Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Its official : public sector pay per hour is 49% higher than private sector

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

rickyjb wrote: »
    As far as I can see both of ye are getting paid too much as ye both seem to have far too much time on ye're hands...:D

I pay myself what I earn by working all the time often late at night (right now I am babysitting 7 batch jobs crunching data on my right monitor),
    get treated worse by the tax system for bothering to start a business,
    dont have any job security or cushy pension

and more importantly dont rely on anyone else in this economy for my income

I earn my bread and pay plenty of tax on it, by bringing in wealth via exports

I have the right to know how my taxmoney is spent and/or wasted, maybe if more people cared about waste and not fixing the local pothole we wouldnt be where we are now.

ardmacha wrote: »
    How would this help?
    @Riskymove is arguing that the stats are misleading since "average" can be misrepresented, and he is right.

but in statistics there are very detailed and interesting ways of illustrating distributions

we are just given very basic stats from CSO, high school students could do better,

ardmacha wrote: »
    In any case do your own research.
    I don't get paid 60 million a year to release rubbish reports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Originally Posted by ardmacha
    In any case do your own research.

it would impossible to do this without a lot of raw data

even the cso does not collect the required data

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭NOGMaxpower

Finally some facts proving what we already knew in the Private Sector.

Stop strangling our nation and give up the croke park agreement and smell the coffee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭rickyjb

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    I pay myself what I earn by working all the time often late at night (right now I am babysitting 7 batch jobs crunching data on my right monitor),
    get treated worse by the tax system for bothering to start a business,
    dont have any job security or cushy pension

and more importantly dont rely on anyone else in this economy for my income

I earn my bread and pay plenty of tax on it, by bringing in wealth via exports

I have the right to know how my taxmoney is spent and/or wasted, maybe if more people cared about waste and not fixing the local pothole we wouldnt be where we are now.

Ok ok I was just trying a little comic relief...

I feel your pain don't worry being a middle income earner I got hit as hard as anybody during the budget (percentage wise at least)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭desiredbard

Japer wrote: »
    According to the governments own statistics department, latest released figures show that public sector pay per hour is 49% higher than equivalent pay in the private sector.

www.cso.ie/releasespublications/documents/earnings/current/earnlabcosts.pdf

Three years in to a crisis, and the economy is still burdened with the overhead of having an overpaid and over-pensioned public sector ( both compared with the private sector and other public services abroad, including in comparison with our nearest neighbour ). When will we ever learn?

As a former semi state employee.... I was let go due to the cuts....
    This is not the case for your avarage pencil pusher .

On avarage I believe the 49%...only because certain figures (a minority of managers and consultants) are at 490%...so it avarages out

Riskymove wrote: »
    it would impossible to do this without a lot of raw data

even the cso does not collect the required data

If they are not collecting this information and there really is only 500 data-points

one has to really wonder why the hell are we paying them for :(

A statistics office who dont know how to do statistics, you couldnt make it up :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭fliball123

No its just that the 250k is at such a high level it would not affect many people and therefore not the average too much (unless there were people on really high levels)

there would not be a high percentage of the private sector over 250k either

average is the average...I mean usless were doing 95%ile of 3 standard deviations from the mean...The P.S is over paid..only in the ps could an uneducated gaurd earn so much would not happen in the private sector

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

fliball123 wrote: »
    The P.S is over paid..only in the ps could an uneducated gaurd earn so much would not happen in the private sector

I seem to remember people being paid vast sums for lagging blocks around a building site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

dissed doc wrote: »
    Private sector developers make a hell of a lot more than public sector

Private sector building and construction workers make a huge amount more than public sector labourers

As a society, we require a social contract to ensure education, healthcare and security. Assuming we want to exist at a social development stage above South Africa. If those are not provided for at a social or state level, then Ireland's destiny will be for people to need to provide them first for themselves.

france seems manage pretty well on those fronts and it pays its doctors 50% of what we do . new govt needs to sack all public sector workers and rehire them on new contracts that reflect reality !

fliball123 wrote: »
    ..only in the ps could an uneducated gaurd earn so much would not happen in the private sector

are these japer's classmates again?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Japer

RGS wrote: »
    To give some context to the discussion:
    A stat from an EU study on public service provision in member states:
    Figure 3: Level of public spending (1996, 2006) as percentage of GD:
    Ireland less than 40% in 1996 reduced to just over 30% in 2006
    UK over 40% for both 1996 and 2006.
    Highest spending country 2006 Sweden--over 50%

Only 8 countries were below 40% in 2006:
    Romania, Estonia, Lithuania, Ireland, Bulgaria, Latvia, Slovakia, Spain,
    but some countries spend on lot on things which we do not have here in Ireland eg military / NATO obligations etc. Our public servants are still way overpaid and over-pensioned. Its sad some people cannot see this, despite the IMF being here.

are these japer's classmates again?
    less of the personal digs please.

I do not attack you for spending your working public service day on the computer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,203 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

I do not attack you for spending your working public service day on the computer.

Yes you did with this post!

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

A
    I think you will find it was you who made the digs against the guards first

B
    From someone who has said some pretty harsh things about PS I think that's a bit much!
    C
    Oh I see what you did there....subtle!

but some countries spend on lot on things which we do not have here in Ireland eg military / NATO obligations etc. Our public servants are still way overpaid and over-pensioned. Its sad some people cannot see this, despite the IMF being here.

Oh come off it, you are one of the posters who loves to talk EU averages, yet when those number dont match your preferrred position of attacking the Ps you change you tune.

So which is it do you wish we should aspire to be EU average or not?

A
    I think you will find it was you who made the digs against the guards first

I did not know anyone on this forum was a guard, and i do not know if you are one or not, and nor do I care.

So which is it do you wish we should aspire to be EU average or not?
    Instead of being one of the highest paid public services in Europe - if not the highest- we should immediately cut public service pay levels to the EC average or less, given the IMF is here are we are borrowing 50 billion for every 30 billion we take in taxes.

I did not know anyone on this forum was a guard, and i do not know if you are one or not, and nor do I care.

indeed I realised long ago that you care little for facts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Government spend contributes ZERO to an economy.
    Public sector wages contribute ZERO to an economy.

At the moment private enterprise/free market has to pay a 20billon wage bill for an over-staffed, in-efficient public sector which doesn't even work.
    (It fails to fill basic requirements in terms of financial regulation & health care.)

This is unsustainable. The private sector should not support this dead weight in times of prosperity & cannot during times of recession. This is 20bn which would alternatively be invested by entrepeneurs to generate wealth & employment.

The whole political sector in this country is lacking a vision of what needs to happen in order for us to return to prosperity.

The government has missed an opportunity in this budget.
    A plan for progressive radical reform of the public sector should have been introduced. 50,000 public sector employees should have been fired immediately & all wages reduced 30% across the board.

Serious & radical reform should have happened, but it didn't. The reason is that politicians don't grasp the fundamental importance of reforming the government. They don’t understand that an economy has limited resources which are shrinking.

The patient is dying & the doctors have chosen to spend the money on consultations not medicine.

Government is focused on generating revenue to repay an impossible debt from bone dry tax base which is dying from lack of capital resources.
    This is complete & utter madness.
    It will bury this country for a generation or 2 or until a political leader comes who shouts STOP.

What is happening now is the worst case scenario possible. The economy is suffocated from tax increase without serious & radical reform.
    The only way out of this mess is for the government to radically cut spending & balance a small budget to allow all remaining resources back into the economy so that industry can create jobs & wealth.
    We are 4 million people. We are the size of greater Manchester.
    We need small efficient government.
    We need a radical plan to get there.

That same principle applies whether we remain in the Euro, leave the Euro, burn bondholders or not, change government or not.
    There is only 1 way to create prosperity in an economy.
    We need to allow the free-market economy to breathe.
    Until we remove the pillow from the face of the Irish economy, we've no chance.

FF, FG, Labour, SF haven't a foggiest clue what’s needed here. Reform might not happen until 4 years down the line when we are truly on our knees and at deaths door.
    Not until that point will the turkeys vote for Christmas.

I understand PS workers feel attacked at this point. It’s a real pity the government doesn’t just publish a sensible plan for reform. Everybody will knows where they stand & this societal envy between those who have & those who have not could end.

indeed I realised long ago that you care little for facts
    personal facts i care nothing for - I do not care if you are a guard or not.

I do care about the facts in the much bigger picture - how much the government is spending on the public service ( including the Gardai ) etc.

Instead of being one of the highest paid public services in Europe - if not the highest- we should immediately cut public service pay levels to the EC average or less, given the IMF is here are we are borrowing 50 billion for every 30 billion we take in taxes.

If we are doign that we shoudl also increase tax to EU average and lower minimum wage to EU average.
    We should also introduce all the charges other EU states have such as france having tolls on most major routes

personal facts i care nothing for - I do not care if you are a guard or not.

I do care about the facts in the much bigger picture - how much the government is spending on the public service ( including the Gardai ) etc.

You dont care about facts, you have shown a complete disregard for them. anytime anyone presents facts you fail to respond. like my direct post to you many days ago in this thread!

What about how little the tax intake is, surely if we increased personal tax we could spend a higher portion of GDP like those other countries a poster back listed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    @PB said that more data would be open to "abuse" I fail to understand how more transparency can lead to more confusion,

Given that this thread is based on an abuse of data, I think my judgement has some foundation.
    if yee lot have nothing to hide then why the worry?

Who are "yee lot"?
    if there is nothing wrong with public sector pay as the (ex)publicservants here claim then why all the secrecy in releasing more detailed stats?

I suspect that is aimed at me, as I think I am the most active retired public servant in this forum. So put up or shut up: where have I ever said that there is nothing wrong with public sector pay?
    yee lot had no issues benchmarking yourselves up before and got all the data and stats from somewhere :mad:

Again this odd category: "yee lot". Your posts look more like rants than considered discussion. and you still wonder why I think some people here might abuse data.

You dont care about facts, you have shown a complete disregard for them. anytime anyone presents facts you fail to respond. like my direct post to you many days ago in this thread!

Rubbish. I do not recall a direct post to me ...and even if you did I cannot read and respond to every post everywhere - I am not on the computer 24/7. And as for " many days ago in this thread" ....this thread is only 6 or 7 hours old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Some people in the private sector would love to be earning the same money they did in 1999.

The point is, given the IMF is here + the country is bust, why should the public service in Ireland be paid 49% more per hour than the private sector ? In most other countries private sector pay is usually more than public sector pay, as private sector does not have the same security, pensions etc.

Whether you like it or not, these are only raw statistics, with no balance or actual comparison. Consider people working minimum wage or in MacDonalds etc - where is the equivalent worker in the Public Service?

Any Public Service workers I know would be better paid in Private Sector.

OP, your posts are little more than agendaist trolling.

Consider for a moment, who will scrape you up off the road if you do away with Public Service jobs, or make them untenable? Do you want a 17 year old on minimum wage administering to your child in A&E?

If we are doign that we shoudl also increase tax to EU average and lower minimum wage to EU average.
    I have no problem with taxes being the average EC - shure I would love to be able to afford a new car anyway.;)
    And some of our taxes are coming down e.g. our extortionate stamp duty rate.

Rubbish. I do not recall a direct post to me ...and even if you did I cannot read and respond to every post everywhere - I am not on the computer 24/7. And as for " many days ago in this thread" ....this thread is only 6 or 7 hours old.

For once you are corect it was in the other thread, as for you not being online and able to respond you repsonded to messages directly preceeding and directly after it.

I do not recall a direct post to me ...and even if you did I cannot read and respond to every post everywhere - I am not on the computer 24/7.

funnily enough, that might be almost acceptable as a point...if it was not the case that you regularly harry people to answer questions you put to them

Consider for a moment, who will scrape you up off the road if you do away with Public Service jobs, or make them untenable? Do you want a 17 year old on minimum wage administering to your child in A&E?
    Public service wages in our nearest neighbour, who happens to be a G7 country and who is helping to bail us out, are considerably lower. When you go to Newry or London are you worried about 17 year old's on minimum wage administering to your child in A&E ?