Homeless at Christmas - An Investigation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I agree.. They should have spent the few weeks before this prepping Jerome Hughes properly..

ya i taught the whole programme was a bit rushed, and he just wasn't convincing enough as a homeless person
    Fittle wrote: »
    But what about opening up a conversation with him...asking him why he was homeless etc?? I thought priests were all about compassion and understanding. It was like 'Here's 20euro, now get out of here'. The priest didn't actually say that, but it was very obviously, what he meant.

spot on, he didn't bother to chat with him...here's 20 quid now get out of here type of attitude:cool:

dixiefly wrote: »
    What the did you expect the priest to do? Drop everything and deal with this guy and then the next guy etc etc? In case you dont realise it priests are just as powerless as the rest of us in solving

no just have a civil conversation with him and try to find out his background which imo would have been more compassionate than giving money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

fryup wrote: »
    ya i taught the whole programme was a bit rushed, and he just wasn't convincing enough as a homeless person

spot on, he didn't bother to chat with him...here's 20 quid now get out of here type of attitude:cool:

no just have a civil conversation with him and try to find out his background which imo would have been more compassionate than giving money

He was convincing enough to be turned away from two places.

As far as i could see were the priest was concerned,he was a bit rushed.He didnt have to give 20 euro.He only mentioned 4.50 needed.Fair play to him.

The thoughts of been homeless and stuck in a place with people doing drugs and off their heads.
    I knew a girl once who ended up homeless when she was pregnant.She got robbed and beaten up.
    I thought he did very well,and was very heartening to actually see how much the homeless are helping eachother. And that girl giving the ten pounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭JamesBond2010

Salamanca-Tapas-Bar & Restaurant Dublin was the Name of the place that ur one asked had he booked. very ignorant & discrimatory. No wonder their is racism with these kind of people around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,399 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Every restaraunt in the country would have done that, anywhere that doesn't exercise zero tolerance will fill up with homeless and go bust so they have no choice.

Thargor wrote: »
    Every restaraunt in the country would have done that, anywhere that doesn't exercise zero tolerance will fill up with homeless and go bust so they have no choice.

he was dressed quite normal though.how would they go bust if he was paying for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Dodd

That's why he went there to just make a point.
    If they served him it would likely have not been in the film.

He looked homeless, that will turn away paying custom and attract other homeless, and yes they would go bust on one coffee being nursed for hours taking up a booth just for the heat. Not pretty but thats reality.

Assumption is the mother of all **** ups.. he looked like... A well they are Totally disgraced now. after that

I doubt it will make a shred of difference to them tbh.

I am going to drop the odd Euro into peoples cups after this though so the programme definitely made a difference to me, wonder what that girls story was with the 10 sterling, was she rich or just poor but generous, she seemed fairly young, fair play to the guy with the bottle of Fanta aswell.

Also it is not nice to say but he would smell bad and stink up the place.

Why would a homeless person go there to order a STARTER and tea.;)

I think it will do some good anyway.I hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

Well after watching that documentary on TV3 I don't think anybody can argue that all the homeless vagrants are a nuisance. TV3 were a disgrace acting like the homeless were the victims in this despite showing them as mindless druggies in the hostel using innocent people's donations(who actually work for a living and aren't on the dole's) money to "get their fix" rolleyes.gif.

Say for example I had of been having a few after work cocktails in The Bank bar with some colleagues I certainly wouldn't want one of them coming in and hassling me, stinking the place up with a smell of piss etc. I would have shook that barman's hand for doing his duty to the punter like me, I would rather give him a fiver for kicking the vagrant out than give them a 5er for a hostel tbf.

stupid q's why were the face s blurred though even the good people were

I am going to drop the odd Euro into peoples cups after this though so the programme definitely made a difference to me

What if they use this "couple of euro" to buy themselves a knife to hold people up for their money? potentially kill them? I hope you would feel guilty then :rolleyes: People need to think about the type of people they are dealing with here

johnn wrote: »
    Well after watching that documentary on TV3 I don't think anybody can argue that all the homeless vagrants are a nuisance. TV3 were a disgrace acting like the homeless were the victims in this despite showing them as mindless druggies in the hostel using innocent people's donations(who actually work for a living and aren't on the dole's) money to "get their fix" rolleyes.gif.

Say for example I had of been having a few after work cocktails in The Bank bar with some colleagues I certainly wouldn't want one of them coming in and hassling me, stinking the place up with a smell of piss etc. I would have shook that barman's hand for doing his duty to the punter like me, I would rather give him a fiver for kicking the vagrant out than give them a 5er for a hostel tbf.

i hope u never become homeless

I hope he does become homeless.Karma.:)

So yous are all happy to sit side by side with them stinking up the place when you are in a nice place, most likely drugged up talking to themselves, ruining the ambiance for us? I forgot we're all martyrs here...I bet none of you even give them a cent and you have the nerve to criticize me :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,717 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I think it can be very easy for people to be pious about these sorts of things, but the practical aspect of this (as was mentioned above) is that you are endangering your business if you let people on your premises who:
    a) may suffer from mental illness (which many of the homeless do)
    b) may suffer from addition to drugs or alcohol (which many of the homeless do)
    c) looks unkempt and smells bad... (which many of the homeless do)

In the case of a) and b) the proprietor may be held accountable for the actions of the homeless person if they should hit somebody, tap them up, offend them .. whatever... or in the case of c) they could detract from the general tone of the place, and discourage people from giving them business...

I doubt it will make a shred of difference to them tbh.

I am going to drop the odd Euro into peoples cups after this though so the programme definitely made a difference to me, wonder what that girls story was with the 10 sterling, was she rich or just poor but generous, she seemed fairly young, fair play to the guy with the bottle of Fanta aswell.

He was a a decent guy.Just the little things like that for people might give them a little bit of feeling apart of society again.
    Nice to see :)

Are all homeless the Same??? is there some decent ones. no druggies or anything like that

There is over apparently 800 homeless kids in Dublin apparently under the age of 16.That should tell you the extent and type.Some go on drink for heat and end up addicted and some end up on drugs because on streets.And others because of abuse etc.. some are unlucky in work or finances.Like the Taxi guy who was on tv last week.
    Even some of the alcoholics and junkies are good people and will chat the hind legs off a donkey.

tbh I think its fairly hard to end up homeless in this day and age if it wasn't as a result of drugs or crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,198 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Typical Plastic, animated and hysteria journalism from TV3. Pretty appalling production and i got sense the intrepid reporter spent less than a few hours on the street.

Jesus between Ursala Halligan hysterical live reports, Brian O Donavans "Kraft work impersonations", the smug Cantwell who gives the continuous impression he would rather be somewhere else, I've given up watching any news on this station. The quality of Journalism on this station reminds me of a cheap free local rag.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

tbh I think its fairly hard to end up homeless in this day and age if it wasn't as a result of drugs or crime.

Mc Donalds Eurosaver menu!!!life saver.
    drugs or crime are usually millionaires (big guys) little guys are not that bad though homeless

Tell that to the taxi driver and the kids on streets :rolleyes:

If some one has no family/friends to help them out there is a problem that
    is not just being homeless.
    It goes deeper and leads to someone becoming homeless.
    Most times people have been ****ed up in their youth.

Johnn is just a troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,198 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

caseyann wrote: »

Could not agree more. Anyone who thinks it would be difficult not to end up homeless in this day and age is delusional and i fear with the mortgage crisis about to implode, the situation is about to get allot worse. This program spent a little too much time highlighting the drug dealing going on at the Hostel and not enough time meeting real homeless people who's lives have been turned upside down from the recession, marriage break ups and abuse. TV3 should have learned something from the Prime time investigate aired two weeks ago!, no doubt they jumped on the bandwagon and failed miserably!

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Could not agree more. Anyone who thinks it would be difficult not to end up homeless in this day and age is delusional and i fear with the mortgage crisis about to implode, the situation is about to get allot worse. This program spent a little too much time highlighting the drug dealing going on at the Hostel and not enough time meeting real homeless people who's lives have been turned upside down from the recession, marriage break ups and abuse. TV3 should have learned something from the Prime time investigate aired two weeks ago!, no doubt they jumped on the bandwagon and failed miserably!

Another problem is people get all high and might and assume everything they hear is true.I get more harassment of begging form people standing outside shops shaking buckets.
    I dont feel harassed or threatened by homeless.Ofc you get the odd aggressive person and the annoying ones are the roma gypsies.But for the most homeless are very unhappy and lonely people with messed up lives.
    I met a kid once from cork homeless in Dublin he was only 14.I bought him some dinner and chatted to him for a bit.He was such a nice kid.I felt awful going home.He ended up on streets because of father beating him up.
    I think they attempted and did in some amount highlight the problems also highlighted the decency they showed by helping him( a complete stranger).Junkies been put in with other homeless people who may not be junkies and how uncomfortable and stressful it would be.And just how long people are on the streets and some how have just accepted it and probably feel no point in trying to get out of it.
    It is disgusting to think 5 thousand that they know of on streets.

caseyann wrote: »

Why? do you think that they are they not involved in either :confused:

Dodd wrote: »
    I hope he does become homeless.Karma.:)

Impossible. You never ever see a good-looking beggar :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Fittle

dixiefly wrote: »
    What the did you expect the priest to do? Drop everything and deal with this guy and then the next guy etc etc? In case you dont realise it priests are just as powerless as the rest of us in solving these problems. I thought the priest was pretty decent to him considering that there are probably many homeless people begging off him.

No matter what the priest did you probably would have had a problem with it.

Absolutely not! I expected the priest, to AT THE VERY LEAST say 'hello, how did you end up homeless....perhaps you can go to Fr Peter McVerry's organisation and they could help you with a bed?'

There wasn't a queue of homeless people waiting to speak to that priest. And YES, I would have expected that he would have dropped everything (he had just finished mass, so it wasn't like there was a room full of people waiting for him!).

I think Jerome was overall, way too positive about his experience. I think to say that no matter how difficult it got for him, there was always 'hope' was very easy to say when he was going home to his own house that very evening.

Does anyone ever see that beggar in or around henry st, dublin? He wears no shoes, sits down and has his jumper pulled down over his legs? I've often thrown him a few bob (and I always give the lads on the hapenny bridge a few bob, because they must serious be freezing!), but the day I saw that lad a few yards up from where he sits, taking off his shoes, sticking them in a plastic bag, giving them to another guy and spreading dirt all over his feet before he sat down, was the day I stopped throwing the odd euro into his cup.