Multi purpose 8' X 5' trailer

• 11-01-2011 08:45PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭

Sorry if lads are sick of me posting threads about trailers, but I'm a bit obsessed at the moment because I'm looking to buy one, and want to buy the right one ;)

Is there any trailer manufacturer that makes an 8' X 5' or even 10' livestock trailer where the top canopy can be taken off to break it down into a builders type trailer? Scoured the net but can't find pics of any.

Money is tight (as with everyone:rolleyes:) so I want to make my future trailer investment pay for itself by being as useful and adaptable to me as possible.

Even the option to take a ramp off a trailer would make it more adaptable. With a swing door you can open it out of the way and load it with a fork lift.... you haven't that option with a ramp :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Muckit wrote: »
    Is there any trailer manufacturer that makes an 8' X 5' or even 10' livestock trailer where the top canopy can be taken off to break it down into a builders type trailer?

I am not much help to you here, but I do know I seen one of these in my travels.........I just can't think where.
    If it comes to me in a blinding flash of inspiration I'll get back to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Sorry if lads are sick of me posting threads about trailers, but I'm a bit obsessed at the moment because I'm looking to buy one, and want to buy the right one ;)

Is there any trailer manufacturer that makes an 8' X 5' or even 10' livestock trailer where the top canopy can be taken off to break it down into a builders type trailer? Scoured the net but can't find pics of any.

Money is tight (as with everyone:rolleyes:) so I want to make my future trailer investment pay for itself by being as useful and adaptable to me as possible.

Even the option to take a ramp off a trailer would make it more adaptable. With a swing door you can open it out of the way and load it with a fork lift.... you haven't that option with a ramp :rolleyes:

muckit on my porter 12x 5"9 trailer the top can come off from about half way up the side, in other words the top half of the trailer can be removed..."over engineered" indeed :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Don't be worried about seeming obsessed, we're all like that when we're looking for something...

Just an Idea but..
    Would you not consider getting a custom made trailer.. There are lots of engineering shops around and probably not so busy either.. You could "borrow" ideas & main dimensions from a purpose factory built unit and have what you want built onto it...
    Galvanising and all can be arranged if that's your need...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

Muckit, AFAIK the 6'6" wide Ifor Williams boxes (the ones with the wheels under the body) are made so that you can remove the body. The next door neighbour has a 12 foot box which is definitely made this way. Not sure about the 10 foot model.

Edit: all you need to know is here:

http://www.iwt.co.uk/products/livestock/dp?tab=details

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

IW do a 10 ft Dp don't know it's width

I am not a fan of these DP,s but don;t let that put you off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

muckit on my porter 12x 5"9 trailer the top can come off from about half way up the side, in other words the top half of the trailer can be removed..."over engineered" indeed :D:D

:D:D I suppose the comment I made before about the 'over engineering' of porter trailers was referring to how IMO the frame work MIGHT possibly be made heavier than is necessary :p

But to get back to YOUR particular trailer, can you really remove the top part or are ya messing? :rolleyes:

Some new trailers I looked at did seem like the top could come off, but it's more that the frame is made in two parts that it fits in the galvanising tank, then the two are bolted together.

snowman707 wrote: »
    IW do a 10 ft Dp don't know it's width

I am not a fan of these DP,s but don;t let that put you off

I'm not a fan of them either snowman/ bitten and hisses. I want the wheels out the side. But your on my wave length. I want a trailer I can use to do more than move a few cattle

I think that they're could be a market for them if some crowd would make them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭candor

Hi muckit,

Have a look at mcsweeney trailers, bandon. Can take the box off and have it as a flat trailer anyway. Seems to be well built and I'd imagine you could pick it up second hand in decent nick.

:D:D I suppose the comment I made before about the 'over engineering' of porter trailers was referring to how IMO the frame work MIGHT possibly be made heavier than is necessary :p

But to get back to YOUR particular trailer, can you really remove the top part or are ya messing? :rolleyes:

Some new trailers I looked at did seem like the top could come off, but it's more that the frame is made in two parts that it fits in the galvanising tank, then the two are bolted together.

it does ya, im not sure why, ive not seen it in other trailers but i think if you read the stuff on their site it might explain it, its bolted together in the middle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

I'm not a fan of them either snowman/ bitten and hisses. I want the wheels out the side.

I'm totally in agreement re having the wheels outside the body on a livestock box, but a general purpose trailer is much more useful with the wheels underneath, for loading pallets and so forth. I actually have a 12' box with the wheels outside and a 12'x6'6" flat body with the wheels underneath. I wish I had a 14' livestock box and a 16' flat body to be honest.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Hi Muckit,
    If you do go for one of them IW DP trailers you'd be better off with a tri-axle. I know they are bigger than what you want, second hand you should be able to get a flat builders trailer.

A neighbour has a DP trailer, always has the livestock body on, says if he took it off he might never get the body back on again cos it might not line up to the bolt holes at all. What do you want to spend?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Muckit,

Last week people were advising you about where to go for a trailer - did you go to yer man on the shannonbridge road in ballinasloe?? He has a good stock of new and second hand and I know a lot of people that dealt with him with a lot of satisfaction. Yer man in Tuam, Jim Murphy will make a trailer to your specifications. That could be another option for you close to home.

reilig wrote: »
    Muckit,

Last week people were advising you about where to go for a trailer - did you go to yer man on the shannonbridge road in ballinasloe?? He has a good stock of new and second hand and I know a lot of people that dealt with him with a lot of satisfaction. Yer man in Tuam, Jim Murphy will make a trailer to your specifications. That could be another option for you close to home.

Yes I've gone to Hogan on Shannonbridge Rd. He's in a different world, I don't think he listens to the news:rolleyes: He wanted €3,500 for a new 10 X 5' non-galvanised (made himself), he can keep it. Paint already flaking off mudguards and it not even out of the yard. He then proceeded to price me €4,100 incl. VAT for an 8'X5' IW.

Talking to Jim Murphy yesterday on phone. He wants €3,400 for an 8' X5' with ramp or €2,950 for an 8' X 4'7". They are a great trailer, use indepension suspension instead of springs so you wouldn't even know it was behind you when empty. They hold their money like an IW too.

I'I be over to look at his trailers this weekend hopefully and I'I see if he'd make me up what I want. I'd pay the money if I got a trailer that I know I'd get use out of, it'd be a lifetime investment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭eorna

do it yourself, get a cheap second hand trailer and you can put a double hinge in the back so can be both and you can have the sides as a clip on removable and the same with roof.. bolted or clipped, that's what i will do with my old livestock trailer...so will be an open trailer with different options..it may take more time but you'll have what you want..and cheaper..bit more labour though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭Cran

going by the posts guess your in munster so not sure if you want to travel, if you are try stanley trailers in Kilkenny they make an 8x5 box and a builder trailer version also might be able to adjust to suit. i have the builder version and find it an excellent trailer for the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭mayo_lad

hi muckit i knew a lad who had a trailer just like you want and as far as i can remember he built the removable cattle trailer part himself and used a slandered builders trailer as the base for it if you wanted to do this i'm sure you could get a trailer manufacture to make one for ya. Also you might want to consider a door instead of a ramp as there is less to attaching one to a trailer. hope this helps you you might want to concider Jim Murphy in tuam they do custom work at a resionalble price http://www.aerlite.com/index.html

this might be what you want , im guessing the 3 in 1 refers to using it for different things
    http://www.westerntrailers.ie/index.php?p=9&id=15

this might be what you want , im guessing the 3 in 1 refers to using it for different things
    http://www.westerntrailers.ie/index.php?p=9&id=15

Thanks Vander

Yes something very like this, but a little bigger to comfortably bring two large cows. Our old trailer is 4'4" and it's tight to squeeze for two cows, even though our crush in 2'2" and they all go up:rolleyes: You need a little wriggle room to play around with when loading a trailer.

I'd like it a little tidier aswel. Not mad on the ladder rail left on while canopy on, although I notice that's how the canopy is secured at the front.

I'm over to Tuam in the morning, so if I get a chance I'I pop into Jim Murphy and see if he can do something for me.

Was onto Murphy's in Cork AND Jim Murphy(aerlite) in Tuam today.

Neither of them would make me a one off trailer like what I'm after!:(

According to Murphy in Cork, there's 'no market' for such a trailer and there was some legislation brought in over nine years ago to make sure all plans for trailers were passed before they were put into production.

Just to let ye know

As you konw couldn't get the type of trailer I wanted so had to compromise.

In the end, I opted for a new 8 X 5 livestock trailer from Jim Murphy in Tuam today. Made to order. Should have it sometime next week.

It'I have a ramp, but it will be removeable. I wanted to be able to have the option to load it with a forklift if wanted to carry fertilizer or meal. She's rated to carry 2000kg.

Thanks for all your reponses and suggestions;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Cool, you can't go wrong. He makes top quality stuff.
    Just to let ye know

In the end, I opted for a new 8 X 5 livestock trailer from Jim Murphy in Tuam today. Made to order. Should have it sometime next week.

It'I have a ramp, but it will be removeable. I wanted to be able to have the option to load it with a forklift if wanted to carry fertilizer or meal. She's rated to carry 2000kg.

Just to let ye know

sounds good
    stick up a pic of that ramp system when you get it

Thanks Reilig, not the cheapest, but as you said, he turns out well built trailers.

Yep, will post pic when I collect it no probs Vander.

Hopefully it'I work as I've planned in my head:rolleyes:

I got him to stick a spare wheel bracket on it too, although he reckoned himself they are a waste of time, as most lads just throw spare in boot if going on long journeys, in case it's stolen!

Anyone any experience/thoughts on this?