced by one other particular piece, if you fail to acknowledge the original you look more like a thief than an admirer.

If you really dig the original then I'd recommend you give this a listen. Like any DJ, I'd love to hear your feedback (unless it's negative, in which case like any DJ I really don't want to hear it ;)). You might think it's nothing like the original, or maybe you'll see the similarity. Warning - I'm not and never will be the DJ Derrick Carter is. It's simply a tribute to a classic mix from a fan, all tracks compiled and programmed by me.

If you're only interested in hearing my "own" mixes I have a geansai-load on Mixcloud and more recent ones on Soundcloud (link above). If you even trawl back through this thread you'll see I've been plaguing it with a mix about every fortnight, always with brand new tracks and normally alternating from deep house on one and techno on the other. Feel free.

Apologies, I misunderstood your original post and thought you had taken almost if not of the same tracks as the Cosmic Disco mix and simply mixed them in the same order! :o

I'll defo check out the mix now! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Music To Massage Your Mate By - A Moombahton Mix by Frankie Grimes

muse.jpeg?w=491&h=495

Tracklist:

DJ Orion – The Undertow (Instrumental)
    DJ Apt One – Motherfucking Lunatic
    Proxy – 8000 (Diplo Remix)
    Frankie Grimes – Chicos in Valhalla
    Neoteric – Hey Got Lines
    Alex Kenji x 7A3 – Tropical Chicks Go Like This (Audio1 Moombahton Edit)
    The Count & Sinden – Mega (Skinny Friedman Moombahton Remix)
    Modjo – Lady (A-Mac Remix)
    Heartbreak & Munchi – Aponte O Nao
    Munchi – Sandungueo
    Roska – Hey Cutie (Skinny Friedman Moombahton Remix)
    Skinny Friedman – Block Rockin’
    Sigur Ros – Saeglopur (Yeah! Remix)
    Body Language / Look Pon Me (Smutlee Moombahton Edit)
    Peter Bucci & Samim – Hay Consuelo (Obeyah Remix)
    Munchi – Hope

Whisperjack & Jeff Courtney Flynn Live @ Forward/Slash

Link

Jeff Courtney Flynn:

Tony Lionni – Found A Place
    Motor City Drum Ensemble – Prayer
    David Labeij – Shakedown
    Manuel Tur and DPlay – Mild Pitch (Original Mix)
    Markus Homm, Mihai Popoviciu and Jay Bliss – Bis Co
    Uner & Coyu – Raw Sweat (Original Mix)
    Uner & Coyu – Mami Wata (Original Mix)
    Mark Broom vs. Brothers Vibe – Mind / Feeling (youANDme Hirsch Edit)
    6th Borough Project – Miss World (Soultourist Remix)

Forward/Slash:

Afro Medusa – Pasilda (Knee Deep Club Mix)
    Patrice Baumel – Roar (DJ Wehbba Remix)

Whisperjack:

Hobo – Berlin Booty
    iO – Jeton
    Chock – Deceived
    Stimming – Der Schmelz
    Gold Panda – Snow and Taxis
    Dinamoe – Warpamarker
    Gorge – My Boots (Daniel Dubb remix)
    Sei A – Body Of Eyes (Gesaffalstein violation remix)
    Giash & Til Yali – My little ladybirds
    Ryan Davis – Opus (Dual Shamen remix)
    Pleasurekraft – Tarantula
    Phil Kieran – Empty Vessels (Gary Beck Remix)

Forward/Slash:

Radiohead – Everything In It’s Right Place (Discotech Remix)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 H.P

ifvmaa.jpg

http://www.choicecuts.com/podcast/handsome-paddy-kick-out-the-jams/

90's hip-Hop, 80s Electro, Dubstep, Garage and loads more

Intro - MC5/Mochipet/Clay Davis/TimeZone/Busta Rhymes
    Bang Your Head -Gravediggaz
    Dusted - Leftfield Ft Roots Manuva
    Bomb the Blocks (Ghislain Poirier Remix) - Bassnectar ft Ms Persia
    Do You Like....Mantronik? - Mantronix
    Cabbage Patch - World Classs Wreckin' Cru
    Hit it from the Back - Mobb Deep
    Top Notch - Kurious
    X-Rated (Abducted Beatz Pass) - Nubian Crackers
    Electric Kingdom - Twilight 22
    Al Naayfish (The Soul) - Hashim
    Sucker DJs (Suckapella) - Dimples D
    Egypt, Egypt - Egyptian Lover
    These Are My Beats (Remix Dub) - Rodney O
    Let's Hit the Beach (Darktro Remix) - Arabian Prince
    Pop that Pussy - 2 Live Crew
    Tomorrow is Today - Roska
    Work Them - Ramadanman
    Gullybrook Lane (Instrumental) - Joker
    Hip-Hop (Acapella) - Dead Prez
    Come Let Me Know (Acapella) - Freq Nasty ft Rodney P
    The Club - Ghost (EL-B)
    Red Hot Car - Squarepusher
    Poison Dart - The Bug
    I Can't Wait - Ol' Dirty Bastard
    Fantasy Mix - SRC
    Tried For Your Love (Hudson Mohawke ReWork) - Krystal Klear
    Last Chance (Last Dub) - Cyre
    Jam On It - Newcleus
    Hip Hop, Be Bop (Don't Stop) - Man Parrish
    Organized Konfusion - Organized Konfusion
    I Wouldn't Change a Thing - Coke Escovado

H.P wrote: »
    ifvmaa.jpg

http://www.choicecuts.com/podcast/handsome-paddy-kick-out-the-jams/

90's hip-Hop, 80s Electro, Dubstep, Garage and loads more

Intro - MC5/Mochipet/Clay Davis/TimeZone/Busta Rhymes
    Bang Your Head -Gravediggaz
    Dusted - Leftfield Ft Roots Manuva
    Bomb the Blocks (Ghislain Poirier Remix) - Bassnectar ft Ms Persia
    Do You Like....Mantronik? - Mantronix
    Cabbage Patch - World Classs Wreckin' Cru
    Hit it from the Back - Mobb Deep
    Top Notch - Kurious
    X-Rated (Abducted Beatz Pass) - Nubian Crackers
    Electric Kingdom - Twilight 22
    Al Naayfish (The Soul) - Hashim
    Sucker DJs (Suckapella) - Dimples D
    Egypt, Egypt - Egyptian Lover
    These Are My Beats (Remix Dub) - Rodney O
    Let's Hit the Beach (Darktro Remix) - Arabian Prince
    Pop that Pussy - 2 Live Crew
    Tomorrow is Today - Roska
    Work Them - Ramadanman
    Gullybrook Lane (Instrumental) - Joker
    Hip-Hop (Acapella) - Dead Prez
    Come Let Me Know (Acapella) - Freq Nasty ft Rodney P
    The Club - Ghost (EL-B)
    Red Hot Car - Squarepusher
    Poison Dart - The Bug
    I Can't Wait - Ol' Dirty Bastard
    Fantasy Mix - SRC
    Tried For Your Love (Hudson Mohawke ReWork) - Krystal Klear
    Last Chance (Last Dub) - Cyre
    Jam On It - Newcleus
    Hip Hop, Be Bop (Don't Stop) - Man Parrish
    Organized Konfusion - Organized Konfusion
    I Wouldn't Change a Thing - Coke Escovado

Downloaded that yesterday, a serious mix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 MivecSocky

Tracky:
    Knuckleheadz - Turn That ****ing Music Up [Tripoli]
    James Devlin - Not Feeling You [Twist Trax]
    Opus III - Fine Night (Untidy Dub) [White]
    UK Gold - Cuz The House Gets Warm [Tidy]
    Jon Doe - Future [Honeypot]
    Karim - Cheap Rent (Remix) [Do Not Bend]
    Karim - Love [Twist Trax]
    Ben Stevens & Nik Denton - Piano Factor (JP & Jukesy Mix) [Toolbox]
    James Devlin - Suplex (Andy Farley Mix) [Devotion Dance]
    Socky - Wanted [Bezerk]
    Karl Davis - Access Denied [Pure NRG]
    Captain Tinrib & Steve Thomas - The Leader [Tinrib]
    Bush Babies - Delicious (Captain Tinrib Mix) [Chug n Bump]

http://soundcloud.com/naughty-south/socky-jan-naughty-south-promo-10-01-2011

Got a bit carried away with the pitch but anyone into the hard stuff should enjoy :)

guest-mix-3.jpg?w=640&h=428

David Keno – Babil
    Den Ishu – It’s Been Done
    Rhadow – Raw Business (Ronan Portella Remix)
    Siwell – Let’s Funky
    Unknown – Unknown
    Shonky – La Madone
    Daniel Stefanik – Tripando los Colores
    Santos – Hold Home
    Ronan Portella – Beat Up
    Carlo Lio – Musique
    Gregor Thresher – Sidewinder (Reset Robot Remix)

Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭NotInventedHere

New mix from me.

http://soundcloud.com/not-invented-here/not-invented-here-january-techno-mix

Tracklist

Wow! Signal (Monoloc Remix) - Pfirter
    Compressions Session 2 - Ben Klock
    Devolution - Delta Funktionen
    Antifunk - Perc
    Where 2d Meets 3d Chris Liebing Remix - Traversable Wormhole
    Tachyon (James Ruskin Remix) - Traversable Wormhole
    Chaosexotica - COS/MES
    Track 2 - Herbert Gollini & Helmut Wolfgruber
    Static Test - Ben Klock
    Headcase (Marc Houle Remix) - Plastikman
    metamorphasis(rob murphy remake) - Phillip Glass
    Closed Timelike Curve (Marcel Dettmann Remix) - Traversable Wormhole
    You - Ben Klock
    Theatre - Delta Funktionen
    Open (Original Mix) - Egbert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭cipher_neo

Tracklisting:

1. Alex Piccini – Cup Of Tea (00:00)
    2. Maya Jane Coles – What They Say (07:41)
    3. Mark Knight – Devil Walking (12:16)
    4. Till Von Sein – Sundowna (Dyed Soundorom & Shonky Remix) (18:19)
    5. Cassius – 99 (Tim Green Mix) (24:05)
    6. Oxia – Whole Life (30:07)
    7. Carlos Sanchez, DJ Ray – Claves De Ti (Audio Junkies Remix) (34:52)
    8. Butch – No Worries (39:34)
    9. Pablo Cahn – Elle (45:21)
    10. Gui Boratto – Take My Breath Away (John Tejada Remix) (52:58)
    11. Radio Slave – Koma Koma (Steve Lawler Remix) (59:00)

http://leefarrell.com/music/?p=79

Feedback Welcome! Enjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Rizzla King

http://soundcloud.com/colmbrophy/colm-brophy-january-trance-mix-2011

Few of my favorite trance tracks of 2010. Quality could be better but still very happy with this mix.

B Sign - Ronski Speed
    Saphire - Ben Gold
    Naranja - Paul Ercossa
    Forza - MEM
    I Will Find You - Mark Sherry feat Sharone
    Next Phase(Phase one remix) - Ummet Ozcan
    Striker(Ummet Ozcan remix) - John O Callaghan
    Tigers Apology - Richard Durand
    Then just a loop at the end I'm working on putting together into a track someday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Plumpynutt

http://soundcloud.com/plumpynutt/all-aboard-the-bandwagon-mix

Dubstep mix i recorded there the other day. my first dubstep mix so there's a few dodgy bits here and there, nut overall its not too bad. feedback appreciated

Tracklist:
    1. Breakage- Rain
    2. 2562- Kontrol
    3. Emalkay- Crusader
    4. Cyrus & Random Trio- Crying Game
    5. Distance- Delight
    6. Kito- What If
    7. Subscape- Nothing's Wrong
    8. Skream- Dutchflowers(Rusko Remix)
    9. Rod Azlan- Selektah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Dirtyduffer

1. Deep Space Orchestra - Dollar // Kolour
    2. Nicholas - Depth Of My Soul // No More Hits
    3. Nicolas Jaar - 13 Variations // Circus Company
    4. Alton Miller - Light Years Away feat. Amp Fiddler // Mixed Signals
    5. Roof Light - Midas // Millions Of Moments
    6. Solab - Just Like Home // Lifeworld
    7. Robert Owens - Sacrifice // Compost
    8. Jay Shepheard & Matthew Burton - Reject The Rhythm // Retrofit
    9. Soul Minority - Six Nine (Atjazz mix) // Kolour
    10. Lone - The Birds Don't Fly This High // Magic Wire
    11. Erdbeerschnitzel - I Wonder // Mirau Musik
    12. Krystal Klear - Tried For Your Love // All City Dublin
    13. Steffi - November // Dial
    14. Chasing Kurt - Daydream // Carry On
    15. Maceo Plex - Live Your Love (Zev mix) // Crosstown Rebels
    16. Gunnar Johsson - Massagerutin 1 // Kontra-musik
    -
    Download at http://www.mediafire.com/?a3bqrxiu930c7zp
    Stream at http://soundcloud.com/dejan1/melancholik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

WARNING: This song contains commercial music. Your ears may explode if not configured correctly.

Decided to put the mash-up I did on Saturday online for the k-rack. Did a sample of it before and decided to make the whole track just to have.

leggo wrote: »
    WARNING: This song contains commercial music. Your ears may explode if not configured correctly.

Decided to put the mash-up I did on Saturday online for the k-rack. Did a sample of it before and decided to make the whole track just to have.

It's good up until 0:26. The Vanilla Ice is completely out of time to be fair.

I used to do mash-ups. They're good fun. Piss to make too. Two of my old ones:

http://soundcloud.com/collidoscope/o-brother-thou-art-intergalactic

http://soundcloud.com/collidoscope/hooky-done-gun

I hated the 'Ice Ice' bit at the start myself but I decided to keep it in to tease it for later. Just getting back into mash-up's now for the first time in a while. Got a few ideas I'm toying around with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

I hated the 'Ice Ice' bit at the start myself but I decided to keep it in to tease it for later. Just getting back into mash-up's now for the first time in a while. Got a few ideas I'm toying around with.

Do us a favour and keep them to yourself ye......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

http://soundcloud.com/eudaimonia/moombhouse

Haven't posted a mix in nearly 6 months so knocked off one in a couple of takes this morning. There was something wrong with the way I recorded it so ignore the end completely where the waveform drops...

1. Munchi - Hope
    2. Heartbreak - Shy Day
    3. Karlmarx - Mists
    4. Maya Jane Coles - Hummingbird
    5. The Hasbeens - Make the World Go away.

ianuss wrote: »
    Do us a favour and keep them to yourself ye......

Do you really want THIS thread to turn messy? Cus I've really no problem doing it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Do you really want THIS thread to turn messy? Cus I've really no problem doing it...

ah here, what's the point in posting here if you're gonna be like that?

Me? I coulda sworn I was being civil with electrogrimey the post beforehand sure. Think you quoted the wrong person man.

you posted a horrific mashup (2002 called, they want they're novelty back), ianuss said keep the future ones to yourself and then you say you're willing to ruin the thread, again in an overly confrontational manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

I've had farts with more musical merit than what you posted.

Was THIS warning not enough of a clue to say "Hold on...I might not enjoy this and best not click..."

So shhh. Cus now it's become blatantly obvious to all and sundry you're just trolling. Again. It's your own forum you're ruining lads.

it's not horrific because it's 'commercial'. It's horrific because there are key clashes everywhere and the timing is all over the gaff.

jtsuited wrote: »
    it's not horrific because it's 'commercial'. It's horrific because there are key clashes everywhere and the timing is all over the gaff.

That's grand man, whatever you think. I know others who enjoyed it. You're entitled to your opinion.

Tell you what though...one day when I'm arsed, I'm gonna **** all over your work in a prickish way and then blame you for being confrontational. See how you react when the shoe is on the other foot ;).

That's grand man, whatever you think. I know others who enjoyed it. You're entitled to your opinion.

Tell you what though...one day when I'm arsed, I'm gonna **** all over your work in a prickish way and then blame you for being confrontational. See how you react when the shoe is on the other foot ;).

man, go get my records and sh1t all over them. In fact, why don't you produce some better records than me....

When that day comes, come back to me.

oh and btw, and you walked right into it tbh.....

You say that Djs that actually get paid are lended legitimacy by that fact yeah?

Well not only do I do that (as in I don't play for free), but I actually get paid for my opinion on music, so therefore, surely, according to your logic, my opinion is lended a bit more legitimacy than those who have amateur opinions.

Check........Mate.