If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

How did you celebrate your 18th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

i did fook all
    after the age of 10 i lost interest in celebrating my birthday, really hate the idea of a party and being the centre of attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Gamplays4You

Lads/Ladettes Trip Away
    went clubbing and got thrown out after literly 15 minutes :( ****e ol birthday really. only upside is bday sex off the woman but most of ye will get that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

Pacquaio VS Hatton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Piss up (Field or Pub)
    I had a chemistry lab in college the night of my 18th. :( They rescheduled it so we wouldn't have to do it the last Friday of term before Christmas and made us do it a few nights earlier instead. By the time I was finished, I was too tired to bother going out.

Went for a meal with my family a few nights later.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

How old are you? :)
    Old enough to have a wife, four kids and lived a bit. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Piss up (Field or Pub)
    Biggins wrote: »

Thats what I though. Much much older than me.

Thanks for the pick me up sweetcheeks :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Thats what I though. Much much older than me.

Thanks for the pick me up sweetcheeks :D
    Any time. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭Kersh

1994!

Smarty Party in Burger King in Coolock :D

Then into Fibbers to get smashed. Which we did :pac:

*Got into a row on Swords main street on way home at 3am.

**Started a fight with my sisters bf when I finally got home :(

Classy back then so I was :o

*I stopped drinking in 1996!
    ** Seriously :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Lads/Ladettes Trip Away
    Kersh wrote: »
    1994!
    I stopped drinking in 1996!

Sounds like a hell of a party.

I...don't know. Actually I don't think I did anything. I never really do anything for my birthday. Probably went for a meal or something with my family. You'd think I'd remember seeing as it was only 3 years ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I was fairly broke ass at the time, but also reasonably inventive, so I blagged a night of freebies...

It started with the Carlton Cinema in Dublin... they were showing a Reservoir Dogs retrospective, so I rang the manager & told him that as the editor of the new college magazine, I would like to give away 10 free tickets to coincide with an interview I was doing with Steve Buschemi, which would also promote his cinema.

He agreed & sent me 10 tickets. So myself & 9 friends went to see the film armed with naggins of spirits to add to the cokes.

Of course, I was never an editor of a student magazine & never interviewed Steve Buschemi. As far as I remember, the college didn't even have a magazine.

After that we headed to Club USI - the student bar & got a load of free booze & a birthday cake courtesy of the fact that I had told them that I - as the Entertainments Officer for my college - was running a birthday competiton for 10 students for a freebie birthday bash for the student with the most nominations for the month.

They never checked to see if it was true or even if I was involved with the students union, which of course, I wasn't.

Well, I kinda was at one time, but only for a brief spell when I ordered an extra 200 tickets for the Freshers Ball from the printers, hawked them around the college at half price & pocketed the cash.

Ah, to be 18 again... such a youthful, bright eyed & naive time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I just ended up hanging around the local area with my mates, acting the bollix as usual...nothing special :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭Celtise

I think I wrote three english essays with my stereo up to the last, to try and ignore the world and its existence (and the leaving cert).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,384 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Meal
    Keyholed a can of budwieser... haven't done it again since...

man that left me in some state...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

Sad times when I can't even recall my 18th.. my 21st sticks out in my memory more...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pdfile

didn't, ye posh b*******...

well actually i was alone on it...

only got one happy birthday.

foreveralone.jpg :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭George83

Piss up (Field or Pub)
    Meal with parents & couple of friends, then into town with mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Getting dumped by a girlfriend at the time, at least she waited until after midnight to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Piss up (Field or Pub)
    Went for a big meal and then a pissup :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 a.maze

I went to school like any other day then went to subway with mates like any other day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Lads/Ladettes Trip Away
    I got legally rat arsed for mine as far as I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Other (go on, tell)
    Horse and carriage ride and then a walk under gaslight down Sackville Street, Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

just had a piss up, did the same for my 21st and im 30 at the start of february and will probably do the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

On my 18th birthday, I was studying for my first year exams in UCD while drinking a budvar and reading an environmental economics book... Every birthday for my three years there was spent doing something like that (I hate myself).:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

I spent mine doing my Leaving Cert English Paper 1, back in 1988. Absolutely horrible, even though I came home to find I got a few cards with money in them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭I Love Cheese

Meal
    Went to the pub, got in the horrors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

kelle wrote: »
    I spent mine doing my Leaving Cert English Paper 1, back in 1988. Absolutely horrible, even though I came home to find I got a few cards with money in them!

That's mad, I was born in December of that great year!:D

I think a large part of my 18th was spent in the cell at pearse garda station.

Awwwwwww good times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Biggins wrote: »

aren't you a little old to be drinking illegally? :cool:

*waits in anxiety for thanks from his peers for his witty post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭dapto1

Celebrated it in a dodgy (and apparently illegal) transvestite bar in Minsk. Got wrecked on $2 bottles of champagne and got chased by the police.

Night to remember tbf.