If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Magnet`s Long Log...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

I`m off to the gym now to "try" to run a decent stretch on a threadmill, Didn`t get my 20 miles in y/day because of the ice so ran about 7 miles on the threadmill. Even though I was watching the tv and all that I was still losing the will to live with every step, I don`t how Tony Mangan did it for 24hrs/48hrs...
    On the upside my OH proposed so I`ll be getting some bling for christmas :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Magnet wrote: »
    Congrats! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,108 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Congrats - you could melt down a few of those medals in these recessionary times ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I`m off to the gym now to "try" to run a decent stretch on a threadmill, Didn`t get my 20 miles in y/day because of the ice so ran about 7 miles on the threadmill. Even though I was watching the tv and all that I was still losing the will to live with every step, I don`t how Tony Mangan did it for 24hrs/48hrs...

Congratulations Val. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Deadly Val, congrats to both of you!
    Cycling the Wicklow way again for your honeymoon? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Congrats Magnet :) Will you be showing off the bling on 26th?!
    Go faster bling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

congrat val , nice to have somethin to flash round for xmas( the fiance that is so make sure he has a nice festive coat got ) , big fest into the new year then ?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

Awesome running and also awesome news. Best of happiness to you both.

Thanks, ordered the Bling today so will have it in the New Year sometime...;)

This week has been weird so far...
    Monday
    17kms on the threadmill 90mins
    Tuesdays
    Wednesday
    Thurs
    20 kms planned
    Friday
    Rest
    Saturday
    30kms planned
    Sunday
    30kms planned
    :cool:
    I hate threadmills and I especially hate kilometers

yay got outdoors for 2hours running today!!

Last week had to be the worst week ever with just over 50miles done, had to work 3 really long days Thurs-Sat due to others being snowed in and having spa days :rolleyes:
    I`ll call it my fall back week!
    I didn`t fall on my ass (yet) so I can pick up where I left off..
    I deffinitely think its the fresh air I was missing because 2 hours running outside y/day felt like 20mins yet 90mins on the threadmill was like a week.
    This week`s schedule looks like just getting in as much mileage on the local pitches as i can, around work and ice, and will probably be in time rather than miles, I have a garmin thrown in a drawer for about 3yrs but wouldn`t even know where the charger is now...
    Now can anyone sing?

Last 3 week`s mileage was like this.. 91.7, 65.2, and 51.5miles!
    hopefully this week works out nicely
    Monday
    Ran for abut 65mins on the local hurling pitch, would have gone for longer but my running buddy was cold - it was only -7 :p
    Tuesday
    Ran 51 laps of the hurling pitch, it took about 2hrs20mins. Its was very crunchy and kept kinda twisting my ankles slightly, it was gloriously sunny and for the 1st time in years I ran with an ipod, quite enjoyable.
    Wednesday
    Didn`t run wed cos my ankles/achilles/calfs were killing me from the pitch.Went wedding dress shopping instead:D
    Thurs
    Ran 70mins on the pitch at 8pm, it was less crunchy, more icy in parts so ran very carefully and very fast with one of the faster lads, floodlights were on for most of it which was a great help, the hurling training was cancelled so didn`t have an audience thankfully.
    Friday
    Rest day today but heading down to Clonakilty so ill have a sore behind sitting for 4hrs.
    Saturday
    Clonakilty Marathon, fingers crossed for no short course etc.
    Sunday
    25miles - more if the roads are thawed

jesus i thought i was bad with 15 laps of the football pitch , your head must have been totally melted after 51 laps ,best of luck in clonakility val , look forward to the report ,

just saw your victory shot , crossing the line in clonakility , fantastic , welldone! , your havin a great close to 2010 with wed proposals and marathon win , long may it last into 2011 too , will have to pick your brain the next time i see ya :)

Clonakilty Marathon 2010
    Ok I wrote a very nice race report yesterday but it died somewhere along the way so I hope ye like today`s version...:o
    Ok so I skipped out on work friday to head to Clonakilty, I woke Saturday morning with my usual pain in the bum from the 4hour drive so didn`t expect anything overly exciting. didn`t know what to wear given the temperatures so ended up wearing a hellyhansen wool top, jacket, full length skins, full length running tights, wool socks, hat, gloves and my sunglasses to top it all off!!
    Got into Clonakilty in plenty of time for meeting up with all the usual suspects for a bit of banter and chat and the National Anthem was sang which was a nice touch!
    A late start at 9:25 and we were off with the 10k runners, I started my watch but wasn`t watching for the mile markers, I had no plan but wanted to be a bit faster than my last few marathons which were about 3:40/45 so was gonna do maybe <8min miles for a 3:25/30
    We ran a loop around the town so at the first opportunity I ditched my jacket and hat. We joined in with the half marathon runners and headed out the road for Inchadoney, my legs were feeling quite heavy but chatting away helped and just before the 3mile marker 2 women I knew ran past, with the 3 races I didn`t know who was running which race so was good to see they were running the full marathon too. The hills soon kicked in and despite the glorious views they were getting tougher.After a few splits we lost the 10k runners and the Halfs, I had a gel about 6 miles in, caught up with one of the women and ran to about 10miles with her, I went ahead at this stage. I found the miles from 12 to 19 the hardest with those hills sapping the life outta my legs and my glute pain was well and truly kicking my ass. I was so close to tears at some stages.
    At about 15miles a girl by the road said "you`re 2nd female so take it easy!" Like I had any choice on a course like this!!:rolleyes: I couldn`t believe it, fantastic. The leading woman was still on the horizon and every now and again I caught sight of her white hat up ahead and with a few longed for downhills coming up, I ran those like the mountain runners do it, I found I was actually gaining ground. The downhill were quite steep and with the faster pace it was excruciatingly painful and giving me a stich but gritted my teeth through it. Like being on a rollercoaster seeing the downhills approaching I was saying "Ohhh Shiiiiiit" and just go with it :P At about 22miles I caught up with the leading woman for a bit, exchanged a few words then on the next downhill I went ahead.
    Just then my mind went bonkers,:eek: With 4miles to go what the hell was I doing? Why wasn`t I happy with 2nd? Oh god I hope no one sees me! I kept going and with 2miles to go a fella clapping at the side of the road shouted "you`re the leading woman" and I grumbled back something like "its not over yet" Still expecting to be overtaken. Ran out the causeway and turned right at the end, just then I had a sneaky look over my shoulder to see there was a good stretch between myself and the white hat, my heart did a flip and thought if I kept my pace somewhat I might actually pull this off. With my pain at an alltime high and a stitch peircing my ribs I panted my way home without looking back again and boy did that last mile last a hell of a long time!! My attention turned to the finish and I hoped my boyfriend didn`t miss me at the end, came in the last stretch and there was a fella counting us in at the 26mile mark but I had no kick at this stage. Came around the corner and saw my boyfriend with the camera so gave him the thumbs-up and ran over the line in 3:19 I was smiling from ear-to-ear, I had just won a bloody marathon and then a got a fit of uncontrolable giggles :P:D:P:D
    So there is the second edition report and whoever posed the question between a marathon PB and winning it, My 3:10 in Dublin was waaaay easier than this tough tough course`s 3:19 and I`ll take a win anyday :cool::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Fair play to you. Well done and nice race report!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

congrats, thats some result ,well done
    and a nice report to go with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KentuckyPete

Well done Magnet. Great photo of you crossing the line too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Brilliant run Val, well done on the win. Seems like your endurance won got you gold over the last few miles. Great to see hill-running skills put to good use:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Well done val. Im sick i couldnt get down. How does the course compare to conn and others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,128 ✭✭✭opus

Congratulations, fantastic achievement! I was talking to a few people today who were running in it and heard just how tough a course it was.

Thanks everyone my splits as you see here are a mixed bag,

22:47 -(3miles)
    7:23
    7:40
    14:53 - (2miles)
    7:38
    8:07
    6:59
    7:02
    7:08
    8:36
    6:28
    7:52
    7:54
    7:28
    7:58
    8:58
    8:05
    7:07
    7:27
    6:59
    7:31
    7:41
    9:38 (+.2)

3:19:28
    I hadn`t tapered for this but still think it`s the toughest I`ve done so far...
    I might give Snowdonia a go one day :P

That 6.28 mile must have been a near freefall.

Last week`s total was 75.2 miles after I ran 20miles on the Sunday so happy enough given the snow/ice/marathon interludes!
    This week looks like this...
    Monday
    Rest Day enforced - my legs were killing me after the marathon and 20miles on the Sunday
    Tuesday
    6.5 miles done nice and easy
    Wednesday
    13 miles - took me nearly 2 hours for some strange reason
    Thursday
    Heading out for 12 miles again tonight, get it in before the blizzards
    Friday
    Rest day
    Saturday
    Planned 30 miles - A 10k loop X 5times {weather permitting}, I can`t face 4 1/2 hours on a hurling pitch but if I have to I will....:o
    Sunday
    Any run I get in today will be a bonus cos I`ve a xmas party on Saturday eve up the midlands and another on Sunday afternoon in Galway, might get in a sneaky 6/8 miles somewhere

Weighed myseld the other day and I`m up to 7st 8lbs and I`m not as hungry lately, I could drink more water though.

Thats my left leg val:D
    Whats next on the agenda for you?

I got out for my 30 miles Saturday morning, my theory was that if I got up early enough it would be fresh soft snow!!
    The plan was to run the Athenry 10k loop 5 times.
    So I headed out from my house at 6:10am and met another girl for loop 1 + 2 , she went off xmas shopping and I was joined by another fella for loop 3 + 4, 3 more runners joined in for loops 4 + 5 , It wasn`t slippy on the snow just harder work, I think I had to lift my knees up a bit more each time...The fresh snow hadn`t been compacted by traffic so it was grand but so damn cold. My eyelashes were frozen as good as Tom Crean`s would have been :D I wore my camelback with one litre of water in it but had to put the mouthpeice inside my gloves because it froze solid each time I had it swinging free. I had icicles (more like stalactites:rolleyes:) hanging off my face for most of it, I wore 4 tops, 2 bottoms, 2 pairs of gloves and I didn`t warm up til halfway through my lunch at 12 midday!!
    It took me 5 hours so not fast at all, I used to do it in the summer in 4hrs35 so I`m hoping it`s just the snow and not my legs giving up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

Awesome going. Very well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭bluestone

I got out for my 30 miles Saturday morning, my theory was that if I got up early enough it would be fresh soft snow!!
    The plan was to run the Athenry 10k loop 5 times.
    So I headed out from my house at 6:10am and met another girl for loop 1 + 2 , she went off xmas shopping and I was joined by another fella for loop 3 + 4, 3 more runners joined in for loops 4 + 5 , It wasn`t slippy on the snow just harder work, I think I had to lift my knees up a bit more each time...The fresh snow hadn`t been compacted by traffic so it was grand but so damn cold. My eyelashes were frozen as good as Tom Crean`s would have been :D I wore my camelback with one litre of water in it but had to put the mouthpeice inside my gloves because it froze solid each time I had it swinging free. I had icicles (more like stalactites:rolleyes:) hanging off my face for most of it, I wore 4 tops, 2 bottoms, 2 pairs of gloves and I didn`t warm up til halfway through my lunch at 12 midday!!
    It took me 5 hours so not fast at all, I used to do it in the summer in 4hrs35 so I`m hoping it`s just the snow and not my legs giving up...

ur goin soft! i had to cool down myself afterwards! dont know was it just me not warmin up properly or the conditions but my calves are killin me from my single loop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

Just catching up on all the logs now, Well done in Clonakilty, 51 laps of a pitch and still pull off first place, very impressed.